Lakeside Holiday Inn Shanghai

3 stars
No.445 South Suzhou Road,, Huangpu District, Shanghai, 200001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
10 reviews
Good location, comfortable and cheap

I am a student, and I was in Shanghai for a conference. This hotel is located in the nice Bund... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 15, 2011
Best value for your buck

Best value for your money. The room is clean, but you can't complain of the size, since you got... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 4, 2011
Shanghai Lakeside Holiday Inn is a modern business hotel, newly opened in March 2006. The hotel is located beside the South Bank of Suzhou River, within 5 minutes' walking distance to the Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street, 10 minutes' walking distance to the famous Bund, and the nearest subway station line 2 is also within five minutes' walking. It is a quiet Place in the down town center. Staying in this hotel, you can enjoy the Suzhou lake view just out of your window; enjoy the easy reach to most attractions around the city. Breakfast is free in the property.

Hotel Map

31.2411 121.4827
Area served
Shanghai.
Nearby airports
Lying in northeast of Hongqiao International Airport (SHA). You can take No.925 shuttle bus to People Square then transfer Subway Line 2 to East Nanjing Road. It's 5 mins to the hotel on foot.
Area description
The distance from hotel to Pudong International Airport is 50 kilometers/30 miles. It is 60 minutes driving time to get there.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lakeside Holiday Inn Shanghai also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Lakeside Holiday Inn Shanghai Rooms

Standard Twin Room
Room size is 16sqm with 2 Single beds.
Lake View Double Room
Room size is 16sqm with one double bed with lake view.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet

Nearby points of interest

  • General Post Office Building: 0.3 mi
  • Shanghai Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bund Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Hall: 0.8 mi
  • People`s Square: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Pearl Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Longhua Temple: 0.9 mi
  • French Concession: 0.9 mi
  • Shanghai Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Jinjiang Amusement Park: 1 mi
  • Shanghai Grand Theatre: 1 mi
  • Shanghai Museum: 1 mi
  • Yuyuan Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Jin Mao Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Shanghai Ocean Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • General Post Office Building: 0.3 mi
  • Shanghai Natural History Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bund Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Hall: 0.8 mi
  • People`s Square: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Pearl Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Longhua Temple: 0.9 mi
  • French Concession: 0.9 mi
  • Shanghai Art Museum: 1 mi
  • Jinjiang Amusement Park: 1 mi
  • Shanghai Grand Theatre: 1 mi
  • Shanghai Museum: 1 mi
  • Yuyuan Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Jin Mao Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Shanghai Ocean Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • City God Temple: 1.5 mi
  • Lu Xun Park: 1.7 mi
  • Shanghai Wen Miao: 1.8 mi
  • Nanjing Road: 1.8 mi
  • Former Residence of Zhou En Lai: 2 mi
  • Eastlink Gallery: 2.1 mi
  • Taikang Lu: 2.4 mi
  • Jing'an Temple: 2.5 mi
  • Black Apple Gallery: 2.5 mi
  • Liu Hai Su Art Center: 3.3 mi
  • Shanghai Expo: 3.4 mi
  • Shanghai Oriental Arts Center: 3.7 mi
  • Shanghai Science and Technology Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Shanghai Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • Xiang Yang Market: 4.1 mi
  • C. Y. Tung Maritime Museum: 4.1 mi
  • St Ignatius Cathedral of Shanghai: 4.4 mi
  • Aquaria 21 Dive Club: 5.1 mi
  • Shanghai New International Expo Center: 5.1 mi
  • Fanguzi Art Gallery: 7 mi
  • Hongqiao: 8.7 mi
  • Gubei: 9.2 mi
  • She Shan Basilica: 19.9 mi

Dining

Xiaochu Chinese Restaurant
At 1st floor, operation hour is from 07:00 to 21:30, no lowest expenditure.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
0200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Lakeside Holiday Inn Shanghai

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lakeside Holiday Inn Shanghai

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
abg
Business
New York, NY
May 27, 2011

Don't Go

My experience at this hotel was awful. To begin with it is NOT the building pictured in the photos on this site but a 5 story run down building. A filthy building at that. The hallway carpets were stained and the room carpets weren't much better. When I turned on the shower several bugs started to fly around inside the stall. Then, later when I tried to flush the toilet I found out that that was broken as well. I called downstairs to complain and was told by the front desk to use the toilet down the hall. Since it was already late and I was unable to get a new room until the morning ( I had to book at a different hotel using my blackberry as the internet in the room as also, unsurprisingly, not working) I ended up sleeping in my clothes on top of the bed. The sheets were stained and soiled looking and the towels in the bathrooms had holes in them. Do not stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lakeside Holiday Inn Shanghai

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ningbo Guides
Business
Ningbo, China
May 23, 2011

Horrible Experience

Upon arrival at the Lakeside Holiday Inn, my husband and I were told that the police were monitoring the hotel and that foreigners could not stay there this month. They told us that instead, we would be staying in their "sister" hotel. After a 20 minute walk, we arrived to the second hotel which was in an industrial alley and not as nice looking/smelling/built AT ALL as the first, advertised hotel. This same thing happened to a friend of ours with the same hotel. We believe this is a scam and would not recommend that anyone stay here. In addition to this, we had called earlier in the week to cancel one night at the hotel and were told that was fine. When we arrived, the staff denied that we had called, refused to charge us for only one night instead of two, and lied about how much they charged us by trying to cover up the total price on our receipt. Two and a half hours after we arrived for check in, we finally were given some (not all) of our money back and the keys to our room. The room was not even close to the same as the photos on the website either. Overall, a bad experience compared to our past experiences in Shanghai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lakeside Holiday Inn Shanghai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, US
May 15, 2011

Good location, comfortable and cheap

I am a student, and I was in Shanghai for a conference. This hotel is located in the nice Bund area, and it is just one subway stop away from the International Conference Center. The room (standard) is very comfortable: two beds (I was traveling alone), air conditioning, flat screen TV, internet access, a clean bathroom with a big shower. The staff is nice, and they speak a good English (very rare in Shanghai). I can't believe I got all this for such a little money. Great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lakeside Holiday Inn Shanghai

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orlando, fl
May 6, 2011

good location, small rooms

Very small rooms, dirty, terrible housekeeping. Very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lakeside Holiday Inn Shanghai

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hawadan
Business
Southern California
Apr 7, 2011

Great Value

The hotel is very central to the downtown. Nanjing Road Pedestrian Market, the Bund and other attractions are closeby. The hotel breakfast was OK but no coffee or tea. The staff spoke limited english but did try to help as muwch as they could. Overall the price was very economical.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There were lots of shops around. athe eating place mainly had local food. There is a McDonald, Burger King, Starbucks etc not too far from the hotel. The coffee machine in the hotel is 2 RMB (Yuan) for a small coffee cup and is quite tasty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lakeside Holiday Inn Shanghai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlottesville VA
Mar 23, 2011

Good location

The hotel was fine. Walking distance to the Bund, clean laminate flooring. It was the first bathroom in China that I stayed in which had a fully enclosed shower, so that was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There's a place on Huanghe Road, just off of West Nanjing, that has amazing soup dumplings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lakeside Holiday Inn Shanghai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 22, 2011

good location, but no free internet

according to some review, there should be computer in every room, so I didn't bring my own, after check in, realized there is no computer in any room, check with front desk and they said they had remove all computer from every room, there is only one computer in the lobby and you have to pay to use it. other then that, everything is good, location is perfect, you take subway line #2 from Putung Airport and get off Nanjing Rd station, ( exit 1 ),walk left for 5 minutes and you are there at the hotel. (Nanjing East Road is a major tourist attraction and is only 5 minutes walk away from the hotel.) I will stay here again next time but I will bring my own computer for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

instead of buying ticket on every trip of the subway, (wait in line, exact change),on your first trip from the airport, go to the subway station help desk and buy a "Shanghai public transportation card",every time you ride the subway, no more line waiting or exact change, just waive the card and you are in. I brought one for 100RMB, use it for my whole stay, and on the day I left Shanghai, I return it to the desk and get the refund for the unuse fund.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lakeside Holiday Inn Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Mar 4, 2011

Best value for your buck

Best value for your money. The room is clean, but you can't complain of the size, since you got what you paid for. The location is initially I thought is far from the tourist destination, but I explored but it located centrally to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lakeside Holiday Inn Shanghai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Korea
Feb 6, 2011

Cheap and so so

The hotel is ok but the room was very cold eventhough it has heating system. The convenience store is a little bit far, it's very difficult to get there by walking the first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lakeside Holiday Inn Shanghai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pudding
Business
Victoria, BC, Canada
Oct 10, 2010

Lakeside Holiday Inn, Shanghai

We were situated not far away from the center, have been out till late evening and got what we wanted: a quite resonable place to stay (and sleep), but the room had no view. The offered breakfast was very chinese, but nothing for our vegetarian desire (not fresh uncooked fruit or vegies).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

For this season (EXPO and chinese holiday week) it was a reasonable accomodation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top