Astor House Hotel Shanghai ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$91
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 24, 2016
4.2 /5
Overall score
94%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Executive Room - City View
  • Size: 269 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe Room - Limited View
  • Size: 376 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe Room - City View
  • Size: 269 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Executive Room - City View
  • Size: 484 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

This North Bund landmark opened its doors in 1857 and played a prominent role in Shanghai's development into a bustling port city in the early 1900s. The six-story hotel boasted the city's first electric lights (1882) and phone call (1901) and hosted such dignitaries as Albert Einstein and Charlie Chaplin. Today the neoclassical Baroque building attracts history and architecture buffs as well as travelers who value the prime location across the Waibaidu Bridge from the Bund.

Rooms

The 130 rooms measure from 269 to 538 square feet and include laptop-sized safe, minibar, and high-speed Internet. Deluxe rooms best capture the hotel's historic charm thanks to wooden floors, carved moldings, and high ceilings. Higher-floor rooms enjoy attractive views of the Bund, especially at night.

Property features

Richard's Restaurant and Bar serves an impressive breakfast buffet and specializes in Huaiyang and Sichuan fare at lunch and dinner. A coffee bar is also available. Guests can get a beauty treatment on site or take advantage of in-room massage service. Other recreational facilities include a dancing hall and chess room. A travel desk can help guests book city tours or plane tickets.

Highlights

  • Historic and architectural gem in Shanghai
  • Three-minute walk to the Bund across Waibaidu Bridge
  • Attractive Bund views -- especially at night -- from top-floor rooms

Nearby attractions

  • The Bund (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Yu Garden (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • People's Square (1.8 mi/3 km)

Business

  • Business center
  • Grand Hall holds up to 80 people

Transportation

  • Pudong International Airport (28.8 mi/48 km)
  • Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport (12.8 mi/17.3 km)
  • Shanghai Railway Station (2.4 mi/4 km)
  • Airport shuttle available
  • Nearest subway station: Tiantong Road station on Line 10 (0.6 mi/1 km)

Dining

The Richard's Coffee Bar
The Richard's Coffee Bar located in the lobby is also well designed for drinks and meals and another choice for business meetings
The Richard's Restaurant
The Richard's Restaurant in the baroque style has a long history, which was special in Shanghai. The restaurant has many fine chefs experienced not only in Shanghainese cuisine but also many other cuisines. The restaurant has a Grand Hall which can
accommodate 22 tables and has 7 private rooms - the perfect place for business dinners, gatherings, weddings and birthday parties.The Richard's Bar with its nostalgic flavour is ideal place for meeting friends and tea-tasting occasions.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.7 / 5
$53
Guest score 3.8 / 5
$94

Hilton Shanghai

★★★★★
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$104
Guest score 4.3 / 5
$111
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$106

Hyatt on the Bund

★★★★★
Guest score 4.6 / 5
$133

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle

General

  • Concierge

Activities

  • Spa

Dining

  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Business center
  • Conference facilities

Internet

  • WiFi

Transportation

  • Airport shuttle

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Reviews

4.2 /5 Overall score

94% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.7/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.3/5
  • Hotel staff: 3.9/5
  • Comfort: 4.1/5
  • Location: 4.6/5
  • Value: 4/5

Enjoyable unique stay

Would recommend Fri, Oct 23, 2015
We stayed on the third floor in a large, (real) wood-floored room off of an exhibition area (with very interesting artifacts in glass-enclosed cases) ringed by an open walkway above for the fourth-floor rooms. Somewhat noisy when people would walk around the exhibition area (even at nighttime). Real old-world flavor. Romantic. Beautiful drapes. Clean. Beds more towards the Chinese liking (hard-ish). Everything worked. DEFINITELY worth a stay.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

A Great Hotel for your visit to Shanghai

Would recommend Fri, Jul 25, 2014
I loved this hotel the moment I entered the door from the busy street outside. It is perfectly located just next to the scenic Bund. You feel like you have just stepped back in time to old Shanghai. There is so much history here and it has been lovingly preserved and restored. I had a great view from my very comfortable room. The bathroom was great and the air conditioning was also wonderful. I will definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends and I plan to stay there the next time I visit Shanghai!

Nightlife hint

Take a short walk across the bridge to the Bund in for an evening stroll and you be amazed by how many Chinese families are out and walking as well. It is exhilarating to be in the well behaved crowd.

| Bonsall, CA Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Best hotel we ever stayed

Would recommend Sat, Jul 12, 2014
Got a free upgrade to a balcony suite upon arrival - lovely surprise to our first shanghai experience. The view was incredible. Only 5 minutes walk to the Bund. Wish we stayed longer.

| San Francisco, CA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Nice Hotel, Location Not Great

Would recommend Thu, May 1, 2014
We had a nice executive room, very large and comfortable, no real complaints except that the location is not really convenient for anything except the Bund. Fifteen minutes walk to Nanjing Rd and the nearest underground rail station.

Time saver

Choose a hotel close to an underground station to make travel really easy and quick.

| Kelowna, BC Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

be sure they give you a quiet room

Would recommend Fri, Nov 15, 2013
amidst modern 21st century Shanghai wonderful feel of old colonial-era hotel and steps to the Bund, helpful staff -- but old windows, noisy traffic -- be absolutely sure your room will be quiet at night. You may need to change room from reserved one.

Time saver

use the hop on-hop off bus. it covers three routes and allows great intro to major attractions.

| NYC Business

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

A great stay in a classic bit of history

Would recommend Thu, Oct 31, 2013
I chose this hotel because of its history, reputation and value, and I was not disappointed. beautiful rooms, spacious bathrooms, a feeling of being in a part of history surrounds you. My only negative was the prices on coffee in the lobby cafe. I think $8 for a double espresso was a bit usurious; the coffee was good, but not that good. I did not eat the breakfast, so can't comment. The bed was a bit hard, but I survived it! I would most definitely recommend this one of a kind hotel in Shanghai, and will return again anytime I can.

| Mesa, AZ Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Good location

Would recommend Fri, Oct 25, 2013
Were offered an upgrade for an extra £60 which we accepted and very pleased we did. Had a view over the Garden Bridge to the Bund. The room was very big and had very comfortable beds and tea and coffee making facilities. Staff very helpful. The hotel is in a very convenient location for the Bund and the ferry.

Time saver

Take the hop off hop on City tour bus.

| Wiltshire UK Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Needs some work

Would not recommend Wed, Oct 23, 2013
Based on previous reviews I was expecting more from this hotel--I think it may have had something to do with the fact that we had a "deluxe" room instead of a "executive" room. The worst thing was when we checked in we were told that the room we had booked was very small and not very good, but luckily they had an special offer for a better room for 50% more than the room we had booked. The area of the hotel that we were in was quite dirty, dark, and had spare furniture and junk stored in the hallway. The staff weren't very eager to help, and didn't seem to take pride in their hotel. The entrance was always blocked with vehicles and equipment. The bathroom was modern but the bath had lots of mildew. The only good thing was the close proximity to the Bund and Pudong. For the price, I would have stayed at a Western-run hotel a bit further away.

| Montreal, Canada Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Great location

Would recommend Sun, Oct 20, 2013
We got an upgrade which was fantastic. Huge room. Only thing was it was a little noisy. Room was huge and had everything you need. 5 minutes to the Bund.

Nightlife hint

Small bar around the corner is great value.

| Brisbane Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

great place in Shanghai

Would recommend Sun, Jun 23, 2013
Great location, nice staff, classic architecture, historic building, a step back in time with amenities! Highly recommend

Attractions

The Bund is a short walk over the bridge and it is an extraordinary walk in the evening hours

| Las Vegas, Nevada Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

General Post Office Building 0.4 mi
Oriental Pearl Tower 0.4 mi
Jin Mao Tower 0.7 mi
Bund Museum 0.8 mi
Shanghai Natural History Museum 0.8 mi
Shanghai Ocean Aquarium 1 mi
Yuyuan Garden 1.2 mi
Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Hall 1.3 mi
People`s Square 1.4 mi
Jinjiang Amusement Park 1.4 mi
Shanghai Grand Theater Gallery 1.4 mi
French Concession 1.5 mi
Shanghai Art Museum 1.5 mi
Shanghai Grand Theatre 1.5 mi
Shanghai Museum 1.6 mi
Lu Xun Park 1.6 mi
City God Temple 1.7 mi
Shanghai Wen Miao 1.9 mi
Nanjing Road 2.4 mi
Former Residence of Zhou En Lai 2.4 mi
Eastlink Gallery 2.6 mi
Liu Hai Su Art Center 2.8 mi
Taikang Lu 2.8 mi
Jing'an Temple 3.1 mi
Black Apple Gallery 3.1 mi
Shanghai Oriental Arts Center 3.3 mi
Shanghai Science and Technology Museum 3.5 mi
Shanghai Expo 3.6 mi
Xiang Yang Market 3.7 mi
Shanghai Zoo 4.5 mi
C. Y. Tung Maritime Museum 4.7 mi
Shanghai New International Expo Center 4.7 mi
St Ignatius Cathedral of Shanghai 4.9 mi
Aquaria 21 Dive Club 5.6 mi
Fanguzi Art Gallery 7.6 mi
Gubei 9.2 mi
Hongqiao 9.3 mi
She Shan Basilica 20.5 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 12:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$91
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 24, 2016