$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Astor House Hotel Shanghai

4 stars
No.15 Huangpu Road,shanghai, Shanghai, 200080
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
18 reviews
A Great Hotel for your visit to Shanghai

I loved this hotel the moment I entered the door from the busy street outside. It is perfectly... See full review

  • Bonsall Babe
  • Jul 25, 2014
Best hotel we ever stayed

Got a free upgrade to a balcony suite upon arrival - lovely surprise to our first shanghai... See full review

  • AdaSF
  • Jul 12, 2014
North Bund architectural gem where history is an added attraction

This North Bund landmark opened its doors in 1857 and played a prominent role in Shanghai's development into a bustling port city in the early 1900s. The six-story hotel boasted the city's first electric lights (1882) and phone call (1901) and hosted such dignitaries as Albert Einstein and Charlie Chaplin. Today the neoclassical Baroque building attracts history and architecture buffs as well as travelers who value the prime location across the Waibaidu Bridge from the Bund.

Highlights
  • Historic and architectural gem in Shanghai
  • Three-minute walk to the Bund across Waibaidu Bridge
  • Attractive Bund views -- especially at night -- from top-floor rooms
Rooms

The 130 rooms measure from 269 to 538 square feet and include laptop-sized safe, minibar, and high-speed Internet. Deluxe rooms best capture the hotel's historic charm thanks to wooden floors, carved moldings, and high ceilings. Higher-floor rooms enjoy attractive views of the Bund, especially at night.

Features

Richard's Restaurant and Bar serves an impressive breakfast buffet and specializes in Huaiyang and Sichuan fare at lunch and dinner. A coffee bar is also available. Guests can get a beauty treatment on site or take advantage of in-room massage service. Other recreational facilities include a dancing hall and chess room. A travel desk can help guests book city tours or plane tickets.

Transportation
  • Pudong International Airport (28.8 mi/48 km)
  • Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport (12.8 mi/17.3 km)
  • Shanghai Railway Station (2.4 mi/4 km)
  • Airport shuttle available
  • Nearest subway station: Tiantong Road station on Line 10 (0.6 mi/1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • The Bund (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Yu Garden (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • People's Square (1.8 mi/3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Grand Hall holds up to 80 people

Hotel Map

31.244 121.4918
Area served
Shanghai.
Nearby airports
Pudong International Airport:60 KM
Area description
Shanghai Bund 0 Mi/0 Km,Shanghai Center 4 Mi/6 Km,Shanghai City Center 2 Mi/3 Km,Shanghai Government House 2 Mi/3 Km,
Shanghai Grand Theatre 2 Mi/3 Km,Shangai Intl Trade Ctr 7 Mi/11 Km,Shanghai Mart 7 Mi/11 Km,The Bund 0 Mi/0 Km
Shanghai Museum 2 Mi/3 Km,Shanghai Nanjing Toil 1 Mi/1.5 Km,Shanghai Opera House 1 Mi/1.5 Km,Shanghai Railway Stn 3 Mi/5 Km

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Astor House Hotel Shanghai also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Astor House Hotel Shanghai Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
The room offers 1 double bed or two single beds with amenities like high-speed internet access(surcharge), multi-line phone, voice mail, cable/satellite TV, DVD player, minibar, turndown service, bathrobes and slippers and window opens.
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
The room offers 1 queen bed with Classic décor with antique-style furniture, and windows that open. The room amenities rae Satellite TV with premium channels such as CNN and ESPN, DVD player, fax machine and computer.
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
The room offers 1 King bed with Classic décor with antique-style furniture, and windows that open. Satellite TV with premium channels such as CNN and ESPN. DVD player. Fax machine and computer.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • General Post Office Building: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Pearl Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Jin Mao Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Bund Museum: 0.8 mi
  • The Bund: 0.8 mi
  • Shanghai Natural History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Shanghai Ocean Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Yuyuan Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Hall: 1.3 mi
  • People`s Square: 1.4 mi
  • Jinjiang Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Longhua Temple: 1.4 mi
  • French Concession: 1.5 mi
  • Shanghai Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Shanghai Grand Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • General Post Office Building: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Pearl Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Jin Mao Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Bund Museum: 0.8 mi
  • The Bund: 0.8 mi
  • Shanghai Natural History Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Shanghai Ocean Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Yuyuan Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Hall: 1.3 mi
  • People`s Square: 1.4 mi
  • Jinjiang Amusement Park: 1.4 mi
  • Longhua Temple: 1.4 mi
  • French Concession: 1.5 mi
  • Shanghai Art Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Shanghai Grand Theatre: 1.5 mi
  • Shanghai Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Lu Xun Park: 1.6 mi
  • City God Temple: 1.7 mi
  • Shanghai Wen Miao: 1.9 mi
  • Nanjing Road: 2.4 mi
  • Former Residence of Zhou En Lai: 2.4 mi
  • Eastlink Gallery: 2.6 mi
  • Liu Hai Su Art Center: 2.8 mi
  • Taikang Lu: 2.8 mi
  • Jing'an Temple: 3.1 mi
  • Black Apple Gallery: 3.1 mi
  • Jing An District: 3.1 mi
  • Shanghai Oriental Arts Center: 3.3 mi
  • Shanghai Science and Technology Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Shanghai Expo: 3.6 mi
  • Xiang Yang Market: 3.7 mi
  • Shanghai Zoo: 4.5 mi
  • C. Y. Tung Maritime Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Shanghai New International Expo Center: 4.7 mi
  • St Ignatius Cathedral of Shanghai: 4.9 mi
  • Aquaria 21 Dive Club: 5.6 mi
  • Fanguzi Art Gallery: 7.6 mi
  • Gubei: 9.2 mi
  • Hongqiao: 9.3 mi
  • Minghang: 11.2 mi
  • She Shan Basilica: 20.5 mi

Dining

The Richard's Coffee Bar
The Richard's Coffee Bar located in the lobby is also well designed for drinks and meals and another choice for business meetings
The Richard's Restaurant
The Richard's Restaurant in the baroque style has a long history, which was special in Shanghai. The restaurant has many fine chefs experienced not only in Shanghainese cuisine but also many other cuisines. The restaurant has a Grand Hall which can
accommodate 22 tables and has 7 private rooms - the perfect place for business dinners, gatherings, weddings and birthday parties.The Richard's Bar with its nostalgic flavour is ideal place for meeting friends and tea-tasting occasions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Astor House Hotel Shanghai

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 18
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
5
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Astor House Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bonsall Babe
Business
Bonsall, CA
Jul 25, 2014

A Great Hotel for your visit to Shanghai

I loved this hotel the moment I entered the door from the busy street outside. It is perfectly located just next to the scenic Bund. You feel like you have just stepped back in time to old Shanghai. There is so much history here and it has been lovingly preserved and restored. I had a great view from my very comfortable room. The bathroom was great and the air conditioning was also wonderful. I will definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends and I plan to stay there the next time I visit Shanghai!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk across the bridge to the Bund in for an evening stroll and you be amazed by how many Chinese families are out and walking as well. It is exhilarating to be in the well behaved crowd.

Review of Astor House Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
one of many williams
Business
NYC
Nov 15, 2013

be sure they give you a quiet room

amidst modern 21st century Shanghai wonderful feel of old colonial-era hotel and steps to the Bund, helpful staff -- but old windows, noisy traffic -- be absolutely sure your room will be quiet at night. You may need to change room from reserved one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

use the hop on-hop off bus. it covers three routes and allows great intro to major attractions.

Review of Astor House Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gandalf13
Business
Mesa, AZ
Oct 31, 2013

A great stay in a classic bit of history

I chose this hotel because of its history, reputation and value, and I was not disappointed. beautiful rooms, spacious bathrooms, a feeling of being in a part of history surrounds you. My only negative was the prices on coffee in the lobby cafe. I think $8 for a double espresso was a bit usurious; the coffee was good, but not that good. I did not eat the breakfast, so can't comment. The bed was a bit hard, but I survived it! I would most definitely recommend this one of a kind hotel in Shanghai, and will return again anytime I can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Astor House Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark60
Business
Brisbane
Oct 20, 2013

Great location

We got an upgrade which was fantastic. Huge room. Only thing was it was a little noisy. Room was huge and had everything you need. 5 minutes to the Bund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Small bar around the corner is great value.

Review of Astor House Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 21, 2010

Amazing Historical Hotel in Shanghai

I was surprised on how luxurious this hotel is, for a hotel that existed since 1846. Lots of Famous Historical people had stayed here when they visisted Shanghai. Friendly, Knowledgable, and Curteous Staffs. I was able to get a relaxing massage in the middle of the night. Rooms are spacious, it's definately worth the price of the room. Great Location, just off the river boardwalk where lots of joyful people celebrating their stay in Shanghai. Security is most excellent, inside and out, of the hotel. You can go out and enjoy the city in the middle of the night without any worries. Definately recommending anyone to stay here if this is your first time visiting Shanghai or returning for the wonderful culture that Shanghai has to offer. I would definately stay here again when I return to Shanghai next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Astor House Hotel Shanghai

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 21, 2010

Amazing Historical Hotel in Shanghai

I was surprised on how luxurious this hotel is, for a hotel that existed since 1846. Lots of Famous Historical people had stayed here when they visisted Shanghai. Friendly, Knowledgable, and Curteous Staffs. I was able to get a relaxing massage in the middle of the night. Rooms are spacious, it's definately worth the price of the room. Great Location, just off the river boardwalk where lots of joyful people celebrating their stay in Shanghai. Security is most excellent, inside and out, of the hotel. You can go out and enjoy the city in the middle of the night without any worries. Definately recommending anyone to stay here if this is your first time visiting Shanghai or returning for the wonderful culture that Shanghai has to offer. I would definately stay here again when I return to Shanghai next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top