$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Sunworld Hotel Beijing

4 stars
88 Dengshikou, Dong Cheng Beijing, Beijing, 100006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
21 reviews
Great value

Fantastic location, very nice room and a great value for the price. Staff not fantastic with... See full review

  • Waiguoren
  • Jul 24, 2014
No problems, friendly staff, clean room

My family of 4 enjoyed our stay the Sunworld hotel. Everything was smooth, the room was nice,clean,... See full review

  • Ryan4
  • Feb 4, 2014
Nice extras at budget-friendly hotel near Wangfujing Street

Location is the top selling point of this budget-friendly hotel just off Wangfujing shopping street. A 20-minute walk takes guests to the Donghuamen night market and the Forbidden City. Dengshikou subway station on line 5 is a five-minute walk. The modern 308-room property has some nice extras for the price point, like laptop-size safes, fitness and massage center, and live piano music. California Shabu Shabu restaurant lets guests try the cook-it-yourself experience of Sichuan and Beijing hotpot.  

Highlights

  • Budget-friendly Chinese hotel just off Wangfujing shopping street
  • 20-minute walk to Donghuamen night market and the Forbidden City
  • Five-minute walk to Dengshikou subway station on line 2
  • Laptop-size safe, fitness and massage centers, live piano music, and other extras

Rooms

The 308 rooms and suites range in size from 270 square feet to 646 square feet and include a laptop-sized safe, mini-bar, desk, television with satellite channels, and Wi-Fi access (fees apply). Rooms were renovated in 2007 and now have a more contemporary feel, with soft golden hues, crimson accents, and dark wood furniture. Guests receive free bottled water in rooms.

Features

Sunny Café serves an international buffet and menu items for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. A piano player entertains diners in the evening. Guests can try the cook-it-yourself approach of Sichuan and Beijing hotpot in California Shabu Shabu. A small fitness center provides a place for exercising, or guests can get a massage in the relaxation center or in their own room.

Transportation

  • Beijing Railway Station (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
  • Capital International Airport (16.4 mi/26.6 km)
  • Nearest subway station: Dengshikou on line 5 (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

Nearby attractions

  • Forbidden City (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Lama Temple (2.2 mi/3.7 km)
  • Silk Alley (3.2 mi/5.3 km)
  • Temple of Heaven (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Summer Palace (12.2 mi/19.8 km)

Business

  • Business center
  • Three meeting rooms
  • Ballroom accommodating up to 330 people
  • Wi-Fi in public areas (fees apply)

Hotel Map

39.9182 116.4134
Area served
Beijing.
Nearby airports
Beijing International Airport.
Area description
Best central city location. Located in the heart of the Beijing's prime shopping and cultural areas. 30 minutes by car from Beijing International Airport. 10 minutes by car from Beijing Railway Station. 15 minutes walk from Tiananmen Square. 10 minutes walk from the Palace Museum. The best access to trusted public transport taxis.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunworld Hotel Beijing also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Sunworld Hotel Beijing Rooms

Standard Room
This room offers 1 king-size bed or 2 twin beds along with basic amenities.Extra bed will be charge 200CNY/day when check in.
Superior Room
This room offers 1 king-size bed or 2 twin beds along with basic amenities.Extra bed will be charge 200CNY/day when check in.
Deluxe king-size Room
This room offers 1 king bed along with basic amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Wangfujing: 0.7 mi
  • Fragrant Hills Park: 1 mi
  • Beijing National Grand Theater: 1 mi
  • Tiananmen Square: 1.1 mi
  • Forbidden City: 1.2 mi
  • Jing An Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Beihai Park: 1.6 mi
  • Lama Temple: 1.9 mi
  • Sanlitun: 2.2 mi
  • Xicheng: 2.5 mi
  • Temple of Heaven: 2.6 mi
  • Panjiayuan Market: 3.4 mi
  • Beijing Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Capital Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Great Bell Temple: 5.1 mi
  • Wangfujing: 0.7 mi
  • Fragrant Hills Park: 1 mi
  • Beijing National Grand Theater: 1 mi
  • Tiananmen Square: 1.1 mi
  • Forbidden City: 1.2 mi
  • Jing An Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Beihai Park: 1.6 mi
  • Lama Temple: 1.9 mi
  • Sanlitun: 2.2 mi
  • Xicheng: 2.5 mi
  • Temple of Heaven: 2.6 mi
  • Panjiayuan Market: 3.4 mi
  • Beijing Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Capital Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Great Bell Temple: 5.1 mi
  • Water Cube: 5.3 mi
  • Olympic Green: 6.9 mi
  • Summer Palace: 8.8 mi
  • Old Summer Palace: 8.9 mi
  • Shijingshan: 9.7 mi
  • Marco Polo Bridge: 11.3 mi
  • Beijing National Stadium: 18.5 mi
  • Ming Tombs: 25.4 mi
  • Juyongguan: 31.7 mi
  • Mutianyu: 36 mi
  • Badaling: 38.8 mi
  • Jinshanling: 68.4 mi
  • Simatai: 73 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1000
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Sunworld Hotel Beijing

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
3 out of 21
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.7
Sort by:
Review of Sunworld Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Waiguoren
New York
Jul 24, 2014

Great value

Fantastic location, very nice room and a great value for the price. Staff not fantastic with English, but very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to subway, if you are comfortable with it, you can get around cheap and quickly.

Review of Sunworld Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rssimp
Farmington, MI.
Apr 28, 2014

Good location

My first visit to China so I wasn't sure what to excpect. The room was smaller than what we would excpect in the US but it was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was very good. I really liked the location with the the Wangfujing shopping area, the Forbidden city and Tian anmen Square within easy walking distance. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Exchanging money was very easy and without the service fee you pay at the airport although make sure the bills your bring with your are perfect with out any small tears or worn areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quanjude Peking duck. Although this is a very high output style restraunt the duck was perfect and it was a good experience.

Review of Sunworld Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LDLK
NY
Feb 28, 2013

Good position, problems with heater, room internet and english

We spent a total of 5 nights at the Sunworld Hotel (not to be confused with the sister hotel Sunworld Dinasty Hotel which is a 5 stars on the same street). The first part of the trip, for 4 nights, we had a big room on 11th floor with king size bed and bathtub + shower. Everything perfect exept for the heater that was not working properly. The room was always cold (in February was very cold and we had a day that was -14° Celsius), they propose us to move to another room but we refused because it was smaller and we didn't want to move all of our stuff, so we asked for an extra comforter. We left Beijing for some days and then we choose to be back at The Sunworld because we were already familiar with the neighborhood: the subway is very close, a 7-eleven 24hours is right across the street, if you want a coffee there's a Mc Donalds 100 meters away, while a Starbucks is inside a mall within 5 minutes walking distance. This time we spent only one night and the internet in the room (smaller than the first room) was not working, they assigned us another room but unfortunately we found the same issue. They also sent a network person that couldn't resolve the problem. We were not able to check-in our flight online and we were not able to find out that the flight was 5 hours delayed. We didn't receive any discount for the inconvenience (internet was specifically advertised and included in our nightly rate) so I would like to share with you the fact that wifi is present only in the lobby and in a few random rooms (as the first one, but after the guy came and put a wifi router). If you need internet in the room you should bring your own ethernet cable because the one they have are old and the connectors are broken and anyway they have connectivity issues in some rooms (the second and the third room we tried). English is spoken at a very basic level from just a few members of the very nice staff, so if you need to solve a problem it is better to go to the lobby in person vs make a phone call from the room. This can be frustrating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sunworld Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daoista
Atlanta, GA
Nov 2, 2012

Good Value, Great Location

This was exactly what i expected after reading the reviews. It was a 4 star hotel in Beijing. The hotel is extremely conveniently located on the East side of the Forbidden City, just around the corner from the famous WangFuJing shopping district. In this regard, it is perfect. Taxi's know how to find the hotel and you can walk from the hotel to a huge mall, great restaurants, and to the Forbidden City or the museum across the street. The Post Office is also just 2 blocks up and they will help you send packages!! There is a Catholic Church just one block away if you're into Christianity... We loved the location and chose the hotel because of the price to location ratio. The room was very pretty and average for Chinese standards. We had the King-Deluxe. The bathroom was fine. The only down-side was the bed. it was very hard. but, most Chinese hotel beds are the same!! The breakfast buffet was abundant and had many Eastern/Western choices. We were happy to eat there both mornings. There are quick fast-foods across the street if you want to save money, but then you won't have as many choices. Check out the pastry shop across the street with capuccinos, lattes and great desserts! I would definitely return....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Even though it's pricey, breakfast is worth it.

Back to menu Return to top