$45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Hutong Inn (Zaoyuanju)

3 stars
17# Zhangwang Hutong, Jiugulou Dajie, Dongcheng District, Beijing, 100009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
10 reviews
Beijing getaway

This hotel is great. When you see it from outside it looks very dingy but inside I was pleasantly... See full review

  • Waygook Traveller
  • Sep 24, 2013
Value for Money

Convenient to subway station (Goludajie), walking distance to drum tower / bell tower and near to... See full review

  • Hector and Evella
  • Jul 13, 2013
Zaoyuanju Hotel is full of Chinese traditional cultural atmosphere in a quiet Hutong. After travelling for a whole day, Zaoyuanju hotel will show you a quiet, warm and romantic Beijing with Chinese traditional culture. Zaoyuanju is ideally positioned for visitors to the China who is wishing to enjoy the sights and delights of central Beijing. It is located in the north of the second ring, which just minutes way from the mysterious Bell Tower, Ditan Park and BeiHai Park. It is in the west to the Lama Temple, GuoZijian and HuangChenggen; north to the Beihai park, Jingshan park, the forbidden city, Tiananmen square and Chang An street; in the south of Ditan park, and it is also very near to the Olympic park. Beijing Hutong, is one of the representative interested place worthy for you to visit. Zaoyuanju Hotel is full of Chinese traditional cultural atmosphere in a quiet Hutong. After travelling for a whole day, Zaoyuanju hotel will show you a quiet, warm and romantic Beijing with Chinese traditional culture. You'll like the authentic hutong location, plus being near a subway station. Staff is friendly as well and helpful with questions.

Remarks:
It is CNY 300 for airport pick up service, and it is CNY 200 for drop off.
It is CNY 200 for railway pick up, and CNY 150 for drop off.

Hutong Inn (Zaoyuanju) Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Double (Tower view) room is decorated in the style of Ming & Qing Dynasty, simple and elegant with one double bed. The hotel is provided with private air conditioning system, satellite and closed-circuit television, personal safety deposit box, hair drier, and advanced public security system. Moreover, from the window, you can see the ancient Drum and Bell tower and the old beijing Hutong which is really an good opportunity to get to know the traditional lifestyle and culture of Beijing. At zaoyuanju, you are not just a traveler, but a real Beijinger.
DELUXE - ROOM
The deluxe twin bed room is decorated in the style of Ming & Qing Dynasty, simple and elegant with two single beds. The hotel is provided with private air conditioning system, satellite and closed-circuit television, personal safety deposit box, hair drier, and advanced public security system. Moreover, from the window, you can see the ancient Drum and Bell tower and the old beijing Hutong which is really an good opportunity to get to know the traditional lifestyle and culture of Beijing. At zaoyuanju, you are not just a traveler, but a real Beijinger.
FAMILY - ROOM
Family room is decorated in the style of Ming & Qing Dynasty, simple and elegant with one double bed and one single bed. The hotel is provided with private air conditioning system, satellite and closed-circuit television, personal safety deposit box, hair drier, and advanced public security system. Moreover, from the window, you can see the ancient Drum and Bell tower and the old beijing Hutong which is really an good opportunity to get to know the traditional lifestyle and culture of Beijing! At zaoyuanju, you are not just a traveler, but a real Beijinger!
STANDARD - ROOM
The triple room is decorated in the style of Ming & Qing Dynasty, simple and elegant with three single beds. The hotel is provided with private air conditioning system, satellite and closed-circuit television, personal safety deposit box, hair drier, and advanced public security system. Moreover, from the window, you can see the ancient Drum and Bell tower and the old beijing Hutong which is really an good opportunity to get to know the traditional lifestyle and culture of Beijing! At zaoyuanju, you are not just a traveler, but a real Beijinger
STANDARD - ROOM
The Chinese style Double room is decorated in the style of Ming & Qing Dynasty, simple and elegant with one double bed. The hotel is provided with private air conditioning system, satellite and closed-circuit television, personal safety deposit box, hair drier, and advanced public security system. Moreover, from the window, you can see the ancient Drum and Bell tower and the old beijing Hutong which is really an good opportunity to get to know the traditional lifestyle and culture of Beijing. At zaoyuanju, you are not just a traveler, but a real Beijinger.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hutong Inn (Zaoyuanju) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9446 116.3949
Area served
Beijing.
Nearby airports
Beijing International airport.
Area description
Zao Yuanju Hotel is situated on the Bei Er Huan road, Zhangwang Hutong, in central Beijing, close to Gu Lou Da Jie subway station, which is close to all public amenities and is with walking distance of Bell Tower, Drum Tower and Ditan Park. It is about 20 minutes from Tiananmen Square by subway, and 10 minutes to Bei Hai Park, Hou Hai bar street, the Palace Museum, Jing Shan park and Yong He Lamasery by bicycle. Interesting Places near us: Zaoyuanju is ideally positioned for visitors to the China who is wishing to enjoy the sights and delights of central Beijing. It is located in the area of the mysterious Bell Tower, Ditan Park and BeiHai Park. It is in the west to the Lama Temple, Guozijian and HuangChenggen; north to the Beihai park, Jingshan park, the forbidden city, Tiananmen square and Chang An street; in the south of Ditan park, and it is also very near to the Olympic park.

Nearby points of interest

  • Beihai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lama Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Forbidden City: 1.9 mi
  • Tiananmen Square: 2.5 mi
  • Xicheng: 2.7 mi
  • Wangfujing: 2.7 mi
  • Fragrant Hills Park: 2.8 mi
  • Beijing National Grand Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Sanlitun: 3 mi
  • Jing An Temple: 3.3 mi
  • Great Bell Temple: 3.3 mi
  • Water Cube: 3.3 mi
  • Beijing Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • Capital Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Temple of Heaven: 4.6 mi
  • Beihai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lama Temple: 1.2 mi
  • Forbidden City: 1.9 mi
  • Tiananmen Square: 2.5 mi
  • Xicheng: 2.7 mi
  • Wangfujing: 2.7 mi
  • Fragrant Hills Park: 2.8 mi
  • Beijing National Grand Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Sanlitun: 3 mi
  • Jing An Temple: 3.3 mi
  • Great Bell Temple: 3.3 mi
  • Water Cube: 3.3 mi
  • Beijing Zoo: 3.4 mi
  • Capital Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Temple of Heaven: 4.6 mi
  • Olympic Green: 5 mi
  • Panjiayuan Market: 5.4 mi
  • Old Summer Palace: 6.9 mi
  • Summer Palace: 7 mi
  • Shijingshan: 9 mi
  • Marco Polo Bridge: 11.4 mi
  • Beijing National Stadium: 19.1 mi
  • Ming Tombs: 23.3 mi
  • Juyongguan: 29.6 mi
  • Mutianyu: 34.5 mi
  • Badaling: 36.8 mi
  • Jinshanling: 67.6 mi
  • Simatai: 72.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Formal dining from the international menu is served in the County Yard. The newly refurbished, bright and airy, traditional Chinese atmosphere of the Conservatory is ideal for a casual lunch, snack or pre-theatre drinks. The lounge, overlooking Kensington Gardens and Palace, is also available for a traditional Chinese afternoon tea or light snack. The 24-hour room service menu runs from breakfast, brunch and light lunch snacks to 3-course dinners, a full supper and a 'through the night' menu. For guests on the move, the restaurant serves coffee throughout the hotel and can easily arrange an airline meal for your flight, as well as picnic baskets and hampers to enjoy in the many royal parks in the local area. Additionally, Tiki Bar is a Caribbean-style, outdoor entertainment venue, where you'll find a complete menu of domestic and exotic drink selections.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1000
Check-out:
1400

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Hutong Inn (Zaoyuanju)

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hutong Inn (Zaoyuanju)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deloryan
Minneapolis, MN, USA
May 4, 2012

Close to Train Station

Good location, very close to train station. Also within walking distance of the forbidden city. Room was clean. Breakfast was bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hutong Inn (Zaoyuanju)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hong Kong
Oct 25, 2009

Good Value for the Money

I stayed at the Zaoyuanju Hotel (aka Hutong Hotel) for two nights, sharing a triple room with my elderly parents. If you enjoy the backpacker/youth hostel atmosphere -- as we do -- this hotel is a great choice. We got some good tips from other travelers we met in the hotel lounge. The location is great. Unusually for Beijing, there's actually a lot within walking distance of the hotel: hutong neighborhoods obviously, but also the Drum Tower, Bell Tower, and a couple of really lovely parks. And, more importantly, it's just a 10-minute walk to a subway station. That said, if I had to do this trip over again, I probably would stay at a hotel with more amenities. While I prefer to stay at inexpensive places like this, since I figure, "how much time am I going to stay in the hotel really?" it's different when you're traveling with two people in their sixties who aren't used to the rigors of travel. The room was rather small and cramped here. Had I known they'd need a lot of down time in the hotel room -- and specifically how much time they'd be spending in the bathroom, which was basically adequate but spartan -- I'd have splurged for a more upmarket hotel option to make them more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask the receptionist to book train tickets -- short-haul or long-haul -- for you. They charge only a small fee for the service and it saves you a ton of time waiting in line at Beijing's various train stations. I bought sleeper tickets to Xi'an through the hotel. I should also have bought my rail tickets to the Great Wall (Badaling) at the hotel too -- I ended up waiting in a big line at the train station. I found the front desk staff very helpful and informative. Also, ask them to sell you the Beijing tourist map they have there.

Review of Hutong Inn (Zaoyuanju)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Craffaek8
Lethbridge, Ab, Canada
Feb 20, 2011

Authentic and cheap

This hotel was a perfect location if your looking for a nice quiet authentic old Beijing experience. We didn't feel like we were in a big city, and there was so much to explore. This isn't for the Hilton Inn types. Staff was friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was good, you could even make your own omelette. We were only there for a couple days, so it was nice to just step outside your hotel and see some of the historic and charming beauty of old Beijing. We enjoyed just getting lost in the winding alleyways. Room was cramped but very clean, I would stay there again! Just a stroll away from funky shops and neat little restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places by to eat for cheap.

Review of Hutong Inn (Zaoyuanju)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
suki
hereford.uk
Jul 19, 2009

Really good location

Really good location in old Beijing.A bit alarming when we first got out of cab,but then the hotel was friendly and we realized that we could,nt have found anywhere better to get a real insight into the people and living conditions of old Beijing.Everyone was really friendly and we felt totally at ease and unthreatened.we can recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the cabs if you don't want to walk,they are cheap and reliable

Review of Hutong Inn (Zaoyuanju)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Waygook Traveller
Korea
Sep 24, 2013

Beijing getaway

This hotel is great. When you see it from outside it looks very dingy but inside I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were spotless and were cleaned everyday. Free soap, shower gel etc which I wasn't expecting from a budget hotel. It was the Mid-Autumn festival so we received free moon cakes in our room. The area around here is nice, there are a lot of nice little cafes, bars and restaurants to explore. A short walk away is Hou Hai along the lake which is great for nightlife and souvenir shopping. I recommend the Reggae bar there, they had a really awesome live band. You can even haggle the price of drinks at some of the bars when it's near closing time. The metro is close to the hotel. However, the directions I found online where completely wrong so it was difficult to find. If you can find exit G from the metro it's much better. Just go straight from there and it's one of the first hutongs on the left (opposite McDonalds and the youth hostel) The youth hostel bar is also very cheap and has special offers on every day. The only negative thing about this place is the staff. The guy on the front desk was quite rude and very abrupt with us when we asked about great wall tours. He was no help at all so we decided to book through another tour company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you don't want to go on a full day trip to the Great wall, book a private driver to take you there and back. It cost us 600 for return for two people. Some places tried to charge us double that. They will tell you it's too expensive for a taxi and that you should get a bus tour. Always negotiate. Other bus tours take you to tea shops, jade factories, shopping etc. We were able to go straight to the wall, hike for a few hours (pack our own food) then come straight back. Much better!

Review of Hutong Inn (Zaoyuanju)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Craffaek8
Lethbridge, Ab, Canada
Feb 20, 2011

Authentic and cheap

This hotel was a perfect location if your looking for a nice quiet authentic old Beijing experience. We didn't feel like we were in a big city, and there was so much to explore. This isn't for the Hilton Inn types. Staff was friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was good, you could even make your own omelette. We were only there for a couple days, so it was nice to just step outside your hotel and see some of the historic and charming beauty of old Beijing. We enjoyed just getting lost in the winding alleyways. Room was cramped but very clean, I would stay there again! Just a stroll away from funky shops and neat little restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places by to eat for cheap.

Review of Hutong Inn (Zaoyuanju)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hong Kong
Oct 25, 2009

Good Value for the Money

I stayed at the Zaoyuanju Hotel (aka Hutong Hotel) for two nights, sharing a triple room with my elderly parents. If you enjoy the backpacker/youth hostel atmosphere -- as we do -- this hotel is a great choice. We got some good tips from other travelers we met in the hotel lounge. The location is great. Unusually for Beijing, there's actually a lot within walking distance of the hotel: hutong neighborhoods obviously, but also the Drum Tower, Bell Tower, and a couple of really lovely parks. And, more importantly, it's just a 10-minute walk to a subway station. That said, if I had to do this trip over again, I probably would stay at a hotel with more amenities. While I prefer to stay at inexpensive places like this, since I figure, "how much time am I going to stay in the hotel really?" it's different when you're traveling with two people in their sixties who aren't used to the rigors of travel. The room was rather small and cramped here. Had I known they'd need a lot of down time in the hotel room -- and specifically how much time they'd be spending in the bathroom, which was basically adequate but spartan -- I'd have splurged for a more upmarket hotel option to make them more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask the receptionist to book train tickets -- short-haul or long-haul -- for you. They charge only a small fee for the service and it saves you a ton of time waiting in line at Beijing's various train stations. I bought sleeper tickets to Xi'an through the hotel. I should also have bought my rail tickets to the Great Wall (Badaling) at the hotel too -- I ended up waiting in a big line at the train station. I found the front desk staff very helpful and informative. Also, ask them to sell you the Beijing tourist map they have there.

Review of Hutong Inn (Zaoyuanju)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kate & Co.
Portland, OR
Aug 16, 2010

Real Beijing, with comforts

From this well located hotel in Beijing's historic hutong's we exhaustively explored this gigantic city in 5 days. Many sites, Drum & Bell Towers, Hou Hai Lake & many restaurants & bars were within easy walking distance. Everything else was easily reached via subway with the closest station a short walk away. Walking through the hutong gave us an amazing, intimate view of the lives of regular people, just what we wanted! We also found and enjoyed wonderful bread and baked goods from tiny neighborhood shops there. Getting directions to the hotel was a bit of a challenge, but the well located Tourist Office nearby got us pointed in the right direction. A tour company the hotel contacted for our day trip to the Great Wall changed details of the trip without telling us until we asked. But we also saw a great alternate site. So in the end it all worked out fine - given that we had almost no Chinese, and people made a great effort to help us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

get specific walking directions to the hotel ahead of time. it can be confusing because of the lack of street signage.

Review of Hutong Inn (Zaoyuanju)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hector and Evella
Singapore-Philippines
Jul 13, 2013

Value for Money

Convenient to subway station (Goludajie), walking distance to drum tower / bell tower and near to the restaurant. The staff are very helpful and can speak english.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is affordable.

Review of Hutong Inn (Zaoyuanju)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kate & Co.
Portland, OR
Aug 16, 2010

Real Beijing, with comforts

From this well located hotel in Beijing's historic hutong's we exhaustively explored this gigantic city in 5 days. Many sites, Drum & Bell Towers, Hou Hai Lake & many restaurants & bars were within easy walking distance. Everything else was easily reached via subway with the closest station a short walk away. Walking through the hutong gave us an amazing, intimate view of the lives of regular people, just what we wanted! We also found and enjoyed wonderful bread and baked goods from tiny neighborhood shops there. Getting directions to the hotel was a bit of a challenge, but the well located Tourist Office nearby got us pointed in the right direction. A tour company the hotel contacted for our day trip to the Great Wall changed details of the trip without telling us until we asked. But we also saw a great alternate site. So in the end it all worked out fine - given that we had almost no Chinese, and people made a great effort to help us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

get specific walking directions to the hotel ahead of time. it can be confusing because of the lack of street signage.

Back to menu Return to top