$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

3 stars
View map of 1 Nanwanzi Bystreet, Nanheyan St Dongcheng Dist, Beijing, 100006

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yodada
Business
San Francisco East Bay, CA
May 1, 2011

Great location but hard beds

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel before our other tour started. This hotel has great location, very close to all major sightseeing sites, shopping & subway station. The room was small but clean, bed were very hard. I found out that the mattress has metal springs & no padding. I asked the front desk for extra quits, folded up twice(4 layers) and it was fine. Air conditioning did not work while we were there around mid April. I was told by a third party that hotels all over China can't turn on the air until 5/1 even though the temp was in the 80's when we were there. Front desk was helpful. Breakfast was included and it was good and had prently to eat. We walked to the Forbidden City, the newly re-opened National Museum and Wangfujiang Night Market. The night market was for tourist and food was not fresh. We ate mostly at the food courts inside the Oriental Plaza Mall. Food was good and reasonably priced. We took subway to shop at Hongqiao(Pearl)market and Capitol Museum. We also went to see Olympic Park(Bird Nest & Water Cube) by subway. We bought the subway cards(Yikatong Pass) for convenience. We supposed to be able to return them for the balance unused and the deposit. But it was much more difficult than expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the food courts inside the Oriental Plaza Mall. There are several food courts/areas in the Mall. The best one is walk past Burger King. There are many restaurants group together in one big area. Many choices like dim sum, grilled fish, bbq, noodles etc and all reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carmel, IN
Apr 17, 2011

Great location

We were there for sight seeing. This is the second time that I stay in this hotel. The location is great but the price is a little bit too expensive in compareing with the same level hotels in Beijing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, CO
Feb 9, 2011

Location location location

The accommodations are so-so (some rooms have seriously rusty fixtures in the bathrooms and rock hard mattresses) and the breakfast was mediocre. So why do I give them 4 stars? The location is unbelievable. You are literally blocks from the most important tourist attractions in Beijing. Namely, Tiananmen Square, The Forbidden City, Wangfujing Shopping and Night Food Markets, parks, towers, silk market, etc. The staff speaks halting English for the most part but are very friendly and helpful. For the price, this hotel is a great deal if you can overlook the rough edges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head over to Wangfujing Street and try out any number of bizarre foods on display from Scorpions to Spiders, Sea Snake and Silk Worms!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
İZMİR TURKEY
Sep 8, 2010

central location

The receptionists were helpfull. The exchange money machine in the lobby was very good idea with good rates. Our room was at the basement so the coridor smell very bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RogerPPM
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 26, 2009

Better than expected

This was our first night in a hotel in China and I wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised. The Days Inn exceeded my expectations with a spacious room and western amenities. The buffet breakfast was great! It is a short walk to the Forbidden City so you must take a tour of that while here. We found the best value was to get a guide when we got to the City as the tour recommended at the front desk was a lot more expensive and was a fixed schedule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashiville, TN
Jun 17, 2009

convenient stay

Simple hotel, but very great location and nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old China Hand
Business
Charleston, SC
Jun 9, 2010

Great Location and a spotless room

As a China scholar who has stayed at many moderately priced hotels, this was one of the best. It is very convenient: it is close to both Wangfujing and Tiananmen Square. The economy room (in the basement) that I stayed in was a bit cramped, but it was very clean, especially the bathroom. It was also conveniently rigged electronically, so you didn't have to do a long search to plug in the laptop. The lighting was also good for reading. In short, it was a very comfortable and practical room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjzz
Business
Delaware
Jun 19, 2009

Good location, Breakfast, and Service

1. The hotel provides continental breakfast which has a variety of choices. It has a mixture of Chinese and Western food, including fruits, vegetable, eggs, bacons, pancakes, fried rice and Chinese dumblings,among other choices. 2. The hotel is within a walking distance from Tienmen square, Forbidden city, Wonfungjing business district where you can find many shops and resturants. 3. Subway stations are also within walking distance (either in the Wonfungjing street and near the Tienmen square. You can walk to Tienmen square through a couple of small parks. 4. The hotel is very quiet, but the room is small. The room is clean, but not spotless. I would rate the room as a three star or less, but the location is a 5 star. If you want a budget hotel just to spend the night, this will be the place for you. The staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful, epecially those in the business center. There was one problem for this hotel. It is located off the main streat and it was difficult to find for the TAXI driver. Make sure you print out a map and phone number of the hotel. Once you arrived there, you can ask the front hotel for business card for the hotel which includes phone number and a map. Other information: cost for a ride to the airport is about 90 to 120 rmb ($15 to $20 based 6.7 exchange rate). We went to a bank in Wongfujing district to get some local currency. We also went to the great wall by hiring a taxi (500 rmb).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hannah Loves to Travel
Business
Sacramento, CA
Mar 8, 2010

A Steal for the Price

I came to Beijing to teach English for a year, but quickly decided teaching (and Beijing) weren't for me. I ended up taking an unplanned vacation all over Beijing before I went home. I booked the hotel the day before I came to stay. When I was in the cab going there, I called the hotel and the concierge told the cab driver how to get there. This was extremely helpful! I originally was supposed to get a basement room, but there was something wrong with the room and they upgraded me at no cost to a room on the third floor. The bed was a double, which was more than big enough for me (4ft, 11 in). The room was clean, had a great shower and nice TV, internet and laundry service, plus a nice view of the hutong next to the hotel. They had HBO, which was great. It was also conveniently in between two different subway stops on Line 1. Worst thing about the hotel was the restaurant. I had an average breakfast, which was way overpriced. Also, no one really ever eats in the restaurant. However, there are lots of places to eat around the hotel, so it doesn't matter too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If there is a subway stop close to the place you want to visit, take the subway, not a cab. The subway system is really easy to figure out and inexpensive. The only downside is that you will invariably end up crushed into a car with a ton of people. However, I think you learn more about what it really means to live in Beijing this way. Also, take the bus just to the take the bus. It's an experience for sure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tumichael
Business
San Mateo, CA
Sep 26, 2010

Location, location, location

Walking pass the front gate of palace museum every morning around 5. Watching the flag raising ceremony at Tiananmen Square sometimes. Too many visitors in the day time. There is a small, but beautiful park, near the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very very close to must-see spots in Beijing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top