$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

3 stars
View map of 1 Nanwanzi Bystreet, Nanheyan St Dongcheng Dist, Beijing, 100006

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
İZMİR TURKEY
Sep 8, 2010

central location

The receptionists were helpfull. The exchange money machine in the lobby was very good idea with good rates. Our room was at the basement so the coridor smell very bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RogerPPM
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 26, 2009

Better than expected

This was our first night in a hotel in China and I wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised. The Days Inn exceeded my expectations with a spacious room and western amenities. The buffet breakfast was great! It is a short walk to the Forbidden City so you must take a tour of that while here. We found the best value was to get a guide when we got to the City as the tour recommended at the front desk was a lot more expensive and was a fixed schedule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashiville, TN
Jun 17, 2009

convenient stay

Simple hotel, but very great location and nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old China Hand
Business
Charleston, SC
Jun 9, 2010

Great Location and a spotless room

As a China scholar who has stayed at many moderately priced hotels, this was one of the best. It is very convenient: it is close to both Wangfujing and Tiananmen Square. The economy room (in the basement) that I stayed in was a bit cramped, but it was very clean, especially the bathroom. It was also conveniently rigged electronically, so you didn't have to do a long search to plug in the laptop. The lighting was also good for reading. In short, it was a very comfortable and practical room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjzz
Business
Delaware
Jun 19, 2009

Good location, Breakfast, and Service

1. The hotel provides continental breakfast which has a variety of choices. It has a mixture of Chinese and Western food, including fruits, vegetable, eggs, bacons, pancakes, fried rice and Chinese dumblings,among other choices. 2. The hotel is within a walking distance from Tienmen square, Forbidden city, Wonfungjing business district where you can find many shops and resturants. 3. Subway stations are also within walking distance (either in the Wonfungjing street and near the Tienmen square. You can walk to Tienmen square through a couple of small parks. 4. The hotel is very quiet, but the room is small. The room is clean, but not spotless. I would rate the room as a three star or less, but the location is a 5 star. If you want a budget hotel just to spend the night, this will be the place for you. The staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful, epecially those in the business center. There was one problem for this hotel. It is located off the main streat and it was difficult to find for the TAXI driver. Make sure you print out a map and phone number of the hotel. Once you arrived there, you can ask the front hotel for business card for the hotel which includes phone number and a map. Other information: cost for a ride to the airport is about 90 to 120 rmb ($15 to $20 based 6.7 exchange rate). We went to a bank in Wongfujing district to get some local currency. We also went to the great wall by hiring a taxi (500 rmb).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hannah Loves to Travel
Business
Sacramento, CA
Mar 8, 2010

A Steal for the Price

I came to Beijing to teach English for a year, but quickly decided teaching (and Beijing) weren't for me. I ended up taking an unplanned vacation all over Beijing before I went home. I booked the hotel the day before I came to stay. When I was in the cab going there, I called the hotel and the concierge told the cab driver how to get there. This was extremely helpful! I originally was supposed to get a basement room, but there was something wrong with the room and they upgraded me at no cost to a room on the third floor. The bed was a double, which was more than big enough for me (4ft, 11 in). The room was clean, had a great shower and nice TV, internet and laundry service, plus a nice view of the hutong next to the hotel. They had HBO, which was great. It was also conveniently in between two different subway stops on Line 1. Worst thing about the hotel was the restaurant. I had an average breakfast, which was way overpriced. Also, no one really ever eats in the restaurant. However, there are lots of places to eat around the hotel, so it doesn't matter too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If there is a subway stop close to the place you want to visit, take the subway, not a cab. The subway system is really easy to figure out and inexpensive. The only downside is that you will invariably end up crushed into a car with a ton of people. However, I think you learn more about what it really means to live in Beijing this way. Also, take the bus just to the take the bus. It's an experience for sure.

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tumichael
Business
San Mateo, CA
Sep 26, 2010

Location, location, location

Walking pass the front gate of palace museum every morning around 5. Watching the flag raising ceremony at Tiananmen Square sometimes. Too many visitors in the day time. There is a small, but beautiful park, near the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very very close to must-see spots in Beijing.

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kenneth L.
Business
Grand Junction
Jan 15, 2015

Good location

If you are taking a taxi from the airport, the drivers will have difficulty finding it, even if you have the address printed in Chinese. Pick a well known landmark nearby and have the address in Chinese. This should be helpful. The location is within walking distance of Forbidden City and Shopping Mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul C.
Business
N/A
Apr 28, 2015

Good location

Small rooms but close to Forbidden city and other tourist destnations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 16, 2011

Great location and small, updated room

I thought the location was great - just a few blocks from Tienanmen Square, Forbidden City, and the metro. Also, there is a great dumpling place on the same block. The rooms were very small, but nicely updated and quite comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top