$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

3 stars
1 Nanwanzi Bystreet, Nanheyan St Dongcheng Dist, Beijing, 100006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
51 reviews
good

clearn and warm room, close to shopping and places See full review

  • frankalpine10
  • Feb 28, 2014
A place to rest your head

We travelled to 3 destinations. Beijing all you really need is a clean comfortable room and that is... See full review

  • Dylansgranny
  • Oct 20, 2013
Budget-friendly courtyard-style hotel near the Forbidden City

The Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing has a proud history. The hotel was once the sprawling courtyard complex of a well-known warlord. Today the hotel's 160 rooms provide a peaceful rest stop for travelers weary from sightseeing at the nearby Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, or shopping on Wangfujing Street. Guests can park for free -- a rarity in Beijing.

Highlights
  • Convenient location near the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square
  • Free parking
  • Free high-speed Internet
Rooms

The 160 modest-sized rooms stick to the basics: white linens, beige carpet and curtains. All rooms come with a workstation, mini-bar, safe, flat-screen television, and free high-speed Internet. The budget single rooms, in the basement, go for a cheaper rate than rooms on other floors.

Features

This hotel's location is its prime selling point. A ten-minute walk takes guests to several of Beijing's most famous landmarks, including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, and the National Theater. Shopping choices abound on nearby Wangfujing Street, and two convenient subway stations provide easy access to the rest of Beijing. The property's courtyard-style layout provides a welcome change from Beijing's many high-rise hotels. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The breakfast buffet includes both Chinese and Western dishes.

 

Transportation
  • Capital International Airport (19 mi/30.7 km)
  • Beijing Railway Station (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • 10-minute walk to Wangfujing and Tiananmen East subway stations on Line 1
Nearby attractions
  • Forbidden City (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Silk Alley (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Lama Temple (3.1 mi/5.1 km)
  • Temple of Heaven (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • Summer Palace (12.8 mi/20.8 km)
Business
  • Business center

Hotel Map

39.9141 116.3948
Area served
1 Nanwanzi Bystreet,Nanheyan Street,Dongcheng District,Beijing,P.R.China
Nearby airports
Beijing International Airport
Area description
It is located in central Beijing. In a few minutes walking distance from the Tiananmen Square and the Wangfujing Street, a main shopping area in Beijing.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing Rooms

BUDGET - ROOM
The room located in half basement with one queen bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable Satellite TV, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone.
DELUXE - ROOM
This room offers one queen bed or two twin beds along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone.Smoking and non smoking room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Forbidden City: 0.3 mi
  • Tiananmen Square: 0.4 mi
  • Fragrant Hills Park: 1 mi
  • Beijing National Grand Theater: 1 mi
  • Wangfujing: 1 mi
  • Beihai Park: 1.3 mi
  • Xicheng: 1.5 mi
  • Jing An Temple: 1.6 mi
  • Lama Temple: 2.5 mi
  • Temple of Heaven: 2.6 mi
  • Sanlitun: 3.3 mi
  • Beijing Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Capital Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Panjiayuan Market: 3.9 mi
  • Great Bell Temple: 4.6 mi
  • Forbidden City: 0.3 mi
  • Tiananmen Square: 0.4 mi
  • Fragrant Hills Park: 1 mi
  • Beijing National Grand Theater: 1 mi
  • Wangfujing: 1 mi
  • Beihai Park: 1.3 mi
  • Xicheng: 1.5 mi
  • Jing An Temple: 1.6 mi
  • Lama Temple: 2.5 mi
  • Temple of Heaven: 2.6 mi
  • Sanlitun: 3.3 mi
  • Beijing Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Capital Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Panjiayuan Market: 3.9 mi
  • Great Bell Temple: 4.6 mi
  • Water Cube: 5.4 mi
  • Olympic Green: 7.1 mi
  • Summer Palace: 8.2 mi
  • Old Summer Palace: 8.4 mi
  • Shijingshan: 8.7 mi
  • Marco Polo Bridge: 10.3 mi
  • Beijing National Stadium: 17.6 mi
  • Ming Tombs: 25.3 mi
  • Juyongguan: 31.3 mi
  • Mutianyu: 36.5 mi
  • Badaling: 38.5 mi
  • Jinshanling: 69.2 mi
  • Simatai: 73.9 mi

Dining

Days Cafe
The hotel western-style restaurant enables customers to experience an elegant ambience along with fast and friendly service while enjoying a delicious meal. International buffet breakfast, A La Carte on western menu and Asian cuisine are served.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1000
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frankalpine10
Houston
Feb 28, 2014

good

clearn and warm room, close to shopping and places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hannah Loves to Travel
Sacramento, CA
Mar 8, 2010

A Steal for the Price

I came to Beijing to teach English for a year, but quickly decided teaching (and Beijing) weren't for me. I ended up taking an unplanned vacation all over Beijing before I went home. I booked the hotel the day before I came to stay. When I was in the cab going there, I called the hotel and the concierge told the cab driver how to get there. This was extremely helpful! I originally was supposed to get a basement room, but there was something wrong with the room and they upgraded me at no cost to a room on the third floor. The bed was a double, which was more than big enough for me (4ft, 11 in). The room was clean, had a great shower and nice TV, internet and laundry service, plus a nice view of the hutong next to the hotel. They had HBO, which was great. It was also conveniently in between two different subway stops on Line 1. Worst thing about the hotel was the restaurant. I had an average breakfast, which was way overpriced. Also, no one really ever eats in the restaurant. However, there are lots of places to eat around the hotel, so it doesn't matter too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If there is a subway stop close to the place you want to visit, take the subway, not a cab. The subway system is really easy to figure out and inexpensive. The only downside is that you will invariably end up crushed into a car with a ton of people. However, I think you learn more about what it really means to live in Beijing this way. Also, take the bus just to the take the bus. It's an experience for sure.

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michel Goldorack
Business
Montréal, Canada
May 17, 2013

great location

easy acces to subway line 1, large room, and the breakfast buffet correct.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisville, CO
Feb 9, 2011

Location location location

The accommodations are so-so (some rooms have seriously rusty fixtures in the bathrooms and rock hard mattresses) and the breakfast was mediocre. So why do I give them 4 stars? The location is unbelievable. You are literally blocks from the most important tourist attractions in Beijing. Namely, Tiananmen Square, The Forbidden City, Wangfujing Shopping and Night Food Markets, parks, towers, silk market, etc. The staff speaks halting English for the most part but are very friendly and helpful. For the price, this hotel is a great deal if you can overlook the rough edges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head over to Wangfujing Street and try out any number of bizarre foods on display from Scorpions to Spiders, Sea Snake and Silk Worms!

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
İZMİR TURKEY
Sep 8, 2010

central location

The receptionists were helpfull. The exchange money machine in the lobby was very good idea with good rates. Our room was at the basement so the coridor smell very bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
London
UK
Aug 14, 2012

Very Good Location

The hotel is located at one of the most easily-assessed locations in Beijing for tourists, with a large Wangfujing shopping and dining district nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RogerPPM
Seattle, WA
Dec 26, 2009

Better than expected

This was our first night in a hotel in China and I wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised. The Days Inn exceeded my expectations with a spacious room and western amenities. The buffet breakfast was great! It is a short walk to the Forbidden City so you must take a tour of that while here. We found the best value was to get a guide when we got to the City as the tour recommended at the front desk was a lot more expensive and was a fixed schedule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashiville, TN
Jun 17, 2009

convenient stay

Simple hotel, but very great location and nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ladymimi
Spokane WA
Jul 19, 2010

Wonderful!! I was enjoy this trip.

I like the garden in this hotel. the only thing i wanted to complain which was about Budget Room. All the Budget Room are in downstairs, and there is no elevator to get down, so you have to carry your luggage to downstairs by yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ONLY CHINESE FOOD!! it's fine for me because I am Taiwanese.

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Nov 18, 2009

Days Inn Forbidden City

This was a great hotel within walking distance to the Forbidden City and Tianamen Square. The staff were very helpful. They spoke English, arranged tours for us and helped us book flights to Guiyang. The breakfast was out of this world and the rooms were fantastic. I loved this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search