$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

3 stars
View map of 1 Nanwanzi Bystreet, Nanheyan St Dongcheng Dist, Beijing, 100006

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JKry
Business
New Jersey, USA
Sep 15, 2011

Overall, good experience

We were looking for something close to the sights and metro station that was reasonable, this is what we got with the days inn forbidden city. You can't get a better location! We could walk to the forbidden city, Tinanmen square and the night market within 10 minutes. There's a metro stop about 5 minutes away. Breakfast was great with lots of selection. Yes, we were put in a 'basement room' but it wasn't bad. It did have faint moldy smell but it wasn't overwhelming. The shower was a little dated, take shower shoes and you'll be fine. Remember, you're staying in China, the cleanliness standards are a little different.... The bed was comfy. The staff want very helpful, but in their defense their English wasn't great. If I were back in Beijing I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sylvia and Gerry
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 9, 2011

Good value but needs atention to cleanliness

Budget rooms are in the basement. The corridor is quite dingy and the rooms do not have a full window. The grouting in the shower in our room was black with mould and needed to be cleaned badly. The reception area was nice but a bit worn and the front desk, which is where your first impression forms, looked as though it had not been dusted for a long time and the marble counter looked as though it had not been cleaned in a long time. The location was great, within walking distance of the Forbidden City, Tien'anmen Square and subways. Overall view of the hotel is that it could do with a good clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Forbidden City, Tian'anmen Square and Oriental Plaza Shopping Mall all within a few minutes walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friend to China
Business
Seattle
Jul 24, 2012

Good Value

If your goal is to be close to Tianeman Square and the Forbidden City, I don't believe there is a greater value to be had. Other hotels in this area are all huge five star monstrosities. This is a very nice 3 story hotel. The rooms are roomy and clean. The restaurant is a combination Chinese American Food place. I would stay again if the above referenced were my focus. Beijing is huge and so it kind of helps to know what you want to see. Also this place is close to the subway with easy access to everywhere around town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ace E
Business
Des Moines, IA
Dec 3, 2012

Economic Stay

If you're looking for an economic stay in Beijing, this hotel may be for you. I booked a room for approx $60 per night and wasn't expecting anything glamorous. Upon arrival the staff was fine - not overly friendly, but helpful enough. My room was small, dark and in drastic need of an update. But, it was clean enough and I didn't plan on spending much time there. The location works well as it is near the subway line and walking distance to Forbidden City/Tiananmen Square. If you're staying with a family, you may want to look elsewhere. But for an individual or couple looking for cheap accommodations on the go, I would recommend Days Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kmsultan
Business
Toronto
Jun 6, 2010

Days Inn Forbidden City

Great location, small but clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plazas very close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Apr 29, 2011

Location, Location, Location

I chose this hotel because of the location and I was not disappointed. It was the quality of accommodations that I expected from a Days Inn. The room was small but comfortable enough, and had everything I needed. Be careful about using the items in the room, though because they charged for just about everything -- even the tea bags, which are usually complimentary. The shower was excellent, and the quality of the linens was superior. The ATM machine in the lobby was not working, but there were plenty of other ones in the neighborhood. The location was really convenient -- walking distance to Tianamen Square and the Forbidden City, and to shopping and restaurants. I wanted to experience the Metro and it was also great for that. I stayed there for four nights, and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a pleasant small park just a half a block from the hotel that was very nice for a short walk and just to sit, read, and relax and pass some quiet time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Draggin' in Beijing
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 22, 2011

Days Inn Forbidden City

Hotel if perfectly fine, and a great location. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jun 28, 2011

Close to the Sights of Beijing

The hotel was as advertised. Incredibly convenient to the Forbidden City and Tiannamen Square. The staff was helpful, although at the reduced rate I paid for the room, I was given a basement room, not bad with a small window near the ceiling. The hotel was accommodating, free internet [no WiFi], and a free adaptor to borrow. The staff was fluent in English and arranged cabs for me and good walking directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to The Forbidden City early, get the audio guide and plan on spending 5 hours. Don't miss the Inner and Outer Courtyards.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not-young couple
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jan 14, 2011

Great location, good quality

We consider a hotel a place to sleep, not a destination. The Days Inn served that purpose very well. The staff was pleasant, the rooms clean (though basic) and warm (we were there in January), and the location is excellent -- close to the Forbidden City, subway, and the Wangfuging snack street (if you want to try scorpion or silkworms).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lee deWyze
Business
Mount Prospect, IL
Jul 26, 2010

Good Location, but bugs in the room

The location was great, but my room had bugs. The management did very little to resolve the problem. Additionally, the room did have a weird smell. Otherwise it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top