$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

3 stars
View map of 1 Nanwanzi Bystreet, Nanheyan St Dongcheng Dist, Beijing, 100006

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
51 reviews
Perfect Location

Very convenient location with easy walking distance to Wanfujing (including subway) and the... See full review

  • Emily G.
  • May 27, 2015
Good location

Small rooms but close to Forbidden city and other tourist destnations See full review

  • Paul C.
  • Apr 28, 2015

The Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing has a proud history. The hotel was once the sprawling courtyard complex of a well-known warlord. Today the hotel's 160 rooms provide a peaceful rest stop for travelers weary from sightseeing at the nearby Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, or shopping on Wangfujing Street. Guests can park for free -- a rarity in Beijing.

Rooms

The 160 modest-sized rooms stick to the basics: white linens, beige carpet and curtains. All rooms come with a workstation, mini-bar, safe, flat-screen television, and free high-speed Internet. The budget single rooms, in the basement, go for a cheaper rate than rooms on other floors.

Property features

This hotel's location is its prime selling point. A ten-minute walk takes guests to several of Beijing's most famous landmarks, including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, and the National Theater. Shopping choices abound on nearby Wangfujing Street, and two convenient subway stations provide easy access to the rest of Beijing. The property's courtyard-style layout provides a welcome change from Beijing's many high-rise hotels. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The breakfast buffet includes both Chinese and Western dishes.

 

Highlights
  • Convenient location near the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square
  • Free parking
  • Free high-speed Internet
Nearby attractions
  • Forbidden City (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Silk Alley (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Lama Temple (3.1 mi/5.1 km)
  • Temple of Heaven (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • Summer Palace (12.8 mi/20.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
Transportation
  • Capital International Airport (19 mi/30.7 km)
  • Beijing Railway Station (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • 10-minute walk to Wangfujing and Tiananmen East subway stations on Line 1

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$74
4.2 / 5 19 reviews
★★★
$44
3.2 / 5 27 reviews
★★★★
$80
3.8 / 5 29 reviews
★★★★
$98
3.9 / 5 38 reviews
★★★★
$82
3.9 / 5 27 reviews
★★★
$44
3.0 / 5 4 reviews
★★★★
$49
3.5 / 5 13 reviews
★★★★
$53
3.8 / 5 42 reviews
★★★
$45
3.0 / 5 5 reviews

Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing Rooms

BUDGET - ROOM
The room located in half basement with one queen bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable Satellite TV, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone.
DELUXE - ROOM
This room offers one queen bed or two twin beds along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone.Smoking and non smoking room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Forbidden City: 0.3 mi
  • Fragrant Hills Park: 1 mi
  • Kangxi Grasslands: 1 mi
  • Wangfujing: 1 mi
  • Beihai Park: 1.3 mi
  • Xicheng: 1.5 mi
  • Jing An Temple: 1.6 mi
  • Lama Temple: 2.5 mi
  • Temple of Heaven: 2.6 mi
  • Sanlitun: 3.3 mi
  • Beijing Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Capital Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Panjiayuan Market: 3.9 mi
  • Great Bell Temple: 4.6 mi
  • Water Cube: 5.4 mi
  • Forbidden City: 0.3 mi
  • Fragrant Hills Park: 1 mi
  • Kangxi Grasslands: 1 mi
  • Wangfujing: 1 mi
  • Beihai Park: 1.3 mi
  • Xicheng: 1.5 mi
  • Jing An Temple: 1.6 mi
  • Lama Temple: 2.5 mi
  • Temple of Heaven: 2.6 mi
  • Sanlitun: 3.3 mi
  • Beijing Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Capital Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Panjiayuan Market: 3.9 mi
  • Great Bell Temple: 4.6 mi
  • Water Cube: 5.4 mi
  • Olympic Green: 7.1 mi
  • Summer Palace: 8.2 mi
  • Old Summer Palace: 8.4 mi
  • Shijingshan: 8.7 mi
  • Marco Polo Bridge: 10.3 mi
  • Beijing National Stadium: 17.6 mi
  • Ming Tombs: 25.3 mi
  • Juyongguan: 31.3 mi
  • Mutianyu: 36.5 mi
  • Badaling: 38.5 mi
  • Jinshanling: 69.2 mi
  • Simatai: 73.9 mi

Dining

Days Cafe
The hotel western-style restaurant enables customers to experience an elegant ambience along with fast and friendly service while enjoying a delicious meal. International buffet breakfast, A La Carte on western menu and Asian cuisine are served.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
10:00 AM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ADE1
Single
London
Mar 3, 2014

Days inn Forbidden city

No taxi driver knew where it was, not good for getting to from the airport or getting back to when out. Poor wifi, kept dropping out, not good when trying to look something up. Room was not vaccumed in the 19 days there, most staff speak a little english. Room was very very basic. Breakfast was over priced and wanted to charge extra for everything. Very disapointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Forbidden city is very close by and well worth a good look around. Tian an man square is opposite

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GarciaMom
Family
Union City, California
Jul 5, 2012

Hotel from He**

Was given a room below ground with only small window at the ceiling. Smelled musty and smoky. Extremely dark even with all lights on. Bathroom dirty. No elevator to bottom floor so had to truck my own luggage to room. When asked for another room above ground, said, "Nothing available." Since I'm claustrophobic, I rebooked with another hotel. If you intend to only sleep in your hotel room, then go ahead & stay here. It's better with your eyes closed. Though I do admit, location is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Great Wall of China, theTerracota Warriors, Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City and Summer Palace are sites that should not be missed. Tour buses are convenient as long as you are prepared for the shopping detours. If you like to tour on your own, hire a driver & car for the day. It's one price and very reasonable. You can do this through your hotel.

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
zenji
Business
budapest, hungary
Dec 15, 2013

only for the backpacker

Prime Location, Cheap fee, but that is it. Slow Wifi, Dirty room, the cleaning staffs were not very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 18, 2010

Ok hotel

Very small rooms with mold in the showers. The room was clean but the bathroom was not. Location is near the Forbidden City and Tianamen square which is nice. Hotel was quiet. The bed was very firm. The breakfast is 69 yuan ($10). So, for the extra 20 or more dollars per night,you can get a lot nicer hotel that includes breakfast. The gift shop (size of a walk in closet) is seldom open (only saw it open for 10 minutes over the two days I was there)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
uncle chambers
Couples
Shanghai, China
Dec 26, 2010

you're in the basement

The hotel was ok. But the room was in the basement (which is a first for me) and the bed was a rock. I actually went to the front desk and asked if someone stole the mattress and just the box springs are left. I know beds in China are not the same as other places, but this one was extreme. The location was great though. Near the Forbidden City and a nice shopping area with pretty good food, both only a 5-10 min walk. The service and help were good also. The only problem was the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I think it is called the Oriental Mall. But it is a short walk and has good food and many stores. Also if you want to take a trip back to the western world, you can take a cab to Sanlitun. Also the hotel offers trips to the great wall and other places for a great price, we went to the great wall for 200rmb/per person and it was well worth it.

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wayne
Sep 28, 2008

Not a good value for the money

The Days Inn Forbidden City isn't your best choice for a hotel in Beijing. My room was in the basement, and the carpet was wet and moldy in spots. I was moved to another room, which was slightly better -- but even then the door key never worked, and the hotel had to call housekeeping to let me in each time I went out and came back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking distance to Tiananmen and to the #1 subway line.

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
C and E
Couples
Seoul
Sep 13, 2011

Budget is synonymous with unclean at this hotel...

Good points You can't beat the location. You are in walking distance of The Forbidden City, Wangfajung Street and Tianamen square. Bad points: Room-I don't know how it is for people who had "deluxe" rooms but my husband and I booked a budget room. We tried to upgrade when we reached the airport because I heard mixed reviews about the budget rooms. None available...so here we are...a room whose carpets obviously had not been cleaned in some time (thank goodness for the free paper flipflops they give you), the bathroom stall (I swear, I didn't know how much mold can grow on a wall) wall fixtures were literally falling off the walls (we closed the bathroom door and wall fixtures literally fell off the wall). Breakfast-You're better off going to the Mall at Oriental plaza for some pastries than wasting your money on the breakfast. Staff-mediocre but what stood out to me is we asked for a taxi to go to Houhai Lake, he gets us one, he and the taxi driver have some sort of conversation (it's apparent that for some reason, this taxi driver doesn't want to take us there and the bellhop is just nodding his head like, yeah, yeah, ok) we get in and he refuses to turn on his meter. Gratefully, he only charged us 20 RMB which apparently isn't that far off but the whole situation was quite suspicious. Overall, I wouldn't stay at this hotel again even if I had the option of a deluxe room. There are better options out there for the price...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JKry
Couples
New Jersey, USA
Sep 15, 2011

Overall, good experience

We were looking for something close to the sights and metro station that was reasonable, this is what we got with the days inn forbidden city. You can't get a better location! We could walk to the forbidden city, Tinanmen square and the night market within 10 minutes. There's a metro stop about 5 minutes away. Breakfast was great with lots of selection. Yes, we were put in a 'basement room' but it wasn't bad. It did have faint moldy smell but it wasn't overwhelming. The shower was a little dated, take shower shoes and you'll be fine. Remember, you're staying in China, the cleanliness standards are a little different.... The bed was comfy. The staff want very helpful, but in their defense their English wasn't great. If I were back in Beijing I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sylvia and Gerry
Couples
New York, NY, USA
Oct 9, 2011

Good value but needs atention to cleanliness

Budget rooms are in the basement. The corridor is quite dingy and the rooms do not have a full window. The grouting in the shower in our room was black with mould and needed to be cleaned badly. The reception area was nice but a bit worn and the front desk, which is where your first impression forms, looked as though it had not been dusted for a long time and the marble counter looked as though it had not been cleaned in a long time. The location was great, within walking distance of the Forbidden City, Tien'anmen Square and subways. Overall view of the hotel is that it could do with a good clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Forbidden City, Tian'anmen Square and Oriental Plaza Shopping Mall all within a few minutes walk

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friend to China
Single
Seattle
Jul 24, 2012

Good Value

If your goal is to be close to Tianeman Square and the Forbidden City, I don't believe there is a greater value to be had. Other hotels in this area are all huge five star monstrosities. This is a very nice 3 story hotel. The rooms are roomy and clean. The restaurant is a combination Chinese American Food place. I would stay again if the above referenced were my focus. Beijing is huge and so it kind of helps to know what you want to see. Also this place is close to the subway with easy access to everywhere around town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top