$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

3 stars
1 Nanwanzi Bystreet, Nanheyan St Dongcheng Dist, Beijing, 100006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
51 reviews
good

clearn and warm room, close to shopping and places See full review

  • frankalpine10
  • Feb 28, 2014
A place to rest your head

We travelled to 3 destinations. Beijing all you really need is a clean comfortable room and that is... See full review

  • Dylansgranny
  • Oct 20, 2013
Budget-friendly courtyard-style hotel near the Forbidden City

The Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing has a proud history. The hotel was once the sprawling courtyard complex of a well-known warlord. Today the hotel's 160 rooms provide a peaceful rest stop for travelers weary from sightseeing at the nearby Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, or shopping on Wangfujing Street. Guests can park for free -- a rarity in Beijing.

Highlights
  • Convenient location near the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square
  • Free parking
  • Free high-speed Internet
Rooms

The 160 modest-sized rooms stick to the basics: white linens, beige carpet and curtains. All rooms come with a workstation, mini-bar, safe, flat-screen television, and free high-speed Internet. The budget single rooms, in the basement, go for a cheaper rate than rooms on other floors.

Features

This hotel's location is its prime selling point. A ten-minute walk takes guests to several of Beijing's most famous landmarks, including the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, and the National Theater. Shopping choices abound on nearby Wangfujing Street, and two convenient subway stations provide easy access to the rest of Beijing. The property's courtyard-style layout provides a welcome change from Beijing's many high-rise hotels. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The breakfast buffet includes both Chinese and Western dishes.

 

Transportation
  • Capital International Airport (19 mi/30.7 km)
  • Beijing Railway Station (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • 10-minute walk to Wangfujing and Tiananmen East subway stations on Line 1
Nearby attractions
  • Forbidden City (0.5 mi/0.9 km)
  • Silk Alley (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Lama Temple (3.1 mi/5.1 km)
  • Temple of Heaven (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • Summer Palace (12.8 mi/20.8 km)
Business
  • Business center

Hotel Map

39.9141 116.3948
Area served
1 Nanwanzi Bystreet,Nanheyan Street,Dongcheng District,Beijing,P.R.China
Nearby airports
Beijing International Airport
Area description
It is located in central Beijing. In a few minutes walking distance from the Tiananmen Square and the Wangfujing Street, a main shopping area in Beijing.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing Rooms

BUDGET - ROOM
The room located in half basement with one queen bed along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable Satellite TV, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone.
DELUXE - ROOM
This room offers one queen bed or two twin beds along with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Clothes dryer, Color TV, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone.Smoking and non smoking room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Forbidden City: 0.3 mi
  • Tiananmen Square: 0.4 mi
  • Fragrant Hills Park: 1 mi
  • Beijing National Grand Theater: 1 mi
  • Wangfujing: 1 mi
  • Beihai Park: 1.3 mi
  • Xicheng: 1.5 mi
  • Jing An Temple: 1.6 mi
  • Lama Temple: 2.5 mi
  • Temple of Heaven: 2.6 mi
  • Sanlitun: 3.3 mi
  • Beijing Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Capital Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Panjiayuan Market: 3.9 mi
  • Great Bell Temple: 4.6 mi
  • Forbidden City: 0.3 mi
  • Tiananmen Square: 0.4 mi
  • Fragrant Hills Park: 1 mi
  • Beijing National Grand Theater: 1 mi
  • Wangfujing: 1 mi
  • Beihai Park: 1.3 mi
  • Xicheng: 1.5 mi
  • Jing An Temple: 1.6 mi
  • Lama Temple: 2.5 mi
  • Temple of Heaven: 2.6 mi
  • Sanlitun: 3.3 mi
  • Beijing Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Capital Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Panjiayuan Market: 3.9 mi
  • Great Bell Temple: 4.6 mi
  • Water Cube: 5.4 mi
  • Olympic Green: 7.1 mi
  • Summer Palace: 8.2 mi
  • Old Summer Palace: 8.4 mi
  • Shijingshan: 8.7 mi
  • Marco Polo Bridge: 10.3 mi
  • Beijing National Stadium: 17.6 mi
  • Ming Tombs: 25.3 mi
  • Juyongguan: 31.3 mi
  • Mutianyu: 36.5 mi
  • Badaling: 38.5 mi
  • Jinshanling: 69.2 mi
  • Simatai: 73.9 mi

Dining

Days Cafe
The hotel western-style restaurant enables customers to experience an elegant ambience along with fast and friendly service while enjoying a delicious meal. International buffet breakfast, A La Carte on western menu and Asian cuisine are served.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1000
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ladymimi
Spokane WA
Jul 19, 2010

Wonderful!! I was enjoy this trip.

I like the garden in this hotel. the only thing i wanted to complain which was about Budget Room. All the Budget Room are in downstairs, and there is no elevator to get down, so you have to carry your luggage to downstairs by yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ONLY CHINESE FOOD!! it's fine for me because I am Taiwanese.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 18, 2010

Ok hotel

Very small rooms with mold in the showers. The room was clean but the bathroom was not. Location is near the Forbidden City and Tianamen square which is nice. Hotel was quiet. The bed was very firm. The breakfast is 69 yuan ($10). So, for the extra 20 or more dollars per night,you can get a lot nicer hotel that includes breakfast. The gift shop (size of a walk in closet) is seldom open (only saw it open for 10 minutes over the two days I was there)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old China Hand
Business
Charleston, SC
Jun 9, 2010

Great Location and a spotless room

As a China scholar who has stayed at many moderately priced hotels, this was one of the best. It is very convenient: it is close to both Wangfujing and Tiananmen Square. The economy room (in the basement) that I stayed in was a bit cramped, but it was very clean, especially the bathroom. It was also conveniently rigged electronically, so you didn't have to do a long search to plug in the laptop. The lighting was also good for reading. In short, it was a very comfortable and practical room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kmsultan
Toronto
Jun 6, 2010

Days Inn Forbidden City

Great location, small but clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plazas very close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hannah Loves to Travel
Sacramento, CA
Mar 8, 2010

A Steal for the Price

I came to Beijing to teach English for a year, but quickly decided teaching (and Beijing) weren't for me. I ended up taking an unplanned vacation all over Beijing before I went home. I booked the hotel the day before I came to stay. When I was in the cab going there, I called the hotel and the concierge told the cab driver how to get there. This was extremely helpful! I originally was supposed to get a basement room, but there was something wrong with the room and they upgraded me at no cost to a room on the third floor. The bed was a double, which was more than big enough for me (4ft, 11 in). The room was clean, had a great shower and nice TV, internet and laundry service, plus a nice view of the hutong next to the hotel. They had HBO, which was great. It was also conveniently in between two different subway stops on Line 1. Worst thing about the hotel was the restaurant. I had an average breakfast, which was way overpriced. Also, no one really ever eats in the restaurant. However, there are lots of places to eat around the hotel, so it doesn't matter too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If there is a subway stop close to the place you want to visit, take the subway, not a cab. The subway system is really easy to figure out and inexpensive. The only downside is that you will invariably end up crushed into a car with a ton of people. However, I think you learn more about what it really means to live in Beijing this way. Also, take the bus just to the take the bus. It's an experience for sure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RogerPPM
Seattle, WA
Dec 26, 2009

Better than expected

This was our first night in a hotel in China and I wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised. The Days Inn exceeded my expectations with a spacious room and western amenities. The buffet breakfast was great! It is a short walk to the Forbidden City so you must take a tour of that while here. We found the best value was to get a guide when we got to the City as the tour recommended at the front desk was a lot more expensive and was a fixed schedule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Nov 18, 2009

Days Inn Forbidden City

This was a great hotel within walking distance to the Forbidden City and Tianamen Square. The staff were very helpful. They spoke English, arranged tours for us and helped us book flights to Guiyang. The breakfast was out of this world and the rooms were fantastic. I loved this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjzz
Delaware
Jun 19, 2009

Good location, Breakfast, and Service

1. The hotel provides continental breakfast which has a variety of choices. It has a mixture of Chinese and Western food, including fruits, vegetable, eggs, bacons, pancakes, fried rice and Chinese dumblings,among other choices. 2. The hotel is within a walking distance from Tienmen square, Forbidden city, Wonfungjing business district where you can find many shops and resturants. 3. Subway stations are also within walking distance (either in the Wonfungjing street and near the Tienmen square. You can walk to Tienmen square through a couple of small parks. 4. The hotel is very quiet, but the room is small. The room is clean, but not spotless. I would rate the room as a three star or less, but the location is a 5 star. If you want a budget hotel just to spend the night, this will be the place for you. The staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful, epecially those in the business center. There was one problem for this hotel. It is located off the main streat and it was difficult to find for the TAXI driver. Make sure you print out a map and phone number of the hotel. Once you arrived there, you can ask the front hotel for business card for the hotel which includes phone number and a map. Other information: cost for a ride to the airport is about 90 to 120 rmb ($15 to $20 based 6.7 exchange rate). We went to a bank in Wongfujing district to get some local currency. We also went to the great wall by hiring a taxi (500 rmb).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashiville, TN
Jun 17, 2009

convenient stay

Simple hotel, but very great location and nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wayne
Sep 28, 2008

Not a good value for the money

The Days Inn Forbidden City isn't your best choice for a hotel in Beijing. My room was in the basement, and the carpet was wet and moldy in spots. I was moved to another room, which was slightly better -- but even then the door key never worked, and the hotel had to call housekeeping to let me in each time I went out and came back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking distance to Tiananmen and to the #1 subway line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search