$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

3 stars
View map of 1 Nanwanzi Bystreet, Nanheyan St Dongcheng Dist, Beijing, 100006

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beijing Traveler
Business
Minnesota, USA
Jun 20, 2012

Good value for the location

Economical and comfortable choice close to major attractions. Free wireless internet did not reach our room but worked in the lobby and cafe. Helpful staff but have limited English. Good shower, and beds not quite as hard as typically found in China.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
China on Foot
Business
Thunder Bay, ON, Canada
Apr 6, 2012

A couple nights in Beijing

The strongest point of this hotel is that it is a 10 minute walk from the gates of Forbidden City. I don't think there are many other hotels this close. The staff are friendly and the restaurant is good with a mix of Asian and Western cuisine. Sometimes it seems the staff has little experience, i.e. they set the table but forget the utensils. Some of the staff speak very good English, so no worries there. From a Western viewpoint, the room was average and nothing to write home about. Maybe from a Chinese perspective it is better. Order the deluxe room; at least it will be above ground. Bring your own shaving stuff or you will have to buy what is in the room. The bed was fine. I would have preferred wireless internet. The hotel supplies a LAN cable and the wall jack works once you figure out which jack to use. The other jack is for something else but it isn't clearly marked. Overall, I'd gladly stay there again. No regrets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to find a hotel within a short walk of many attractions. You can save a lot of money and look at what you want to see by taking the tours without a guide. Usually, these hotels are near the centre of the city so there are night attractions as well.

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John6000
Business
São Paulo, Brasil
Feb 27, 2012

Days Inn

No problem whatsoever. Standard amenities for a Days Inn hotel. I partially chose the hotal for the location, but, though near the Forbidden City, other amenities such as shops are not particularly good here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lotrs of spivas and who*es neaby. Take care!

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SteveTraveller
Business
UK
Nov 19, 2011

Perfect Location

Perfect Location within walking distance of Tiananmen Square and Wangfujing Street. Comfortable, modern hotel. Excellent buffet breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Explore Wangfujing Street (for supermarket, restaurants and metro).

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shelter
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 9, 2011

more than i expected

this is a great location, near sights, shopping and restaurants. its clean and most of the staff is willing to help, and help you book tours of great wall, etc. the restaurant downstairs, while a bit pricey for lunch, is convenient and a good value for breakfast. If you venture to other parts of the city to go to bars or restaurants using cabs, know that the cab drivers will try to rip you off (80-100 rmb) to get back to this location, even when it only was 25 to get there...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

there's some fun bars, outdoor markets in an area of town where some expats hang out. watch for the aforementioned cab drivers who will rip you off (as everyone seems to want to do) but if you go into the bars where there are people on the street trying to pull you in, get a price list of the drinks before you order... you can get charged 40rmb per beer, and 30 for a dish of peanuts you didn't order.

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Tipster
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Nov 4, 2011

Great Location - Great Price

It was a great location. Close to the Forbidden City and to a large outdoor shopping mall with food courts. The "budget" room is in the basement and is very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food courts are located in the outdoor shopping mall, which is probably a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel.

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sylvia and Gerry
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 9, 2011

Good value but needs atention to cleanliness

Budget rooms are in the basement. The corridor is quite dingy and the rooms do not have a full window. The grouting in the shower in our room was black with mould and needed to be cleaned badly. The reception area was nice but a bit worn and the front desk, which is where your first impression forms, looked as though it had not been dusted for a long time and the marble counter looked as though it had not been cleaned in a long time. The location was great, within walking distance of the Forbidden City, Tien'anmen Square and subways. Overall view of the hotel is that it could do with a good clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Forbidden City, Tian'anmen Square and Oriental Plaza Shopping Mall all within a few minutes walk

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JKry
Business
New Jersey, USA
Sep 15, 2011

Overall, good experience

We were looking for something close to the sights and metro station that was reasonable, this is what we got with the days inn forbidden city. You can't get a better location! We could walk to the forbidden city, Tinanmen square and the night market within 10 minutes. There's a metro stop about 5 minutes away. Breakfast was great with lots of selection. Yes, we were put in a 'basement room' but it wasn't bad. It did have faint moldy smell but it wasn't overwhelming. The shower was a little dated, take shower shoes and you'll be fine. Remember, you're staying in China, the cleanliness standards are a little different.... The bed was comfy. The staff want very helpful, but in their defense their English wasn't great. If I were back in Beijing I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JKry
Business
New Jersey, USA
Sep 15, 2011

Overall, good experience

We were looking for something close to the sights and metro station that was reasonable, this is what we got with the days inn forbidden city. You can't get a better location! We could walk to the forbidden city, Tinanmen square and the night market within 10 minutes. There's a metro stop about 5 minutes away. Breakfast was great with lots of selection. Yes, we were put in a 'basement room' but it wasn't bad. It did have faint moldy smell but it wasn't overwhelming. The shower was a little dated, take shower shoes and you'll be fine. Remember, you're staying in China, the cleanliness standards are a little different.... The bed was comfy. The staff want very helpful, but in their defense their English wasn't great. If I were back in Beijing I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you're into beer, you MUST go to Great Leap Brewery! It's a great craft brewery that uses local ingredients to make really fantastic beer. Located in the Hutong district-look them up!

Review of Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
C and E
Business
Seoul
Sep 13, 2011

Budget is synonymous with unclean at this hotel...

Good points You can't beat the location. You are in walking distance of The Forbidden City, Wangfajung Street and Tianamen square. Bad points: Room-I don't know how it is for people who had "deluxe" rooms but my husband and I booked a budget room. We tried to upgrade when we reached the airport because I heard mixed reviews about the budget rooms. None available...so here we are...a room whose carpets obviously had not been cleaned in some time (thank goodness for the free paper flipflops they give you), the bathroom stall (I swear, I didn't know how much mold can grow on a wall) wall fixtures were literally falling off the walls (we closed the bathroom door and wall fixtures literally fell off the wall). Breakfast-You're better off going to the Mall at Oriental plaza for some pastries than wasting your money on the breakfast. Staff-mediocre but what stood out to me is we asked for a taxi to go to Houhai Lake, he gets us one, he and the taxi driver have some sort of conversation (it's apparent that for some reason, this taxi driver doesn't want to take us there and the bellhop is just nodding his head like, yeah, yeah, ok) we get in and he refuses to turn on his meter. Gratefully, he only charged us 20 RMB which apparently isn't that far off but the whole situation was quite suspicious. Overall, I wouldn't stay at this hotel again even if I had the option of a deluxe room. There are better options out there for the price...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top