$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Capital Hotel Beijing

5 stars
3 Qian Men East Street, Beijing, 100006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
59 reviews
perfect end to a cruise

the hotel was five star,very clean and the staff was most helpful See full review

  • Saugeen Shores
  • Oct 13, 2013
first class hotel

Capital Hotel in Beijing is a first class hotel, with a very helpful staff. They went out of their... See full review

  • Teacher Rob
  • Jul 23, 2013
Full-service convention hotel near Tiananmen Square

The Capital Hotel Beijing opened in 1989 and is one of the city's older deluxe hotels. Renovation in 2006 and construction in 2007 freshened up the hotel's 589 rooms. This is a popular convention spot, attracting leisure travelers thanks to its central location near Tiananmen Square and a range of entertainment options.

Highlights
  • Close to Tiananmen Square
  • Comprehensive convention facilities
Rooms

Accommodations -- 589 rooms, 77 of them suites -- span two towers, one renovated in 2006 and the other built in 2007. Rooms vary in size (300-494 square feet for rooms, 527-1,312 square feet for suites), but all sport the same muted brown and white color scheme with subtle red accents and Chinese design elements. Many rooms have a separate tub and shower. Capitol Club rooms and all suites have free Wi-Fi.

Dining

The Coffee House in the lobby of Capital Hotel Beijing keeps the caffeine flowing 24 hours a day, seven days a week. 

Transportation
  • Capital International Airport (18.6 mi/30 km)
  • Beijing Railway Station (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Nearest subway stations: Tiananmen East on Line 1, Chongwenmen on Line 2
Nearby attractions
  • Forbidden City (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Temple of Heaven (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Lama Temple (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Silk Alley (3.7 mi/6.1 km)
  • Summer Palace (13.2 mi/21.4 km)
Business
  • 2 ballrooms, which seat up to 400 and 800 guests
  • Conference hall for 180 people
  • 6 meeting rooms, which seat 14 to 80 people
  • 16 private dining rooms
  • Business center

Hotel Map

39.9007 116.4029
Area served
Beijing.
Nearby airports
Beijing Capital International Airport.
Area description
Hotel located in the heart of the city, few steps away to Tiananmen Square, and 5 mins drive to Wangfujing Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capital Hotel Beijing also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Capital Hotel Beijing Rooms

Superior Room
The room offers 2 twin beds or 1 king bed. It includes Air conditioning, Refrigerator, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV and Ensuite / Private bathroom. Please write the preferred bedding configuration in the Special Request Box at the time of booking. Please note that the bedding configuration is not guaranteed and will be confirmed upon arrival, subject to availability.
Deluxe room
The room offers 2 twin beds or 1 king bed. It includes Air conditioning, Refrigerator, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV and Ensuite / Private bathroom. Please write the preferred bedding configuration in the Special Request Box at the time of booking. Please note that the bedding configuration is not guaranteed and will be confirmed upon arrival, subject to availability.
Club Room
The room offers 2 twin beds or 1 king bed. It includes Air conditioning, Refrigerator, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV and Ensuite / Private bathroom. Please write the preferred bedding configuration in the Special Request Box at the time of booking. Please note that the bedding configuration is not guaranteed and will be confirmed upon arrival, subject to availability.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Beijing National Grand Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Fragrant Hills Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tiananmen Square: 0.6 mi
  • Wangfujing: 0.7 mi
  • Jing An Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Forbidden City: 1.3 mi
  • Temple of Heaven: 1.6 mi
  • Xicheng: 2.1 mi
  • Beihai Park: 2.3 mi
  • Panjiayuan Market: 3 mi
  • Lama Temple: 3.2 mi
  • Sanlitun: 3.4 mi
  • Capital Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Beijing Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Great Bell Temple: 5.6 mi
  • Beijing National Grand Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Fragrant Hills Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tiananmen Square: 0.6 mi
  • Wangfujing: 0.7 mi
  • Jing An Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Forbidden City: 1.3 mi
  • Temple of Heaven: 1.6 mi
  • Xicheng: 2.1 mi
  • Beihai Park: 2.3 mi
  • Panjiayuan Market: 3 mi
  • Lama Temple: 3.2 mi
  • Sanlitun: 3.4 mi
  • Capital Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Beijing Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Great Bell Temple: 5.6 mi
  • Water Cube: 6.4 mi
  • Olympic Green: 8 mi
  • Shijingshan: 9.2 mi
  • Summer Palace: 9.2 mi
  • Old Summer Palace: 9.4 mi
  • Marco Polo Bridge: 10.3 mi
  • Beijing National Stadium: 17.3 mi
  • Ming Tombs: 26.3 mi
  • Juyongguan: 32.3 mi
  • Mutianyu: 37.3 mi
  • Badaling: 39.5 mi
  • Jinshanling: 69.6 mi
  • Simatai: 74.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0000
Check-out:
0000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hotel Beijing

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 59
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Day886
New York, NY
May 22, 2014

Exactly what I wanted!

Stood in Beijing for a week. This hotel was perfect! It is located near a couple of attractions like Tiananmen Sq and The Forbidden City. About at 15min walk. It is also near a central train station where you can get the 2 and 5 line and a couple of shopping malls and places to eat around and within them. Hotel staff wasn't very fluent in English but they where very helpful. Always gave us good directions to where we wanted to go. Although sometimes needed to show them a picture of the place on my phone for them to realize where we wanted to go. Hotel wifi was okay, not the strongest but was able to make wifi calls to the US. Hotel gave a very secure sense of feeling which was very important to me. I like to feel at ease when I sleep at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to use Beijing's public transportation to get around. It is very easy to use with a map. The train is 2RMB and the bus is only 1RMB.

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rooney7
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 24, 2013

Solid and well priced hotel

First of all, this hotel was a great deal for what you get. Not very fancy, but clean and simple. Also located within walking distance to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City. The only downside was that the wifi could be a little slow and spotty. The plus side is that they did have free wifi!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mfellenb
New York City
Jun 12, 2013

Good, but pricey

Overall good - great location, but a but pricey as far are hotels in China are concerned

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

After checking out, you can leave your bags on the first floor if you have time left before leaving to have lunch or go shopping - it is secure with someone always there watching your bags

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billy honey sir
Shanghai,China
Jul 22, 2012

better than most american hotels

This hotel is excellent! The room and lounge is very nice and fancy. Also very friendly staff. The price is also not too high, I mean much better than most of hotels in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheloniousMunnk
Champaign, Illinois
Mar 26, 2012

Great stay for great value

We had a great time at the Capitel Hotel Beijing. We ate at the place downstairs and it was pretty good, though a bit pricey compared to what else is available. The pool falicities were nice, though we spent most of our time out of hotel anyways, so we did not take advantage of most of the ammentieis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spiff
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 22, 2011

great comfortable secure location

I reserved a standard room for 9 days. I was given a deluxe corner room on the 11th floor with a great view. It was a large room with a beautiful granite bathroom. The room was very clean and in working order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelxpert
Chicago
Oct 11, 2011

Western Value in Beijing

It's very Westernized which is best for people who don't want a challenge. I had already stayed at another hotel on one leg of my trip that was very Chinese and was looking for more amenities. This hotel is within walking distance to most attractions and is suitable for families as well as children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The gift shop is easy to bargain with - up to 80% off. The lady who works there is very nice and honest.

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linlou
North West
May 16, 2011

Very Good Hote

The Capital Hotel was our first experience of hotels in China and we were not disappointed. The location to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the night food market off Wanfujing Road, it really is a sight to see. Also use the subway, it was cheap, clean, safe and a great way to get around.

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york, ny
Dec 17, 2010

money worth hotel

I was there for a vacation. When I got there the room we booked was full, so they free upgraded me to business room. The view for the room was good, we had a seperated bath tub n shower, which I thought was great. I enjoyed the time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
London
Nov 30, 2010

Club room offers are wonderful

The Capital Hotel is a 5* Chinese managed hotel, with a super location, i.e. walking distance to Tianaman Square, the Forbidden City and Wangfujing Street the main Beijing Shopping Street. We booked a Capital Club Room, which apart from an amazing view gives you access to a large Breakfast Menu (normally 128 Yuen) (approx. £12.50 each) PLUS a meal, consisting of 3 dishes, sandwiches, salads and desserts, plus a selection of cocktails, wines spirits, beer or non alcoholic drinks between 5pm and 7.30. We found this an excellent time - as you come back from your daily excursions have something to eat or just a snack, a few drinks and then set of for the evening entertainment. The clubroom staff is very friendly and helpful and the setting quite intimate, as only clubroom guests can use the clubroom lounge (on 15th floor) where the food and drinks are included between 5pm and 7,30pm. There is also free internet available 24 hours/day. The hotel has also several other restaurants, however these are not free to the clubroom guests. The "Capital Club" is the best value for money facility I have ever found in any 4/5* Hotel anywhere in the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wangfujing Street is the local Pedestrian only Shopping Street, which is just 1 km away, where there is a Peking duck restaurant with the weirdest selection of duck recipes, i.e. marinated duck tongues etc. The duck is beautifully carved at your table; however don't expect anything amazing; it is after all only duck.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search