$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2015 Check-out: Oct 4, 2015

Capital Hotel Beijing

5 stars
View map of 3 Qian Men East Street, Beijing, 100006

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
62 reviews
HOLIDAY TRIP

Capital hotel was good all round. Good breakfast Domestic team excellent Good value for money Top... See full review

  • MaryJoan N.
  • Aug 12, 2015
nice hotel

large and clean room at a very good location, service is good. See full review

  • HD
  • Jul 23, 2015

The Capital Hotel Beijing opened in 1989 and is one of the city's older deluxe hotels. Renovation in 2006 and construction in 2007 freshened up the hotel's 589 rooms. This is a popular convention spot, attracting leisure travelers thanks to its central location near Tiananmen Square and a range of entertainment options.

Dining

The Coffee House in the lobby of Capital Hotel Beijing keeps the caffeine flowing 24 hours a day, seven days a week. 

Rooms

Accommodations -- 589 rooms, 77 of them suites -- span two towers, one renovated in 2006 and the other built in 2007. Rooms vary in size (300-494 square feet for rooms, 527-1,312 square feet for suites), but all sport the same muted brown and white color scheme with subtle red accents and Chinese design elements. Many rooms have a separate tub and shower. Capitol Club rooms and all suites have free Wi-Fi.

Highlights
  • Close to Tiananmen Square
  • Comprehensive convention facilities
Nearby attractions
  • Forbidden City (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Temple of Heaven (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Lama Temple (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Silk Alley (3.7 mi/6.1 km)
  • Summer Palace (13.2 mi/21.4 km)
Business
  • 2 ballrooms, which seat up to 400 and 800 guests
  • Conference hall for 180 people
  • 6 meeting rooms, which seat 14 to 80 people
  • 16 private dining rooms
  • Business center
Transportation
  • Capital International Airport (18.6 mi/30 km)
  • Beijing Railway Station (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Nearest subway stations: Tiananmen East on Line 1, Chongwenmen on Line 2
Policies
  • The hotel's Tower B and parts of Tower A are blocked for government conventions until 16 Mar 2015. Tower B includes guest rooms and meeting facilities, food court, Verona Bar, gym, Capital Lidu Karaoke Club, as well as the underground parking lot. Tower A includes Jin Yun Ballroom, Four Seasons, Tea House, Golf Bar, Swimming Pool, Korean Sauna and Beauty Salon. Meanwhile, Coffee House (Lobby Level, Tower A), Vigor Hong Kong Gourmet Chinese Restaurant (2nd Floor, Tower A), Gion Japanese Restaurant (2nd Floor, Tower A), Mrs. Kims Restaurant (the West Side of Tower A), and Capital Hotel Hunan Cuisine (the Northeast Corner of Tower A) are open to public. All hotel guests are required to go through security check during this period of time.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capital Hotel Beijing also booked these hotels.

★★★★★
$69
4.0 / 5 49 reviews
★★★★★
$88
4.2 / 5 24 reviews
★★★★
$74
4.2 / 5 19 reviews
★★★★
$49
3.5 / 5 13 reviews
★★★★★
$90
4.2 / 5 72 reviews
★★★★
$53
3.8 / 5 42 reviews
★★★★
$80
3.8 / 5 29 reviews
★★★★
$82
3.9 / 5 27 reviews
★★★★
$98
3.9 / 5 38 reviews

Capital Hotel Beijing Rooms

Superior Room
The room offers 2 twin beds or 1 king bed. It includes Air conditioning, Refrigerator, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV and Ensuite / Private bathroom. Please write the preferred bedding configuration in the Special Request Box at the time of booking. Please note that the bedding configuration is not guaranteed and will be confirmed upon arrival, subject to availability.
Deluxe room
The room offers 2 twin beds or 1 king bed. It includes Air conditioning, Refrigerator, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV and Ensuite / Private bathroom. Please write the preferred bedding configuration in the Special Request Box at the time of booking. Please note that the bedding configuration is not guaranteed and will be confirmed upon arrival, subject to availability.
Club Room
The room offers 2 twin beds or 1 king bed. It includes Air conditioning, Refrigerator, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV and Ensuite / Private bathroom. Please write the preferred bedding configuration in the Special Request Box at the time of booking. Please note that the bedding configuration is not guaranteed and will be confirmed upon arrival, subject to availability.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kangxi Grasslands: 0.4 mi
  • Fragrant Hills Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wangfujing: 0.7 mi
  • Jing An Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Forbidden City: 1.3 mi
  • Temple of Heaven: 1.6 mi
  • Xicheng: 2.1 mi
  • Beihai Park: 2.3 mi
  • Panjiayuan Market: 3 mi
  • Lama Temple: 3.2 mi
  • Sanlitun: 3.4 mi
  • Capital Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Beijing Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Great Bell Temple: 5.6 mi
  • Water Cube: 6.4 mi
  • Kangxi Grasslands: 0.4 mi
  • Fragrant Hills Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wangfujing: 0.7 mi
  • Jing An Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Forbidden City: 1.3 mi
  • Temple of Heaven: 1.6 mi
  • Xicheng: 2.1 mi
  • Beihai Park: 2.3 mi
  • Panjiayuan Market: 3 mi
  • Lama Temple: 3.2 mi
  • Sanlitun: 3.4 mi
  • Capital Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Beijing Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Great Bell Temple: 5.6 mi
  • Water Cube: 6.4 mi
  • Olympic Green: 8 mi
  • Shijingshan: 9.2 mi
  • Summer Palace: 9.2 mi
  • Old Summer Palace: 9.4 mi
  • Marco Polo Bridge: 10.3 mi
  • Beijing National Stadium: 17.3 mi
  • Ming Tombs: 26.3 mi
  • Juyongguan: 32.3 mi
  • Mutianyu: 37.3 mi
  • Badaling: 39.5 mi
  • Jinshanling: 69.6 mi
  • Simatai: 74.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
12:00 AM
Check-out:
12:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hotel Beijing

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
defoot
Couples
Brisbane
May 2, 2013

How do I say it

Everything should always be in context. As I am typing this the reconstruction noises on the floor above are keeping my wife awake from her afternoon nap. (we were not told this was happening). The 15th floor Capital Happy hour does not happen, except in the back corner of the 1st floor. The Italian restaurant is closed for renovations. The air-conditioning is not working and stays the same no matter what I do with the controls. If you ask me to recommend this I can not. The people are very nice and no one can say they do not try to please

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Villa Park, CA
Jan 12, 2010

They need to learn SOME english

The room was Ok and clean, but the service was not. we had trouble with their ATM machine, and could not get any $ out. Wanted to contact our bank & needed to make a collect call, but they kept telling us we need to buy a phone card to be able to use their public phones or go to our room and dial directly from there. Not realizing that if we had the money to buy a phone card, we wouldn't need to contact our bank in the first place. We did end up using our room phone and calling our bank's international, "free", hotline , but were faced with a $50 phone bill the following day. Tried to explain that we spoke to every staff member from the night before to explain the whole "collect call" thing, which I tought means the same thing in every country, but they didn't undrestand that either. I got really upset and after about 30 minutes of going back and forth and almost being late for our flight, the clerk agreed to take the phone charge off. Horrible end to our stay. would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
David Glidden
Single
Greenwich, CT
May 5, 2011

Capitol Hotel, Beijing

For a 4-star hotel it was terrific. The room and bathroom were spacious and well-maintained. The concierge breakfast was poor. Hot dishes were cold and not good, in general. The service was particularly poor, and the English was very inadequate for that offering. We had one girl who was good and helpful but generally the help stood around and was not solicitous. Cocktail hour was limited to ONE drink: otherwise, you had to pay for additional drinks. It was still probably economically better than a $15 breakfast in the coffee shop

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The Yaoshow department store. You must bargain like crazy but is fun and has a wide selection of items. 798, an artist collective, is fun and interesting.

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cottonhill
Business
Palo Alto
Oct 16, 2012

Location good but old building

The location is convenient but the rooms are not very clean. Dust on many spots. Shower curtain old and not very clean. I would not go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sledgey
Couples
Jinan, Shandong, China
Oct 25, 2010

Capital Hotel

Easy location, 10 min walk to F.C, 20 yuan taxi to Silk Market, 10-15 min walk to Oriental Plaza. Worst bed I've ever been on in a hotel, when I told the front desk about it they told me they already know about the beds, best they could do was put another base comforter over it. Which never arrived! Shame really, nice hotel just in need of refurbishing and a spruce up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
prwtrain
Family
Dandong, China
Jan 1, 2014

Much better than other 5 star hotel

We enjoyed the hotel and our time in Beijing. The value was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just want to travel
Single
California
Jan 5, 2014

Good Location

You can walk to several tourist locations from this hotel. Unfortunately there is a sewer smell in most of the restrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Forbidden City

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Busi Traveler 8
Business
California
Jul 26, 2013

Hotel needs some updates

This hotel seems dated and the beds are not very comfortable. There seems to be a much needed renovation starting next month so hope all will improve. Wireless internet connection is very poor and the pay version is only for wire, which won't do much for some of the newer devices that relies only on WIFI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rooney7
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 24, 2013

Solid and well priced hotel

First of all, this hotel was a great deal for what you get. Not very fancy, but clean and simple. Also located within walking distance to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City. The only downside was that the wifi could be a little slow and spotty. The plus side is that they did have free wifi!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Fountain Valley, CA
Oct 27, 2009

5 Star Class But HORRIBLE Bed

5 star amenities, but the bed was horrible. You can feel the springs. They had art work in the hallway, flowers at the entrance and the ashtray. The clerks spoke good english. The doorman was awake at 2 AM (unlike other 3 star hotels I stayed at). But the bed was hard; the box springs was just a wooden box. They had an additional cushion on the bed, but it was thin, and you can feel the metal springs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Close to the the Tianamen square and Forbidden City. But other hotels such as Days Inn (which also had horrible beds) and Starwood Tian Rega Hotel (which actually had a good bed) are better locations.

Back to menu Return to top