$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Capital Hotel Beijing

5 stars
3 Qian Men East Street, Beijing, 100006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
83 reviews
perfect end to a cruise

the hotel was five star,very clean and the staff was most helpful See full review

  • Saugeen Shores
  • Oct 13, 2013
first class hotel

Capital Hotel in Beijing is a first class hotel, with a very helpful staff. They went out of their... See full review

  • Teacher Rob
  • Jul 23, 2013
Full-service convention hotel near Tiananmen Square

The Capital Hotel Beijing opened in 1989 and is one of the city's older deluxe hotels. Renovation in 2006 and construction in 2007 freshened up the hotel's 589 rooms. This is a popular convention spot, attracting leisure travelers thanks to its central location near Tiananmen Square and a range of entertainment options.

Highlights
  • Close to Tiananmen Square
  • Comprehensive convention facilities
Rooms

Accommodations -- 589 rooms, 77 of them suites -- span two towers, one renovated in 2006 and the other built in 2007. Rooms vary in size (300-494 square feet for rooms, 527-1,312 square feet for suites), but all sport the same muted brown and white color scheme with subtle red accents and Chinese design elements. Many rooms have a separate tub and shower. Capitol Club rooms and all suites have free Wi-Fi.

Dining

The Coffee House in the lobby of Capital Hotel Beijing keeps the caffeine flowing 24 hours a day, seven days a week. 

Transportation
  • Capital International Airport (18.6 mi/30 km)
  • Beijing Railway Station (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Nearest subway stations: Tiananmen East on Line 1, Chongwenmen on Line 2
Nearby attractions
  • Forbidden City (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Temple of Heaven (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Lama Temple (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Silk Alley (3.7 mi/6.1 km)
  • Summer Palace (13.2 mi/21.4 km)
Business
  • 2 ballrooms, which seat up to 400 and 800 guests
  • Conference hall for 180 people
  • 6 meeting rooms, which seat 14 to 80 people
  • 16 private dining rooms
  • Business center

Hotel Map

39.9007 116.4029
Area served
Beijing.
Nearby airports
Beijing Capital International Airport.
Area description
Hotel located in the heart of the city, few steps away to Tiananmen Square, and 5 mins drive to Wangfujing Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capital Hotel Beijing also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Capital Hotel Beijing Rooms

Superior Room
The room offers 2 twin beds or 1 king bed. It includes Air conditioning, Refrigerator, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV and Ensuite / Private bathroom. Please write the preferred bedding configuration in the Special Request Box at the time of booking. Please note that the bedding configuration is not guaranteed and will be confirmed upon arrival, subject to availability.
Deluxe room
The room offers 2 twin beds or 1 king bed. It includes Air conditioning, Refrigerator, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV and Ensuite / Private bathroom. Please write the preferred bedding configuration in the Special Request Box at the time of booking. Please note that the bedding configuration is not guaranteed and will be confirmed upon arrival, subject to availability.
Club Room
The room offers 2 twin beds or 1 king bed. It includes Air conditioning, Refrigerator, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV and Ensuite / Private bathroom. Please write the preferred bedding configuration in the Special Request Box at the time of booking. Please note that the bedding configuration is not guaranteed and will be confirmed upon arrival, subject to availability.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Beijing National Grand Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Fragrant Hills Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tiananmen Square: 0.6 mi
  • Wangfujing: 0.7 mi
  • Jing An Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Forbidden City: 1.3 mi
  • Temple of Heaven: 1.6 mi
  • Xicheng: 2.1 mi
  • Beihai Park: 2.3 mi
  • Panjiayuan Market: 3 mi
  • Lama Temple: 3.2 mi
  • Sanlitun: 3.4 mi
  • Capital Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Beijing Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Great Bell Temple: 5.6 mi
  • Beijing National Grand Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Fragrant Hills Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tiananmen Square: 0.6 mi
  • Wangfujing: 0.7 mi
  • Jing An Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Forbidden City: 1.3 mi
  • Temple of Heaven: 1.6 mi
  • Xicheng: 2.1 mi
  • Beihai Park: 2.3 mi
  • Panjiayuan Market: 3 mi
  • Lama Temple: 3.2 mi
  • Sanlitun: 3.4 mi
  • Capital Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Beijing Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Great Bell Temple: 5.6 mi
  • Water Cube: 6.4 mi
  • Olympic Green: 8 mi
  • Shijingshan: 9.2 mi
  • Summer Palace: 9.2 mi
  • Old Summer Palace: 9.4 mi
  • Marco Polo Bridge: 10.3 mi
  • Beijing National Stadium: 17.3 mi
  • Ming Tombs: 26.3 mi
  • Juyongguan: 32.3 mi
  • Mutianyu: 37.3 mi
  • Badaling: 39.5 mi
  • Jinshanling: 69.6 mi
  • Simatai: 74.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0000
Check-out:
0000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hotel Beijing

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
san antonio, texas
Nov 14, 2010

Outstanding service

Went to Beijing on vacation with my wife. Stayed at the hotel for 8 nights. Excellent service evrywhere at the hotel. Facilities were adequate with the exception of the air conditioning which can stand to be improved. I would stay at this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teacher Rob
Seattle
Jul 23, 2013

first class hotel

Capital Hotel in Beijing is a first class hotel, with a very helpful staff. They went out of their way to insure all the things that I needed to happen on this trip took place on time, including having a taxi ready and waiting for me at 5 AM on a Monday morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Beware of scam artists that hang out in the area who look for foreigners and seem to be overly friendly. One is the "tea ceremony" scam. They take you to a tea room where you sample several teas, then when they buy it seems reasonable to buy one or two or three types of the teas. When the tea server (who is on the scam) shows you your "bill", it's literally 10-15 times what it should be. For tea that normally cost about maybe 2-300 RMB (35-50 dollars) she wanted over 2,000 RMB. When I told her to put the tea back, there was no way I was paying that, she (with the support of the "friends") said, then I must pay for the "ceremony" at 400 RMB. The ceremony is nothing more than sampling different teas, which I have done before, and there is never a charge for the sampling if it is legit. . When I informed my hotel about this, they told me about the "tea ceremony scam" artists that hang around. An added note, scam artist #1, a VERY friendly dude, said he was staying at the Capital Hotel, and asked me where I was staying. He wasn't staying there, so he must have been waiting in the area watching who came from the Capital.

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IgLa
Toronto, Canada
Oct 10, 2011

Friendly and helpful staff, perfect location

Friendly and helpful staff, perfect location. They helped us to buy train tickets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Oct 13, 2009

nice and clean for the price

good breakfast buffet. i paid but i will book with breakast included in next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

this is one of the best 5 stars in beijing. it is very nice and clean. i will recommend other people.

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yvonne world traveler
Beijing, China
Apr 19, 2011

Fantastic

Outstanding area walking distance from many historical sites. I definitely will choose this hotel to stay in again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

10 min from Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven and so much more

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Oct 13, 2009

nice and clean for the price

good breakfast buffet. i paid but i will book with breakast included in next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

this is one of the best 5 stars in beijing. it is very nice and clean. i will recommend other people.

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 23, 2010

WOW

This was the second hotel in Beijing I stayed at in Beijing and I was very surprised by the quality of the hotel. The room was nice, roomy and actually smoke free. The lobby was nice and just about everyone spoke English (a lot better that the Day's Inn where no one spoke English) The hotel was very nice and I would rate it as 5 star. Across the street from the hotel are a few restaurants, a convenience store and a clothing shop with prices clearly marked. Everyone seems to be use to working with foreigners and the prices are not bad (the clothing store is very good price wise and you can find a few gems) . Also, it's a 15-20 minute walk from Tianamen and 25 min from Wangfujing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anustan
Seoul, Korea
Oct 4, 2012

Great Stay!

Overall this hotel was a great place to stay. The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable of the area. My wife and I wanted to go to the Great Wall by ourselves and the staff knew just how to get there. When we first checked in there was a bit of a mix up as they gave us the wrong room, that was already occupied! Oops! But they quickly realized there mistake and even threw in a free fruit basket to make up for the confusion. The location is also amazing as it's only a 10 minute walk from Tienanmen Square and the Forbidden Palace. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to visit Beijing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The swimming pool is very warm and a great place to relax, plus it's free!

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dave A. K.
Business
Clyde, N.Y.
Aug 3, 2012

Quick Business Trip

Clean, spacious, superb location. Set back from the street yields quiet environment, ideal after a long jet lagged journey. Proximity to # 2 subway line a strong positive for managing additional travel to and from the airport (airport express), central railway station and with one transfer the south railway station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 23, 2010

WOW

This was the second hotel in Beijing I stayed at in Beijing and I was very surprised by the quality of the hotel. The room was nice, roomy and actually smoke free. The lobby was nice and just about everyone spoke English (a lot better that the Day's Inn where no one spoke English) The hotel was very nice and I would rate it as 5 star. Across the street from the hotel are a few restaurants, a convenience store and a clothing shop with prices clearly marked. Everyone seems to be use to working with foreigners and the prices are not bad (the clothing store is very good price wise and you can find a few gems) . Also, it's a 15-20 minute walk from Tianamen and 25 min from Wangfujing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top