$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2014 Check-out: Sep 20, 2014

Capital Hotel Beijing

5 stars
3 Qian Men East Street, Beijing, 100006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
59 reviews
perfect end to a cruise

the hotel was five star,very clean and the staff was most helpful See full review

  • Saugeen Shores
  • Oct 13, 2013
first class hotel

Capital Hotel in Beijing is a first class hotel, with a very helpful staff. They went out of their... See full review

  • Teacher Rob
  • Jul 23, 2013
Full-service convention hotel near Tiananmen Square

The Capital Hotel Beijing opened in 1989 and is one of the city's older deluxe hotels. Renovation in 2006 and construction in 2007 freshened up the hotel's 589 rooms. This is a popular convention spot, attracting leisure travelers thanks to its central location near Tiananmen Square and a range of entertainment options.

Highlights
  • Close to Tiananmen Square
  • Comprehensive convention facilities
Rooms

Accommodations -- 589 rooms, 77 of them suites -- span two towers, one renovated in 2006 and the other built in 2007. Rooms vary in size (300-494 square feet for rooms, 527-1,312 square feet for suites), but all sport the same muted brown and white color scheme with subtle red accents and Chinese design elements. Many rooms have a separate tub and shower. Capitol Club rooms and all suites have free Wi-Fi.

Dining

The Coffee House in the lobby of Capital Hotel Beijing keeps the caffeine flowing 24 hours a day, seven days a week. 

Transportation
  • Capital International Airport (18.6 mi/30 km)
  • Beijing Railway Station (1.8 mi/3 km)
  • Nearest subway stations: Tiananmen East on Line 1, Chongwenmen on Line 2
Nearby attractions
  • Forbidden City (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Temple of Heaven (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Lama Temple (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Silk Alley (3.7 mi/6.1 km)
  • Summer Palace (13.2 mi/21.4 km)
Business
  • 2 ballrooms, which seat up to 400 and 800 guests
  • Conference hall for 180 people
  • 6 meeting rooms, which seat 14 to 80 people
  • 16 private dining rooms
  • Business center

Hotel Map

39.9007 116.4029
Area served
Beijing.
Nearby airports
Beijing Capital International Airport.
Area description
Hotel located in the heart of the city, few steps away to Tiananmen Square, and 5 mins drive to Wangfujing Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Capital Hotel Beijing also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Capital Hotel Beijing Rooms

Superior Room
The room offers 2 twin beds or 1 king bed. It includes Air conditioning, Refrigerator, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV and Ensuite / Private bathroom. Please write the preferred bedding configuration in the Special Request Box at the time of booking. Please note that the bedding configuration is not guaranteed and will be confirmed upon arrival, subject to availability.
Deluxe room
The room offers 2 twin beds or 1 king bed. It includes Air conditioning, Refrigerator, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV and Ensuite / Private bathroom. Please write the preferred bedding configuration in the Special Request Box at the time of booking. Please note that the bedding configuration is not guaranteed and will be confirmed upon arrival, subject to availability.
Club Room
The room offers 2 twin beds or 1 king bed. It includes Air conditioning, Refrigerator, Internet access, Room service, Iron / Ironing board, Safe in room, Bathrobe, Cable / Satellite TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, Laundry service, Telephone, Color TV, Mini bar, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV and Ensuite / Private bathroom. Please write the preferred bedding configuration in the Special Request Box at the time of booking. Please note that the bedding configuration is not guaranteed and will be confirmed upon arrival, subject to availability.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Golf
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Beijing National Grand Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Fragrant Hills Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tiananmen Square: 0.6 mi
  • Wangfujing: 0.7 mi
  • Jing An Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Forbidden City: 1.3 mi
  • Temple of Heaven: 1.6 mi
  • Xicheng: 2.1 mi
  • Beihai Park: 2.3 mi
  • Panjiayuan Market: 3 mi
  • Lama Temple: 3.2 mi
  • Sanlitun: 3.4 mi
  • Capital Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Beijing Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Great Bell Temple: 5.6 mi
  • Beijing National Grand Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Fragrant Hills Park: 0.4 mi
  • Tiananmen Square: 0.6 mi
  • Wangfujing: 0.7 mi
  • Jing An Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Forbidden City: 1.3 mi
  • Temple of Heaven: 1.6 mi
  • Xicheng: 2.1 mi
  • Beihai Park: 2.3 mi
  • Panjiayuan Market: 3 mi
  • Lama Temple: 3.2 mi
  • Sanlitun: 3.4 mi
  • Capital Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Beijing Zoo: 4.6 mi
  • Great Bell Temple: 5.6 mi
  • Water Cube: 6.4 mi
  • Olympic Green: 8 mi
  • Shijingshan: 9.2 mi
  • Summer Palace: 9.2 mi
  • Old Summer Palace: 9.4 mi
  • Marco Polo Bridge: 10.3 mi
  • Beijing National Stadium: 17.3 mi
  • Ming Tombs: 26.3 mi
  • Juyongguan: 32.3 mi
  • Mutianyu: 37.3 mi
  • Badaling: 39.5 mi
  • Jinshanling: 69.6 mi
  • Simatai: 74.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0000
Check-out:
0000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hotel Beijing

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Aug 19, 2010

nice view

I had a superior room room which was spotless and big and very quiet, the restaurants in the hotel are expensive. I could see the forbidden city from my room, although it was hazy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 23, 2010

WOW

This was the second hotel in Beijing I stayed at in Beijing and I was very surprised by the quality of the hotel. The room was nice, roomy and actually smoke free. The lobby was nice and just about everyone spoke English (a lot better that the Day's Inn where no one spoke English) The hotel was very nice and I would rate it as 5 star. Across the street from the hotel are a few restaurants, a convenience store and a clothing shop with prices clearly marked. Everyone seems to be use to working with foreigners and the prices are not bad (the clothing store is very good price wise and you can find a few gems) . Also, it's a 15-20 minute walk from Tianamen and 25 min from Wangfujing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Nights, Great Deal!
Atlanta, GA
Jul 18, 2010

Fantastic Location and Price!

Capital Hotel is in an excellent location! Tiananmen square is 10 minutes walk to the right and the Ming city walls are about 10-15 minutes walk to the left!(Subway line on either side also, roughly 10 walk to both) We really enjoyed our stay at the Capital Hotel, unfortunatelly it need some major renovating... The bathrooms were extremely clean and nice, but the room needed new carpet. Overall we enjoyed our stay, I'd reccommend it to anyone staying there for a short time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you turned out left of the hotel, and walked to the intersection, cross the street and conintued walking straight, there is a bakery called Weiduome! They have excellent breakfast food, majority of the breakfast pastries are fairly cheap, maybe three-four yuan. If you go right out of the hotel, and walked towards tiananmen square, down throught the Qianmen Gate theres the "Old Beijing" block and it is really nice, great for shopping and eating. If you like dumplings you should try the Duyichu dumpling resturant, its absolutly delicious!!!! (To get to the Old Beijing, its about a 10-15 minute walk, depending how fast you walk)

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago IL
Jun 9, 2010

Great location for the price

The hotel is in the central location. Tian-An-Men Square, the Forbidden City, Wang-Fu-Jin Street and Qian-Men Street (two major shopping centers in central Beijing) are all in walking distance. It is also very close to subway station and major public transportation center. Hotel service is excellent. It offers plenty of food & restaurants though a bit pricy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Medford, OR
Jun 4, 2010

Capital Hotel Beijing

Very helpful staff that speak English. Went out of their way to help with things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ScottInMaine
Maine
May 18, 2010

A "Capital" Hotel

We had two rooms at the Capital Hotel - one for my wife and me; one for a business colleague. We combined some meetings in town with a lot of leisure activity. The location of the Cap doesn' t get any better, if you are interested in the historic sites. My wife and I stayed in a Capital Club room which was 900 RMB ($140) per night versus the least expensive room 612 RMB ($90) per night. The extra was DEFINATELY worth the money because of the meals savings, free internet, and some laundry services. You can easily save some money plus the convenience is nice. I have stayed at this hotel many times. Over the years, the English capabilities of the staff have improved to the point where it is almost not even an issue. It is really good spot, and I highly recommend it. I know the area hotels quite well. This one is your best buy, too. Unfortunately, the Beijing taxi drivers have become swindlers, so take care and get a price BEFORE you get in the taxi! Other than that (which is not in the Cap. Hotel's perview), no problems! The basic room is also very nice. It does not include some of the extras, but they might not be necessary for many travelers, and $90 per night at a 5-star hotel in a great location is pretty sweet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street and two blocks east is the Weiduomei Bakery! This is a great place to pick up some exquisite pastries for a nice breakfast, picnic lunch, or late night snack. The items cost about $0.75 each (4 or 5 RMB) and are yummy.

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Villa Park, CA
Jan 12, 2010

They need to learn SOME english

The room was Ok and clean, but the service was not. we had trouble with their ATM machine, and could not get any $ out. Wanted to contact our bank & needed to make a collect call, but they kept telling us we need to buy a phone card to be able to use their public phones or go to our room and dial directly from there. Not realizing that if we had the money to buy a phone card, we wouldn't need to contact our bank in the first place. We did end up using our room phone and calling our bank's international, "free", hotline , but were faced with a $50 phone bill the following day. Tried to explain that we spoke to every staff member from the night before to explain the whole "collect call" thing, which I tought means the same thing in every country, but they didn't undrestand that either. I got really upset and after about 30 minutes of going back and forth and almost being late for our flight, the clerk agreed to take the phone charge off. Horrible end to our stay. would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fountain Valley, CA
Oct 27, 2009

5 Star Class But HORRIBLE Bed

5 star amenities, but the bed was horrible. You can feel the springs. They had art work in the hallway, flowers at the entrance and the ashtray. The clerks spoke good english. The doorman was awake at 2 AM (unlike other 3 star hotels I stayed at). But the bed was hard; the box springs was just a wooden box. They had an additional cushion on the bed, but it was thin, and you can feel the metal springs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Close to the the Tianamen square and Forbidden City. But other hotels such as Days Inn (which also had horrible beds) and Starwood Tian Rega Hotel (which actually had a good bed) are better locations.

Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Oct 13, 2009

nice and clean for the price

good breakfast buffet. i paid but i will book with breakast included in next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

this is one of the best 5 stars in beijing. it is very nice and clean. i will recommend other people.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search