$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Capital Hotel Beijing

5 stars
View map of 3 Qian Men East Street, Beijing, 100006

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Capital Hotel Beijing

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Dec 12, 2010

Would not recommend

The first room would not cool down because the heat was stuck on high. Then they moved me to another room with a broken toilet. Finally got a working room on the thrird try. This hotel is average or ordinary at best. Not very clean. The toilet still had "remains" from the last person who used it. This hotel is listed as 5 stars. Someone must be getting paid off because there is no way it is a 5 star hotel. Maybe a 3 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Nov 30, 2010

Club room offers are wonderful

The Capital Hotel is a 5* Chinese managed hotel, with a super location, i.e. walking distance to Tianaman Square, the Forbidden City and Wangfujing Street the main Beijing Shopping Street. We booked a Capital Club Room, which apart from an amazing view gives you access to a large Breakfast Menu (normally 128 Yuen) (approx. £12.50 each) PLUS a meal, consisting of 3 dishes, sandwiches, salads and desserts, plus a selection of cocktails, wines spirits, beer or non alcoholic drinks between 5pm and 7.30. We found this an excellent time - as you come back from your daily excursions have something to eat or just a snack, a few drinks and then set of for the evening entertainment. The clubroom staff is very friendly and helpful and the setting quite intimate, as only clubroom guests can use the clubroom lounge (on 15th floor) where the food and drinks are included between 5pm and 7,30pm. There is also free internet available 24 hours/day. The hotel has also several other restaurants, however these are not free to the clubroom guests. The "Capital Club" is the best value for money facility I have ever found in any 4/5* Hotel anywhere in the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wangfujing Street is the local Pedestrian only Shopping Street, which is just 1 km away, where there is a Peking duck restaurant with the weirdest selection of duck recipes, i.e. marinated duck tongues etc. The duck is beautifully carved at your table; however don't expect anything amazing; it is after all only duck.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san antonio, texas
Nov 14, 2010

Outstanding service

Went to Beijing on vacation with my wife. Stayed at the hotel for 8 nights. Excellent service evrywhere at the hotel. Facilities were adequate with the exception of the air conditioning which can stand to be improved. I would stay at this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sledgey
Business
Jinan, Shandong, China
Oct 25, 2010

Capital Hotel

Easy location, 10 min walk to F.C, 20 yuan taxi to Silk Market, 10-15 min walk to Oriental Plaza. Worst bed I've ever been on in a hotel, when I told the front desk about it they told me they already know about the beds, best they could do was put another base comforter over it. Which never arrived! Shame really, nice hotel just in need of refurbishing and a spruce up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pudding
Business
Victoria, BC, Canada
Oct 11, 2010

Capital Hotel Beijing

It's a very recommendable Hotel for travellers. Super location in the heart of Beijing. Short ways to main attractions, reasonable distance to railway stations. Excellent rates for the quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Very satisfying in quality and price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 29, 2010

Beware the packaged tour

Nice hotel, generally good staff, but one problem ruined the experience. I clearly and repeatedly asked if the somewhat expensive (350 RMB) Great Wall tour arranged by the hotel would include diversions to a Jade Factory or similar tourist trap, and was told repeatedly by hotel staff that the tour was limited to the Great Wall and Ming Tombs, and did not stop at Jade Factories or anything like that. On the basis of the hotel staff (concierge) information, I booked the tour. After the tour left the hotel and got about half way to the tombs, the guide discussed the itinerary, which included a visit to a Jade Factory, a visit to a Silk Museum, and a final visit to a Chinese Medicine facility, in addition to the advertised Great Wall and Ming Tomb stops. I complained to Hotel management that evening, clearly explaining that the concierge had misled me and their response was to have the tour guide telephone me... but it was the Hotel staff which was misleading, not the tour group!!! This lack of response made the event that much more disturbing. Terrible business practise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't trust Hotel Staff for Tour Information.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Aug 19, 2010

nice view

I had a superior room room which was spotless and big and very quiet, the restaurants in the hotel are expensive. I could see the forbidden city from my room, although it was hazy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Jul 23, 2010

WOW

This was the second hotel in Beijing I stayed at in Beijing and I was very surprised by the quality of the hotel. The room was nice, roomy and actually smoke free. The lobby was nice and just about everyone spoke English (a lot better that the Day's Inn where no one spoke English) The hotel was very nice and I would rate it as 5 star. Across the street from the hotel are a few restaurants, a convenience store and a clothing shop with prices clearly marked. Everyone seems to be use to working with foreigners and the prices are not bad (the clothing store is very good price wise and you can find a few gems) . Also, it's a 15-20 minute walk from Tianamen and 25 min from Wangfujing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Nights, Great Deal!
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 18, 2010

Fantastic Location and Price!

Capital Hotel is in an excellent location! Tiananmen square is 10 minutes walk to the right and the Ming city walls are about 10-15 minutes walk to the left!(Subway line on either side also, roughly 10 walk to both) We really enjoyed our stay at the Capital Hotel, unfortunatelly it need some major renovating... The bathrooms were extremely clean and nice, but the room needed new carpet. Overall we enjoyed our stay, I'd reccommend it to anyone staying there for a short time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you turned out left of the hotel, and walked to the intersection, cross the street and conintued walking straight, there is a bakery called Weiduome! They have excellent breakfast food, majority of the breakfast pastries are fairly cheap, maybe three-four yuan. If you go right out of the hotel, and walked towards tiananmen square, down throught the Qianmen Gate theres the "Old Beijing" block and it is really nice, great for shopping and eating. If you like dumplings you should try the Duyichu dumpling resturant, its absolutly delicious!!!! (To get to the Old Beijing, its about a 10-15 minute walk, depending how fast you walk)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Capital Hotel Beijing

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
Jun 9, 2010

Great location for the price

The hotel is in the central location. Tian-An-Men Square, the Forbidden City, Wang-Fu-Jin Street and Qian-Men Street (two major shopping centers in central Beijing) are all in walking distance. It is also very close to subway station and major public transportation center. Hotel service is excellent. It offers plenty of food & restaurants though a bit pricy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top