$38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Beijing Redwall Hotel Forbidden City

3 stars
View map of 31 North Shatan Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing, 100009

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Beijing Redwall Hotel Forbidden City

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beijing Redwall Hotel Forbidden City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Westerner
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 25, 2011

Great location, hard beds

Hotel was a decent value. We would have been quite happy except for one thing--the beds were extremely hard. It was like sleeping on box springs without a mattress. Not sure who could be comfortable on those beds! But location was great (close to Forbidden City) and staff was helpful. If you like a firm bed...very firm, then you'll be happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beijing Redwall Hotel Forbidden City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss A from DC
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 11, 2011

Fab Location, Clean and Near Dongsi Subway Stop

The hotel is an easy walk or even easier rickshaw ride from the Forbidden City, Beihai Park, Tiananmen Square, and lots of quaint restaurants. The nearest subway stop is Dongsi. The room was quite small, but very clean and had free wi-fi. Tea and an electric kettle were provided. There was ample hot water. Breakfast was not included in the hotel price but was available for about US$6. The hotel offered a prompt laundry service and there is a no-commission foreign currency exchange office on-site which was very convenient. I highly recommend for anyone on a budget looking for reliable, clean accommodation on a quiet street that still manages to be in the heart of lots of action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't be afraid to take the subway in Beijing. It only costs 40 cents a ride. It's incredibly clean and all signs are marked in English.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beijing Redwall Hotel Forbidden City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Carol from LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Redwall Hotel in Beijing

This hotel is at best below average. iI stayed here in August 2011, for three nights. I switched rooms the first night because of a flodded bathroom. Room number two had dirty carpeting and very poor lighting. Good location for public transport and had the ability of booking tours etc. in the hotel. The food was average. However, I would not stay here again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A few good shops close by and good restuarants for dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beijing Redwall Hotel Forbidden City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoteZora
Business
Newcastle, Australia
Aug 2, 2011

Good value

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It was very close to major attractions (Tiananmen, Forbidden City); the only problem was the massed tour groups who were virtually on the hotel steps every day! Otherwise, many attractions were within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

*Don't* accept an offer from one of the many pedicab / rickshaw drivers just outside the hotel. They will tell you that any attraction nearby will cost "three." Like me, you might assume this means three yuan; after asking to go to Tiananmen Square, I was taken on a zig-zag ride through local hutongs, dumped nowhere near Tiananmen, and told the cost (as per a previously unseen printed card) is actually 300 yuan. It was made quite clear I would be hit if I didn't comply. It's supposed to be the oldest Beijing trick in the book, so don't fall for it and grab a taxi instead!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beijing Redwall Hotel Forbidden City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed in Beijing
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 25, 2011

THIS IS NOT A 4-STAR HOTEL

[...] By any standard, this is no more than a 2-star hotel. Filthy, stained carpets, mildew on the bathroom floor and in shower, outdated furniture and fixtures, no working phone or refrigerator (although the phone & fridge were fixed upon request). This was in an upgraded Executive room![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beijing Redwall Hotel Forbidden City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
beijing
Jul 2, 2011

pretty good

nice location and enviroment, lobby staff was so nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beijing Redwall Hotel Forbidden City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CAboman
Business
Los Cabos, BCS, Mexico
Jul 2, 2011

Real bad

Such a dirty and nasty place. Did smell so bad, the room, I had to leave the window open. bath exhaust on and perhaps 3 hours later may smell better. Mattress in such bad shape, so hard, you'll sleep in coils not cushion left. Towels were old rags. Carpet so dirty true out the whole place and room, real bad. All stained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beijing Redwall Hotel Forbidden City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 19, 2011

Misrepresented

It was a simple hotel, nothing special. I upgraded my room to the traditional room with King bed, view and small balcony which I never got. I got a double bed, no view, 1 window looking out to the walkway which I had to keep it closed. Basically, I was staying in a closed box. Room was clean and wasn't too bed. The location wasn't that great. On the map, it shows that it was closed to downtown but in fact, it is not. No restaurant close by and it's even a challenge for some taxi driver to find it. In general, it was a disappointing experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to where the hotel is close to TianAnmen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beijing Redwall Hotel Forbidden City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WA
May 30, 2011

redwall hotel in beijing

The staff was friendly and helpful. They also spoke English. The bellboys were nice enough to give us directions to stores and restaurants. Awesome little restaurant down the street- very cheap. Make sure you select nonsmoking when you book otherwise you may get one of the rooms that smell like cigarettes, but the staff was good about giving us a new nonsmoking room. My friends couldn't change theirs since there were no more left, but they were able to find some spray that got rid of the smell. The beds are VERY firm. Our rooms did not have a tub or shower stall. There was a curtain for the shower area and a drain in the floor by the toilet. Water spread everywhere after a shower and the pool of water almost reached our bathroom door. I had to use towels to mop it up so I did slip when I was at the sink and mirror. The maids were kind of hesitant about giving extra towels to my friend. I think they might have thought that there were extra people in our room or something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

You can catch a bus if you don't want to walk the 2 or 3 large blocks to the subway. Check out Lynne's store in the pearl market(Hong Qiao Market #4312). Great prices, nice staff, and beautiful authentic fresh and sea water pearls.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beijing Redwall Hotel Forbidden City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
May 26, 2011

Close to the

The hotel is in a good location, close to some Sightseeing spots. The Forbidden City is just 10 min. walk away. People at the hotel are friendly and ready to help you with directions or anything else. The hotel is older, the rooms are small and ordinary but kept clean. It is a fair price for what they offer. Internet is also available, but not as wireless, as I first thought. You have to take your laptop with you. Overall, I would mostly recommend the hotel, for a 2-4 day trip, for those who are traveling the hole day or as backpackers. If you like more comfort, it is not a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Forbidden City is just 10 min.walk. The easiest way to get to other good sightseeing sports is to take taxi, which is cheep, or first the bus,( 101) and than change to subway. ( line 2,5)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top