$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Nov 29, 2014

Tupa Hotel

3 stars
Taniera Teave s/n, Easter Island,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
10 reviews
Excellent Stay in Rapa Nui

From the moment I began my vacation, the Tupa Hotel helped to make my stay in Rapa Nui comfortable.... See full review

  • Mikey Mike13
  • Oct 12, 2014
Hotel stay

nice helpful staff, good breakfast, fantastic view See full review

  • Paul BL
  • Aug 22, 2014
Ocean view rooms in Hanga Roa town one block from the main street, shops, restaurants, rentals and shows.

Tupa Hotel, formerly Topara'a Inn, is a family run hotel originally built by Sergio Rapu Haoa, an archaeologist renowned for his studies of the islands moai , or monolithic stone figures. He was also Easter Islands first native governor.

Tupa Hotel is located on Tanera Teave, one block off of the main street of Atamu Tekena, and two blocks from the coastal road.

A variety of shops, restaurants, and rental/tour outfitters are less than 5 minutes away by foot.

The Ahu Tahai complex, which has the only standing statue with eyes, is about a 15-minute walk from the hotel.

The site can be seen in the distance along with the rest of the western coastline from the front of the hotel.

Ocean view, garden view, and budget rooms are available to fit any type of budget.

Free amenities included with each room are: airport flower reception and transfer, mini city tour upon arrival, free parking, daily Polynesian breakfast, free WIFI access in the lobby, island and town maps.
Free amenities: flower lei reception at airport, transfer to/from airport,free parking, daily Polynesian breakfast, free WIFI in lobby, island/town maps.

REMARKS: Passenger must provide flight information when making the reservation in order to be picked up at the airport.

Hotel Map

-27.1516 -109.4347
Area served
Hanga Roa.
Nearby airports
Mataveri International (IPC).
Area description
Ocean views of the west coastline. Walk to shops, restaurants, and tours/rentals in 5 min. Ahu Tahai and museum only 15 min away by foot. One block off of main road.

Tupa Hotel Rooms

Superior Ocean View
These new and comfortable rooms feature a super king (extra large) bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have a beautiful view of the sea and the town of Hanga Roa, with outdoor terrace seating and private access. The rooms are equipped with minibar, fan, wardrobe, bedside tables and a beautiful handmade wooden table and chairs. Large private bathroom with tub/shower, sink and toilet.
Ocean View
Spacious and comfortable rooms, with a king-size bed or 2 twin beds. Rooms have an excellent view of the sea and the town of Hanga Roa and feature an outdoor terrace. The rooms have a mini bar, fan, wardrobe, bedside tables and desktop with chairs. Large private bathroom with tub/shower, sink and toilet.
Garden View
Spacious and comfortable rooms with private bathroom (sink, toilet and tub/shower), for those who wish to enjoy the tranquility of our inner garden. They feature a king-size bed or 2 or 3 single beds, bedside tables, wardrobe, fan and a small table with chairs.
Budget Rooms
For those traveling alone who prefer something more simple and quiet. Bedroom with single bed and private bathroom (sink, toilet and tub/shower) Room is equipped with fan, wardrobe, bedside table, and lamp and faces an inner garden.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant:
Polynesian breakfast includes coffee, tea, breads/pastries, seasonal fruits, ham, cheese, and fruit juice. Dining room overlooks ocean.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Tupa Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tupa Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rachel Awesome Daughter
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Nov 18, 2014

Bucket List Getaway

I took my Father on a his dream getaway location and the experience couldn't have gotten any better. Yes the hotel is not a 5 star hotel but then again who stays in there hotel room when they go on vacation. All you really need is a room to spend the night in, the price and location is perfect. Everything is walking distant shopping, restaurants and the beach. I would suggest you book a tour with Mahinatur tours ask for Natalia ask the hotel and they would gladly reserve it for you, she is an excellent tour guide. The staff at the hotel are awesome. They made us feel welcome as soon as we walking through the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you pay in pesos, we ran out of pesos and had to pay in dollars and it was almost double the cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tupa Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mikey Mike13
Business
Los Angeles, California
Oct 12, 2014

Excellent Stay in Rapa Nui

From the moment I began my vacation, the Tupa Hotel helped to make my stay in Rapa Nui comfortable. They pick you up from the airport and give you a lei. The staff were extremely friendly and helped to coordinate tours and dinner events. The room I stayed in was spacious. There was a little issue but it was taken care of right away when I notified the staff. During my stay in Rapa Nui I took three tours (one full day and two half day tours). Tupa booked everything for me. The location is also awesome. It is a short walk from downtown, the beach, great restaurants (right across from Mama Nui), and has a great view. Tupa hotel is great for its value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kotaro is one of the best Japanese restaurants I've been to...the service was impeccable and the food was great. It is about a 10-15 min walk from the Tupa Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tupa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul BL
Business
UK
Aug 22, 2014

Hotel stay

nice helpful staff, good breakfast, fantastic view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tupa Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
newblueroo
Business
Toronto
Apr 25, 2014

A VERY SOLID 3 STARS

Returned home from a very memorable Easter Island Vacation. Tupa Hotel is a very solid 3 star hotel whose strengths include very welcoming and warm staff and very decent morning breakfast buffet. My basic requirements for a hot shower with great water pressure were met! A word to those enslaved to technology. Get back to basics as there is no tv, no telephone and despite advertised NO internet or wifi access at the hotel - and very sporadic and patchy on the entire Island. Fellow guests frantically trying to connect to WiFi - it ain't happening, although don't rule out future improvements. Being cutoff was strangely liberating. If you need to do on-line check in for your LAN flight, just walk up the street to the the LAN office the day prior. All in all a good solid base for an amazing holiday in Rapa Nui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

KOTARO - Japanese Restaurant. Amazing food, inspired and passionate chef/owner, and decently priced on what is a very expensive Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tupa Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michaelsh
Business
Bogotá, Colombia
Apr 18, 2014

An adventure back in time

We loved our trip to Easter Island. Hotel Tupa left much to be desired but it was nice to be greeted at the airport and to have a clean room, although very dated with few luxuries. We stayed in an ocean view room and enjoyed the view of the sunsets. I took a cold shower one morning because the hot water supply was not sufficient for some reason. We learned that showering at night was best and did not have any water issues at that time. In our particular room, the bed was uncomfortable. Half of the bed needed more support and both my husband and I suffered from back pains after sleeping on that side of the bed. We enjoyed the location of the hotel. Just a few blocks from oceanside restaurants. Also a few blocks from the main street. We liked that we were close to the main street, but not staying on it. The hotel website states there is wifi access in the common reception area. There was no access during our entire stay and the reception said it was out of their control, however, there was a secure Administration network that the staff had access to that seemed to work without a problem. We felt like the hotel staff was not honest about the wifi either in their advertisements or talking to us about the availability. We liked the breakfast. There were fruits, breads, granola, and instant coffee (the coffee is much better than many other places we have stayed). While most of the staff was pleasant, the people at the reception desk were not particularly warm. One person was downright cold and at times rude during our encounters. The hotel was fine because we spent so little time in our room. If we had another trip we would do more research on staying somewhere else. Regarding the trip to Easter Island as a whole, my family and I loved it and would consider it one of the best trips we have taken. We loved how remote it felt, how easy it was to be alone at the sites, and how easy it was to travel with a baby. We took a full day tour on our second day on the island and would highly recommend doing that to orient yourself before setting out on your own. After that, we rented a car and were able to spend as much time as we want, when we wanted, at our favorite sites. The island is quite small and easy to drive around in a short amount of time. Our trip was during the beginning of autumn and the sun rose around 8am and set around 8pm daily. This allowed us to sleep in, but be up and out the door to see the sunrise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tupa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Solo Traveller
Business
Los Angeles, CA.
Sep 22, 2013

Fantastic solo getaway.

The location of the Tupa hotel is wonderful, 5 minutes walk to the main street or to Tahai. I got an oceanview room, so i could see and hear the ocean. I love walking, it was fantastic to be able to walk everywhere, to town, along the coastline etc. I stayed for 7 nights, it was very quiet and relaxing. I feel safe there, people are not pushy or obnoxious. Seeing the Moais was a real treat, they are amazing. There are also a lot of scenic places as well. I highly recommend a trip to Easter Island, a truly magical and beautiful place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tupa Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TropicalTripper
Business
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Apr 4, 2013

Pretty good for the island

Keep in mind that you need to adjust your expectations when you travel to Easter Island. For what you pay you don't get what you would in many other parts of the world. That being said, this is a decent hotel with a great location close to town and restaurants, and it has a nice view of the ocean. The breakfast is heavy on fruit and bread, with some packaged deli meat and cheese. Front desk and breakfast room staff are friendly and helpful. They offer free rides to and from the airport, which is only a 5 minute drive away. Rooms don't have air conditioning, but do have ceiling fans and one moveable fan on a stand. They are somewhat shabby, even the ocean-view rooms, but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend the Japanese restaurant, Kotaru. It is open every night for dinner except for Tuesday, from 6-11. It is a one chef operation with three tables, so you should reserve ahead of time. The chef lived in Japan for 10 years and he prepares wonderful Japanese food that isn't a South American b*stardization of what Japanese food should be. The chef will ask you what you feel like and I recommend you talk it out with him rather than ordering blindly off the menu. He will steer you towards something you will like and will be honest with you about what fish is fresh and where it came from, not always the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tupa Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
djeeg
Business
World Traveler
Jan 26, 2013

Nice, comfortable - not fancy

A very nice spot just a short walk from town. The ocean view rooms get a nice breeze through the patio doors; no A/C but good fans provided. I didn't miss the A/C. Breakfast is good and enough there to make a small sandwich for lunch, but the coffee is instant. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Beds are clean and basic. Lighting in room is very basic. Bathroom in one I stayed in was very recently updated with all new fixtures. Be prepared for short outages of electricity and water - but that is town wide, not hotel specific. WiFi is slow, but don't go to Rapa Nui for internet speed. Overall, a good experience, and I thought reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tupa Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cosra
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 28, 2012

Location, location, location!

Great location, friendly staff, helpful airport transfers, terrific breakfast, but the hotel is an older property that needs some repairs and amenities; it has virtually none.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food is very expensive, so plan accordingly. Haka Honu is one of the best restaurants on the island, with relatively reasonable prices for the qualilty and portion size; across from the waterfront, a short walk from the hotel, with a great view of the sunset.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tupa Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marshtea
Business
Ollantaytambo, Peru
Mar 2, 2012

Very unforgetable experience

The location is central and convenient. The transit to and from the airport was prompt and warm. The room was clean and comfortable. And the people were very helpful and went out of their way to help me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top