$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of West Bay Road, P.O. Box 30620, Grand Cayman,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
298 out of 298
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathy F.
Business
New Jersey
Apr 16, 2013

Wonderful vacation!

Hands down Grand Cayman is now my favorite Caribbean island that I've been to. Hotel was lovely! Perfect location on Seven Mile Beach! Centrally located with easy access to everything. Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. Only drawback were the additional taxes and service charges at checkout. For a four-night stay, it cost an additional $200. Otherwise, the perfect getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely check out Action Watersports wave-runner excursion to Stingray City. Our guide Leon was great. It was so much fun! Also check out Pampered Ponies. Beautiful horses. We did a private ride first thing in the morning. Lori and Bing were terrific. Thanks guys!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Less than Average
Business
Albany NY
Apr 16, 2013

Great location, Sub-par service

The location was absolutely beautiful. The beach was clean and there seemed to be enough chairs, but only 16 umbrellas, not nearly enough for how large the hotel is. Rude staff (for the most part. Only 3 that we met were outstanding and friendly.) Very pricey for everything including food, drinks, even water. Everything included a 16% gratuity, which wasn't earned, nor deserved.( And we are big tippers.) No amenities were included except a shuttle into Georgetown twice a day, which wasn't convenient to our schedule and other guests. Housekeeping came very late in the afternoons, and never swept our outside balcony and reused some of our towels. I could go on, but we aren't going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The beach is absolutely PERFECT at this location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JPandNP
Business
Morristown, TN, USA
Apr 16, 2013

Exceptional Resort

I cannot think of one thing to complain about this experience. We were treated with utmost care and respect . Every employee was top notch and we received great service in every way. We highly recommend this resort and plan to visit it again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat across the street at cafe eats. the food is awesome .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beacher1
Business
Williamsburg, Virginia
Apr 9, 2013

Beautiful Family Friendly Resort

The Grand Cayman Westin is an absolutely beautiful resort on a wide stretch of seven mile beach. On site water sport rentals provide anything you want to do from parasailing, paddle boarding, jet skis, kayaks, etc. with a very professional and friendly staff. There is a great reef for snorkeling right off the hotel where the fish 'school' around you. The live music every happy hour was a plus. We never ate at the on-site restaurant, it was a little out of the way and did not feel that inviting. There were many places to eat within a 1/2 mile walking distance. Great place for teenagers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We swam with the horses which was an incredible experience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rochester Broncos Fan
Business
Rochester, NY
Apr 7, 2013

Average at best

My family (2 adult, 1 child) has taken a trip to the caribbean every year since 2004, going to a different island each time. While Grand Cayman itself is great, we did not have a great experience at this hotel. We thought we did our research when choosing this hotel for a 7 night stay, we booked an island view room with 2 double beds. I even called the hotel directly to confirm. However upon arrival we could tell the hotel was at maximum capacity as it was Easter week, there were people everywhere. When we checked in we were placed in an island view room with only one king size bed for the 3 of us. When I protested I was told that since we booked through a travel agent that they can only confirm we have a room, not the type of room. I have used travel agents for years and never encountered this. I spoke to the manager as well as 2 other front desk staff and was unsuccessful in getting a room with 2 double beds or even any kind of comp for our trouble (heck a couple of free drinks would have been nice) I waited in line and requested on 4 occasions over the 1st 3 days of our stay a cot or air mattress for my child. Each time I was told one would be coming, however it never did. I finally gave up and resigned us to sleep 3 to a bed for the week. The front desk staff did not seem to care about this situation at all or the concerns of any of the guests I saw them interact with. There were at least 20 other families in this exact same situation I spoke to over the course of the week. Even upon checkout I stood in line behind a person checking in who was being told the very same thing - that he'd have to share a king size bed with his 2 adult parents! So buyer beware - either the web site does not have the proper buying schedule set up with this hotel, or the hotel overbooks and then just figures people are already there and have no choice. Besides the room situation the resort was average for what's billed as a 4 star hotel. They advertise a kids program, it is non existent. The pool is pretty good but was really crowded during peak hours. Also the no kids in the hot tub rule is not enforced. Both hot tubs daily were filled with children under the age of 5, many in diapers. Beach was excellent and the on site water sports outfit is great.. Hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants/stores/etc and the public buses stop out front and are a great alternative to a taxi. The buses run $2 a person and would definitely recommend over a taxi. Most resorts we have been to in the caribbean offer some kind of manager's reception/cocktail hour to welcome guests - don't expect that here. The staff could care less about you pretty much across the board. For example-on checkout day even though checkout is 12 noon the housekeeping staff stopped by every hour starting at 9 AM to see when we were leaving so they could prepare the room for another guest. However during the week they didn't clean our room until 4 or 5 in the afternoon. Also on our other trips I have found that the concierge is your most valuable asset to finding the best excursions and restaurants. We did not find that here, the concierge was not helpful at all, and seemed put off everytime I asked a question. We ended up booking our own activities via our room phone. Overall I would say this hotel did not live up to our expectations at all. I know Easter week is one of the busiest weeks of the year. But as mentioned we go somewhere every year for Easter week and have never encountered the poor customer service we experienced here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the Safari Jeep tour. They pick up at the hotel and take you around the whole island. As well they are very knowledgeable about anything - history, restaurants, shopping, other things to see, etc. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lulubeans
Business
northern CA
Apr 6, 2013

Spring Break Stay

Our family stayed here over Spring Break and had a wonderful experience. Everyone was very helpful and friendly and the Westin has the best beach location on all of 7 Mile Beach. Our room type wasn't available on checkin but they upgraded our view and gave us meal vouchers for compensation without even asking for either. Would definitely recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sunshine Grill across the street is very good for dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MU123
Business
Minneapolis
Apr 4, 2013

Short Family Getaway

Location is about as central on Seven Mile Beach as you can get with plenty of supporting businesses within walking distance, i.e. restaurants, groceries, convenience marts, etc. A couple of glitches. First of all, we had booked a room with two double beds, as I was travelling with my two sons (teenager and pre-teen), but when we arrived we were given a single King room. When I went back down to the front desk (because it was difficult to even call the front desk with their room phone system), I was told that that is all they had available and that the issue was because I booked the room through another agent (this website) instead of directly through their own website. They also explained to me that they were over-booked (hmm, is that my fault again?) and would not have the room type I needed for another week. As I was being explained all of this, there were at least 3 other families in the same predicament at the front desk at the same time and I found out that there were numerous other guests that this happened to during this week as well. The hotel's only offer to fix the situation was to bring in inflatable air mattresses. A couple of other quirks: they never seemed to have enough beach towels for the number of guests. If you didn't check out your towels in the morning, your chances of getting a towel in the afternoon were slim. The lobby was nicely decorated with groups of fashionable seating, tables, lamps, rugs, etc., however at night, for some reason, they wouldn't turn on the charming lamps they had on all the end tables, but instead used the hideous Mercury Vapor or whatever they were, light cans in the ceiling and lit the place up like a Monday Night Football game. Too bad, because otherwise, it was well done and we would have enjoyed hanging in there in the evening. Otherwise, a very family oriented place. The pool bar was rather awful, but then again, if it were nicer, then it would probably take away from the family oriented vibe I suppose? With just a little more attention to detail and better communication with the on-line booking, this place could be so much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eats Cafe is across the street and a tremendous value for breakfast compared to the $20/person chafing dish buffet at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wave Dad
Business
New York, NY
Mar 31, 2013

The Best Beach on Seven Mile

This hotel was fully renovated relatively recently and it's beautiful. The beach is its strong point and many people we spoke to who visit Cayman regularly all agreed it's the best stretch of beach on Seven Mile. Way better than the Ritz-Carlton. The rooms were comfortable and clean. We had a king size bed that was a 10 in comfort. The staff was helpful and friendly and the hotel is perfect for family with kids. I would strongly recommend the Westin!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yoshi Sushi across the street has great food and pretty good sushi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mikey2x
Business
New York
Mar 27, 2013

Long Weekend Getaway

This hotel is very nice and sits right on seven mile beach (which is really nice). The beach faces due west so every night there is a sunset over the water. In general, the hotel is nothing special. For whatever reason (maybe spring break) it was a bit crowded during our trip. It was a weird mix of people. A lot of families with their kids as well as young adults doing shots and getting loud at the pool. The room was decent, but the air conditioning did not work very well. Many times at night I woke up feeling very warm. The staff weren't that great either. Not very attentive to your needs. Once I ordered a drink at the pool and the girl forgot about me until she passed by again and realized she never brought me my drink (about 30 minutes later). Another time we ate at the grill near the pool and the service was pathetically slow. When we checked out, we left early and there was nobody at the front desk. Also, the premier restaurant was lousy. I had stayed here in the past and went to this restaurant and liked it. For some reason, they changed it into (basically) a tapas bar serving small plate samplers. Although the food was good, I walked out of there hungry and a couple of hundred dollars poorer. I wouldn't go back there. I liked it and would probably recommend it, but it could use some better customer service. People want to be pampered when they are away, not have to track down service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Calypso grill...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
greg1949
Business
nyc
Mar 25, 2013

only good for family

Not enough umbrellas at the beach. We had to get up at 7 am to be able to get an umbrella and sometimes it was not early enough. Room is small and need a good upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

In the city brasserie.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top