$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Treasure Island Resort

2 stars
269 West Bay Road, George Town,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
74 reviews
perfect getaway for young couple on a budget

Great location, great price, just don't expect a mint on your pillow. The amenities are sufficient... See full review

  • ImpulsiveJetsetter
  • Jul 2, 2014
great for couples

Great place to lay your head. Billy Bones swim up bar great See full review

  • Anita777
  • Mar 5, 2014
Beach front Resort conveniently located on 7 Mile Beach. 3 outdoor swimming pools. Treasure Island features 2 restaurants. 1 lobby bar open 7 days a week and a pool sided bar. The guestrooms open to Ocean, Island, and Pool view rooms. Flat screen television with Satellite cable, Internet access, 24 hours fitness center and kitchenettes. The hotel also offers Barbecue area, Lobby and Reception as additional amenity.

Hotel Map

19.309 -81.3843
Area served
George Town
Nearby airports
Owen Roberts International Airport (GCM).
Area description
Seven Mile Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Treasure Island Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Treasure Island Resort Rooms

Ocean View Room
Ocean View Room offers one queen size or two full size bed along with kitchenette, flat screen TV, mini refrigerator, Air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, en-suite / private bathroom, Internet access, iron / ironing board, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, telephone, voice-mail and washing machine.
Garden View Room
Garden View Room offers one queen size or two full size bed along with kitchenette, flat screen TV, mini refrigerator, Air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, en-suite / private bathroom, Internet access, iron / ironing board, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, telephone, voice-mail and washing machine.
Pool View Room
Pool View Room offers one queen size or two full size bed along with kitchenette, flat screen color TV, mini refrigerator, Air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, en-suite / private bathroom, Internet access, iron / ironing board, microwave oven, non-smoking rooms, telephone, voice-mail and washing machine.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Chang's Restaurant
Ideal for lovers of Chinese food in a elegant setting located in Treasure Island Lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Treasure Island Resort

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 74
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
2.6
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Treasure Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CMelinda
7mile beach Georgetown Grand Cayman Cayman Islands
Feb 4, 2014

Family Wedding / Vacation

Everyone was very accommodating. I left a pouch with my passport, credit cards, and a hundred dollar bill. Over an hour when I returned to inquire about my belongings someone had found it and returned it to front desk. I was extremely happy to find all my belongings cash and all still inside the pouch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Treats - nice hearty meals Or Coconut Joes for the all American breakfast that includes home fries and thick Texas toast like bread.

Review of Treasure Island Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John Heritage
Colorado
Jun 9, 2013

Acceptable for a low-end Cayman hotel

I would describe this hotel as acceptable for the price. It was clean. Beds were comfortable. Definitely dated and older. We were looking for a place to stay just one night before getting into our place for the week. I would not recommend the hotel for a week's vacation. It appears that there are long-term renters/locals staying in the hotel; which to me makes it something other than a hotel. That said, people were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Treasure Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Towntress
Edmonton, Alberta
Nov 14, 2012

Good deal for money

Prior to staying at Treasure Island, we had read a lot of negative reviews. This had alarmed us because my memories of Treasure Island as a child were very good. 2 of the 3 pools are fantastic. The 3rd smaller one tends to be where the locals that rent monthly suites from Treasure Island hang out and party. That being said, though, I would not say the partying was intrusive, as we couldn't really hear them from our suite. Billy Bones swim-up bar is a highlight. The room was clean with comfortable beds, though lacking in caribbean decor and ambiance. We paid for an island view suite but must've been upgraded to an ocean view as our patio overlooked the beautiful caribbean sea and nightly sunsets. My negative comments would be about the condition of the walkways and other hotel areas. It could use a little TLC. I like to walk barefoot when in the tropics and didn't appreciate the cigarette butts on the ground, nor the beer bottles sometimes hidden in the bushes by the locals' suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop where the locals shop, eat where the locals eat. Anything geared towards tourists in Cayman is ridiculously expensive.

Review of Treasure Island Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
caymansnorks
wayne, NJ
Aug 28, 2012

please stay away, pictures are deceiving

Been to this place in August of 2012 and ran as quickly as I could. I have stayed at 2 star hotels offered at least 15 different times, all over US and Canada. This one was completely unacceptable. I killed two huge cockroaches within the first 10 minutes of checking into a room. I had to check out and request a refund. The staff was not surprised and admitted to the problem, but said that it was caused by desinsection. Please stay away. Pictures are deceiving and years old. This was probably a great place 10 years ago, but it hasn't even been painted in years. The room smells, bathroom is old and moldy, kitchen is dirty as well as tile floors. It took me about 20 minutes to resolve the issue, and I got my refund and changed the hotel for an upgraded price, of course.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

I wish I took photos of cockroaces in the room and saved everyone valuable time

Review of Treasure Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Casey May
North Alabama
Mar 5, 2012

Mom and daughter getaway

This is our 3rd time to stay here. First time was many years agon and last was last year. The hotel has many long term pelple living there now but they keep a few rooms for tourists. I was not fancy but clean and adequate. The setting is beautiful, pools and beach awesome and Billy Bones Restaurant behind it has excellent food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Billy Bones restaurant is right out the back of the hotel and food is excellent.

Review of Treasure Island Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laramigo
Laramie, Wyoming
Feb 1, 2012

Really nice pool, grounds,beach access

TI is a residential hotel with 50 rooms for short stays.My daughter & I stayed at TI for 9 nights & were very comfortable. We chose a room with "island view."That means a view of a parking lot, but from our 5th-floor balcony we could also see a bit of the ocean & were able to watch the cruise ships come and go. The room was nicely decorated, no frills like pictures on the wall, but the table was full sized with 2 matching chairs. The daybed was odd, but useful for suitcases. Good armoire for clothes.The kitchenette had a sink, microwave, 2 stove-top burners & a little fridge with good cabinet & counter space.The dishes/pans/silverware were adequate.Plan to buy your own dishsoap, paper towels, coffee, condiments, etc. Had to ask for hangers, but got them. Maids were pleasant & did a good job. Room was clean, everything worked. I don't mind lukewarm water for the shower in a tropical climate. Internet access with data cord in room, but I had to sit on the edge of the bed to use my PC 'cause the cable was very short. Wi-Fi available in the lobby and at poolside. Don't expect concierge service at the desk, but the people were pleasant. .The pools, grounds layout, waterfalls, beach proximity were outstanding. Some delayed maintenance & you have to be a little self-sufficient to stay here, but we liked it & will stay here next trip. Yes, you can hear the roosters, but so what? We liked them just fine. Bring earplugs if you're sensitive or expect to be hungover a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus and try not to get run over when you cross the street!

Review of Treasure Island Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cranford, NJ
Aug 7, 2011

Do Not Stay Here

DO NOT STAY HERE. We had made plans to stay at Treasure Island with other family members and booked a total of four rooms. I personally had two rooms, one for my wife and I and the other for our adult children. Unfortunately my wife broke her ankle and needed a handicap room. Treasure Island did not have an available handicap room and could not accommodate. I checked out of one room, keeping the other and moved to accommodations that were acceptable for a wheelchair. As we had prepaid our room[...], and Treasure Island already got paid, they refused to provide a refund. Horrible management, they can't provide handicap facilities and refuse to refund us for unused nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Treasure Island Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Jul 10, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

The staff was great!!!! We did pretty much all the tourist stuff, turtles, sting rays, guys played golf and went to Hell, Grand Cayman.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Treasure Island Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jwirl
shelton,CT
Jun 28, 2011

nice location, but dirty

our room smelled musty the whole time and we had little bugs in the bathroom. the pools were great but they had iguana droppings all around them which smelled gross.Also a maid from another floor thought we checked out and went into our room and took my sons lunch and a large bottle of vodka. they said she was "cleaning" the fride but there were still other things inside it. the beach was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Treasure Island Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
SHELTON, CT
Jun 28, 2011

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR

THE ROOM WAS DIRTY...I ACTUALLY WASHED THE FLOOR MYSELF. THE BEDCOVERS WERE STAINED, ASHES FROM THE PREVIOUS OCCUPANT WERE ALL OVER THE BALCONY. THE WERE A LARGER NUMBER OF CHICKENS, ROOSTERS AND IGUANAS THROUHOUT THE RESORT. THE ROOSTERS STARTED CROWING AND 4:30AM. IT WOULD APPEAR THAT ALL THE LOCAL ANIMALS WERE ALLOWED TO DEFECATE IN ALL THE PUBLIC AREAS WITH NO RUST TO CLEAN IT, SEVERAL AREAS WERE LEFT FOR DAYS. THIS IS A HOTEL YOU SOULD PASS ON.....HEAD NORTH UP THE BEACH TO THE MARRIOTT OR ANYWHERE ELSE. YOU WILL BE SORRY IF YOU DONT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CHICKEN CHICKEN WAS ONE OF THE BEST MEALS OF THE TRIP FOR THE MONEY. RUMPOINT IS A CANT MISS.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search