$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Tryp Quebec Hotel Pur

4 stars
View map of 395 rue de la Couronne, Quebec City, QC G1K 7X4

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Tryp Quebec Hotel Pur

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tryp Quebec Hotel Pur

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoriJ
Business
Yardley, PA
Jun 26, 2013

A Nice Surprise

Very comfortable room, with full height window that provided a wonderful view of the city. The bed was very comfortable, with good quality linens. Only complaint was bathroom lighting - a bit too dark. Used mirror on closet door to put make-up on. Overall design is simple, clean, contemporary. Staff were all equally very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Look into the free Cirque de Soleil performance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Quebec Hotel Pur

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BonniePost
Business
Las Vegas
Mar 4, 2013

Perfect for Business Traveller

The Tryp Pur was perfect in almost every respect. Coffe in the lobby at all hours, great Gym and Pool, and the bar and restaurant were wonderful. Also the rooms are well-insulated so you never hear occupants above or in adjacent rooms. Makes it easy to get a great night's sleep. As a person who likes to have coffee while getting ready in the morning, it would have been nice to have a small plain coffee maker in the room. But it was not hard to simply throw on some clothes and go to the lobby for coffee. This hotel is excellent in every way, and the staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating. They were wonderful. I will definitely stay at Pur when I return to Quebec!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

While tempted to eat at the Pur restaurant each night, St. Joseph street is 1 minue away by foot and is filled with wonderful restaurants and bistros.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Quebec Hotel Pur

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alissa NYC
Business
New York, NY
Sep 6, 2012

Weekend gateway

Perfect location and beautiful hotel. Very modern and stylish rooms. Short walking distance to all attractions. Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Quebec Hotel Pur

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raffish
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 5, 2010

Simple elegance

The hotel itself was very nice, clean, simple, but elegant. Very modern. Free WI-Fi. Friendly staff. The only real downside was that the restaurant/bar was not open for dinner or into the evening, making having a drink at the hotel impossible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Quebec Hotel Pur

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GenevaLand
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 17, 2009

Modern design, great staff

I love modern, boutique hotels and Hotel Pur is definitely this type. The hotel was quite busy while I was there but my floor was quiet. My room had a comfortable king sized bed, flat screen TV and large window. There was a small fridge, but no minibar. There also was an I-home for your Ipod/Iphone. I did not mind, unlike many reviewers, that the drawers in the closet were small. The bathroom was nice with a great shower and Aveda bath products, but no tub. Also, it seemed that the ceiling in the bathroom was not finished. The staff at Hotel Pur is excellent. The front desk people gave good suggestions on where to go and helped us get reservations at some very nice restaurants. The door staff were also friendly and assisted us with getting taxis. My only issue with this hotel is that it is a little far from downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has free coffee and tea in the lobby. However, if you want other drinks and snacks, there is a pharmacy across the street from the hotel where you can buy water, soda and chips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Quebec Hotel Pur

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ross-NY
Business
New York City
Aug 15, 2009

Hotel PUR

Hotel's decor is depressing and the room numbers and hallways make you think you're in a hostel or something similar. Otherwise the hotel is okay. Didn't like that there was no coffee maker in the room and you had to go to the lobby every time you wanted tea or coffee... but the decor is definitely the worst of the negatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the upper or lower town for food. A brisk walk of ~15-20 mins. Otherwise there are plenty of good restaurants right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Quebec Hotel Pur

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Qu'est-ce que tu penses
Business
New York, NY
Aug 10, 2009

Cool Design, Solid Location

Hotel Pur is a reasonably priced boutique in the heart of Quebec's St. Roch district. This isn't a hotel I would recommend for people seeking the classic Quebec tourist experience -- you'll be a few very steep hills away from the Upper and Lower City areas. However, if you don't mind the walk or are interested in seeing different areas of the town, it's a great option. The surrounding neighborhood features a number of good restaurants and a few resto-bars, but be warned that things shut down after 9 or so. Still, you aren't a far walk from a pretty happening area up on St. Jean, and you can always walk to the older part of town or the Grand Allee if you are up for it. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk west on St. Joseph a block or two to Le Cafe du Clocher Penche. Great food and great wine with reasonable prices and a better atmosphere then trendy spots nearby that try a little too hard.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Quebec Hotel Pur

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JimWorldTravelor
Business
Champaign, IL
Aug 3, 2009

PUR-fect!!!!!!!!

Bilingual front desk staff. Old Quebec City tours stop for pickup from hotel. Expresso machine for free coffee in lobby. Modern, contemporary look to hotel. Stayed for a week and enjoyed our stay. Nice, small exercise room. Pool, but no hot tub. Delightful. Can walk uphill one mile to center of old town. McDonalds about 1/2 mile walk uphill. Grocer about 1/3 mile walk. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Old Quebec City tours picks up each morning for 15 different tours. Went on isle of Orleans tour which was very pleasant. Also went on the walking tour of the old city with the same group which was delightful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Quebec Hotel Pur

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 28, 2009

Bland experience coupled with rude staff

My girlfriend and I traveled to Quebec for a three night getaway. Given it was our first romantic getaway trip together,we decided to pay a little extra and stay within walking distance of Old Quebec. After reviewing different websites and comparing hotels, the Pur seemed like a reasonable option--given it's location and moderately priced room on Orbitz. When we arrived at the hotel the concierge spoke in a broken english accent and could not answer my question on how much to tip the valet parkers. Nor was any of the other workers helpful, each carrying a rude tone and a sense of prejudice for American guests who could not speak in French. While my girlfriend could, I could not. And I witnessed the rudeness towards other American tourists. Furthermore, the website says nothing about the $16 a night fee of parking your car in their facility. If you are planning on moving, your car often this makes sense. Otherwise, it becomes a nuisance as the valet parkers rub their hands together as you walk by. They sit there hoping that you will give them the opportunity to retrieve your car from ten feet away and receive a tip. By the last day, I just ignored them. The room on the other hand was completely the same as the website states--the basics. The television was rather useful to catch on US news--CNN and other enlish networks. And the bed was so comfortable I did not want to leave each morning. Likewise, the shower in the spacious bathroom allowed for refreshing experience each morning and night. Its powerful jet studded head was perfect for relaxing strained muscles after wondering around the city. The only dissappointment in the room would have to be the refridgerator, which while stocked with beverages, each came with an exorbitant price, e.g. $4 for a can of pepsi and $12 for a few onces of gummy bears. But besides these few unpleasanties, the location was perfect, allowing only a fifteen minute walk to the old city and was located in the beautiful nouvo St. Roche area. With its trendy chocolate shops and delictable bakeries, you will not go hungry. I hihgly recommend Les Bossus for dinner one night. The steak frites--steak and fries--provide a filling and satisfying meal in a chic environment. Sit at the bar to get a sense of how hard these waiters work. And if you are looking for a cheap bottle of wine or spirits, travel to the SAQ store, it's down the road going towards Old Quebec, full of great buys, Therefore, the hotel can be relaxing as long as you ignore the staff and plan not to use the refridgerator. If it's out of your price bracket look at the Best Western, it's only half a block away. Hope this helps and plan to spend quite a bit of money in Quebec; there's few free activities but plenty of ways to indulge your palate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Les Bossus, classy restaurant, with tasty creative dishes. Make sure you speak French; most Quebecois know how to speak english but refuse out of contempt towards outsiders.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tryp Quebec Hotel Pur

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Jun 19, 2009

Cool Experience!

Funky boutique experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top