$271 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

4 stars
1 rue des Carrieres , Quebec, QC G1R 4P5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
119 reviews
Great location and nice rooms

We were put in a recently renovated room. Beds, AC, shower... all very nice. This is a perfect... See full review

  • I heart poutine
  • Aug 18, 2014
Magnifique

The Frontenac front desk staff and concierges were extremely helpful and responsive. The location... See full review

  • Silence Dogood
  • Aug 17, 2014
Ideally located inside the walls of Old Quebec, this landmark luxury hotel has undergone a multimillion dollar renaissance project. This heritage urban resort will seduce you with its breathtaking views of the St.Lawrence River and the architecture of the old fortified city. Get a taste of Europe as you stroll the City's charming cobblestone streets and visit must-see-attractions, all just steps away. Offering newly renovated luxurious guestrooms and exquisite dining experiences, this world-renowned hotel stands above historic Old Quebec, designated a United Nations World Heritage Site. For business and special events, our superior banquet facilities will turn any meeting, social gathering and wedding into an unforgettable event. With its castle-like architecture and turrets, Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac is truly everyone's dream castle experience! Awards & Accolades: CAA/AAA, Four Diamond Award, Four Green Keys rating, Travel & Leisure Magazine, T+L 500 Best hotels of the World 2014, Five Star Alliance - The World's Best Hotels 2014, Hotel Association of Canada ReserVert (sustainable) designation, Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Awards

Hotel Map

46.8117 -71.2058
Area served
Quebec City
Nearby airports
Quebec City Jean Lessage Intl Airport, (YQB), 18.00, KM, SE; Montreal - Trudeau Intl Airport, (YUL), 268.00, KM, E
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Rooms

Fairmont Gold Room
Immerse yourself in the Fairmont Gold experience, complete with private check-in, exclusive concierge & butler services. Enjoy exclusive access to our signature gold lounge, and more.
Fairmont Room
Well appointed and furnished in the tradition of a historical chateau, these rooms feature three different kind of views : No view, overlooking Old Quebec's historical architecture (such as the surrounding parks and the European style buildings of Old Quebec City) or the majestic St. Lawrence River. Additional charges will apply for superior views.
Deluxe Room
Newly renovated, these rooms feature three different kind of views : No view, overlooking Old Quebec's historical architecture (such as the surrounding parks and the European style buildings of Old Quebec City) or the majestic St. Lawrence River. Additional charges will apply for superior views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Champlain Restaurant
A classic landmark restaurant re-invented, featuring cutting edge regional cuisine created by one of Quebecs hottest restaurant chefs - Stephane Modat. Blending the very best of its heritage features with the latest design trends, the Champlain creates a unique and memorable culinary discovery that is second to none.
1608 - Wine and Cheese Bar
Inspired by the year of Quebec City's founding on the very exact site of this Bar, the new 1608 Wine and Cheese Bar will offer one of the largest varieties of top Quebec cheeses in Canada, sourced from its unique Cheese Room, and coupled with the top wine offerings the world has to offer. Overlooking the St. Lawrence River, this new bar will showcase one of the provinces most stunning views.
Bistro Le Sam
Le Sam, a new Bistro Evolutif, inspired by the discoverer Samuel de Champlain - showcases some of Quebec's hottest culinary trends offered in an informal, relaxed atmosphere featured from its showcase open kitchen. Le Sam Bistro & Bar Atrium offers exceptional views of the St. Lawrence River " a new addition that is sure to be one of the most popular features of the nouveau Chateau.
Starbucks
Located on the terrace level at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, Starbucks is your perfect stop before a busy day exploring and touring Quebec City. Gourmets on-the-go will enjoy a variety of fine sandwiches, pastas, salads and pastries which can be enjoyed on-site or to go.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 119
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
I heart poutine
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 18, 2014

Great location and nice rooms

We were put in a recently renovated room. Beds, AC, shower... all very nice. This is a perfect location. Easy to take a late evening stroll along the promenade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

There is another bank of elevators near the restaurants if the wait is long for the main ones.

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mazamin
Saint Louis, MO
Aug 6, 2014

Was not worth the rate

We were invited to a wedding in the hotel. Most of the attendees were staying there so we decided to do so. Although this is a beautiful castle from outside, inside is not very special. Our room did not have a safe box while other rooms had. The bathroom was very small, which wasn't good enough for normal use let alone for wedding situation when two people move around in the bathroom. Although what I paid was lower than regular price! I think the actual price should be still lower. We were also given a room that had a view to construction area of the hotel, maybe because we got a lower rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gina the Vacationer
Miami Lakes, FL.
Aug 3, 2014

Best location in Quebec!

Loved this spectacular hotel. It's convenient location let's you walk anywhere. The funiculaire is right in front, as are many street performers throughout the day and at night. This historic hotel is lovely, except for the tiny (yes, extremely small) toilet in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D Alan
Montreal, QC
Jul 28, 2014

Good location

It was kind of overpriced, but it has a can't-be-beat location in heart of Vieux-Québec, and it's also a very recognizable symbol of the city and the province. I would recommend it for just for "say-you've-done-it" factor, but it's not truly spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shreeni
Maryland
Jul 5, 2014

Rooms need work

The paint was peeling off the ceiling. We got a room right opposite the elevators. When I asked for a room with a view I was told that costs more money. So the price was right for an ordinary room. Location is fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Friluft
Washington DC
Jun 15, 2014

Chateau Frontenac

We had a wonderful visit at this hotel. The location is perfect and the room and staff service were wonderful. We had a view of the St Lawrence which was an added bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the "food tour" of Quebec City. It is about a 2 hour walk and stop with lots of interesting information and great tastings.

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SusieBing
Montreal
May 16, 2014

Moderate

I was really looking forward to stay at the hotel. The staff was all nice and helpful but the room was not up to the standard I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rawo
Massachusetts
Apr 27, 2014

Beautiful hotel

We got a great rate on this hotel because they were undergoing renovations at the time. The noise and construction were barely noticed. But we didn't get the full experience of the hotel either because a lot of it was closed off. However it was still beautiful and in a fantastic location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Parmesan. Amazing Italian restaurant next door to hotel

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LeeFraser
England
Apr 16, 2014

Luxurious, comfortable, classy!

Although undergoing a major refurbishment which limited some of the amenities available, the warm welcome we received, the attention to detail and perfect service, limited the inconvenience we experienced - and we had been warned about this in advance, so did know we would not be getting the full Chateau Frontenac experience, and this was reflected in the price paid. From valet parking, luggage taken direct to our room, to excellent concierge information and superb room facilities, we could not find fault with any aspect of our stay. The hotel is very convenient for many and varied restaurants and bistros, walking distance from the downtown and vielle Quebec areas. I would recommend going to the Observatoire de la Capitale for a fabulous view of the skyline of the city, including le Chateau Frontenac and the old Fort. In addition, we had a free guided tour of the Parliament building, which was fascinating, and the walk along the promenade outside the hotel, up the 310 steps to the Plains of Abraham and the walls of the Citadel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ajbowman
New York, NY
Nov 26, 2013

best location in a stunning building

The hotel is a landmark that is not to be missed, even if you don't stay in the hotel, but you should. The views from our room were memorable. The hotel overlooks historic Quebec City. We parked our car and explored the entire city on foot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search