$285 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

4 stars
1 rue des Carrieres , Quebec, QC G1R 4P5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
126 reviews
Old World Charm & Canadian Hospitality

We were told by someone that the Chateau Frontenac is the most photographed hotel in the world. Not... See full review

  • Flying Dutchman NYC
  • Jul 7, 2014
Wonderful Stay!

What a beautiful hotel and can not beat the deal we got! See full review

  • Smink924
  • Jul 5, 2014
Ideally located inside the walls of Old Quebec, this heritage urban resort will seduce you with its breathtaking views of the St.Lawrence River and the architecture of the old fortified city. This world-renowned icon will allow you to explore the historic sites surrounding the hotel. Get a taste of Europe as you stroll the City's charming cobblestone streets and visit must-see-attractions, all just steps away. Offering newly renovated luxurious guestrooms and exquisite dining experiences, this stately luxury hotel stands above historic Old Quebec, designated a United Nations World Heritage Site. For business and special events, our superior banquet facilities will turn any meeting, social gathering and wedding into an unforgettable event. With its castle-like architecture and turrets, Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac is truly everyone's dream castle experience! Go green! Complimentary 'Green' Parking is offered for overnight guests who drive hybrid vehicles! Awards & Accolades: CAA/AAA, Four Diamond Award, Four Green Keys rating, Travel & Leisure Magazine, T+L 500 Best hotels of the World 2014, Five Star Alliance - The World's Best Hotels 2014, Hotel Association of Canada ReserVert (sustainable) designation, Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Awards

Hotel Map

46.8117 -71.2058
Area served
Quebec City
Nearby airports
Quebec City Jean Lessage Intl Airport, (YQB), 18.00, KM, SE; Montreal - Trudeau Intl Airport, (YUL), 268.00, KM, E
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Rooms

Fairmont Gold City View
Immerse yourself in the Fairmont Gold experience, complete with private check-in, exclusive concierge & butler services. Enjoy exclusive access to our signature gold lounge, and more. This elegantly furnished guest room includes a King bed, in-room safety deposit box and a luxurious bathroom equipped with deluxe toiletries. Rooms have all of the amenities you will need for a relaxing stay amid understated elegance: wireless internet - a cordless phone with two telephone lines - CD Alarm Clock Radio - DVD Player.
Fairmont Room - King
Fairmont rooms are ideal for couples or single travelers. Well appointed and newly renovated, Fairmont rooms have all the necessary amenities to ensure comfort during your stay.
Room Size: 200 sq.ft. to 225 sq.ft. / 19 sq.m to 21 sq.m
Bed Type: One King Bed
View: Some rooms offer a view of the inner courtyard
Fairmont Room - 2 Doubles
Fairmont rooms are ideal for couples or single travelers. Well appointed and newly renovated, Fairmont rooms have all the necessary amenities to ensure comfort during your stay.
Room Size: 200 sq.ft. to 225 sq.ft. / 19 sq.m to 21 sq.m
Bed Type: 2 Double Beds
View: Some rooms offer a view of the inner courtyard
Deluxe Room - King
Deluxe rooms are finished in an elegant decor.
Room Size: 175 sq.ft. to 225 sq.ft. / 16 sq.m to 21 sq.m
Bed Type: One King Bed.
View: Old Quebec architecture or Magnificent St. Lawrence River
Deluxe Room - 2 Doubles
Deluxe rooms are finished in an elegant decor.
Room Size: 175 sq.ft. to 225 sq.ft. / 16 sq.m to 21 sq.m
Bed Type: Two Double Beds
View: Old Quebec architecture or Magnificent St. Lawrence River

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Starbucks
Located on the terrace level at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, Starbucks is your perfect stop before a busy day exploring and touring Quebec City. Gourmets on-the-go will enjoy a variety of fine sandwiches, pastas, salads and pastries which can be enjoyed on-site or to go.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tourist from USA
US
Jun 8, 2012

Traveler from MI

Very rude staff. When I was checking in, the staff told me that parking was included and afterwards i found that parking was not included ($32/night). When i called back the front desk they told me that I need to have a proof of the staff telling me that. The way they were treating the guest was very rude and unpleasant. Please make sure you have all the fees written down not to get RIPPED OFF!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bojan28
mississauga
Jul 1, 2013

not bad

The room was small and the closet light was blinking snd shower leaked

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
walkercr
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 17, 2014

Less than desirable during their renovation

Because of the hotel's extensive renovation project going on, we were cut off (literally# from having a good experience at this hotel. The good: the room was clean and adequate, with quality linens and appropriate ammenites for a 4 star hotel, and staff was courteous. The bad: the hotel is literally cut up due to the renovations. We were herded into a make shift registration area, herded down a hallway to an elevator to take us to our 3rd floor room and then had to return to the main floor to walk down a hallway to another set of elevators to take up to the 6th floor for the pool and temporary workout room. Lunch dinner and drinks were served in the Lounge where they had portable refrigerators set up for holding cold drinks and a portable bar for serving them, eating your food on lounge tables, sitting in lounge style chairs, etc. Breakfast was served in another room which is tucked behind the lounge -- no signs to direct you to this room -- we wandered around and then had to ask where to go. In summary, we were able to see the temporary lobby area, the hallway to our elevator, the staircase to the lounge/lunch/dinner area, and that is it! This was at a "discounted rate" for a standard #and VERY SMALL# room for $209/nite. The best views of our hotel were from the ferry where we could take some nice pictures of the entire outside from afar. Other pros were the location -- perfect location, and the food was pretty good too, but very limited menu. I truly felt like the hotel should have either closed down #this is not an exaggeration) or had a firesale on the room rate along with a very good explanation about the limited experience you will have at the hotel during this reno period. I just read someone else's review of the hotel and they said the same thing. We expected to have some common areas with large fireplaces etc to sit around and enjoy the space in the hotel, especially because we were visiting during the winter months and it is nice to relax at your hotel with a drink and conversation -- we spent our time in our room because there wasn't a common area for relaxing and socializing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some wonderful restaurants a short walk from the hotel. We enjoyed a very nice meal at a French Italian restaurant with live accordian music and singing (very festive place) and another very modern restaurant -- both just steps away from the Frontenac. Expect to pay just a little more but still very reasonable and the food is very good.

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peter Song
Michigan, USA
Oct 10, 2013

obstructed view room

I booked a room with a higher rate to avoid a room with obstructed view due to renovation. But I got a room with scaffolds right out of my window. I wish I could get the refund for the differences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, Ontario Canada
Jul 3, 2009

Too much hidden costs

We were there on a family vacation. We took a one-day bus tour offered by the hotel. It was good. Everything was O.K, though the rooms were too small for a family of four. The kids did not like the swimming pool. The car parking charges (over $ 31 per day and the internet daily charge of over $16 were not anticipated. These should have been made explicit at the time of reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, Ontario Canada
Jul 3, 2009

Too much hidden costs

We were there on a family vacation. We took a one-day bus tour offered by the hotel. It was good. Everything was O.K, though the rooms were too small for a family of four. The kids did not like the swimming pool. The car parking charges (over $ 31 per day and the internet daily charge of over $16 were not anticipated. These should have been made explicit at the time of reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arkansas
Apr 27, 2010

Not user friendly

Room literally next door to two hotel rooms being used for conference with many participants complete with refreshment buffet in hall 8-5 daily our entire stay! We even paid extra for that room with a view!!! Desk staff cordial & helpful. Not sure why there are doormen, we had to walk around them to get in more than once!Biggest complaint-charge for internet-even wireless in the lobby!!!In this day and age, some free internet expected somewhere in facility. Not the same quality as our last visit 20 years ago.Hotel is beautiful but have to say we would shop for another place next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take good walking shoes. Old city area is safe to walk in and beautiful to enjoy, but good shoes are a must for those hills!

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Central NY
Feb 17, 2010

Great Location but

You could not have a better location in "Vieux Quebec", but stepping into the lobby was like stepping into a thoroughfare and the service was very average - more what you would expect from a mid level chain. Our room was small, but clean and had everything we needed. The hotel is beautifully historic and we could walk everywhere that we wanted to go. Cab fare to the restaurants that we had chosen was about $5 and you could get a cab on the street next to the hotel (the hotel does not get the cab for you). We would choose a smaller/boutique hotel for our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at "Toast" on one of our evenings in Quebec. It was the best meal we can remember ever having. Expensive - dinner for two with wine/app/main/dessert/coffee/tip was $241. You can walk here but it's down a steep hill. Also liked Le Feu Sacre - less expensive - around $100 for app/main/wine/tip for two. If you go here ask for a back room. We were in the front and it was cold when the door was opened. Easy to walk to this one.

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eddie the K
New York
Aug 26, 2013

Go here for the legacy not the service

This hotel is the icon in town, but doesn't always live up to it's heritage. The average room, the kind most will stay in, is small and in need of updating--example: no climate controls makes things like regulating the air conditioning impossible. Hotel services pale to other boutique hotels--the fitness center is small and uninspirational for a workout. Undergoing repairs, some of the stuffy hotel is closed or inaccessible. Be prepared for hordes of bus groups and senior tours clogging up the surprisingly narrow lobby area. Not the kind of place you want to lounge in to soak up the ambiance. Concierges can be brittle and unhelpful when they choose to be. Service is uneven here and needs a bit more polish. Having stayed in some of the finest hotels there is nothing remarkable about this hotel to boast about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Central NY
Feb 17, 2010

Great Location but

You could not have a better location in "Vieux Quebec", but stepping into the lobby was like stepping into a thoroughfare and the service was very average - more what you would expect from a mid level chain. Our room was small, but clean and had everything we needed. The hotel is beautifully historic and we could walk everywhere that we wanted to go. Cab fare to the restaurants that we had chosen was about $5 and you could get a cab on the street next to the hotel (the hotel does not get the cab for you). We would choose a smaller/boutique hotel for our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at "Toast" on one of our evenings in Quebec. It was the best meal we can remember ever having. Expensive - dinner for two with wine/app/main/dessert/coffee/tip was $241. You can walk here but it's down a steep hill. Also liked Le Feu Sacre - less expensive - around $100 for app/main/wine/tip for two. If you go here ask for a back room. We were in the front and it was cold when the door was opened. Easy to walk to this one.

Back to menu Return to top