$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

4 stars
View map of 1 rue des Carrieres , Quebec, QC G1R 4P5

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristen Joy
Business
Palymra, ME (USA)
Dec 20, 2013

Wonderful Romantic Getaway

My fiancé and I stayed here as part of a vacation to celebrate my birthday. From the time we stepped out of our vehicle until checkout, we received the highest quality customer service! Our room had a beautiful view and the staff were helpful and very friendly! Everything was absolutely perfect and it was an ideal location right in the old city. We were able to walk anywhere we needed to go and if we had questions the staff had the information we needed. We would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The parking is for 24hrs, so if you want to explore the city on your last day of travel you can still keep your car in the parking garage after checkout. They have a luggage check in the lobby to store your bags in the meantime.

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ajbowman
Business
New York, NY
Nov 26, 2013

best location in a stunning building

The hotel is a landmark that is not to be missed, even if you don't stay in the hotel, but you should. The views from our room were memorable. The hotel overlooks historic Quebec City. We parked our car and explored the entire city on foot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AshleyPBG
Business
Mountain View, CA
Nov 11, 2013

Beautiful

Le Chateau Frontenac was just as lovely as I imagined it would be! Walkable to great restaurants and incredible views :) Beds and pillows were so comfortable, and the bathroom toiletries were excellent :) Overall, great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TandMB
Business
Brookings, SD
Oct 22, 2013

We loved the location!

The Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac suite we had was very comfortable and roomy for us (4 adults). The location was great beacuse it was close to all of the old city restaurants, shops, and river activities. The staff was outstanding; polite and efficient. It was worth the extra cost to get top notch accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Peter Song
Business
Michigan, USA
Oct 10, 2013

obstructed view room

I booked a room with a higher rate to avoid a room with obstructed view due to renovation. But I got a room with scaffolds right out of my window. I wish I could get the refund for the differences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brinehold
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 7, 2013

A castle for a prince.

This really is the only place to stay when visiting Quebec City. It is in the heart of old city and is the signature building that towers over the skyline. It is a little pricey for what you get but again this is the only place to stay. A must!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oddo
Business
Fremont, CA
Sep 3, 2013

Best concierge ever

Danielle, the Concierge, was incredibly helpful with everything from making restaurant reservations, to directions to a laundromat, and helping to make a doctor's appointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eddie the K
Business
New York
Aug 26, 2013

Go here for the legacy not the service

This hotel is the icon in town, but doesn't always live up to it's heritage. The average room, the kind most will stay in, is small and in need of updating--example: no climate controls makes things like regulating the air conditioning impossible. Hotel services pale to other boutique hotels--the fitness center is small and uninspirational for a workout. Undergoing repairs, some of the stuffy hotel is closed or inaccessible. Be prepared for hordes of bus groups and senior tours clogging up the surprisingly narrow lobby area. Not the kind of place you want to lounge in to soak up the ambiance. Concierges can be brittle and unhelpful when they choose to be. Service is uneven here and needs a bit more polish. Having stayed in some of the finest hotels there is nothing remarkable about this hotel to boast about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
French Wine
Business
Saskatchewan
Aug 12, 2013

Fabulous!!!!!

Stayed at a beautiful chateau in old Quebec City. This was our first visit to this particular spot in Quebec and was absolutely surprised at the resemblance to other spots we previously visited in Europe. The charm and elegance of the people and the city itself is such a treat, not to mention the countless wonderful restaurants. Would definitely add this to your vacation agenda!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portofino Reataurant is outstanding Italian food and is a short walk from the Chateau Frontenac Hotel!!!

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel to Canada
Business
Vernon, CT
Aug 10, 2013

Doing it Right in Quebec

If you are going to Quebec, there is only one place to stay and that is the Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac. The staff was excellent! The only issue is that they are going through major renovations. This will be an issue over the next couple of months but will make the place that much more better when they complete them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top