$306 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

4 stars
1 rue des Carrieres , Quebec, QC G1R 4P5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
129 reviews
A very romantic and fun atmosphere

The manager of the hotel rooms was great. She understood our concerns and resolved them. The... See full review

  • cude
  • Jul 19, 2014
It's NOT Hype!

Our stay was everything one would hope for... friendly and helpful staff, fantastic food at the... See full review

  • Doctor Zoom
  • Jul 15, 2014
Ideally located inside the walls of Old Quebec, this landmark luxury hotel has undergone a multimillion dollar renaissance project. This heritage urban resort will seduce you with its breathtaking views of the St.Lawrence River and the architecture of the old fortified city. Get a taste of Europe as you stroll the City's charming cobblestone streets and visit must-see-attractions, all just steps away. Offering newly renovated luxurious guestrooms and exquisite dining experiences, this world-renowned hotel stands above historic Old Quebec, designated a United Nations World Heritage Site. For business and special events, our superior banquet facilities will turn any meeting, social gathering and wedding into an unforgettable event. With its castle-like architecture and turrets, Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac is truly everyone's dream castle experience! Awards & Accolades: CAA/AAA, Four Diamond Award, Four Green Keys rating, Travel & Leisure Magazine, T+L 500 Best hotels of the World 2014, Five Star Alliance - The World's Best Hotels 2014, Hotel Association of Canada ReserVert (sustainable) designation, Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Awards

Hotel Map

46.8117 -71.2058
Area served
Quebec City
Nearby airports
Quebec City Jean Lessage Intl Airport, (YQB), 18.00, KM, SE; Montreal - Trudeau Intl Airport, (YUL), 268.00, KM, E
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Rooms

Fairmont Gold Room
Immerse yourself in the Fairmont Gold experience, complete with private check-in, exclusive concierge & butler services. Enjoy exclusive access to our signature gold lounge, and more.
Fairmont Room
Well appointed and furnished in the tradition of a historical chateau, these rooms feature three different kind of views : No view, overlooking Old Quebec's historical architecture (such as the surrounding parks and the European style buildings of Old Quebec City) or the majestic St. Lawrence River. Additional charges will apply for superior views.
Deluxe Room
Newly renovated, these rooms feature three different kind of views : No view, overlooking Old Quebec's historical architecture (such as the surrounding parks and the European style buildings of Old Quebec City) or the majestic St. Lawrence River. Additional charges will apply for superior views.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Champlain Restaurant
A classic landmark restaurant re-invented, featuring cutting edge regional cuisine created by one of Quebecs hottest restaurant chefs - Stephane Modat. Blending the very best of its heritage features with the latest design trends, the Champlain creates a unique and memorable culinary discovery that is second to none.
1608 - Wine and Cheese Bar
Inspired by the year of Quebec City's founding on the very exact site of this Bar, the new 1608 Wine and Cheese Bar will offer one of the largest varieties of top Quebec cheeses in Canada, sourced from its unique Cheese Room, and coupled with the top wine offerings the world has to offer. Overlooking the St. Lawrence River, this new bar will showcase one of the provinces most stunning views.
Bistro Le Sam
Le Sam, a new Bistro Evolutif, inspired by the discoverer Samuel de Champlain - showcases some of Quebec's hottest culinary trends offered in an informal, relaxed atmosphere featured from its showcase open kitchen. Le Sam Bistro & Bar Atrium offers exceptional views of the St. Lawrence River " a new addition that is sure to be one of the most popular features of the nouveau Chateau.
Starbucks
Located on the terrace level at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, Starbucks is your perfect stop before a busy day exploring and touring Quebec City. Gourmets on-the-go will enjoy a variety of fine sandwiches, pastas, salads and pastries which can be enjoyed on-site or to go.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
French Wine
Saskatchewan
Aug 12, 2013

Fabulous!!!!!

Stayed at a beautiful chateau in old Quebec City. This was our first visit to this particular spot in Quebec and was absolutely surprised at the resemblance to other spots we previously visited in Europe. The charm and elegance of the people and the city itself is such a treat, not to mention the countless wonderful restaurants. Would definitely add this to your vacation agenda!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portofino Reataurant is outstanding Italian food and is a short walk from the Chateau Frontenac Hotel!!!

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel to Canada
Vernon, CT
Aug 10, 2013

Doing it Right in Quebec

If you are going to Quebec, there is only one place to stay and that is the Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac. The staff was excellent! The only issue is that they are going through major renovations. This will be an issue over the next couple of months but will make the place that much more better when they complete them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katerina world traveler
Philadelphia
Jul 24, 2013

Great Hotel!

It's a Castle! modeled after the ones in Loire Valley Centrally located! You can see it from anywhere in Quebec city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Renee From Fishers
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jul 8, 2013

Beautiful Hotel and City

Hotel is beautiful and in a spectacular location. Staff were very friendly and professional. The breakfast buffet, the lunch buffet at the restaurant were wonderful. We also greatly enjoyed the bar as we had picked an uncommonly warm week of summer to visit. Will definitely visit again. Lots of terrific things to see just outside the front door of the hotel or within 5 - 10 minute walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The city of Quebec sponsors a free Cirque Du Soliel show just a 10 minute walk from the hotel most Summer evenings. Be prepared to possibly stand for the performance done in an outdoor arena. Really fun experience being part of the action right under the performers though. Pack shorts, if you are traveling in the Summer. It can get very warm throughout the day and evening.

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bethel Park PA
Jul 7, 2013

1st class in Quebec City

This is a must stay place. You're right on the cliff overlooking the St. Lawrence River at a historic hotel. Everything was within walking distance, including the Fuminiclare (Incline) to old Quebec City. The area was super romantic- we thought we were in Paris. The hotel stay was equally 1st class. They spoke many languages and made us Americans feel very welcome in a French speaking province.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restuarants everywhere within a short walk.

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bojan28
mississauga
Jul 1, 2013

not bad

The room was small and the closet light was blinking snd shower leaked

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tansy
Richmond, VA
Jun 27, 2013

Perfect

Why would anyone want to stay in any place other than the most beautiful hotel in all of Canada? And the location is perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is right there!

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bete
Toronto, ON
Jun 10, 2013

Perfect home base to explore Quebec City

The service was excellent: Everyone was very courteous and helpful. The hotel was beautiful and well maintained. We enjoyed relaxing in the jacuzzi after a long day of touring around the city. The hotel is perfectly located to visit all the sites on foot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are small grocery stores close to the hotel that sell wine and liquor that you can bring with to restaurants.

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peggy in Quebec
Peabody, MA
Jun 4, 2013

Romantic Getaway

The hotel is amazing and you feel like you are in France. The location was perfect and we never used our car once we got there. What a beautiful place to visit with the cobblestone streets, outside cafes and wonderful views. The staff was pleasant and helpful and we had a fantastic time. We can't wait to go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mostly everything in old Quebec is in walking distance. We took a short tour to get to know our way around and then we walked everywhere. We got some good recommendations for places to eat from the tour guide but it seems most anyplace would be good. Great place to relax and enjoy the atmosphere!!

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hoosier British Reunion
Indiana
Apr 19, 2013

Hoosier Celebration

Went with our daughter and her family on her recommendation, and were joined by my sister and her four sons who were visiting from England. Had an absolutely wonderful visit, where we celebrated our Granddaughter's 10th birthday with the cordial help from a member of the staff. He brought us all the necessary plates, forks, and napkins to accommodate our lovely family party of 12. Very much look forward to returning with our son and his children next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top