$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

4 stars
View map of 1 rue des Carrieres , Quebec, QC G1R 4P5

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Silence Dogood
Business
Prescott, Arizona
Aug 17, 2014

Magnifique

The Frontenac front desk staff and concierges were extremely helpful and responsive. The location is perfect - steps from the Rue St. Louis, the grandstands surrounding talented street performers, the boardwalk overlooking the St. Lawrence, and the funicular that whisks you down the steep cliff to the foot of charming Rue Petit St. Champlain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roth K.
Business
Annapolis, Maryland
Aug 17, 2014

Great Family Time in Quebec City!

This hotel has a great location and proximity to restaurants and shops. This is a very nice hotel with great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Animalfriend
Business
Syracuse,NY
Aug 11, 2014

Getaway to the north

The Hotel was Central to the 350th anniversary celebration. It is an icon for Quebec City and we were booked in a refurbished room and it was exactly that and was all it was said to be. Great place and stay with attentive staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to dine @ any of the top-rated restuarants book ahead. We did not and were unable to get in.

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bo43
Business
Beverly, MA
Aug 9, 2014

Disappointing

I reserved a room with a Queen bed. What I got was a "modified queen", which was a double bed. If this term "modified queen" was a joke by the hotel, I failed to see the humor in it. Furthermore, the shower was broken, and presented a danger to anyone using it. There was no cold water at all in the mix, so upon turning on the shower I received water at a scalding temperature. I was also disappointed in booking website who charged an outrageous fee of almost $200 for booking the 4 day reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gina the Vacationer
Business
Miami Lakes, FL.
Aug 3, 2014

Best location in Quebec!

Loved this spectacular hotel. It's convenient location let's you walk anywhere. The funiculaire is right in front, as are many street performers throughout the day and at night. This historic hotel is lovely, except for the tiny (yes, extremely small) toilet in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DHaberek
Business
Oakland, ME
Jul 31, 2014

Great for a romantic getaway!

This hotel may seem like one of the pricier hotels in the area but it is well worth it. The staff were more than willing to accommodate us with any of our needs and were super friendly. The room was newly renovated and it was very comfortable. Next time we go to Quebec City we will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're planning on staying at the Chateau you should definitely consider going to Le Continental for dinner. again it is little pricy you should plan on spending at least $250 but to have someone cook right in front of your table and pamper you it is well worth it.

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fabian1007
Business
Aguascalientes
Jul 31, 2014

Keep it up

The location its ver good but the price its high and the rooms are very average, they first gave us a room that smeled bad and have a hole in the cealing but they changed us the room to another one that was pretty much the same but without the smell and the holes. Also the bathrooms are very very small .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You have many attractions very near

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reggie Poo
Business
Queens, New York
Jul 26, 2014

French delight

The hotel was in the center of town and was very convenient for all sight seeing. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. We did not dine at any of the restaurants, finding them over priced (breakfast was $28.00). There were many restaurant choices in the area, which were great and reasonably priced. The pool was a delight, especially on a rainy afternoon. What we missed were a lounge where you could enjoy a simple drink before or after dinner. Also, there was no convenience/souvenir shop in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk around and look at all of the restaurant menus. There are many options, and good specials. Every restaurant we ate in was excellent.

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aho couple
Business
Nh
Jul 26, 2014

Disappointed

We were looking forward to staying at this hotel the tv was in the hall you had to lay on your side in the bed to watch it. It took way to long to get food or drinks the bar we liked is now a cheese and wine bar you could not get a mixed drink and they had no customers . I would not stay their again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cude
Business
Chicago Il
Jul 19, 2014

A very romantic and fun atmosphere

The manager of the hotel rooms was great. She understood our concerns and resolved them. The concierge were helpful with suggesting tours and directions but we needed a little more encouragement to seek out alternative situations. For instance we would have like to see the underground ruins but did not discover it until it was time to leave. Also we had a hard time getting a reservation at the hotel dining room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many interesting restaurants walking distance to the hotel

Back to menu Return to top