$285 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

4 stars
1 rue des Carrieres , Quebec, QC G1R 4P5
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
126 reviews
Old World Charm & Canadian Hospitality

We were told by someone that the Chateau Frontenac is the most photographed hotel in the world. Not... See full review

  • Flying Dutchman NYC
  • Jul 7, 2014
Wonderful Stay!

What a beautiful hotel and can not beat the deal we got! See full review

  • Smink924
  • Jul 5, 2014
Ideally located inside the walls of Old Quebec, this heritage urban resort will seduce you with its breathtaking views of the St.Lawrence River and the architecture of the old fortified city. This world-renowned icon will allow you to explore the historic sites surrounding the hotel. Get a taste of Europe as you stroll the City's charming cobblestone streets and visit must-see-attractions, all just steps away. Offering newly renovated luxurious guestrooms and exquisite dining experiences, this stately luxury hotel stands above historic Old Quebec, designated a United Nations World Heritage Site. For business and special events, our superior banquet facilities will turn any meeting, social gathering and wedding into an unforgettable event. With its castle-like architecture and turrets, Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac is truly everyone's dream castle experience! Go green! Complimentary 'Green' Parking is offered for overnight guests who drive hybrid vehicles! Awards & Accolades: CAA/AAA, Four Diamond Award, Four Green Keys rating, Travel & Leisure Magazine, T+L 500 Best hotels of the World 2014, Five Star Alliance - The World's Best Hotels 2014, Hotel Association of Canada ReserVert (sustainable) designation, Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice Awards

Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac Rooms

Fairmont Gold City View
Immerse yourself in the Fairmont Gold experience, complete with private check-in, exclusive concierge & butler services. Enjoy exclusive access to our signature gold lounge, and more. This elegantly furnished guest room includes a King bed, in-room safety deposit box and a luxurious bathroom equipped with deluxe toiletries. Rooms have all of the amenities you will need for a relaxing stay amid understated elegance: wireless internet - a cordless phone with two telephone lines - CD Alarm Clock Radio - DVD Player.
Fairmont Room - King
Fairmont rooms are ideal for couples or single travelers. Well appointed and newly renovated, Fairmont rooms have all the necessary amenities to ensure comfort during your stay.
Room Size: 200 sq.ft. to 225 sq.ft. / 19 sq.m to 21 sq.m
Bed Type: One King Bed
View: Some rooms offer a view of the inner courtyard
Fairmont Room - 2 Doubles
Fairmont rooms are ideal for couples or single travelers. Well appointed and newly renovated, Fairmont rooms have all the necessary amenities to ensure comfort during your stay.
Room Size: 200 sq.ft. to 225 sq.ft. / 19 sq.m to 21 sq.m
Bed Type: 2 Double Beds
View: Some rooms offer a view of the inner courtyard
Deluxe Room - King
Deluxe rooms are finished in an elegant decor.
Room Size: 175 sq.ft. to 225 sq.ft. / 16 sq.m to 21 sq.m
Bed Type: One King Bed.
View: Old Quebec architecture or Magnificent St. Lawrence River
Deluxe Room - 2 Doubles
Deluxe rooms are finished in an elegant decor.
Room Size: 175 sq.ft. to 225 sq.ft. / 16 sq.m to 21 sq.m
Bed Type: Two Double Beds
View: Old Quebec architecture or Magnificent St. Lawrence River

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

46.8117 -71.2058
Area served
Quebec City
Nearby airports
Quebec City Jean Lessage Intl Airport, (YQB), 18.00, KM, SE; Montreal - Trudeau Intl Airport, (YUL), 268.00, KM, E
Area description
City Center

Dining

Starbucks
Located on the terrace level at Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac, Starbucks is your perfect stop before a busy day exploring and touring Quebec City. Gourmets on-the-go will enjoy a variety of fine sandwiches, pastas, salads and pastries which can be enjoyed on-site or to go.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AndAndrea
Brooklyn
Apr 29, 2014

Under Construction but still very nice!

The hotel is beautiful, rooms are clean and modern. Great location! Got a great deal because the hotel is under construction at the moment, but that wasnt a bother at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to go to dinner at a "reasonable" time, a lot of places around here close between 8-10.

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rawo
Massachusetts
Apr 27, 2014

Beautiful hotel

We got a great rate on this hotel because they were undergoing renovations at the time. The noise and construction were barely noticed. But we didn't get the full experience of the hotel either because a lot of it was closed off. However it was still beautiful and in a fantastic location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Parmesan. Amazing Italian restaurant next door to hotel

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LI'er
Long Island, NY
Apr 19, 2014

Warm environment, great views!

Everyone was super friendly, and when it comes to views, you can't beat the Chateau. It was a bit noisy during my stay and difficult to find places to eat at the hotel because of construction work. They're remodeling, and what they've finished so far looks amazing. Shops and restaurants are a short walk away, and so is the Citadel and the St. Lawrence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
walkercr
Phoenix, AZ
Mar 17, 2014

Less than desirable during their renovation

Because of the hotel's extensive renovation project going on, we were cut off (literally# from having a good experience at this hotel. The good: the room was clean and adequate, with quality linens and appropriate ammenites for a 4 star hotel, and staff was courteous. The bad: the hotel is literally cut up due to the renovations. We were herded into a make shift registration area, herded down a hallway to an elevator to take us to our 3rd floor room and then had to return to the main floor to walk down a hallway to another set of elevators to take up to the 6th floor for the pool and temporary workout room. Lunch dinner and drinks were served in the Lounge where they had portable refrigerators set up for holding cold drinks and a portable bar for serving them, eating your food on lounge tables, sitting in lounge style chairs, etc. Breakfast was served in another room which is tucked behind the lounge -- no signs to direct you to this room -- we wandered around and then had to ask where to go. In summary, we were able to see the temporary lobby area, the hallway to our elevator, the staircase to the lounge/lunch/dinner area, and that is it! This was at a "discounted rate" for a standard #and VERY SMALL# room for $209/nite. The best views of our hotel were from the ferry where we could take some nice pictures of the entire outside from afar. Other pros were the location -- perfect location, and the food was pretty good too, but very limited menu. I truly felt like the hotel should have either closed down #this is not an exaggeration) or had a firesale on the room rate along with a very good explanation about the limited experience you will have at the hotel during this reno period. I just read someone else's review of the hotel and they said the same thing. We expected to have some common areas with large fireplaces etc to sit around and enjoy the space in the hotel, especially because we were visiting during the winter months and it is nice to relax at your hotel with a drink and conversation -- we spent our time in our room because there wasn't a common area for relaxing and socializing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some wonderful restaurants a short walk from the hotel. We enjoyed a very nice meal at a French Italian restaurant with live accordian music and singing (very festive place) and another very modern restaurant -- both just steps away from the Frontenac. Expect to pay just a little more but still very reasonable and the food is very good.

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
YAMAHA700
Maine
Feb 25, 2014

Awesome Weekend getaway

Unbelievable! Service is incredible and the city is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crouton2
Southwest Michigan
Feb 13, 2014

Under construction but still special

The Frontenac is an historic place now under construction. I expect it will be under construction for some time. We were prepared to make and made allowances. The desk and cleaning staff were great!! We got the last room during Carnaval so we expected a small room, but it was fine. Our only beefs were with loud music from a ballroom near midnight one night--couldn't sleep--and the lack of service at the bar that was trying to take the place of a restaurant. The staff was very helpful once they became aware of the loud music. Kudos!! The restaurant, however, didn't serve what was on the menu with specific items and were surprised we expected what was on the menu. The food was also greatly overpriced for what we received. (We had a much better meal for less money, better atmosphere, the next day at Graffiti on Cartier.) The service was extremely slow. I'm pretty sure the wait staff forgot us at least a couple of times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Le Lapin Saute on Petit-Champlain and Graffiti on Cartier were both topnotch places to eat. The Creperie next to the Frontenac was a real disappointment.

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yellowboard
Ontario, Canada
Dec 30, 2013

Holiday Getaway

Room was a decent size however the queen size bed we booked was clearly just a double size. The hotel Staff was very helpful in providing information and advice. The location of the hotel was great close to numerous attractions in Old Quebec. I would not recommend driving and parking here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MaureenR.
Wilmington nc
Dec 23, 2013

Fabulous stay!

Absolutely the best hotel I've ever stayed in. It makes all the others pale by comparison.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristen Joy
Palymra, ME (USA)
Dec 20, 2013

Wonderful Romantic Getaway

My fiancé and I stayed here as part of a vacation to celebrate my birthday. From the time we stepped out of our vehicle until checkout, we received the highest quality customer service! Our room had a beautiful view and the staff were helpful and very friendly! Everything was absolutely perfect and it was an ideal location right in the old city. We were able to walk anywhere we needed to go and if we had questions the staff had the information we needed. We would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The parking is for 24hrs, so if you want to explore the city on your last day of travel you can still keep your car in the parking garage after checkout. They have a luggage check in the lobby to store your bags in the meantime.

Review of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ajbowman
New York, NY
Nov 26, 2013

best location in a stunning building

The hotel is a landmark that is not to be missed, even if you don't stay in the hotel, but you should. The views from our room were memorable. The hotel overlooks historic Quebec City. We parked our car and explored the entire city on foot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top