$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Jan 31, 2015

Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

4 stars
1050 de la Gauchetiere West, 1 Place du Canada, Montreal, QC H3B 4C9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
83 reviews
Mad my daughter's birthday special

ease of arrival, location,amenities and affordability all made this hotel great! See full review

  • John C.
  • Jan 19, 2015
Excellent romantic getaway

We only stayed here one night, but everything was perfect. Location, location, location. A little... See full review

  • Gipsy traveler
  • Apr 16, 2014
Swanky Montreal hotel in city center with Mediterranean restaurant
Connected to a metro station, a VIA Rail Canada station and the Underground City, the 36-floor Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel is within walking distance to the Bell Centre. Features include an on-site Mediterranean restaurant with an open kitchen, a fitness center with indoor lap pool, steam room and jetted tub, and guest rooms with oversized, arching windows framing expansive city and river views. Amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access hold appeal for business and leisure travelers alike.
Highlights
  • Fitness center with cardio equipment, indoor lap pool, steam room and spa tub
  • Spacious guest rooms with sweeping city views through large, floor- to-ceiling windows
  • Directly connected to transportation and shopping of the Underground City
Rooms
All 611 guest rooms at the Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel have one king or two double beds with arching, floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city or Saint Lawrence River. Rooms also offer work desks, complimentary wireless Internet access and cable TVs with premium programming. Coffee makers, irons and ironing boards and hair dryers are on hand, and guests receive complimentary weekday newspapers. Deluxe rooms, some with panoramic views, feature upgrades such shoe-shine machines, minibars and CD players as well as access to a 35th-floor lounge with complimentary continental breakfast, hors d'oeuvres and evening sweets.
Features
The 36-story Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel is perched above the Underground City, directly connected to metro and the VIA Rail Canada stations, and within walking distance from all major festivals. A Mediterranean restaurant with open kitchen and a fitness center with lap pool, steam room and Jacuzzi offer a place to unwind, while a full-service business center with copying, faxing, translation, and secretarial and postal services keep guests at the Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel connected throughout their stay. Guest rooms, which feature large windows with city and river views, have complimentary wireless Internet access and free weekday newspapers.
Transportation
  • Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (8.7 mi/14 km)
Attractions
  • Old Montreal (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Palais des Congres de Montreal (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Old Port of Montreal (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Montreal Symphony Orchestra (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • More than 29,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space in 25 rooms
  • Full-service business center
Policies and fees
  • An additional non-refundable fee of $30 payable directly to the hotel will be added for each third and fourth adult sharing the same room. 
  • Cot is not available in rooms with two double beds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Centre Bell: 0.1 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.2 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.6 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.7 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.1 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.2 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.6 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.7 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 1 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1.1 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.2 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.3 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.4 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.2 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 2.4 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.3 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4.1 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.4 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 4.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant Samuel de Champlain
Highlighting French and Mediterranean flavors, Restaurant Samuel de Champlain offers savory Continental Cuisine from Filet Mignon to braised Salmon. Lighter fare is also available and the restaurant is open for Breakfast, lunch and Dinner.
Bar Le Senateur
Offering afternoon and evening cocktails along with a casual Lunch service, Bar Le Senateur is the perfect spot to unwind after meetings or a day of sightseeing.
Starbucks®
Offering gourmet coffee, tea and pastries from pure to healthy indulgence, for breakfast, lunch, snacks & treats, come in and enjoy the experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 83
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John C.
Business
Greenwich
Jan 19, 2015

Mad my daughter's birthday special

ease of arrival, location,amenities and affordability all made this hotel great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arminy
Business
Toronto
Sep 2, 2014

watch out for terms and conditions

Make sure you contact the hotel for any booking. We were supposed to get 2 double beds, but we saw a king bed as we walked in. All they could do was to bring in a rolling bed for $ 30 extra per day. Hotel parking was also expensive. Check out the nearby streets for free parking. the hotel facilities and location are great. It literally take less than 10 minutes to downtown core.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

go north on Peel street and enjoy your great shopping experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Veerman
Business
Mexico-City, Mexico
Jan 11, 2014

freezing, but great stay.

We stayed here for 2 nights in the winter. Location is perfect because of the entrance to the underground city. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms clean and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
College freshman parents
Business
New York
Sep 2, 2013

2 Star value for a 4 Star hotel

Frankly we expected a lot more from this fancy hotel. Pros.: nice old style hotel, beautiful views, polite concierge staff Cons.: poor room accommodation, high priced, noisy, parking, somewhat far for walking We traveled to drop our child off at college in Montreal. We wanted to make this a nice experience for the family considering this important event and chose this hotel for the close proximity and style. Well ahead of time we booked four nights for three adults and one child in one room with two double beds via a discount travel site. Unfortunately, upon our arrival at the hotel the front desk staff informed us that they only have a room with one king size bed. They advised that we booked through the travel site and therefore, there is no guaranty for the room type. We were shocked and asked if they are really serious about giving one bed for three adults and one child on one bed. After some negotiation they "found" a spare bed they put in the room and stated that we should be happy because they are fully booked and have nothing available. Well, what can I say, we were jammed in the room. The icing on the cake was when they charged for the extra bed at checkout. I was able to negotiate to dismiss the charge. There is parking under the hotel, but you pay every time you exit the garage. For 50% more the other option is valet parking, that is slow with unfriendly staff. The hotel shows signs of wear however, it has a nice old fashion ambiance. The pool is nice and the water was very warm. If you travel with kids they will love it. Also, from the upper floors there is a beautiful view. Overall, we felt some disappointment. We stayed in Montreal several times in other hotels on Rue Sherbrooke that were much better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

-Maple Delight ice cream shop (84 Saint-Paul Street East). -Vieux-Montréal, historic downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoanSF
Business
Arlington, MA
Sep 2, 2013

dropping my son off at University

my experience was a very good one overall. The location was perfect, very convenient to dining, shopping, metro and the major Universities. The hotel even had a direct elevator access connecting us to Bonaventure stop on the Metro's orange line. Did not like the valet parking. Had to use it for one night to have access to my car the next day to drop my son and his stuff off at University. Took over 20 minutes to get my car and the Manager on duty(very nice gentleman) was the one to deliver my car to me). Upon return to the hotel 5 hours or less later self-parked my car for the rest of my stay. On check out 4 days later hotel included charge for valet parking for 5 days, even though I only used the service one time. Charges were removed after I explained that I only used the service once. Another funny thing about valet parking was when I tried to use it around 6:00 p.m. on a Friday evening the wait was so long and the fire alarms went off at the hotel and the hotel had to be evacuated, so instead of waiting around I drove my car to Old Montreal where we were meeting up with friends for dinner and did not get back to the hotel until after 10:00 p.m. to have valet parked my car, so technically I used valet parking for less than 24 hours, but was charged the full price all the same. Also, at check-in on first night was informed that I would be charged for extra person in room, the extra person being my 14 year old daughter, even though my reservation specified that 2 adults(my 18 year old son and myself) plus my 14 year old daughter would be sharing the room. I read a lot of reviews before booking this hotel and was aware that the hotels in Montreal often inform travelers of this extra charge upon arrival even though hotel policy specify "maximum occupancy is 4". Did not bring my husband because of being afraid of being charged for having an extra person in the room, even though my son only spent 2 of our 6 night stay at the hotel. After I pointed out that my daughter was only 14 years old the extra charges were removed, but they should never have been included in the first place, because when you make your reservation you are asked to specify the age of the child and the age is listed on the reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LoveDals
Business
Maine
Aug 7, 2012

Do you want to sleep?

If you want to sleep do not stay at this hotel. I have stayed at hotels and hostels all over the world and I have never stayed at a noisier hotel than this. There were parties thrown by 20-somethings that extended throughout the floor each night of our stay. And these parties weren't limited to only our floor--they were happening all over the hotel. I don't think it is appropriate to call this a hotel--a more appropriate name would be a frat house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CarolineV
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Mar 8, 2012

Long weekend in Montreal

Great location. Connected to the metro and walkable to all of downtown. Nice quiet are near St Catherine street. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and the architecture gives you great windows/views of the city. Ask for a higher floor if possible to get better views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Take the dedicated elevator from Lobby (Grand Hall) floor to the Metro. You don't even have to step outdoors to get to the Bonaventure station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CarolineV
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Weekend in Montreal

Staff was very professional, efficient and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
McGill fan
Business
Boston
Aug 7, 2011

Montreal stay

Check in and check out are fast and easy. Hotel room are clean, very good city view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 2, 2011

Good location, good price

The Montreal Marriott is a little faded around the edges but makes up for it in comfort and friendly service. We liked our room, which was comfortably appointed with an old world decor, a large window and an excellent view of the St. Lawrence River. The Marriott's location is a major advantage with easy access to the underground shopping mall, the train station and the downtown area. It's a nice family friendly, business friendly hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top