$181 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

4 stars
1050 de la Gauchetiere West, 1 Place du Canada, Montreal, QC H3B 4C9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
81 reviews
Excellent romantic getaway

We only stayed here one night, but everything was perfect. Location, location, location. A little... See full review

  • Gipsy traveler
  • Apr 16, 2014
Enjoyable

My stay was brief wishing I could have stayed longer. Perfect view of the city from my room 1302.... See full review

  • bucketlist58
  • May 27, 2013
Swanky Montreal hotel in city center with Mediterranean restaurant
Connected to a metro station, a VIA Rail Canada station and the Underground City, the 36-floor Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel is within walking distance to the Bell Centre. Features include an on-site Mediterranean restaurant with an open kitchen, a fitness center with indoor lap pool, steam room and jetted tub, and guest rooms with oversized, arching windows framing expansive city and river views. Amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access hold appeal for business and leisure travelers alike.
Highlights
  • Fitness center with cardio equipment, indoor lap pool, steam room and spa tub
  • Spacious guest rooms with sweeping city views through large, floor- to-ceiling windows
  • Directly connected to transportation and shopping of the Underground City
Rooms
All 611 guest rooms at the Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel have one king or two double beds with arching, floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city or Saint Lawrence River. Rooms also offer work desks, complimentary wireless Internet access and cable TVs with premium programming. Coffee makers, irons and ironing boards and hair dryers are on hand, and guests receive complimentary weekday newspapers. Deluxe rooms, some with panoramic views, feature upgrades such shoe-shine machines, minibars and CD players as well as access to a 35th-floor lounge with complimentary continental breakfast, hors d'oeuvres and evening sweets.
Features
The 36-story Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel is perched above the Underground City, directly connected to metro and the VIA Rail Canada stations, and within walking distance from all major festivals. A Mediterranean restaurant with open kitchen and a fitness center with lap pool, steam room and Jacuzzi offer a place to unwind, while a full-service business center with copying, faxing, translation, and secretarial and postal services keep guests at the Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel connected throughout their stay. Guest rooms, which feature large windows with city and river views, have complimentary wireless Internet access and free weekday newspapers.
Transportation
  • Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (8.7 mi/14 km)
Attractions
  • Old Montreal (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Palais des Congres de Montreal (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Old Port of Montreal (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Montreal Symphony Orchestra (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • More than 29,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space in 25 rooms
  • Full-service business center
Policies and fees
  • An additional non-refundable fee of $30 payable directly to the hotel will be added for each third and fourth adult sharing the same room. 
  • Cot is not available in rooms with two double beds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.4981 -73.5673
Area served
Montreal
Nearby airports
Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport, (YUL), 14.00, KM, E;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Centre Bell: 0.1 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.2 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.6 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.7 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.1 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.2 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.6 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.7 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 1 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1.1 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.2 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.3 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.4 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.2 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 2.4 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.3 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4.1 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.4 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 4.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant Samuel de Champlain
Highlighting French and Mediterranean flavors, Restaurant Samuel de Champlain offers savory Continental Cuisine from Filet Mignon to braised Salmon. Lighter fare is also available and the restaurant is open for Breakfast, lunch and Dinner.
Bar Le Senateur
Offering afternoon and evening cocktails along with a casual Lunch service, Bar Le Senateur is the perfect spot to unwind after meetings or a day of sightseeing.
Starbucks®
Offering gourmet coffee, tea and pastries from pure to healthy indulgence, for breakfast, lunch, snacks & treats, come in and enjoy the experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 81
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zebar
Baltimore
Jul 5, 2014

Fantastic room

Very nice and clean room with a great view of city. Entire staff was very helpful speaking in French or English. Jazz Festival was a 20 min. walk and took a taxi back for $10. On site parking garage very tight fit and $28/day. No need to use your car, leave it parked and take the Metro, taxi or walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

International Jazz Festival was excellent, but leave the children and pets home. A very big crowd but everybody was very nice. Affordable dinning underground beneath the Hyatt.

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gipsy traveler
Boston, Ma.
Apr 16, 2014

Excellent romantic getaway

We only stayed here one night, but everything was perfect. Location, location, location. A little pricey compared to other similar hotels in the area, but well worth it I should say. I would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jayes
Boston, MA
Oct 15, 2013

Great place

Enjoyed our stay as everything is great about this place. Only negative point is that parking is not free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mariott family/timeshare owner
New York
Sep 27, 2010

Good night's sleep, good location

As our day was filled with sightseeing we used the hotel for sleeping mostly, did not use dining room or even look around the hotel. Accomodations were fine for short stay...bathroom lacking space but vanity area a kind of plus (mostly for dressing as lighting not great for make up application.) Pool was dissapointing in size but gym decent. Best asset was the bed and beautiful spacious view looking over the park in front of the hotel. We enjoyed breakfast/room service with a view! A real asset with Metro located under hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Easy to take the bus from the airport to this hotel if you have luggage on wheels/lightweight bags. Cost about 15/couple vs. cab ride maybe $40.00.

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Jun 4, 2010

Excellent central convenience!!!!

Our stay was comfortable and [...], the concierge was very instrumental in helping me coordinate a surprise gift on Le Bateau Mouche dinner cruise. I did expect the room to be a little larger based on the internet description and some of the furniture was chipped on the edges. Despite that all else complimented those minor discrepancies, because whenever we requested room service they responded in no more than 10 minutes if that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Especially if you are coming from the US, I strongly recommend that you withdraw cash from the ATM or bank after your arrival in lieu of exchange bureaus or hotels, to avoid the excess currency exchange fees. Furthermore, for most major attractions, you can rely on the Metro, walk, or pay a small taxi fee.

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
c.m. hockeyfan
philadelphia, pa
Mar 22, 2010

super location but...

Stayed mid-March 3 days. The hotel was in a great location walking. Walking distance to old Montreal and the views from the higher floor that we stayed on were great. The hotel staff were very nice. The only complaint that I would have is that the rooms and other areas of the hotel are really outdated i.e. furntiure in room chipped and scratched, tv was old. but the room was clean as was the rest of the hotel, it is just really showing it's'age. Fitness area small and very limited, only 1 restaurant / bar to choose from etc..but really very nice staff and very enjoyable stay just do not expect four stars because it was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
DesPlaines, Illinois
Dec 9, 2009

Great hotel with a critter surprise.

Great hotel. First class service. Connected to subway system. Luxury bed linnen. I recieved insect bites on my legs that likely originated from bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The "Underrground City-mall is a short walk from the hotrel.

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DavidN
San Antonio, TX
Sep 18, 2009

Good Stay

Hotel was in walking distance to China town and Old Montreal and shopping areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
new mexico
Aug 21, 2009

Room for Improvement

The location is great and it is a very nice place but I had a big problem while there. I have a bad back and always stay in hotels that have a whirlpool. I called the hotel a couple of days before my arrival to make sure about the whirlpool and I was assured it was available. The whirlpool was broken and not available for 4 out of the seven days I was there. I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eastern Iowa
Jul 21, 2009

Montreal Honeymoon

We were looking for a hotel in downtown Montreal that was close to the sites we wanted to see. This was perfect, within a 20 minute walk of everything. The spa, pool, and workout room are excellant. The room was adequate though they could use a little updating, i.e. new flat screen tv's would be great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are an abundance of cafe's and eating places!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search