$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

4 stars
View map of 1050 de la Gauchetiere West, 1 Place du Canada, Montreal, QC H3B 4C9

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
80 reviews
Great trip

nice and clean place with or without family. bar and restaurants were awesome. great place,,,, love... See full review

  • DDDDDDDDDDDAD
  • Aug 1, 2015
Mad my daughter's birthday special

ease of arrival, location,amenities and affordability all made this hotel great! See full review

  • John C.
  • Jan 19, 2015
Connected to a metro station, a VIA Rail Canada station and the Underground City, the 36-floor Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel is within walking distance to the Bell Centre. Features include an on-site Mediterranean restaurant with an open kitchen, a fitness center with indoor lap pool, steam room and jetted tub, and guest rooms with oversized, arching windows framing expansive city and river views. Amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access hold appeal for business and leisure travelers alike.
Rooms
All 611 guest rooms at the Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel have one king or two double beds with arching, floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city or Saint Lawrence River. Rooms also offer work desks, complimentary wireless Internet access and cable TVs with premium programming. Coffee makers, irons and ironing boards and hair dryers are on hand, and guests receive complimentary weekday newspapers. Deluxe rooms, some with panoramic views, feature upgrades such shoe-shine machines, minibars and CD players as well as access to a 35th-floor lounge with complimentary continental breakfast, hors d'oeuvres and evening sweets.
Property features
The 36-story Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel is perched above the Underground City, directly connected to metro and the VIA Rail Canada stations, and within walking distance from all major festivals. A Mediterranean restaurant with open kitchen and a fitness center with lap pool, steam room and Jacuzzi offer a place to unwind, while a full-service business center with copying, faxing, translation, and secretarial and postal services keep guests at the Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel connected throughout their stay. Guest rooms, which feature large windows with city and river views, have complimentary wireless Internet access and free weekday newspapers.
Highlights
  • Fitness center with cardio equipment, indoor lap pool, steam room and spa tub
  • Spacious guest rooms with sweeping city views through large, floor- to-ceiling windows
  • Directly connected to transportation and shopping of the Underground City
Nearby attractions
  • Old Montreal (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Palais des Congres de Montreal (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Old Port of Montreal (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Montreal Symphony Orchestra (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • More than 29,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space in 25 rooms
  • Full-service business center
Transportation
  • Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (8.7 mi/14 km)
Policies
  • An additional non-refundable fee of $30 payable directly to the hotel will be added for each third and fourth adult sharing the same room. 
  • Cot is not available in rooms with two double beds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$106
3.8 / 5 262 reviews
★★★★
$114
4.2 / 5 71 reviews
★★★★
$90
3.7 / 5 119 reviews
★★★★
$129
3.9 / 5 86 reviews
★★★★
$116
4.0 / 5 183 reviews
★★★
$113
3.5 / 5 11 reviews
★★★★
$109
4.1 / 5 54 reviews
★★★★★
$131
4.2 / 5 49 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Centre Bell: 0.1 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.2 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.6 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.7 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.1 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.2 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.6 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.7 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 1 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1.1 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.2 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.3 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.4 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.2 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 2.4 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.3 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4.1 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.4 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 4.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant Samuel de Champlain
Highlighting French and Mediterranean flavors, Restaurant Samuel de Champlain offers savory Continental Cuisine from Filet Mignon to braised Salmon. Lighter fare is also available and the restaurant is open for Breakfast, lunch and Dinner.
Bar Le Senateur
Offering afternoon and evening cocktails along with a casual Lunch service, Bar Le Senateur is the perfect spot to unwind after meetings or a day of sightseeing.
Starbucks®
Offering gourmet coffee, tea and pastries from pure to healthy indulgence, for breakfast, lunch, snacks & treats, come in and enjoy the experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LoveDals
Family
Maine
Aug 7, 2012

Do you want to sleep?

If you want to sleep do not stay at this hotel. I have stayed at hotels and hostels all over the world and I have never stayed at a noisier hotel than this. There were parties thrown by 20-somethings that extended throughout the floor each night of our stay. And these parties weren't limited to only our floor--they were happening all over the hotel. I don't think it is appropriate to call this a hotel--a more appropriate name would be a frat house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
new mexico
Aug 21, 2009

Room for Improvement

The location is great and it is a very nice place but I had a big problem while there. I have a bad back and always stay in hotels that have a whirlpool. I called the hotel a couple of days before my arrival to make sure about the whirlpool and I was assured it was available. The whirlpool was broken and not available for 4 out of the seven days I was there. I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
College freshman parents
Family
New York
Sep 2, 2013

2 Star value for a 4 Star hotel

Frankly we expected a lot more from this fancy hotel. Pros.: nice old style hotel, beautiful views, polite concierge staff Cons.: poor room accommodation, high priced, noisy, parking, somewhat far for walking We traveled to drop our child off at college in Montreal. We wanted to make this a nice experience for the family considering this important event and chose this hotel for the close proximity and style. Well ahead of time we booked four nights for three adults and one child in one room with two double beds via a discount travel site. Unfortunately, upon our arrival at the hotel the front desk staff informed us that they only have a room with one king size bed. They advised that we booked through the travel site and therefore, there is no guaranty for the room type. We were shocked and asked if they are really serious about giving one bed for three adults and one child on one bed. After some negotiation they "found" a spare bed they put in the room and stated that we should be happy because they are fully booked and have nothing available. Well, what can I say, we were jammed in the room. The icing on the cake was when they charged for the extra bed at checkout. I was able to negotiate to dismiss the charge. There is parking under the hotel, but you pay every time you exit the garage. For 50% more the other option is valet parking, that is slow with unfriendly staff. The hotel shows signs of wear however, it has a nice old fashion ambiance. The pool is nice and the water was very warm. If you travel with kids they will love it. Also, from the upper floors there is a beautiful view. Overall, we felt some disappointment. We stayed in Montreal several times in other hotels on Rue Sherbrooke that were much better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

-Maple Delight ice cream shop (84 Saint-Paul Street East). -Vieux-Montréal, historic downtown.

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chatham
May 26, 2008

limited & somewhat snippy service

The concierge gave us some good reservations and recommendations (all our meals in Montreal were good), but was curt and impatient with our questions. Our room was not stocked with clean cups and caffeinated coffee one day, so I called housekeeping for a restock. A maintenance man delivered them and appeared annoyed when I did not give him a tip. Room service and restaurant service hours were too limited, in my view (stopped at 11 p.m., for a major hotel in a major international city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mostly trendy and expensive shopping nearby, some restaurants and bars within walking distance too.

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Dec 17, 2010

Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Rooms very run down and dirty. Lobby was very nice location excellent.. Would not stay there again until the rooms are redone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining and nightlife nearby

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Suffern, NY
Jul 5, 2009

Can't handle a packed house

My room was wonderful and clean. The staff was helpful unless there was more than 10 people in the lobby. There was never enough staff to assist the guests waiting for help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Old Montreal. You can easily spend a few days seeing the sites and tasting the food.

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AEHW
Friends
Toronto, Canada
May 30, 2012

Simple and Quick

The booking was very easy and when we arrived it took no time at all to hand us out key and take us to the room. The staff at this hotel were very polite and knowledgeable about sites to see and even how and where to rent a boxing bike. There was also a subway station right beneath the hotel, making it easily accessible. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't mind walking, there are great boutique and trendy shops as you walk north along Saint Denis towards Mont Royal. Also some very nice restaurants that way.

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beverly Pinky
Friends
Boston, Massachusetts
Dec 28, 2012

Christmas getaway.

Experience was good with the exception of two black marks; (1) An additional $70.93 ($60 plus taxes) was charged by the hotel for having a third person stay in the room although your company were informed that the reservation was for 3 people. Therefore the price listed by your company was misleading. (2) The bar closed at 11pm although advertised closing time was midnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Richiecanada
Business
Toronto
Feb 22, 2013

Good

Loved th hotel it was fun beautiful and clean. Th staff was perfect and I highly recommend anytime

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cirque Mom
Family
South Florida
Aug 5, 2009

3 star at best...

This hotel recently underwent a renovation but bathrooms, furniture and TVs are not newly renovated (reminded me of a 3 star hotel from the 1980s). The staff was unfriendly and not very helpful. We had bug bites from the bed, we were told someone from management would follow up but to date (3 days later) no one has. I have to return to Montreal in February but will stay at a different property. There are several other 4 star hotels nearby with direct access to the Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top