$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

4 stars
1050 de la Gauchetiere West, 1 Place du Canada, Montreal, QC H3B 4C9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
82 reviews
Excellent romantic getaway

We only stayed here one night, but everything was perfect. Location, location, location. A little... See full review

  • Gipsy traveler
  • Apr 16, 2014
Enjoyable

My stay was brief wishing I could have stayed longer. Perfect view of the city from my room 1302.... See full review

  • bucketlist58
  • May 27, 2013
Swanky Montreal hotel in city center with Mediterranean restaurant
Connected to a metro station, a VIA Rail Canada station and the Underground City, the 36-floor Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel is within walking distance to the Bell Centre. Features include an on-site Mediterranean restaurant with an open kitchen, a fitness center with indoor lap pool, steam room and jetted tub, and guest rooms with oversized, arching windows framing expansive city and river views. Amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access hold appeal for business and leisure travelers alike.
Highlights
  • Fitness center with cardio equipment, indoor lap pool, steam room and spa tub
  • Spacious guest rooms with sweeping city views through large, floor- to-ceiling windows
  • Directly connected to transportation and shopping of the Underground City
Rooms
All 611 guest rooms at the Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel have one king or two double beds with arching, floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city or Saint Lawrence River. Rooms also offer work desks, complimentary wireless Internet access and cable TVs with premium programming. Coffee makers, irons and ironing boards and hair dryers are on hand, and guests receive complimentary weekday newspapers. Deluxe rooms, some with panoramic views, feature upgrades such shoe-shine machines, minibars and CD players as well as access to a 35th-floor lounge with complimentary continental breakfast, hors d'oeuvres and evening sweets.
Features
The 36-story Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel is perched above the Underground City, directly connected to metro and the VIA Rail Canada stations, and within walking distance from all major festivals. A Mediterranean restaurant with open kitchen and a fitness center with lap pool, steam room and Jacuzzi offer a place to unwind, while a full-service business center with copying, faxing, translation, and secretarial and postal services keep guests at the Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel connected throughout their stay. Guest rooms, which feature large windows with city and river views, have complimentary wireless Internet access and free weekday newspapers.
Transportation
  • Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (8.7 mi/14 km)
Attractions
  • Old Montreal (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Palais des Congres de Montreal (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Old Port of Montreal (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Montreal Symphony Orchestra (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • More than 29,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space in 25 rooms
  • Full-service business center
Policies and fees
  • An additional non-refundable fee of $30 payable directly to the hotel will be added for each third and fourth adult sharing the same room. 
  • Cot is not available in rooms with two double beds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.4981 -73.5673
Area served
Montreal
Nearby airports
Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport, (YUL), 14.00, KM, E;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Centre Bell: 0.1 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.2 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.6 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.7 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.1 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.2 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.6 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.7 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 1 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1.1 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.2 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.3 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.4 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.2 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 2.4 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.3 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4.1 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.4 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 4.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant Samuel de Champlain
Highlighting French and Mediterranean flavors, Restaurant Samuel de Champlain offers savory Continental Cuisine from Filet Mignon to braised Salmon. Lighter fare is also available and the restaurant is open for Breakfast, lunch and Dinner.
Bar Le Senateur
Offering afternoon and evening cocktails along with a casual Lunch service, Bar Le Senateur is the perfect spot to unwind after meetings or a day of sightseeing.
Starbucks®
Offering gourmet coffee, tea and pastries from pure to healthy indulgence, for breakfast, lunch, snacks & treats, come in and enjoy the experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marietta
Sep 1, 2008

amenities

The pool is nice and there's a very adequate work-out room. Staff was very helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is centrally located near shopping, Old Montreal and businesses. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Aug 31, 2008

Excellent location

The hotel is located right in the downtown area and walking distance to everywhere. The room is large with desk and chairs to lounge on. The closet is large. The hotel restaurant has good food and excellent entertainment. We enjoyed our stay and will stay in the same hotel when we visit next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located near the shopping center, there is a park across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 25, 2008

Beauty and comfort

The Chateau Champlain in Montreal has plush and comfortable beds with beautiful surroundings and skyline views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Exciting nightlife awaits you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 5, 2008

Perfect location

The Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain was an excellent choice for our family vacation. We loved the view from our room, we had plenty of space and the room was very nicely decorated. The Concierge desk couldn't have been more helpful! Pierrette was outstanding!! She made reservations for the Amphi-tour while we were away for the day and left a message on our phone with the results. The location is perfect with the metro station just downstairs. We used the Museum Pass that included three days of unlimited public transportation -- this was an excellent value. Plenty of shopping and dining options are available in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping on St. Catherine street is top notch with something for everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 30, 2008

Great downtown location

The Marriot Hotel was a great choice for our first visit to Montreal. First of all, it is in a great location, across from churches and a park. Second, it is surrounded by great shopping, restaurants and dining. We walked back and forth to pubs and restaurants, and wandered up and down the streets for premium and chain shopping. The room was average. The best part was the picture window. we were on the 21st floor, which I had requested. The bed was above average in comfort, and offered a couple of different types of pillows. The closet was average, and only one door opened. I liked how it was in its own hall, so the bedroom looked like one, and all the clothes and shoes could be hidden away. The restaurant prices were very high! Plus Montreal has 3 taxes. Don't eat here! The best part, is the Bonaventure orange line Metro stop, right in the hotel. Perfect for you first visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You don't need a rental car at all! use the Metro and your feet to get you to every great neighborhood, including Old Montreal, the Latin Quarter, and Mont Royal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 30, 2008

My review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

The Montreal Marriott Chateau was a lovely hotel with a beautiful, very comfortable room. The staff was exceptionally friendly and I would definitely stay there again. The hotel is situated very central and was easily accessible to everything in the city. We walked everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The metro underground has unbelievable shopping and tons of eating places and all kinds of international food courts, great for families where everyone can find whatever they want to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 23, 2008

Hotel that wants you to be happy

Everyone was really nice, and helpful. The metro attachment to the hotel was amazing. Would definitely recommend, Laurie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro, shops restaurants, great location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Racine
May 27, 2008

Great location

The Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain was located close to several shopping and sight-seeing spots. I walked to Vieux Montreal south of the hotel as well as to the shopping areas north of the hotel. The view from the 21st floor was excellent and the room was very comfortable. The reception desk was very courteous and the concierge was extremely helpful with directions and suggestions for things to do. I loved my stay there! Believe me ...I know the difference...the next week I was at a hotel in Paris that I did not like very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

1. Old Montreal (Vieux Montreal) is within 20 minutes. You must visit Old Montreal. 2. Several dining options were close to the hotel. The buffet at the hotel was excellent too. 3. The main shopping downtown is within walking distance. 4. McGill University is walking distance/short cab ride depending upon the building you need to visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chatham
May 26, 2008

limited & somewhat snippy service

The concierge gave us some good reservations and recommendations (all our meals in Montreal were good), but was curt and impatient with our questions. Our room was not stocked with clean cups and caffeinated coffee one day, so I called housekeeping for a restock. A maintenance man delivered them and appeared annoyed when I did not give him a tip. Room service and restaurant service hours were too limited, in my view (stopped at 11 p.m., for a major hotel in a major international city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mostly trendy and expensive shopping nearby, some restaurants and bars within walking distance too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 3, 2008

Best bathroom/closet space ever !

The layout of the room, especially how the huge cupboard space and the bathroom are serarated from the main room makes for 0 mess. Check-in was just give your name. In the total center of the city. I loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is close to everything. It is totally safe,walking distance to shopping, museaums, subway, and everything. sooooo great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top