$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

4 stars
View map of 1050 de la Gauchetiere West, 1 Place du Canada, Montreal, QC H3B 4C9

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Profesora
Business
Castro Valley, California
Nov 16, 2009

Luxurious, fantastic, deeply relaxing

The hotel gave me time away from stresses of my conference (at nearby Palais de Congres), choices and options, peace and quiet for rest, and service for a queen. I shopped in lobby, checked out restaurants, and had room-service deluxe. Everything was supplied or at my request-- even envelops. I was comfortable and able to pamper myself. The spa with [...] was the beginning and end all of my conference time, where I got rid of my sciatic pain, forgot my responsibilities at home, carved out my required participation in the conference, and healed. THANK YOU SOOOOOO MUCH. And to think, I got all this with my search for cheap airline tickets. I will do this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It is a big toss up between dining and spa experience- both were pivotal to my wonderful experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DavidN
Business
San Antonio, TX
Sep 18, 2009

Good Stay

Hotel was in walking distance to China town and Old Montreal and shopping areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicagoland
Sep 16, 2009

Convenient Stay in Montreal

Walkable to the conference center. Metro access directly from the hotel. Staff was exteremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aster
Business
Virginia
Sep 8, 2009

Best location in Montreal, great service

I always stay at a Marriott hotel when I travel. This was my first out of US Marriott stay and was very happy to find the consistency of unmached quality service of the Marriott brand at this location. I found the staff to be very patient and pleasant in translating English to French, giving directions and recomending sites to see. The location is the best in the city at walking distance to metro and to most major attractions. I recommend this hotel and will stay again if I have the opportunity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

At walking distance to shops, Old Montreal, restaurants and metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momo Trixie
Business
Trenton, NJ
Aug 27, 2009

Great Location

Directly above the Bonaventure Metro Station. Concierge helpful for various excursion tickets. Room furnishings a little worn. Nice Muffin Plus coffee shop and convenience stores in hotel lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new mexico
Aug 21, 2009

Room for Improvement

The location is great and it is a very nice place but I had a big problem while there. I have a bad back and always stay in hotels that have a whirlpool. I called the hotel a couple of days before my arrival to make sure about the whirlpool and I was assured it was available. The whirlpool was broken and not available for 4 out of the seven days I was there. I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cirque Mom
Business
South Florida
Aug 5, 2009

3 star at best...

This hotel recently underwent a renovation but bathrooms, furniture and TVs are not newly renovated (reminded me of a 3 star hotel from the 1980s). The staff was unfriendly and not very helpful. We had bug bites from the bed, we were told someone from management would follow up but to date (3 days later) no one has. I have to return to Montreal in February but will stay at a different property. There are several other 4 star hotels nearby with direct access to the Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Aug 3, 2009

Montreal with school children

Started off by not having the room we requested available. Long line at check-in, front door bell hop was rude. Lots and Lots of school kids who shouted to each other at all hours. However room was nice with a great view of the city and a fireworks display on the Saturday evening. Location couldn't have been better. Easy walk to shops and restaurants. Could have walked to the old town if we hadn't been so tired from the noisy kids!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Rue St. Catherine has a great selection of shops. HMV is a must! Our daughter could have stayed there all day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
montreal, canada
Jul 29, 2009

good short stay

Hotel is very modern, with a very polite and helpful staff. Has a starbucks on premises and a direct entrance to montreal's metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kayakyaker
Business
Hartford Connecticut Area
Jul 28, 2009

July in Montreal @ Montreal Marriott Cha

This trip was built around attending Montreal's "Comedy Festival" and visiting the "Old Port area". The room and unique arched picture window gave impressive views of downtown Montreal. The lobby and various public area's are decorated luxuriously. My only complaint is that after booking a room for four guests, through Orbits, and getting a confirmed price including "all taxes & fee's", the front desk (at check in) attempted to bill me for an additional $60.00. First, they said because there were more than two guests, then later something to do with the fine print in the terms & conditions. A call to Orbitz did resolve the situation. Nice place to stay, just confirm "all charges" with the hotel desk before setting off to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top