$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

4 stars
1050 de la Gauchetiere West, 1 Place du Canada, Montreal, QC H3B 4C9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
81 reviews
Excellent romantic getaway

We only stayed here one night, but everything was perfect. Location, location, location. A little... See full review

  • Gipsy traveler
  • Apr 16, 2014
Enjoyable

My stay was brief wishing I could have stayed longer. Perfect view of the city from my room 1302.... See full review

  • bucketlist58
  • May 27, 2013
For those seeking accommodations in the heart of vibrant downtown Montreal, one need look no further than the Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain. Located adjacent to the Bell Centre - one of city's top event venues - this luxury Montreal hotel is just a short walk to Old Montreal, shopping on St. Catherine Street and the campus of McGill University. At the hotel, guests enjoy spacious accommodations with thoughtful amenities including Marriott's signature Revive Bedding, free high-speed internet, HD LCD TVs and flexible workspace. Many guest rooms also afford spectacular views of the downtown Montreal Skyline. Guests can also dine in style at the Restaurant Samuel de Champlain or relax and unwind at L'Ultime Spa located on-site. Those planning a meeting or event in Montreal can take advantage of expert catering services and over 29,000 sq ft of meeting space. At the Marriott Chateau Champlain, your visit to Montreal will be a memorable one.

Hotel Map

45.4981 -73.5673
Area served
Montreal
Nearby airports
Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport, (YUL), 14.00, KM, E;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Centre Bell: 0.1 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.2 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.6 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.7 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.1 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.2 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.6 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.7 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 1 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1.1 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.2 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.3 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.4 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.2 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 2.4 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.3 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4.1 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.4 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 4.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant Samuel de Champlain
Highlighting French and Mediterranean flavors, Restaurant Samuel de Champlain offers savory Continental Cuisine from Filet Mignon to braised Salmon. Lighter fare is also available and the restaurant is open for Breakfast, lunch and Dinner.
Bar Le Senateur
Offering afternoon and evening cocktails along with a casual Lunch service, Bar Le Senateur is the perfect spot to unwind after meetings or a day of sightseeing.
Starbucks®
Offering gourmet coffee, tea and pastries from pure to healthy indulgence, for breakfast, lunch, snacks & treats, come in and enjoy the experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicagoland
Sep 16, 2009

Convenient Stay in Montreal

Walkable to the conference center. Metro access directly from the hotel. Staff was exteremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aster
Virginia
Sep 8, 2009

Best location in Montreal, great service

I always stay at a Marriott hotel when I travel. This was my first out of US Marriott stay and was very happy to find the consistency of unmached quality service of the Marriott brand at this location. I found the staff to be very patient and pleasant in translating English to French, giving directions and recomending sites to see. The location is the best in the city at walking distance to metro and to most major attractions. I recommend this hotel and will stay again if I have the opportunity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

At walking distance to shops, Old Montreal, restaurants and metro.

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Momo Trixie
Trenton, NJ
Aug 27, 2009

Great Location

Directly above the Bonaventure Metro Station. Concierge helpful for various excursion tickets. Room furnishings a little worn. Nice Muffin Plus coffee shop and convenience stores in hotel lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
new mexico
Aug 21, 2009

Room for Improvement

The location is great and it is a very nice place but I had a big problem while there. I have a bad back and always stay in hotels that have a whirlpool. I called the hotel a couple of days before my arrival to make sure about the whirlpool and I was assured it was available. The whirlpool was broken and not available for 4 out of the seven days I was there. I will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cirque Mom
South Florida
Aug 5, 2009

3 star at best...

This hotel recently underwent a renovation but bathrooms, furniture and TVs are not newly renovated (reminded me of a 3 star hotel from the 1980s). The staff was unfriendly and not very helpful. We had bug bites from the bed, we were told someone from management would follow up but to date (3 days later) no one has. I have to return to Montreal in February but will stay at a different property. There are several other 4 star hotels nearby with direct access to the Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Aug 3, 2009

Montreal with school children

Started off by not having the room we requested available. Long line at check-in, front door bell hop was rude. Lots and Lots of school kids who shouted to each other at all hours. However room was nice with a great view of the city and a fireworks display on the Saturday evening. Location couldn't have been better. Easy walk to shops and restaurants. Could have walked to the old town if we hadn't been so tired from the noisy kids!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Rue St. Catherine has a great selection of shops. HMV is a must! Our daughter could have stayed there all day.

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
montreal, canada
Jul 29, 2009

good short stay

Hotel is very modern, with a very polite and helpful staff. Has a starbucks on premises and a direct entrance to montreal's metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kayakyaker
Hartford Connecticut Area
Jul 28, 2009

July in Montreal @ Montreal Marriott Cha

This trip was built around attending Montreal's "Comedy Festival" and visiting the "Old Port area". The room and unique arched picture window gave impressive views of downtown Montreal. The lobby and various public area's are decorated luxuriously. My only complaint is that after booking a room for four guests, through Orbits, and getting a confirmed price including "all taxes & fee's", the front desk (at check in) attempted to bill me for an additional $60.00. First, they said because there were more than two guests, then later something to do with the fine print in the terms & conditions. A call to Orbitz did resolve the situation. Nice place to stay, just confirm "all charges" with the hotel desk before setting off to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eastern Iowa
Jul 21, 2009

Montreal Honeymoon

We were looking for a hotel in downtown Montreal that was close to the sites we wanted to see. This was perfect, within a 20 minute walk of everything. The spa, pool, and workout room are excellant. The room was adequate though they could use a little updating, i.e. new flat screen tv's would be great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are an abundance of cafe's and eating places!

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JSNY
New York, NY
Jul 21, 2009

Convenient Hotel to a lot of places

Rooms where kept very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

There were a lot of nighttime activities in the area.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search