$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

4 stars
1050 de la Gauchetiere West, 1 Place du Canada, Montreal, QC H3B 4C9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
140 reviews
Excellent romantic getaway

We only stayed here one night, but everything was perfect. Location, location, location. A little... See full review

  • Gipsy traveler
  • Apr 16, 2014
Enjoyable

My stay was brief wishing I could have stayed longer. Perfect view of the city from my room 1302.... See full review

  • bucketlist58
  • May 27, 2013
Swanky Montreal hotel in city center with Mediterranean restaurant
Connected to a metro station, a VIA Rail Canada station and the Underground City, the 36-floor Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel is within walking distance to the Bell Centre. Features include an on-site Mediterranean restaurant with an open kitchen, a fitness center with indoor lap pool, steam room and jetted tub, and guest rooms with oversized, arching windows framing expansive city and river views. Amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access hold appeal for business and leisure travelers alike.
Highlights
  • Fitness center with cardio equipment, indoor lap pool, steam room and spa tub
  • Spacious guest rooms with sweeping city views through large, floor- to-ceiling windows
  • Directly connected to transportation and shopping of the Underground City
Rooms
All 611 guest rooms at the Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel have one king or two double beds with arching, floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city or Saint Lawrence River. Rooms also offer work desks, complimentary wireless Internet access and cable TVs with premium programming. Coffee makers, irons and ironing boards and hair dryers are on hand, and guests receive complimentary weekday newspapers. Deluxe rooms, some with panoramic views, feature upgrades such shoe-shine machines, minibars and CD players as well as access to a 35th-floor lounge with complimentary continental breakfast, hors d'oeuvres and evening sweets.
Features
The 36-story Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel is perched above the Underground City, directly connected to metro and the VIA Rail Canada stations, and within walking distance from all major festivals. A Mediterranean restaurant with open kitchen and a fitness center with lap pool, steam room and Jacuzzi offer a place to unwind, while a full-service business center with copying, faxing, translation, and secretarial and postal services keep guests at the Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel connected throughout their stay. Guest rooms, which feature large windows with city and river views, have complimentary wireless Internet access and free weekday newspapers.
Transportation
  • Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (8.7 mi/14 km)
Attractions
  • Old Montreal (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Palais des Congres de Montreal (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Old Port of Montreal (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Montreal Symphony Orchestra (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • More than 29,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space in 25 rooms
  • Full-service business center
Policies and fees
  • An additional non-refundable fee of $30 payable directly to the hotel will be added for each third and fourth adult sharing the same room. 
  • Cot is not available in rooms with two double beds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.4981 -73.5673
Area served
Montreal
Nearby airports
Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport, (YUL), 14.00, KM, E;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Centre Bell: 0.1 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.2 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.6 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.7 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.1 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.2 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.6 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.7 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 1 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1.1 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.2 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.3 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.4 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.2 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 2.4 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.3 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4.1 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.4 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 4.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant Samuel de Champlain
Highlighting French and Mediterranean flavors, Restaurant Samuel de Champlain offers savory Continental Cuisine from Filet Mignon to braised Salmon. Lighter fare is also available and the restaurant is open for Breakfast, lunch and Dinner.
Bar Le Senateur
Offering afternoon and evening cocktails along with a casual Lunch service, Bar Le Senateur is the perfect spot to unwind after meetings or a day of sightseeing.
Starbucks®
Offering gourmet coffee, tea and pastries from pure to healthy indulgence, for breakfast, lunch, snacks & treats, come in and enjoy the experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (140)

Ratings and reviews for Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Dec 17, 2010

Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Rooms very run down and dirty. Lobby was very nice location excellent.. Would not stay there again until the rooms are redone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining and nightlife nearby

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV USA
Dec 12, 2010

Classy and convenient

The reviews on this place seemed to be a bit of a mixed bag, but leaned towards the positive so I decided to go for it. I am glad I did. I wanted a place where I wouldn't need a car to get around and this was the perfect place for that. Not only was the location good, but the staff was very refined and attentive, the check-in was a breeze, the very friendly housekeeper kept my room tip-top, the Concierge was very knowledgable and in control of things and the hotel has a very classy, refined feel to it. Most of the negative comments I have read relate to the upkeep, and say that the hotel is old and worn, which is true to an extent. The chairs in the room are old, and the wallpaper could use a bit of touching up, but that personally doesn't bother me and certainly wouldn't discourage me from staying here again on my next trip to Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hotels that are connected to the Montreal Metro are super convenient and make it real easy to get around the city without needing a car. Traffic is real bad in the city esp. during rush hour and parking is VERY expansive.

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV USA
Dec 12, 2010

Classy and convenient

The reviews on this place seemed to be a bit of a mixed bag, but leaned towards the positive so I decided to go for it. I am glad I did. I wanted a place where I wouldn't need a car to get around and this was the perfect place for that. Not only was the location good, but the staff was very refined and attentive, the check-in was a breeze, the very friendly housekeeper kept my room tip-top, the Concierge was very knowledgable and in control of things and the hotel has a very classy, refined feel to it. Most of the negative comments I have read relate to the upkeep, and say that the hotel is old and worn, which is true to an extent. The chairs in the room are old, and the wallpaper could use a bit of touching up, but that personally doesn't bother me and certainly wouldn't discourage me from staying here again on my next trip to Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hotels that are connected to the Montreal Metro are super convenient and make it real easy to get around the city without needing a car. Traffic is real bad in the city esp. during rush hour and parking is VERY expansive.

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mariott family/timeshare owner
New York
Sep 27, 2010

Good night's sleep, good location

As our day was filled with sightseeing we used the hotel for sleeping mostly, did not use dining room or even look around the hotel. Accomodations were fine for short stay...bathroom lacking space but vanity area a kind of plus (mostly for dressing as lighting not great for make up application.) Pool was dissapointing in size but gym decent. Best asset was the bed and beautiful spacious view looking over the park in front of the hotel. We enjoyed breakfast/room service with a view! A real asset with Metro located under hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Easy to take the bus from the airport to this hotel if you have luggage on wheels/lightweight bags. Cost about 15/couple vs. cab ride maybe $40.00.

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mariott family/timeshare owner
New York
Sep 27, 2010

Good night's sleep, good location

As our day was filled with sightseeing we used the hotel for sleeping mostly, did not use dining room or even look around the hotel. Accomodations were fine for short stay...bathroom lacking space but vanity area a kind of plus (mostly for dressing as lighting not great for make up application.) Pool was dissapointing in size but gym decent. Best asset was the bed and beautiful spacious view looking over the park in front of the hotel. We enjoyed breakfast/room service with a view! A real asset with Metro located under hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Easy to take the bus from the airport to this hotel if you have luggage on wheels/lightweight bags. Cost about 15/couple vs. cab ride maybe $40.00.

Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Aug 25, 2010

Tried to overcharge

The hotel tried to bill me an extra 70$ for having 4 people even though I specified that 4 people were staying when I booked with orbits. It was very tacky for them to do that without telling me. No free breakfast or refrigorator. Other than that it was a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Aug 25, 2010

Tried to overcharge

The hotel tried to bill me an extra 70$ for having 4 people even though I specified that 4 people were staying when I booked with orbits. It was very tacky for them to do that without telling me. No free breakfast or refrigorator. Other than that it was a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 28, 2010

Close to everything

The metro train has an entrance at the hotel (train below hotel) which made getting around the city very easy. The front desk was very helpful with "places to see", restaurants, directions, etc.. Would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 28, 2010

Close to everything

The metro train has an entrance at the hotel (train below hotel) which made getting around the city very easy. The front desk was very helpful with "places to see", restaurants, directions, etc.. Would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lindabinda
Chicago, IL
Jul 12, 2010

July Heat Wave

This a great location for visiting Montreal. View of the downtown and Mt. Royal through the curved window was spectacular. The subway station below the lobby was a great convenience and also proximity to Via Rail/Amtrack station excellent. We traveled entirely and happliy on public transportation and trains from here. Room was nice but furnishings and finishes tired and could use freshening. Beds and room were clean and comfortable but the toilet floor seal was leaking and it looked like it had been for a some time. No casual restaurant inside which would have been convenient for breakfast or a late lunch. Plenty of places to eat within 4 blocks though. Would definitely stay there again but not at premium price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There is a 24/7 bus from the airport that will take you to the corner of Rene-Levesque and Peel. Hotel is one block south(east) and visible from the corner. Ask the driver to announce the "Peel" stop when you get on the bus. Fare is $7.00 but if you plan on using the subway or busses purchase the 3-day tourist transit pass at the airport as you exit customs (vending machine or from currency exchange).

Back to menu Return to top