$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

4 stars
1050 de la Gauchetiere West, 1 Place du Canada, Montreal, QC H3B 4C9
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
82 reviews
Excellent romantic getaway

We only stayed here one night, but everything was perfect. Location, location, location. A little... See full review

  • Gipsy traveler
  • Apr 16, 2014
watch out for terms and conditions

Make sure you contact the hotel for any booking. We were supposed to get 2 double beds, but we saw... See full review

  • Arminy
  • Sep 2, 2014
Swanky Montreal hotel in city center with Mediterranean restaurant
Connected to a metro station, a VIA Rail Canada station and the Underground City, the 36-floor Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel is within walking distance to the Bell Centre. Features include an on-site Mediterranean restaurant with an open kitchen, a fitness center with indoor lap pool, steam room and jetted tub, and guest rooms with oversized, arching windows framing expansive city and river views. Amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access hold appeal for business and leisure travelers alike.
Highlights
  • Fitness center with cardio equipment, indoor lap pool, steam room and spa tub
  • Spacious guest rooms with sweeping city views through large, floor- to-ceiling windows
  • Directly connected to transportation and shopping of the Underground City
Rooms
All 611 guest rooms at the Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel have one king or two double beds with arching, floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city or Saint Lawrence River. Rooms also offer work desks, complimentary wireless Internet access and cable TVs with premium programming. Coffee makers, irons and ironing boards and hair dryers are on hand, and guests receive complimentary weekday newspapers. Deluxe rooms, some with panoramic views, feature upgrades such shoe-shine machines, minibars and CD players as well as access to a 35th-floor lounge with complimentary continental breakfast, hors d'oeuvres and evening sweets.
Features
The 36-story Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel is perched above the Underground City, directly connected to metro and the VIA Rail Canada stations, and within walking distance from all major festivals. A Mediterranean restaurant with open kitchen and a fitness center with lap pool, steam room and Jacuzzi offer a place to unwind, while a full-service business center with copying, faxing, translation, and secretarial and postal services keep guests at the Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain hotel connected throughout their stay. Guest rooms, which feature large windows with city and river views, have complimentary wireless Internet access and free weekday newspapers.
Transportation
  • Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (8.7 mi/14 km)
Attractions
  • Old Montreal (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Palais des Congres de Montreal (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Old Port of Montreal (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Montreal Symphony Orchestra (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • More than 29,000 square feet of flexible meeting and banquet space in 25 rooms
  • Full-service business center
Policies and fees
  • An additional non-refundable fee of $30 payable directly to the hotel will be added for each third and fourth adult sharing the same room. 
  • Cot is not available in rooms with two double beds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Centre Bell: 0.1 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.2 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.6 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.7 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.1 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.2 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Underground City: 0.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent Street: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 0.6 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.7 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 1 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 1.1 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.2 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.3 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 1.4 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 2.2 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 2.4 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.3 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 4.1 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 4.4 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 4.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant Samuel de Champlain
Highlighting French and Mediterranean flavors, Restaurant Samuel de Champlain offers savory Continental Cuisine from Filet Mignon to braised Salmon. Lighter fare is also available and the restaurant is open for Breakfast, lunch and Dinner.
Bar Le Senateur
Offering afternoon and evening cocktails along with a casual Lunch service, Bar Le Senateur is the perfect spot to unwind after meetings or a day of sightseeing.
Starbucks®
Offering gourmet coffee, tea and pastries from pure to healthy indulgence, for breakfast, lunch, snacks & treats, come in and enjoy the experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
etobicoke,ca
Jun 29, 2010

very nice in everything love it!!!

all staff so nice. they all give me very good advices and services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Jun 4, 2010

Excellent central convenience!!!!

Our stay was comfortable and [...], the concierge was very instrumental in helping me coordinate a surprise gift on Le Bateau Mouche dinner cruise. I did expect the room to be a little larger based on the internet description and some of the furniture was chipped on the edges. Despite that all else complimented those minor discrepancies, because whenever we requested room service they responded in no more than 10 minutes if that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Especially if you are coming from the US, I strongly recommend that you withdraw cash from the ATM or bank after your arrival in lieu of exchange bureaus or hotels, to avoid the excess currency exchange fees. Furthermore, for most major attractions, you can rely on the Metro, walk, or pay a small taxi fee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kinetik follower
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 19, 2010

Great accomidation and service

I went to the Kinetik music festival, which is held yearly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Best place for a fast shopping experience is the Montreal underground city a few blocks away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, Canada
May 2, 2010

Excellent Location

The location was excellent, the service was good and the staff are friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
'San Juan, PR
Apr 11, 2010

Nice Service

The service was beyond excellent. The front desk answered many of my questions with smiles and room service and housekeeping staff members were also very friendly. I would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont
Mar 28, 2010

Great value

Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. A great value for a top quality hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A multitude of restaurants are located a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
c.m. hockeyfan
Business
philadelphia, pa
Mar 22, 2010

super location but...

Stayed mid-March 3 days. The hotel was in a great location walking. Walking distance to old Montreal and the views from the higher floor that we stayed on were great. The hotel staff were very nice. The only complaint that I would have is that the rooms and other areas of the hotel are really outdated i.e. furntiure in room chipped and scratched, tv was old. but the room was clean as was the rest of the hotel, it is just really showing it's'age. Fitness area small and very limited, only 1 restaurant / bar to choose from etc..but really very nice staff and very enjoyable stay just do not expect four stars because it was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sahil[@]
Jan 25, 2010

Not too impressive

3-class room, broken shower, broken basin in bathroom, not very clean in general. Parking is expensive - you pay everytime you go in and out. Doorstaff was naggy. You are basically paying for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DesPlaines, Illinois
Dec 9, 2009

Great hotel with a critter surprise.

Great hotel. First class service. Connected to subway system. Luxury bed linnen. I recieved insect bites on my legs that likely originated from bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The "Underrground City-mall is a short walk from the hotrel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Profesora
Business
Castro Valley, California
Nov 16, 2009

Luxurious, fantastic, deeply relaxing

The hotel gave me time away from stresses of my conference (at nearby Palais de Congres), choices and options, peace and quiet for rest, and service for a queen. I shopped in lobby, checked out restaurants, and had room-service deluxe. Everything was supplied or at my request-- even envelops. I was comfortable and able to pamper myself. The spa with [...] was the beginning and end all of my conference time, where I got rid of my sciatic pain, forgot my responsibilities at home, carved out my required participation in the conference, and healed. THANK YOU SOOOOOO MUCH. And to think, I got all this with my search for cheap airline tickets. I will do this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It is a big toss up between dining and spa experience- both were pivotal to my wonderful experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top