$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Hotel Universel Montreal

4 stars
View map of 5000 Sherbrooke East, Montreal, QC H1V1A1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Universel Montreal

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trip with the fam
Family
Massachusetts
Jul 15, 2013

Helpful staff

The staff was very accommodating and did their best to make us feel satisfied with our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Many nearby grocery stores and a Walmart for necessities nearby.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
azguy102
Couples
boston
Aug 26, 2013

Overall not a bad experience

I usually stay at this place for 2 reasons, free parking and free internet. Internet connection not always reliable, and definitely not suited for someone doing remote work. this time i was looking forward to the indoor pool, well they were re-painting it or something like that, so we did not get to use it. over and relative to Montreal this is not a bad place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Olympic stadium and botanic garden.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trex1
Family
boston, massachusetts
Oct 2, 2013

Good stay

Not a bad place for the price. Only complaint would be the indoor pool being very dark even with all the lights on. Our two kids were a bit scared. It was nice that the hotel had a shuttle taking us to the botonical garden. Staff weren't rude but you have to ask them the right questions to get what you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Instead of driving to local attractions, ask the hotel about shuttle service.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
singer1981
Business
Hershey, PA
Oct 7, 2013

good to stay

It was good to stay but old fashioned room But it's okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Olympic Park is near the hotel.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Orlo
Couples
New York
Nov 18, 2013

weekend getaway

Hotel is great if you plan on using your vehicle to get around. It's in walking distance of the botanical gardens. best value is during spring when there is more activity near and around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevin MCmobile
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Dec 18, 2013

This is a great central location for our work in Montreal

This is an older hotel with some very nice rooms and some that need additional attention. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
ny
Sep 2, 2009

Great location, but the room was shaby

The first room we got had no dial tone of the phone. We were send for a second room where the refrigirator is not cool enough for any food at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Hartford, CT
Jul 11, 2010

Ok for the price

It was not like it looked on their website. It does look like they have some upgrades scheduled which seems to be the room picture they have on their site. However, the room we had was not the one pictured or close to it. That being said, The common areas were nice, and the room, even though a bit dated, was clean and staff was friendly. It is within a short walk to the metro and parking was ample so it was a good home base to see the city from for a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the metro, for a five minute walk it is easier than having to worry about parking in the city. Even not speaking a lick of French we were able to figure out the routes with minimal trouble.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
new york
Jan 3, 2011

good time

Our time in the hotel was good, very nice reception, good location, room was clean but carpet need more work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York
Aug 23, 2009

OK, not Great

Some of the reviews I read before I booked said "great location" - which it is if all you want to see is the Olympic Statium. It's a big distance from downtown or Old Montreal and even the Metro is a hike if you are a Senior Citizen or disabled. Cabs are expensive. The Gray Line bus wouldn't pick us up or drop us off for a day trip to Quebec because it is so far from downtown. Service in the hotel was excellent - really nice people. The Reception area and rooms were spotless, the corridors less so, especially around the elevator. The food in the restaurant was not very good, but we made do with bar food which was reasonable and very tasty. We didn't use the pools, but the outside one looked OK. In short, this is probably equivalent to a three star hotel but not a four.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Eat in the bar rather than the restaurant.

Back to menu Return to top