$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Hotel Universel Montreal

4 stars
View map of 5000 Sherbrooke East, Montreal, QC H1V1A1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Universel Montreal

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ham Sandwich and Snack Cracker
Business
New York State
Mar 15, 2011

Good food, bad sleep

We stayed at this hotel because it was close to the Olympic Stadium where we were working that week.[...]we were able to get free parking and free wi-fi. However, the bed was absolutely uncomfortable, and we didn't find much rest in between. We asked the morning desk clerk if we could move, or get a different mattress. No other rooms were available, but she indicated she'd have something sent to our room to help cushion the bed. Nothing. The eventing clerk was surprised anything was offered, because they didn't have anything to provide for additional comfort. We don't need a lot of frills, but a comfortable bed and a nicer room for the price we paid would have been appreciated. The photos on the website[...]give the appearance of better quality rooms. And if you can't help, just say so - don't give us false hope. Restaurant food was delicious, but be prepared to pay high hotel prices!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KONE18
Business
NJ
Jun 26, 2014

Grand Prix 2014

this hotel is a good compromise if you are staying in Montreal for the Grand Prix. Very good value, although it will take you about 1/2 hr to get to the race via Metro. Hotel is extremely clean, and as some other reviewers suggested we stayed on a room on the 6th floor as they are all renovated. Will definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
backtothepast
Business
NYC
Jul 7, 2014

You get what you pay for

The cleanliness was sub-par - bathroom smelled a bit like a public restroom, and the rugs felt really old under your feet. The indoor pool was over-chlorinated to the point it was partially opaque. Price was fantastic, so ultimately I won't complain. Staff were all super friendly and professional. Location is away from downtown, but a 15 minute walk to the metro station. I might come back to this hotel for a future trip, but will definitely go researching for others first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ken the pop
Business
Northern California
Oct 5, 2014

Convenient location

Very close to Olympic stadium. Room was small but clean. A little outdated. Parking was convenient and free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Close to several major attractions such as Olympic stadium.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dong L.
Business
Beijing
Jan 5, 2015

just so so...

the sound insulation was terrible i could hear everyone talking in the corridor facilities were kind of outdated it is not a perfect location if you are not aiming to visit the olympic park only but the stuff there were really nice and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Family makers
Business
Potsdam, NY
Feb 26, 2014

So so

Rooms are very small. Not very clean. Our new towels had lip stick on them. Staff was great. Location wonderful and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great things to do for younger kids near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
guvens
Business
Istanbul, Turkey
Sep 1, 2012

In urgent need of refurbishing

Location was ok as we wanted to park our car in the hotel and use public transportation. But the room we stayed in (entrance level) was in desperate need of refurbishing (carpet too old and dirty), no towel hooks in the bathroom (so esp.with two kids a problem), room cleaning was not convincing (that the room is really cleaned up), desk lamp was broken (no check up)..Personnel was responsiv

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

A short walk (5-8 mins) to Viau Subway Station from where you can reach downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daydream traveler
Business
Pittsburgh
Sep 2, 2012

Rooms need updated

10 minute walk to the metro. On site parking. Rooms need updated. Bathrooms small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mohammed Alshehri
Business
Oshawa
Jan 4, 2013

Not bad.....

This hotel is good for someone who wants to save money. Their beds are not comfortable enough, it's also small beds. The good things that they have are free Indoor parking and free internet but the first day, the internet did not working...!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
burlington on
Nov 27, 2010

the good the ugly and the bad room

i didnt really like the qualite off the room , it was almost in the basement , the carpet it old and the mold smells in the room , it was one small window the room looks dark for the price i payed i wanst really happy it isnt worthed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top