$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Hotel Universel Montreal

4 stars
View map of 5000 Sherbrooke East, Montreal, QC H1V1A1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Universel Montreal

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alanhus
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Jan 7, 2012

Average

Fairly average. Book a premium room - worth the upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rafal T
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 11, 2012

Average

Nice location, helpful staff at the reception desk, standard, clean rooms. If you are looking for an OK place to stay this is definitely it. One waitress at the hotel restaurant was extremely rude and hustling for money. Other than that a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cat W
Business
Burlington, VT
Aug 27, 2012

nice refuge from travelling

Decent place to stay in a decent part of town. Was close to the stadium (I could hear people cheering even with the window shut...) and the bio-dome wasn't too far away either. With a metro stop (Viau) not an unreasonable walking distance away, it was easy to get to Place des Artes, which was the whole reason I trekked up to Montréal in the first place. the free wi-fi was a great touch, esp with my smartphone being so dumb over the border. The bathroom in the room was pretty nifty, with frosted glass sliding doors; It felt like one of the swanky places without the bankrupting price. Usually my goal in a hotel is "a place to sleep" and this fit the bill, and more. Only sad thing was the pool was closed for maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Whatever the online maps tell you, the closest metro stop to the place is Viau on the Green Line. ten-minute walk to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cat W
Business
Burlington, VT
Aug 27, 2012

Nice refuge from the world of travelling

Usually my goal for a hotel is "somewhere to sleep that I can afford" but l'Hotel Universel was wonderful, and someplace I wouldn't be horrified if my parents saw it. (Come on, we've ALL stayed someplace and thought, "I'm so glad Mom can't see this....") It's a nice place, right near the stadium (I could hear the crowd cheering even with the window shut). If I'd known it was *that* close, it would've been easier to navigate the metro *to* the hotel, rather than the other end of town, but live and learn... On the downside, it took me half an hour to check in because they were short-staffed, but they were really nice, and the desk clerk gave me perfect directions to the Metro stop. Once I knew where to pick up the subway, it was a snap to find the theatre and get "home" again after the show. The bathroom in my room was very nifty, and the coolest part of the place, with frosted glass sliding doors. It made it feel like one of the swanky places, without making you bankrupt. Impressive on a budget, and the free wi-fi was wonderful, given how stupid my smartphone gets in Canada. (It's a drag to not be able to update my plans or my route because I can't get online to check a museum's hours or address or anything.) Only sad thing was the indoor pool--and consequently the hot tub--was closed for maintenance. The bio dome was nearby as well, so I was able to visit that before taking the metro back to my car. All in all a pretty successful trek to the "Great White North."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Whatever the online maps might say, the closest Metro stop is Viau on the Green Line. Ten minute walk (if that) to the hotel. (Left out of the metro station, left at the first light, and the hotel is on the right at the second light.) If I'd known that when I left Longeuil, it would've saved me a lot of walking, and an eventual bus fare, to get to the place....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
clamjam22
Business
Montpelier, VT, USA
Oct 22, 2012

Free WIFI / Free Parking

Free parking is a necessity in the city. Free wireless internet is also a plus. This place leaves something to be desired. The WIFI didn't work in our room and wasn't very strong in the lobby. We switched rooms only to lose the king size bed and were still unable to access WIFI. So we switched back to the room with a king size bed and a burn mark on the floor. Free parking, yes, but WIFI didn't work. Staff was less than helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
krayon
Business
Northampton, MA
Jan 2, 2013

It's Fine.

If you're looking to not pay a lot for a hotel, it's fine. We went for New Years and it was too far from the metro for that weather. We spent most of our time in Mile End. Beds are hard, but the room was clean and the mini-fridge was a nice surprise. Staff was nice enough, but nothing remarkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eraca
Business
USA
Jan 3, 2013

it's ok

It was overall just ok. Nothing fancy and not very close to metro or sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MLMLML
Business
New York
Jun 21, 2013

Affordable Hotel Free Parking

I had to travel to Montreal for a quick business trip and chose this affordable hotel based on location and free parking. I just spent the night and was on my way, so I did not need anything fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Since I was from the states and not used to driving in Canada, it helped review some of the different traffic regulations before I left (i.e., no right on red and lights to the side instead of overhead)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trip with the fam
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 15, 2013

Helpful staff

The staff was very accommodating and did their best to make us feel satisfied with our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Many nearby grocery stores and a Walmart for necessities nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
azguy102
Business
boston
Aug 26, 2013

Overall not a bad experience

I usually stay at this place for 2 reasons, free parking and free internet. Internet connection not always reliable, and definitely not suited for someone doing remote work. this time i was looking forward to the indoor pool, well they were re-painting it or something like that, so we did not get to use it. over and relative to Montreal this is not a bad place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Olympic stadium and botanic garden.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top