$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Hotel Universel Montreal

4 stars
View map of 5000 Sherbrooke East, Montreal, QC H1V1A1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Universel Montreal

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quilter2
Business
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Oct 7, 2013

Absolutely surprised!

Location, staff, room update and bed comfort topped the hotel we stayed in in Quebec City for three times the cost of the Universel. They even provided a free shuttle to various local attractions such as the Biodome and the botannical gardens--which saves $10-$12 dollars per visit for parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelbud2010
Business
austin, texas
Oct 16, 2013

Clean and Tidy

We stayed here for one night and found the room and bathroom clean and tidy. We got free parking but did not get free breakfast and wifi as the staff informed us that we didn't buy the breakfast package and their wifi had not been working. Although, the restaurant in the hotel serves excellent pancakes and breakfast. The location is good but not too close to the attractions. I felt that the elevators could be situated a bit better though. Otherwise, everything else is good for a short stay unless the wifi is fixed so you can stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the pancakes at the hotel restaurant .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heal
Business
NYC, NY
Oct 16, 2013

Great Hotel near great attractions

The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. The best part though was the walking distance to the botanical gardens as well as the biodome. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located within a mile of the biodome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Max of Gatineau
Business
Gatineau
Oct 17, 2013

A good weekend getaway

This hotel is in the east end near the Botanical Gardens on Sherbrooke. So, if you are looking to stay in that area, it is a good bet. We reserved a prestige room and were quite happy with it. There is a metro station about 10 minutes away by foot. The restaurant (Toit Rouge) we found to be disorganized on Sunday when there were quite a few people. A bit pricey for the quality but probably typical for hotel restaurant prices. There is an inside, small pool and an outdoor one plus a small gym with limited functional equipment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ukita
Business
Michigan
Oct 26, 2013

Great location for a Montreal visit

The staff was friendly and the room was quiet and clean. The 1st floor where we stayed needed a little bit of work but overall it was clean. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the subway and they had free parking with my stay. Definitely a good place to stay for a basic room when sightseeing in Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save money by using their free parking promotion and commute on the Montreal subway. The L'Assomption station is 10-12 minutes away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love NYC not the Yankees
Business
Boston, MA
May 27, 2014

Great features, great price

We were very pleasantly surprised by the Universel. Free parking, free internet and swimming pools are all very nice features for a reasonably priced hotel. So it might be slightly dated, the room and bathroom were clean and modern enough. If you do not need to be downtown, the location is fine -- very convenient for the Olympic Stadium and botanical garden. We would come back again for our next Montreal visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free parking, free internet, free pool -- all money savers when you stay for a couple of nights!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LEDtraveler
Business
FL
Oct 5, 2011

Good Hotel near stadium

Nice stay. Good staff and location. Hope to return soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 23, 2008

Good Hotel

Hotel Auberge Universal offers convenience with comfort. The hotel staff was friendly. The room rate was reasonable. The room was very clean and roomy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
We love traveling
Business
Shrewsbury, MA
May 27, 2009

Great family trip

This hotel had a really good location and the staff was very nice and helpfull. While I was there I visited the Olympic Park and downtown Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Some of the food wasn't that good but the food at the other resturants were very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Aug 2, 2009

fantastic

shoping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top