$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Hotel Universel Montreal

4 stars
5000 Sherbrooke East, Montreal, QC H1V1A1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
76 reviews
Family road trip

It doesn't get much better at this price point we think it was under priced room was stellar and... See full review

  • Tim Hooks
  • Aug 1, 2014
great location great experience

We stayed for 4 days and we ended up spending an extra day. Me and my wife had such a great time... See full review

  • sam5000
  • Jun 27, 2014
Convenient Montreal address with modern setting and indoor pool
Located amid the sites of Montreal, the Hotel Universel Montreal is in close proximity to destinations such as Olympic Stadium, Saputo Stadium and the Montreal Insectarium. Featuring a seasonal outdoor and indoor pool with spa tub, the Hotel Universel Montreal also has guest rooms with complimentary wireless Internet access and pillow-top mattresses, a 24-hour business center and a fitness center. Additionally, the hotel offers business and wedding services and houses a currency exchange, a massage/naturopathy clinic, a restaurant and a wood-paneled bar.
Highlights
  • Seasonal outdoor and indoor pool with spa tub
  • Centrally located address near popular sites
  • Guest rooms with complimentary wireless Internet service and pillow-top mattresses
  • A massage/naturopathy clinic with various services (fees apply)
Rooms
The 230 guest rooms at the Hotel Universel Montreal have one king or two double pillow-top beds facing the city, pool or courtyard. Highlights include 27-inch TVs with premium cable and pay movies, direct-dial telephones with voice mail, air conditioning, irons and ironing boards, mini refrigerators and coffeemakers. Bathrooms have combined showers and bathtubs with cosmetic mirrors and hair dryers. Microwaves and cots are available upon request (fees apply), and limited room service is available.
Features
Among the highlights that make the seven-story Hotel Universel Montreal an appealing option for leisure and business travel: a convenient address, indoor and outdoor pools, a jetted tub, an on-site restaurant and a 24-hour business center. A massage/naturopathy clinic offering various services (fees apply), a fitness facility and a currency exchange further the theme, as do amenities that include a restaurant serving international cuisine, a bar with a wide-screen TV, complimentary wireless Internet access and pillow-top mattresses in guest rooms.
Transportation
Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (11.3 mi/18.5 km)
Attractions
  • Montreal Insectarium (0.3 mi mi/0.5 km)
  • Chinese Garden (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Montreal Botanical Garden (0.7 mi mi/1.1 km)
Business
  • A total of 15 flexible meeting spaces for banquets and receptions that can accommodate between 10 to 500 people
  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Policies and fees
  • The indoor pool will be closed for renovations from 30 July until 20 September 2013. The heated outdoor pool will remain open until early September.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.5654 -73.5533
Area served
Montreal.
Nearby airports
P. Elliott Trudeau International Airport - 18.5 km or 12 miles.
Area description
Located next to the Olympic Park, Saputo Soccer Stadium, Montreal Biodome, The Botanical Garden and Insectarium. Viau metro stations 5 minute walk. Within minutes you are Downtown, Old Montreal, La Ronde(Six Flags Amusement Park) by vehicle or Metro.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Universel Montreal also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Universel Montreal Rooms

Standard 2 Doubles Non Smoking
All non-smoking rooms with two double beds includes individual heat and A/C, hair dryers, coffee makers, mini-refrigerators, iron and iron board, personal voice mail, free internet access, work desk, color cable TV with a variety of in-house movies and video games along with AM-FM clock radio.
SUPERIOR 1 KING Non Smoking
All non-smoking rooms with one king Beauty Rest mattress - pillow top bed, includes individual control for heat and A/C, hair dryers, coffee makers, mini-refrigerators, iron and iron board, personal voice mail, free internet access, work desk, color cable TV with a variety of in-house movies along with AM-FM clock radio. Can sleep 3 with rollaway bed.
PRESTIGE 1 KING Room
Prestige 1 king - Non-Smoking with King size pillow top Princess mattress - Sealy , color cable Flat Screen Plasma 32 inch TV and closed circuit movies, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini fridge, coffee makers and FREE wireless High Speed internet access. Sleeps 2 (sorry cots or cribs not possible in this room category)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Montreal Insectarium: 0.2 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.8 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 3.2 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 3.3 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.6 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 3.8 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 3.9 mi
  • Place des Arts: 4 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 4.2 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 0.2 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.8 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 3.2 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 3.3 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.6 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 3.8 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 3.9 mi
  • Place des Arts: 4 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 4.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 4.3 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 4.4 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 4.4 mi
  • Underground City: 4.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 4.6 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 4.7 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 4.8 mi
  • Crescent Street: 4.8 mi
  • Centre Bell: 4.8 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 4.8 mi
  • Bell Centre: 4.8 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 5.3 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 5.9 mi

Dining

Rest Bar Le Toit Rouge
Inside hotel, full service restaurant, including room service. International cuisine, Breakfast: 7 am - 11 am, Lunch: 11 am - 2:30 pm and Dinner: 5 pm - 11 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Universel Montreal

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LundiH
Austin, Texas
Jan 6, 2014

Good value

With 4 bus station around the corner, free parking but the nearest metro station takes 20 mins to reach :( overall it's of a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Quality for a resonable price Cheryl
Carroll County,Md
Jul 16, 2010

Great Hotel for ALLL!!!!!!!!!

The hotel was located right where we needed it to be to get to all appointments easiely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You can find all that you need or want with-in 5-10 miles

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ochie
Val-d'OR
May 20, 2013

Fantastic hotel!!!

Was just getting back from a long road trip! The check in was fast, the staff friendly. The room was amazing!! Nice view, clean and spacy room!! Enjoyed the shower!!! Everything was perfect. A very nice hotel to discover. Will be returning in july!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Banach
California
Aug 12, 2013

Excellent place to stay to visit Montreal

The location of this hotel is excellent if one has a car and want to visit the Botanique garden, the Olympic parc and other places in Montreal.The hotel provides an excellent services for the money you pay.Keep you the good job!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Botanique garden and the Olympic observation tower.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Parsippany, NJ
Jun 25, 2008

Staff very friendly

Staff very accommodating and willing to go the extra mile to answer questions about activities in the city. They offered tickets at the front desk, which helped reduce wait times at any of the attractions. Would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Biodome, Olympic Stadium, Botanical Gardens

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Malone
Aug 7, 2008

Lovely!

Our stay at the Auberge Universal completely exceeding our expectations, and made our visit to Montreal that much more satisfying. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, I mean they were absolutely great. They advised us on how to get around, offered a shuttle to the metro, which by the way is within walking distance, which was a convenient route we also took. The room was clean and comfortable. Parking was free!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Biodome, Bontanical gardens and isectarium.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 18, 2008

My review of Hotel Auberge Universel Montreal

The room was a pleasant surprise. My wife kept asking me if I was sure that I only paid what I told her. It was spacious, clean and comfortable. The location was great. Just outside of downtown. Free parking at the hotel was a plus. Walking distance from the Olympic Park and Botanical Gardens. Nice restaurant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to be part of the city, buy a 3 day pass to the museums and metro at the front desk. It's good for 3 days and for $50.00 you can travel and have free access to all the museums and most of the attractions. It's great fun!

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Upper Peninsula, Michigan
Aug 4, 2009

Excellent hotel

This hotel is amazing! We loved the location and the convenience to the subway. The hotel desk clerks were very accommodating and went out of their way to help us when we asked anything. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The common areas were well kept and very fancy. The outdoor pool was very nice and warm!! The lifeguard was very friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Short trip on the subway to downtown where there are great restaurants.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gaelle
USA
Jul 30, 2007

Great hotel in Montreal

This room was very confortable and convenient: nice beds, TV, chairs, a bathroom AND a room with sink and mirror, that is convenient when you share the room. Access to a pool and a jakouzi: the pool was big and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fani
NJ
Jul 13, 2009

great location, friendly staff

The front desk staff was very friendly. We got to the hotel a little early, and attempted to checkin two hours before the standard time, since that wasn't possible, they offered to provide us with free internet access. We then took a 5 minute drive to the downtown shops & street vendors, to do a little shopping and eat. The food tasted great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sam5000
queens, ny
Jun 27, 2014

great location great experience

We stayed for 4 days and we ended up spending an extra day. Me and my wife had such a great time everything was in walking distance from the hotel even the metro station was close. Free parking , the breakfast was not included but you have other options around the hotel for food. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Sherbrooke rue has all the shopping areas you need

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim Hooks
Plano, TX
Aug 1, 2014

Family road trip

It doesn't get much better at this price point we think it was under priced room was stellar and staff were just as good if not better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobbyMoseNewYorican
Midland Park, NJ, USA
Jan 2, 2012

New Year's Eve trip to Montreal

Nice hotel - not too far from Metro station - and bus stop right in front. We checked in and shot right away into Montreal down town via the Metro, a 10-13 min walk all down hill next to Olympic Park. We had earlier purchased a 24hr Metro pass for $8 and got on and off at several spots. We attended the outdoor festivities for New Years, an incredible experience. We took a bus back which let us off right at the hotel (#364) as the Metro shut down at 12:30 am. The room was excellent and so clean. The beds were firm but comfortable. Only two gripes - the room temp was too high - I couldn't figure out how to control it, and complimentary breakfast is too short, especially on the day after New Year's Eve, when most guests arrive back at the hotel around 2-3am. The breakfast period is 8-10am. It should go to at least 11:00 or 11:30. Otherwise excellent hotel choice for visitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go to the Tourist Information Center downtown. The free service is great. Our attendant, Natalie, gave us so much valuable information!! And we also purchased the one-day metro passes there as well.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fred8013
Toronto,Ontario
Sep 19, 2012

Fair Price for decent hotel

Everything was fine.I liked this hotel .the rate was competitive including free internet and parking.The Only Noticeable Issue was that everything was a bit outdated but still clean and usable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gusto68
Minnesota
Oct 22, 2012

Great Location (with a car)

Stayed here for a four-day 'long weekend' and it was ideal. Close to the Metro for jaunts to Old Montreal and such. Free parking for our rental car so we could get out and about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skismom
Somewhere in the South
Jul 3, 2013

Great overnight stay

Front desk clerk was extremely helpful. Super clean room. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several family friendly restaurants within a short drive from hotel.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah 576
New York
Aug 20, 2013

Great location

If you are going to the Biodome, Olympic stadium or the botanical gardens this hotel is right around the corner. Also the subway is close if you wanted to go anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quilter2
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Oct 7, 2013

Absolutely surprised!

Location, staff, room update and bed comfort topped the hotel we stayed in in Quebec City for three times the cost of the Universel. They even provided a free shuttle to various local attractions such as the Biodome and the botannical gardens--which saves $10-$12 dollars per visit for parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelbud2010
austin, texas
Oct 16, 2013

Clean and Tidy

We stayed here for one night and found the room and bathroom clean and tidy. We got free parking but did not get free breakfast and wifi as the staff informed us that we didn't buy the breakfast package and their wifi had not been working. Although, the restaurant in the hotel serves excellent pancakes and breakfast. The location is good but not too close to the attractions. I felt that the elevators could be situated a bit better though. Otherwise, everything else is good for a short stay unless the wifi is fixed so you can stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the pancakes at the hotel restaurant .

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heal
NYC, NY
Oct 16, 2013

Great Hotel near great attractions

The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. The best part though was the walking distance to the botanical gardens as well as the biodome. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located within a mile of the biodome.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Max of Gatineau
Gatineau
Oct 17, 2013

A good weekend getaway

This hotel is in the east end near the Botanical Gardens on Sherbrooke. So, if you are looking to stay in that area, it is a good bet. We reserved a prestige room and were quite happy with it. There is a metro station about 10 minutes away by foot. The restaurant (Toit Rouge) we found to be disorganized on Sunday when there were quite a few people. A bit pricey for the quality but probably typical for hotel restaurant prices. There is an inside, small pool and an outdoor one plus a small gym with limited functional equipment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ukita
Michigan
Oct 26, 2013

Great location for a Montreal visit

The staff was friendly and the room was quiet and clean. The 1st floor where we stayed needed a little bit of work but overall it was clean. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the subway and they had free parking with my stay. Definitely a good place to stay for a basic room when sightseeing in Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save money by using their free parking promotion and commute on the Montreal subway. The L'Assomption station is 10-12 minutes away from the hotel.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love NYC not the Yankees
Boston, MA
May 27, 2014

Great features, great price

We were very pleasantly surprised by the Universel. Free parking, free internet and swimming pools are all very nice features for a reasonably priced hotel. So it might be slightly dated, the room and bathroom were clean and modern enough. If you do not need to be downtown, the location is fine -- very convenient for the Olympic Stadium and botanical garden. We would come back again for our next Montreal visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free parking, free internet, free pool -- all money savers when you stay for a couple of nights!

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LEDtraveler
Business
FL
Oct 5, 2011

Good Hotel near stadium

Nice stay. Good staff and location. Hope to return soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 23, 2008

Good Hotel

Hotel Auberge Universal offers convenience with comfort. The hotel staff was friendly. The room rate was reasonable. The room was very clean and roomy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
We love traveling
Shrewsbury, MA
May 27, 2009

Great family trip

This hotel had a really good location and the staff was very nice and helpfull. While I was there I visited the Olympic Park and downtown Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Some of the food wasn't that good but the food at the other resturants were very good.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
florida
Aug 2, 2009

fantastic

shoping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Sep 21, 2009

Good hotel - would recommend

Very nicely located, especially if you have a car (we didn't try the Metro so don't know about that). Ample parking. Near all the major highways (turns out Montreal is a pretty small place after all), nice fast-food and restaurants nearby, on main road that runs the length of Montreal, so very easy to drive around and then find the hotel again. Tiny indoor pool (but clean), decent jacuzzi and sauna; large outdoor pool but too cold to swim. One downside: no exhaust fan in bathroom-plus-toilet - with folks sharing the toilet, this was ridiculous!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use this hotel if you will be based in Montreal but may want to visit Quebec, as we did.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Sep 12, 2009

great experience. strongly recommended

relaxed and enjoyed the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adijat
USA
Apr 19, 2008

lack of security

it was really a great visit for me except the fact that someone broke into my car and stole my GPS. though it was written outside on the billboard when coming in, but the hotel staff suppose to remind you when you are checking in, because my mind has escaped it, to remove the all items in the car. and that was my first visit to montreal, i think the hotel lacks security. maybe they need to put more light or have someone to stay at the parking lot or the staff shoud always confirm if anyone has anything in the car that will atttract the thief to remove it, some might not even have the time to read it outside. am planning of coming Aug again and i pray if you guys take action on that issue, except that am very okay with the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, NY
Jul 19, 2010

Works well if you are just sleeping ther

Fire alarm went off & staff gave no help or direction, including when it was safe to go back inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gatineaum Qc, Canada J9H 7P5
Aug 23, 2009

This is a Hotel you can talk about.

I have discover a good hotel, this is a type of hotel you can talk about with other people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island, NY
Oct 17, 2009

Nice hotel

Visited family and stayed for one night. It was very convenient and good breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fish23
Detroit
Jul 8, 2014

Montreal Vacation

Excellent hotel to stay, the only problem is little far from downtown Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rodryvc
Burlington, MA
Aug 12, 2014

Good amenities and friendly staff

Great location close to Metro and Biodome. Both indoor and outdoor pools for any type of weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sweetness by heart
ma
Jan 4, 2014

great location

Fantastic staff & great location to metro & other attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alanhus
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Jan 7, 2012

Average

Fairly average. Book a premium room - worth the upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rafal T
Boston, MA
Jun 11, 2012

Average

Nice location, helpful staff at the reception desk, standard, clean rooms. If you are looking for an OK place to stay this is definitely it. One waitress at the hotel restaurant was extremely rude and hustling for money. Other than that a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cat W
Burlington, VT
Aug 27, 2012

nice refuge from travelling

Decent place to stay in a decent part of town. Was close to the stadium (I could hear people cheering even with the window shut...) and the bio-dome wasn't too far away either. With a metro stop (Viau) not an unreasonable walking distance away, it was easy to get to Place des Artes, which was the whole reason I trekked up to Montréal in the first place. the free wi-fi was a great touch, esp with my smartphone being so dumb over the border. The bathroom in the room was pretty nifty, with frosted glass sliding doors; It felt like one of the swanky places without the bankrupting price. Usually my goal in a hotel is "a place to sleep" and this fit the bill, and more. Only sad thing was the pool was closed for maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Whatever the online maps tell you, the closest metro stop to the place is Viau on the Green Line. ten-minute walk to the hotel.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cat W
Burlington, VT
Aug 27, 2012

Nice refuge from the world of travelling

Usually my goal for a hotel is "somewhere to sleep that I can afford" but l'Hotel Universel was wonderful, and someplace I wouldn't be horrified if my parents saw it. (Come on, we've ALL stayed someplace and thought, "I'm so glad Mom can't see this....") It's a nice place, right near the stadium (I could hear the crowd cheering even with the window shut). If I'd known it was *that* close, it would've been easier to navigate the metro *to* the hotel, rather than the other end of town, but live and learn... On the downside, it took me half an hour to check in because they were short-staffed, but they were really nice, and the desk clerk gave me perfect directions to the Metro stop. Once I knew where to pick up the subway, it was a snap to find the theatre and get "home" again after the show. The bathroom in my room was very nifty, and the coolest part of the place, with frosted glass sliding doors. It made it feel like one of the swanky places, without making you bankrupt. Impressive on a budget, and the free wi-fi was wonderful, given how stupid my smartphone gets in Canada. (It's a drag to not be able to update my plans or my route because I can't get online to check a museum's hours or address or anything.) Only sad thing was the indoor pool--and consequently the hot tub--was closed for maintenance. The bio dome was nearby as well, so I was able to visit that before taking the metro back to my car. All in all a pretty successful trek to the "Great White North."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Whatever the online maps might say, the closest Metro stop is Viau on the Green Line. Ten minute walk (if that) to the hotel. (Left out of the metro station, left at the first light, and the hotel is on the right at the second light.) If I'd known that when I left Longeuil, it would've saved me a lot of walking, and an eventual bus fare, to get to the place....

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
clamjam22
Montpelier, VT, USA
Oct 22, 2012

Free WIFI / Free Parking

Free parking is a necessity in the city. Free wireless internet is also a plus. This place leaves something to be desired. The WIFI didn't work in our room and wasn't very strong in the lobby. We switched rooms only to lose the king size bed and were still unable to access WIFI. So we switched back to the room with a king size bed and a burn mark on the floor. Free parking, yes, but WIFI didn't work. Staff was less than helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
krayon
Northampton, MA
Jan 2, 2013

It's Fine.

If you're looking to not pay a lot for a hotel, it's fine. We went for New Years and it was too far from the metro for that weather. We spent most of our time in Mile End. Beds are hard, but the room was clean and the mini-fridge was a nice surprise. Staff was nice enough, but nothing remarkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eraca
USA
Jan 3, 2013

it's ok

It was overall just ok. Nothing fancy and not very close to metro or sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MLMLML
Business
New York
Jun 21, 2013

Affordable Hotel Free Parking

I had to travel to Montreal for a quick business trip and chose this affordable hotel based on location and free parking. I just spent the night and was on my way, so I did not need anything fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Since I was from the states and not used to driving in Canada, it helped review some of the different traffic regulations before I left (i.e., no right on red and lights to the side instead of overhead)

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trip with the fam
Massachusetts
Jul 15, 2013

Helpful staff

The staff was very accommodating and did their best to make us feel satisfied with our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Many nearby grocery stores and a Walmart for necessities nearby.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
azguy102
boston
Aug 26, 2013

Overall not a bad experience

I usually stay at this place for 2 reasons, free parking and free internet. Internet connection not always reliable, and definitely not suited for someone doing remote work. this time i was looking forward to the indoor pool, well they were re-painting it or something like that, so we did not get to use it. over and relative to Montreal this is not a bad place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Olympic stadium and botanic garden.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trex1
boston, massachusetts
Oct 2, 2013

Good stay

Not a bad place for the price. Only complaint would be the indoor pool being very dark even with all the lights on. Our two kids were a bit scared. It was nice that the hotel had a shuttle taking us to the botonical garden. Staff weren't rude but you have to ask them the right questions to get what you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Instead of driving to local attractions, ask the hotel about shuttle service.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
singer1981
Business
Hershey, PA
Oct 7, 2013

good to stay

It was good to stay but old fashioned room But it's okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Olympic Park is near the hotel.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Orlo
New York
Nov 18, 2013

weekend getaway

Hotel is great if you plan on using your vehicle to get around. It's in walking distance of the botanical gardens. best value is during spring when there is more activity near and around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevin MCmobile
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Dec 18, 2013

This is a great central location for our work in Montreal

This is an older hotel with some very nice rooms and some that need additional attention. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
ny
Sep 2, 2009

Great location, but the room was shaby

The first room we got had no dial tone of the phone. We were send for a second room where the refrigirator is not cool enough for any food at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hartford, CT
Jul 11, 2010

Ok for the price

It was not like it looked on their website. It does look like they have some upgrades scheduled which seems to be the room picture they have on their site. However, the room we had was not the one pictured or close to it. That being said, The common areas were nice, and the room, even though a bit dated, was clean and staff was friendly. It is within a short walk to the metro and parking was ample so it was a good home base to see the city from for a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the metro, for a five minute walk it is easier than having to worry about parking in the city. Even not speaking a lick of French we were able to figure out the routes with minimal trouble.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Jan 3, 2011

good time

Our time in the hotel was good, very nice reception, good location, room was clean but carpet need more work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Aug 23, 2009

OK, not Great

Some of the reviews I read before I booked said "great location" - which it is if all you want to see is the Olympic Statium. It's a big distance from downtown or Old Montreal and even the Metro is a hike if you are a Senior Citizen or disabled. Cabs are expensive. The Gray Line bus wouldn't pick us up or drop us off for a day trip to Quebec because it is so far from downtown. Service in the hotel was excellent - really nice people. The Reception area and rooms were spotless, the corridors less so, especially around the elevator. The food in the restaurant was not very good, but we made do with bar food which was reasonable and very tasty. We didn't use the pools, but the outside one looked OK. In short, this is probably equivalent to a three star hotel but not a four.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Eat in the bar rather than the restaurant.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cuz
queens new york
Aug 25, 2009

great location good price family spot

hotel was nice could have used a little upkeep in room but great location and price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anne from France
Belfort, France
Aug 17, 2009

Not great, not terrible. Free parking!

Good value. Clean quiet room. Outdoor pool great, indoor pool small and very odd color. Free parking and metro about 10 min walk. Approx 5 stops away from city center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Jean Talon Market is a great place to visit and hang out.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ham Sandwich and Snack Cracker
Business
New York State
Mar 15, 2011

Good food, bad sleep

We stayed at this hotel because it was close to the Olympic Stadium where we were working that week.[...]we were able to get free parking and free wi-fi. However, the bed was absolutely uncomfortable, and we didn't find much rest in between. We asked the morning desk clerk if we could move, or get a different mattress. No other rooms were available, but she indicated she'd have something sent to our room to help cushion the bed. Nothing. The eventing clerk was surprised anything was offered, because they didn't have anything to provide for additional comfort. We don't need a lot of frills, but a comfortable bed and a nicer room for the price we paid would have been appreciated. The photos on the website[...]give the appearance of better quality rooms. And if you can't help, just say so - don't give us false hope. Restaurant food was delicious, but be prepared to pay high hotel prices!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KONE18
NJ
Jun 26, 2014

Grand Prix 2014

this hotel is a good compromise if you are staying in Montreal for the Grand Prix. Very good value, although it will take you about 1/2 hr to get to the race via Metro. Hotel is extremely clean, and as some other reviewers suggested we stayed on a room on the 6th floor as they are all renovated. Will definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rob and Leanne
Sunbury, Vic, Australia
Sep 7, 2012

Great for short term stays

The staff at the hotel were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. The room was a decent size and it was nice to have a decent sized bathroom after being on the road for 6 weeks. The indoor pool was closed for renovation while we were there, but the outside pool was available. We initially chose this hotel as it was in the vicinity of the biodome and the tower, which were both within a reasonable walking distance. Overall, we were happy with our stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
backtothepast
NYC
Jul 7, 2014

You get what you pay for

The cleanliness was sub-par - bathroom smelled a bit like a public restroom, and the rugs felt really old under your feet. The indoor pool was over-chlorinated to the point it was partially opaque. Price was fantastic, so ultimately I won't complain. Staff were all super friendly and professional. Location is away from downtown, but a 15 minute walk to the metro station. I might come back to this hotel for a future trip, but will definitely go researching for others first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Family makers
Potsdam, NY
Feb 26, 2014

So so

Rooms are very small. Not very clean. Our new towels had lip stick on them. Staff was great. Location wonderful and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great things to do for younger kids near by.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
guvens
Istanbul, Turkey
Sep 1, 2012

In urgent need of refurbishing

Location was ok as we wanted to park our car in the hotel and use public transportation. But the room we stayed in (entrance level) was in desperate need of refurbishing (carpet too old and dirty), no towel hooks in the bathroom (so esp.with two kids a problem), room cleaning was not convincing (that the room is really cleaned up), desk lamp was broken (no check up)..Personnel was responsiv

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

A short walk (5-8 mins) to Viau Subway Station from where you can reach downtown

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daydream traveler
Pittsburgh
Sep 2, 2012

Rooms need updated

10 minute walk to the metro. On site parking. Rooms need updated. Bathrooms small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mohammed Alshehri
Oshawa
Jan 4, 2013

Not bad.....

This hotel is good for someone who wants to save money. Their beds are not comfortable enough, it's also small beds. The good things that they have are free Indoor parking and free internet but the first day, the internet did not working...!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
burlington on
Nov 27, 2010

the good the ugly and the bad room

i didnt really like the qualite off the room , it was almost in the basement , the carpet it old and the mold smells in the room , it was one small window the room looks dark for the price i payed i wanst really happy it isnt worthed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston,MA
Jul 19, 2011

Quebec Trip

Moderate. Carpets old and bathrooms small. Good location and easy open parking. Bars/Restaurant close early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Olympic Tower

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sarasota, FL
Jul 16, 2010

not what you expect

This hotel is not a 4* star hotel at all. Maybe, maybe a bad 3 *. The hotel is old, nothing modern,far away for the city center. I will not stay at this hotel again, it was a very poor choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alexandre R.
Ithaca, New York
Jun 25, 2014

Good price, decent hotel, not so good location

It's a good hotel for the price you pay. Although the decoration is a little old fashion, the rooms are ample, clean and comfortable enough. Just don't expect anything surprising, everything is pretty standard, but in a good way. The outdoors swimming pool looks great. It also has an indoors pool and a gym but I haven't checked those during my trip. The restaurant by the lobby is decent, but if you have the time and are not too hungry just go to some better place in the city. HOWEVER, there is a big issue with the location of this hotel. O***tz is listing the hotel as located in Downtown, which is far from true. The only reason my friend and I booked this hotel was because of the good price and because it appeared as located in Downtown Montreal. Since we were in a haste, we trusted O***tz and booked the hotel without verifying this information. It turned out to be a mistake. Although the Universel is located near a very beautiful park and by the Olympic villa, it is far from Downtown and from the most vibrant areas of the city. It would take you around 40 min by metro to reach Downtown or the restaurant and bar areas on the Boul. Saint Laurent -with the additional disadvantage that the metro stops running at midnight. If you want to explore the city, enjoy different restaurants, the nightlife in Montreal, visit museums, bookstores, cafes, etc, this is not a good place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wouze
Chicago Illinois
Jul 26, 2014

Just for a night

I booked this hotel because of the free parking.The first thing that stuck me was the very hard to found access to the hotel. When I finally get to the lobby the three receptionists were busy on the phone. I stood there for a while and had to show some anger before one of them finally noticed me. Really! Only one elevator. Carpet to replace. The whole hotel need some upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Olympic parc

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Daydream traveler
Pittsburgh
Sep 2, 2012

Rooms need updated

10minutes from metro. Rooms need updated. Air conditioner was excellant. Bathrooms small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kentTraveller
Kent, OH
Jun 21, 2014

Missing reservation

I booked this hotel through Orb**z more than 20 hours before I showed up & I was told my reservation was not received from Orb**z & all rooms are full for the night. Hotel said they received 4 other reservations made on O**itz for that night but not ours & are not sure whose fault it was. "As a coutesy" they offered me to stay in Quality hotel about 3 miles away for free. As I was running out of options I agreed to that but once I drove to Quality hotel I found that only room available there was a smoking room & that they did mention that to Universel Hotel. I was never informed about the same. I was furious & went back to Universel Hotel & by then hotel manager had left for the day. About 3 hours after coming in first, I was finally assigned a room in Universel Hotel. Room looked so dingy & I bet it is only used for times when hotel is over booked. It had weird smell & walls had no wall paper. We were too tired to fight about it that night after a long drive. Next morning at time of checkout, I did ask for the same manager & he said sorry to not let me knor about the smoking room available. I demanded for a refund of last night money but he insisted Orbi** should take responsibility too. No matter whose fault it was (Orbi** or hotel) as a customer I'm the one who suffered. By the way I checked other rooms in the hotel & they looked so much nicer. Our room was straight from a motel almost in a basement while other rooms looked respectable. Won't forget bitter experience & awful room that I was assigned

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rob and Leanne
Sunbury, Vic, Australia
Dec 10, 2012

Credit Card Issues

This Hotel is located about 20 minutes walk to the Biodome, Olympic Stadium, Botanic Gardens and Metro Station. There are several restaurants within a short drive or walk. The Hotel itself is run down and tired and the underground car park was horrendous (though this may have been fixed as there was asphalting happening above ground). The major issue we had was an additional charge made to our credit card 3 months after we stayed even though our accommodation was fully paid in advance and restaurant charges had been paid on our credit card as well. We advise travelers to seek alternative accommodation when staying in Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
patanoke
Sarzay, France
Oct 17, 2012

Bon achat

Une semaine agréable, à notre arrivée le personnel s'est montré très chaleureux et soucieux de notre confort. Il nous a renseigné sur toutes les options de services dans et à proximité de l'hôtel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moimoi
France
Jun 11, 2014

Bien sous tout rapport

Belle chambre tout confort Très grand lit à mémoire de forme Piscine Calme Métro 200 mètres Petit dejeûner à 10 dollars Wi fi marche très bien

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Reiseprofi
Deutschland
Sep 9, 2012

Gutes Hotel für Kurztripp

direkt am Olympiapark, Fussweg zur Metro ca. 10 Minuten

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sportler Unicon
Schweiz
Aug 14, 2014

Gepflegtes Hotel direkt neben Olympiastadion

Sehr freundlicher Empfang. Angenehmes, sehr ruhiges Zimmer. Aussenpool gut, Innenpool nicht sehr modern. Morgenessen ohne Buffet aber mit guter Menuauswahl. Guter Zimmerreinigungsservice. Genügend Gratisparkplätze. Schnelles WLAN. Nicht in Stadtzentrum, aber mit Auto oder ÖV sehr schnell da. Ich würde in Montreal wieder in dieses Hotel gehen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search