$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Hotel Universel Montreal

4 stars
5000 Sherbrooke East, Montreal, QC H1V1A1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
93 reviews
great location great experience

We stayed for 4 days and we ended up spending an extra day. Me and my wife had such a great time... See full review

  • sam5000
  • Jun 27, 2014
Good value

With 4 bus station around the corner, free parking but the nearest metro station takes 20 mins to... See full review

  • LundiH
  • Jan 6, 2014
Convenient Montreal address with modern setting and indoor pool
Located amid the sites of Montreal, the Hotel Universel Montreal is in close proximity to destinations such as Olympic Stadium, Saputo Stadium and the Montreal Insectarium. Featuring a seasonal outdoor and indoor pool with spa tub, the Hotel Universel Montreal also has guest rooms with complimentary wireless Internet access and pillow-top mattresses, a 24-hour business center and a fitness center. Additionally, the hotel offers business and wedding services and houses a currency exchange, a massage/naturopathy clinic, a restaurant and a wood-paneled bar.
Highlights
  • Seasonal outdoor and indoor pool with spa tub
  • Centrally located address near popular sites
  • Guest rooms with complimentary wireless Internet service and pillow-top mattresses
  • A massage/naturopathy clinic with various services (fees apply)
Rooms
The 230 guest rooms at the Hotel Universel Montreal have one king or two double pillow-top beds facing the city, pool or courtyard. Highlights include 27-inch TVs with premium cable and pay movies, direct-dial telephones with voice mail, air conditioning, irons and ironing boards, mini refrigerators and coffeemakers. Bathrooms have combined showers and bathtubs with cosmetic mirrors and hair dryers. Microwaves and cots are available upon request (fees apply), and limited room service is available.
Features
Among the highlights that make the seven-story Hotel Universel Montreal an appealing option for leisure and business travel: a convenient address, indoor and outdoor pools, a jetted tub, an on-site restaurant and a 24-hour business center. A massage/naturopathy clinic offering various services (fees apply), a fitness facility and a currency exchange further the theme, as do amenities that include a restaurant serving international cuisine, a bar with a wide-screen TV, complimentary wireless Internet access and pillow-top mattresses in guest rooms.
Transportation
Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (11.3 mi/18.5 km)
Attractions
  • Montreal Insectarium (0.3 mi mi/0.5 km)
  • Chinese Garden (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Montreal Botanical Garden (0.7 mi mi/1.1 km)
Business
  • A total of 15 flexible meeting spaces for banquets and receptions that can accommodate between 10 to 500 people
  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Policies and fees
  • The indoor pool will be closed for renovations from 30 July until 20 September 2013. The heated outdoor pool will remain open until early September.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Universel Montreal Rooms

Standard 2 Doubles Non Smoking
All non-smoking rooms with two double beds includes individual heat and A/C, hair dryers, coffee makers, mini-refrigerators, iron and iron board, personal voice mail, free internet access, work desk, color cable TV with a variety of in-house movies and video games along with AM-FM clock radio.
SUPERIOR 1 KING Non Smoking
All non-smoking rooms with one king Beauty Rest mattress - pillow top bed, includes individual control for heat and A/C, hair dryers, coffee makers, mini-refrigerators, iron and iron board, personal voice mail, free internet access, work desk, color cable TV with a variety of in-house movies along with AM-FM clock radio. Can sleep 3 with rollaway bed.
PRESTIGE 1 KING Room
Prestige 1 king - Non-Smoking with King size pillow top Princess mattress - Sealy , color cable Flat Screen Plasma 32 inch TV and closed circuit movies, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini fridge, coffee makers and FREE wireless High Speed internet access. Sleeps 2 (sorry cots or cribs not possible in this room category)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Universel Montreal also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

45.5654 -73.5533
Area served
Montreal.
Nearby airports
P. Elliott Trudeau International Airport - 18.5 km or 12 miles.
Area description
Located next to the Olympic Park, Saputo Soccer Stadium, Montreal Biodome, The Botanical Garden and Insectarium. Viau metro stations 5 minute walk. Within minutes you are Downtown, Old Montreal, La Ronde(Six Flags Amusement Park) by vehicle or Metro.

Nearby points of interest

  • Montreal Insectarium: 0.2 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.8 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 3.2 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 3.3 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.6 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 3.8 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 3.9 mi
  • Place des Arts: 4 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 4.2 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 0.2 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.8 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 3.2 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 3.3 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.6 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 3.8 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 3.9 mi
  • Place des Arts: 4 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 4.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 4.3 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 4.4 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 4.4 mi
  • Underground City: 4.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 4.6 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 4.7 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 4.8 mi
  • Crescent Street: 4.8 mi
  • Centre Bell: 4.8 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 4.8 mi
  • Bell Centre: 4.8 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 5.3 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 5.9 mi

Dining

Rest Bar Le Toit Rouge
Inside hotel, full service restaurant, including room service. International cuisine, Breakfast: 7 am - 11 am, Lunch: 11 am - 2:30 pm and Dinner: 5 pm - 11 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Universel Montreal

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Daydream traveler
Pittsburgh
Sep 2, 2012

Rooms need updated

10minutes from metro. Rooms need updated. Air conditioner was excellant. Bathrooms small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kentTraveller
Kent, OH
Jun 21, 2014

Missing reservation

I booked this hotel through Orb**z more than 20 hours before I showed up & I was told my reservation was not received from Orb**z & all rooms are full for the night. Hotel said they received 4 other reservations made on O**itz for that night but not ours & are not sure whose fault it was. "As a coutesy" they offered me to stay in Quality hotel about 3 miles away for free. As I was running out of options I agreed to that but once I drove to Quality hotel I found that only room available there was a smoking room & that they did mention that to Universel Hotel. I was never informed about the same. I was furious & went back to Universel Hotel & by then hotel manager had left for the day. About 3 hours after coming in first, I was finally assigned a room in Universel Hotel. Room looked so dingy & I bet it is only used for times when hotel is over booked. It had weird smell & walls had no wall paper. We were too tired to fight about it that night after a long drive. Next morning at time of checkout, I did ask for the same manager & he said sorry to not let me knor about the smoking room available. I demanded for a refund of last night money but he insisted Orbi** should take responsibility too. No matter whose fault it was (Orbi** or hotel) as a customer I'm the one who suffered. By the way I checked other rooms in the hotel & they looked so much nicer. Our room was straight from a motel almost in a basement while other rooms looked respectable. Won't forget bitter experience & awful room that I was assigned

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sarasota, FL
Jul 16, 2010

not what you expect

This hotel is not a 4* star hotel at all. Maybe, maybe a bad 3 *. The hotel is old, nothing modern,far away for the city center. I will not stay at this hotel again, it was a very poor choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
burlington on
Nov 27, 2010

the good the ugly and the bad room

i didnt really like the qualite off the room , it was almost in the basement , the carpet it old and the mold smells in the room , it was one small window the room looks dark for the price i payed i wanst really happy it isnt worthed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston,MA
Jul 19, 2011

Quebec Trip

Moderate. Carpets old and bathrooms small. Good location and easy open parking. Bars/Restaurant close early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Olympic Tower

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mohammed Alshehri
Oshawa
Jan 4, 2013

Not bad.....

This hotel is good for someone who wants to save money. Their beds are not comfortable enough, it's also small beds. The good things that they have are free Indoor parking and free internet but the first day, the internet did not working...!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
burlington on
Nov 27, 2010

the good the ugly and the bad room

i didnt really like the qualite off the room , it was almost in the basement , the carpet it old and the mold smells in the room , it was one small window the room looks dark for the price i payed i wanst really happy it isnt worthed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daydream traveler
Pittsburgh
Sep 2, 2012

Rooms need updated

10 minute walk to the metro. On site parking. Rooms need updated. Bathrooms small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Family makers
Potsdam, NY
Feb 26, 2014

So so

Rooms are very small. Not very clean. Our new towels had lip stick on them. Staff was great. Location wonderful and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great things to do for younger kids near by.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston,MA
Jul 19, 2011

Quebec Trip

Moderate. Carpets old and bathrooms small. Good location and easy open parking. Bars/Restaurant close early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Olympic Tower

Back to menu Return to top