$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Hotel Universel Montreal

4 stars
View map of 5000 Sherbrooke East, Montreal, QC H1V1A1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Universel Montreal

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fani
Business
NJ
Jul 13, 2009

great location, friendly staff

The front desk staff was very friendly. We got to the hotel a little early, and attempted to checkin two hours before the standard time, since that wasn't possible, they offered to provide us with free internet access. We then took a 5 minute drive to the downtown shops & street vendors, to do a little shopping and eat. The food tasted great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
We love traveling
Business
Shrewsbury, MA
May 27, 2009

Great family trip

This hotel had a really good location and the staff was very nice and helpfull. While I was there I visited the Olympic Park and downtown Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Some of the food wasn't that good but the food at the other resturants were very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 18, 2008

My review of Hotel Auberge Universel Montreal

The room was a pleasant surprise. My wife kept asking me if I was sure that I only paid what I told her. It was spacious, clean and comfortable. The location was great. Just outside of downtown. Free parking at the hotel was a plus. Walking distance from the Olympic Park and Botanical Gardens. Nice restaurant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to be part of the city, buy a 3 day pass to the museums and metro at the front desk. It's good for 3 days and for $50.00 you can travel and have free access to all the museums and most of the attractions. It's great fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 23, 2008

Good Hotel

Hotel Auberge Universal offers convenience with comfort. The hotel staff was friendly. The room rate was reasonable. The room was very clean and roomy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Malone
Aug 7, 2008

Lovely!

Our stay at the Auberge Universal completely exceeding our expectations, and made our visit to Montreal that much more satisfying. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, I mean they were absolutely great. They advised us on how to get around, offered a shuttle to the metro, which by the way is within walking distance, which was a convenient route we also took. The room was clean and comfortable. Parking was free!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Biodome, Bontanical gardens and isectarium.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Parsippany, NJ
Jun 25, 2008

Staff very friendly

Staff very accommodating and willing to go the extra mile to answer questions about activities in the city. They offered tickets at the front desk, which helped reduce wait times at any of the attractions. Would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Biodome, Olympic Stadium, Botanical Gardens

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adijat
Business
USA
Apr 19, 2008

lack of security

it was really a great visit for me except the fact that someone broke into my car and stole my GPS. though it was written outside on the billboard when coming in, but the hotel staff suppose to remind you when you are checking in, because my mind has escaped it, to remove the all items in the car. and that was my first visit to montreal, i think the hotel lacks security. maybe they need to put more light or have someone to stay at the parking lot or the staff shoud always confirm if anyone has anything in the car that will atttract the thief to remove it, some might not even have the time to read it outside. am planning of coming Aug again and i pray if you guys take action on that issue, except that am very okay with the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gaelle
Business
USA
Jul 30, 2007

Great hotel in Montreal

This room was very confortable and convenient: nice beds, TV, chairs, a bathroom AND a room with sink and mirror, that is convenient when you share the room. Access to a pool and a jakouzi: the pool was big and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top