$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Hotel Universel Montreal

4 stars
View map of 5000 Sherbrooke East, Montreal, QC H1V1A1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Universel Montreal

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LundiH
Austin, Texas
Jan 6, 2014

Good value

With 4 bus station around the corner, free parking but the nearest metro station takes 20 mins to reach :( overall it's of a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobbyMoseNewYorican
Business
Midland Park, NJ, USA
Jan 2, 2012

New Year's Eve trip to Montreal

Nice hotel - not too far from Metro station - and bus stop right in front. We checked in and shot right away into Montreal down town via the Metro, a 10-13 min walk all down hill next to Olympic Park. We had earlier purchased a 24hr Metro pass for $8 and got on and off at several spots. We attended the outdoor festivities for New Years, an incredible experience. We took a bus back which let us off right at the hotel (#364) as the Metro shut down at 12:30 am. The room was excellent and so clean. The beds were firm but comfortable. Only two gripes - the room temp was too high - I couldn't figure out how to control it, and complimentary breakfast is too short, especially on the day after New Year's Eve, when most guests arrive back at the hotel around 2-3am. The breakfast period is 8-10am. It should go to at least 11:00 or 11:30. Otherwise excellent hotel choice for visitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go to the Tourist Information Center downtown. The free service is great. Our attendant, Natalie, gave us so much valuable information!! And we also purchased the one-day metro passes there as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LEDtraveler
Business
FL
Oct 5, 2011

Good Hotel near stadium

Nice stay. Good staff and location. Hope to return soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston,MA
Jul 19, 2011

Quebec Trip

Moderate. Carpets old and bathrooms small. Good location and easy open parking. Bars/Restaurant close early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Olympic Tower

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ham Sandwich and Snack Cracker
Business
New York State
Mar 15, 2011

Good food, bad sleep

We stayed at this hotel because it was close to the Olympic Stadium where we were working that week.[...]we were able to get free parking and free wi-fi. However, the bed was absolutely uncomfortable, and we didn't find much rest in between. We asked the morning desk clerk if we could move, or get a different mattress. No other rooms were available, but she indicated she'd have something sent to our room to help cushion the bed. Nothing. The eventing clerk was surprised anything was offered, because they didn't have anything to provide for additional comfort. We don't need a lot of frills, but a comfortable bed and a nicer room for the price we paid would have been appreciated. The photos on the website[...]give the appearance of better quality rooms. And if you can't help, just say so - don't give us false hope. Restaurant food was delicious, but be prepared to pay high hotel prices!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Jan 3, 2011

good time

Our time in the hotel was good, very nice reception, good location, room was clean but carpet need more work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
burlington on
Nov 27, 2010

the good the ugly and the bad room

i didnt really like the qualite off the room , it was almost in the basement , the carpet it old and the mold smells in the room , it was one small window the room looks dark for the price i payed i wanst really happy it isnt worthed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jul 19, 2010

Works well if you are just sleeping ther

Fire alarm went off & staff gave no help or direction, including when it was safe to go back inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Quality for a resonable price Cheryl
Business
Carroll County,Md
Jul 16, 2010

Great Hotel for ALLL!!!!!!!!!

The hotel was located right where we needed it to be to get to all appointments easiely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You can find all that you need or want with-in 5-10 miles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sarasota, FL
Jul 16, 2010

not what you expect

This hotel is not a 4* star hotel at all. Maybe, maybe a bad 3 *. The hotel is old, nothing modern,far away for the city center. I will not stay at this hotel again, it was a very poor choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Quality for a resonable price Cheryl
Business
Carroll County,Md
Jul 16, 2010

Great Hotel for ALLL!!!!!!!!!

The hotel was located right where we needed it to be to get to all appointments easiely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You can find all that you need or want with-in 5-10 miles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top