$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Hotel Universel Montreal

4 stars
View map of 5000 Sherbrooke East, Montreal, QC H1V1A1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Universel Montreal

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LundiH
Austin, Texas
Jan 6, 2014

Good value

With 4 bus station around the corner, free parking but the nearest metro station takes 20 mins to reach :( overall it's of a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fred8013
Business
Toronto,Ontario
Sep 19, 2012

Fair Price for decent hotel

Everything was fine.I liked this hotel .the rate was competitive including free internet and parking.The Only Noticeable Issue was that everything was a bit outdated but still clean and usable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Daydream traveler
Business
Pittsburgh
Sep 2, 2012

Rooms need updated

10minutes from metro. Rooms need updated. Air conditioner was excellant. Bathrooms small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daydream traveler
Business
Pittsburgh
Sep 2, 2012

Rooms need updated

10 minute walk to the metro. On site parking. Rooms need updated. Bathrooms small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cat W
Business
Burlington, VT
Aug 27, 2012

nice refuge from travelling

Decent place to stay in a decent part of town. Was close to the stadium (I could hear people cheering even with the window shut...) and the bio-dome wasn't too far away either. With a metro stop (Viau) not an unreasonable walking distance away, it was easy to get to Place des Artes, which was the whole reason I trekked up to Montréal in the first place. the free wi-fi was a great touch, esp with my smartphone being so dumb over the border. The bathroom in the room was pretty nifty, with frosted glass sliding doors; It felt like one of the swanky places without the bankrupting price. Usually my goal in a hotel is "a place to sleep" and this fit the bill, and more. Only sad thing was the pool was closed for maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Whatever the online maps tell you, the closest metro stop to the place is Viau on the Green Line. ten-minute walk to the hotel.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cat W
Business
Burlington, VT
Aug 27, 2012

Nice refuge from the world of travelling

Usually my goal for a hotel is "somewhere to sleep that I can afford" but l'Hotel Universel was wonderful, and someplace I wouldn't be horrified if my parents saw it. (Come on, we've ALL stayed someplace and thought, "I'm so glad Mom can't see this....") It's a nice place, right near the stadium (I could hear the crowd cheering even with the window shut). If I'd known it was *that* close, it would've been easier to navigate the metro *to* the hotel, rather than the other end of town, but live and learn... On the downside, it took me half an hour to check in because they were short-staffed, but they were really nice, and the desk clerk gave me perfect directions to the Metro stop. Once I knew where to pick up the subway, it was a snap to find the theatre and get "home" again after the show. The bathroom in my room was very nifty, and the coolest part of the place, with frosted glass sliding doors. It made it feel like one of the swanky places, without making you bankrupt. Impressive on a budget, and the free wi-fi was wonderful, given how stupid my smartphone gets in Canada. (It's a drag to not be able to update my plans or my route because I can't get online to check a museum's hours or address or anything.) Only sad thing was the indoor pool--and consequently the hot tub--was closed for maintenance. The bio dome was nearby as well, so I was able to visit that before taking the metro back to my car. All in all a pretty successful trek to the "Great White North."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Whatever the online maps might say, the closest Metro stop is Viau on the Green Line. Ten minute walk (if that) to the hotel. (Left out of the metro station, left at the first light, and the hotel is on the right at the second light.) If I'd known that when I left Longeuil, it would've saved me a lot of walking, and an eventual bus fare, to get to the place....

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rafal T
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 11, 2012

Average

Nice location, helpful staff at the reception desk, standard, clean rooms. If you are looking for an OK place to stay this is definitely it. One waitress at the hotel restaurant was extremely rude and hustling for money. Other than that a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alanhus
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Jan 7, 2012

Average

Fairly average. Book a premium room - worth the upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobbyMoseNewYorican
Business
Midland Park, NJ, USA
Jan 2, 2012

New Year's Eve trip to Montreal

Nice hotel - not too far from Metro station - and bus stop right in front. We checked in and shot right away into Montreal down town via the Metro, a 10-13 min walk all down hill next to Olympic Park. We had earlier purchased a 24hr Metro pass for $8 and got on and off at several spots. We attended the outdoor festivities for New Years, an incredible experience. We took a bus back which let us off right at the hotel (#364) as the Metro shut down at 12:30 am. The room was excellent and so clean. The beds were firm but comfortable. Only two gripes - the room temp was too high - I couldn't figure out how to control it, and complimentary breakfast is too short, especially on the day after New Year's Eve, when most guests arrive back at the hotel around 2-3am. The breakfast period is 8-10am. It should go to at least 11:00 or 11:30. Otherwise excellent hotel choice for visitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go to the Tourist Information Center downtown. The free service is great. Our attendant, Natalie, gave us so much valuable information!! And we also purchased the one-day metro passes there as well.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LEDtraveler
Business
FL
Oct 5, 2011

Good Hotel near stadium

Nice stay. Good staff and location. Hope to return soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston,MA
Jul 19, 2011

Quebec Trip

Moderate. Carpets old and bathrooms small. Good location and easy open parking. Bars/Restaurant close early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Olympic Tower

Back to menu Return to top