$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Hotel Universel Montreal

4 stars
View map of 5000 Sherbrooke East, Montreal, QC H1V1A1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Universel Montreal

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LundiH
Austin, Texas
Jan 6, 2014

Good value

With 4 bus station around the corner, free parking but the nearest metro station takes 20 mins to reach :( overall it's of a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
krayon
Business
Northampton, MA
Jan 2, 2013

It's Fine.

If you're looking to not pay a lot for a hotel, it's fine. We went for New Years and it was too far from the metro for that weather. We spent most of our time in Mile End. Beds are hard, but the room was clean and the mini-fridge was a nice surprise. Staff was nice enough, but nothing remarkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
clamjam22
Business
Montpelier, VT, USA
Oct 22, 2012

Free WIFI / Free Parking

Free parking is a necessity in the city. Free wireless internet is also a plus. This place leaves something to be desired. The WIFI didn't work in our room and wasn't very strong in the lobby. We switched rooms only to lose the king size bed and were still unable to access WIFI. So we switched back to the room with a king size bed and a burn mark on the floor. Free parking, yes, but WIFI didn't work. Staff was less than helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gusto68
Business
Minnesota
Oct 22, 2012

Great Location (with a car)

Stayed here for a four-day 'long weekend' and it was ideal. Close to the Metro for jaunts to Old Montreal and such. Free parking for our rental car so we could get out and about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fred8013
Business
Toronto,Ontario
Sep 19, 2012

Fair Price for decent hotel

Everything was fine.I liked this hotel .the rate was competitive including free internet and parking.The Only Noticeable Issue was that everything was a bit outdated but still clean and usable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Daydream traveler
Business
Pittsburgh
Sep 2, 2012

Rooms need updated

10minutes from metro. Rooms need updated. Air conditioner was excellant. Bathrooms small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daydream traveler
Business
Pittsburgh
Sep 2, 2012

Rooms need updated

10 minute walk to the metro. On site parking. Rooms need updated. Bathrooms small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
guvens
Business
Istanbul, Turkey
Sep 1, 2012

In urgent need of refurbishing

Location was ok as we wanted to park our car in the hotel and use public transportation. But the room we stayed in (entrance level) was in desperate need of refurbishing (carpet too old and dirty), no towel hooks in the bathroom (so esp.with two kids a problem), room cleaning was not convincing (that the room is really cleaned up), desk lamp was broken (no check up)..Personnel was responsiv

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

A short walk (5-8 mins) to Viau Subway Station from where you can reach downtown

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cat W
Business
Burlington, VT
Aug 27, 2012

nice refuge from travelling

Decent place to stay in a decent part of town. Was close to the stadium (I could hear people cheering even with the window shut...) and the bio-dome wasn't too far away either. With a metro stop (Viau) not an unreasonable walking distance away, it was easy to get to Place des Artes, which was the whole reason I trekked up to Montréal in the first place. the free wi-fi was a great touch, esp with my smartphone being so dumb over the border. The bathroom in the room was pretty nifty, with frosted glass sliding doors; It felt like one of the swanky places without the bankrupting price. Usually my goal in a hotel is "a place to sleep" and this fit the bill, and more. Only sad thing was the pool was closed for maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Whatever the online maps tell you, the closest metro stop to the place is Viau on the Green Line. ten-minute walk to the hotel.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cat W
Business
Burlington, VT
Aug 27, 2012

Nice refuge from the world of travelling

Usually my goal for a hotel is "somewhere to sleep that I can afford" but l'Hotel Universel was wonderful, and someplace I wouldn't be horrified if my parents saw it. (Come on, we've ALL stayed someplace and thought, "I'm so glad Mom can't see this....") It's a nice place, right near the stadium (I could hear the crowd cheering even with the window shut). If I'd known it was *that* close, it would've been easier to navigate the metro *to* the hotel, rather than the other end of town, but live and learn... On the downside, it took me half an hour to check in because they were short-staffed, but they were really nice, and the desk clerk gave me perfect directions to the Metro stop. Once I knew where to pick up the subway, it was a snap to find the theatre and get "home" again after the show. The bathroom in my room was very nifty, and the coolest part of the place, with frosted glass sliding doors. It made it feel like one of the swanky places, without making you bankrupt. Impressive on a budget, and the free wi-fi was wonderful, given how stupid my smartphone gets in Canada. (It's a drag to not be able to update my plans or my route because I can't get online to check a museum's hours or address or anything.) Only sad thing was the indoor pool--and consequently the hot tub--was closed for maintenance. The bio dome was nearby as well, so I was able to visit that before taking the metro back to my car. All in all a pretty successful trek to the "Great White North."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Whatever the online maps might say, the closest Metro stop is Viau on the Green Line. Ten minute walk (if that) to the hotel. (Left out of the metro station, left at the first light, and the hotel is on the right at the second light.) If I'd known that when I left Longeuil, it would've saved me a lot of walking, and an eventual bus fare, to get to the place....

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rafal T
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 11, 2012

Average

Nice location, helpful staff at the reception desk, standard, clean rooms. If you are looking for an OK place to stay this is definitely it. One waitress at the hotel restaurant was extremely rude and hustling for money. Other than that a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top