$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Hotel Universel Montreal

4 stars
5000 Sherbrooke East, Montreal, QC H1V1A1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
71 reviews
Awesome hotel

Bad service at the hotel bar during happy hour and there was only another couple there, but the... See full review

  • Ania K
  • Sep 11, 2014
Family road trip

It doesn't get much better at this price point we think it was under priced room was stellar and... See full review

  • Tim Hooks
  • Aug 1, 2014
Convenient Montreal address with modern setting and indoor pool
Located amid the sites of Montreal, the Hotel Universel Montreal is in close proximity to destinations such as Olympic Stadium, Saputo Stadium and the Montreal Insectarium. Featuring a seasonal outdoor and indoor pool with spa tub, the Hotel Universel Montreal also has guest rooms with complimentary wireless Internet access and pillow-top mattresses, a 24-hour business center and a fitness center. Additionally, the hotel offers business and wedding services and houses a currency exchange, a massage/naturopathy clinic, a restaurant and a wood-paneled bar.
Highlights
  • Seasonal outdoor and indoor pool with spa tub
  • Centrally located address near popular sites
  • Guest rooms with complimentary wireless Internet service and pillow-top mattresses
  • A massage/naturopathy clinic with various services (fees apply)
Rooms
The 230 guest rooms at the Hotel Universel Montreal have one king or two double pillow-top beds facing the city, pool or courtyard. Highlights include 27-inch TVs with premium cable and pay movies, direct-dial telephones with voice mail, air conditioning, irons and ironing boards, mini refrigerators and coffeemakers. Bathrooms have combined showers and bathtubs with cosmetic mirrors and hair dryers. Microwaves and cots are available upon request (fees apply), and limited room service is available.
Features
Among the highlights that make the seven-story Hotel Universel Montreal an appealing option for leisure and business travel: a convenient address, indoor and outdoor pools, a jetted tub, an on-site restaurant and a 24-hour business center. A massage/naturopathy clinic offering various services (fees apply), a fitness facility and a currency exchange further the theme, as do amenities that include a restaurant serving international cuisine, a bar with a wide-screen TV, complimentary wireless Internet access and pillow-top mattresses in guest rooms.
Transportation
Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (11.3 mi/18.5 km)
Attractions
  • Montreal Insectarium (0.3 mi mi/0.5 km)
  • Chinese Garden (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Montreal Botanical Garden (0.7 mi mi/1.1 km)
Business
  • A total of 15 flexible meeting spaces for banquets and receptions that can accommodate between 10 to 500 people
  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Policies and fees
  • The indoor pool will be closed for renovations from 30 July until 20 September 2013. The heated outdoor pool will remain open until early September.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.5654 -73.5533
Area served
Montreal.
Nearby airports
P. Elliott Trudeau International Airport - 18.5 km or 12 miles.
Area description
Located next to the Olympic Park, Saputo Soccer Stadium, Montreal Biodome, The Botanical Garden and Insectarium. Viau metro stations 5 minute walk. Within minutes you are Downtown, Old Montreal, La Ronde(Six Flags Amusement Park) by vehicle or Metro.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Universel Montreal also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Universel Montreal Rooms

Standard 2 Doubles Non Smoking
All non-smoking rooms with two double beds includes individual heat and A/C, hair dryers, coffee makers, mini-refrigerators, iron and iron board, personal voice mail, free internet access, work desk, color cable TV with a variety of in-house movies and video games along with AM-FM clock radio.
SUPERIOR 1 KING Non Smoking
All non-smoking rooms with one king Beauty Rest mattress - pillow top bed, includes individual control for heat and A/C, hair dryers, coffee makers, mini-refrigerators, iron and iron board, personal voice mail, free internet access, work desk, color cable TV with a variety of in-house movies along with AM-FM clock radio. Can sleep 3 with rollaway bed.
PRESTIGE 1 KING Room
Prestige 1 king - Non-Smoking with King size pillow top Princess mattress - Sealy , color cable Flat Screen Plasma 32 inch TV and closed circuit movies, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini fridge, coffee makers and FREE wireless High Speed internet access. Sleeps 2 (sorry cots or cribs not possible in this room category)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Montreal Insectarium: 0.2 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.8 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 3.2 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 3.3 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.6 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 3.8 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 3.9 mi
  • Place des Arts: 4 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 4.2 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 0.2 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.8 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 3.2 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 3.3 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.6 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 3.8 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 3.9 mi
  • Place des Arts: 4 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 4.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 4.3 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 4.4 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 4.4 mi
  • Underground City: 4.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 4.6 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 4.7 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 4.8 mi
  • Crescent Street: 4.8 mi
  • Centre Bell: 4.8 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 4.8 mi
  • Bell Centre: 4.8 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 5.3 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 5.9 mi

Dining

Rest Bar Le Toit Rouge
Inside hotel, full service restaurant, including room service. International cuisine, Breakfast: 7 am - 11 am, Lunch: 11 am - 2:30 pm and Dinner: 5 pm - 11 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Universel Montreal

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cat W
Burlington, VT
Aug 27, 2012

Nice refuge from the world of travelling

Usually my goal for a hotel is "somewhere to sleep that I can afford" but l'Hotel Universel was wonderful, and someplace I wouldn't be horrified if my parents saw it. (Come on, we've ALL stayed someplace and thought, "I'm so glad Mom can't see this....") It's a nice place, right near the stadium (I could hear the crowd cheering even with the window shut). If I'd known it was *that* close, it would've been easier to navigate the metro *to* the hotel, rather than the other end of town, but live and learn... On the downside, it took me half an hour to check in because they were short-staffed, but they were really nice, and the desk clerk gave me perfect directions to the Metro stop. Once I knew where to pick up the subway, it was a snap to find the theatre and get "home" again after the show. The bathroom in my room was very nifty, and the coolest part of the place, with frosted glass sliding doors. It made it feel like one of the swanky places, without making you bankrupt. Impressive on a budget, and the free wi-fi was wonderful, given how stupid my smartphone gets in Canada. (It's a drag to not be able to update my plans or my route because I can't get online to check a museum's hours or address or anything.) Only sad thing was the indoor pool--and consequently the hot tub--was closed for maintenance. The bio dome was nearby as well, so I was able to visit that before taking the metro back to my car. All in all a pretty successful trek to the "Great White North."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Whatever the online maps might say, the closest Metro stop is Viau on the Green Line. Ten minute walk (if that) to the hotel. (Left out of the metro station, left at the first light, and the hotel is on the right at the second light.) If I'd known that when I left Longeuil, it would've saved me a lot of walking, and an eventual bus fare, to get to the place....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rafal T
Boston, MA
Jun 11, 2012

Average

Nice location, helpful staff at the reception desk, standard, clean rooms. If you are looking for an OK place to stay this is definitely it. One waitress at the hotel restaurant was extremely rude and hustling for money. Other than that a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alanhus
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Jan 7, 2012

Average

Fairly average. Book a premium room - worth the upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobbyMoseNewYorican
Midland Park, NJ, USA
Jan 2, 2012

New Year's Eve trip to Montreal

Nice hotel - not too far from Metro station - and bus stop right in front. We checked in and shot right away into Montreal down town via the Metro, a 10-13 min walk all down hill next to Olympic Park. We had earlier purchased a 24hr Metro pass for $8 and got on and off at several spots. We attended the outdoor festivities for New Years, an incredible experience. We took a bus back which let us off right at the hotel (#364) as the Metro shut down at 12:30 am. The room was excellent and so clean. The beds were firm but comfortable. Only two gripes - the room temp was too high - I couldn't figure out how to control it, and complimentary breakfast is too short, especially on the day after New Year's Eve, when most guests arrive back at the hotel around 2-3am. The breakfast period is 8-10am. It should go to at least 11:00 or 11:30. Otherwise excellent hotel choice for visitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go to the Tourist Information Center downtown. The free service is great. Our attendant, Natalie, gave us so much valuable information!! And we also purchased the one-day metro passes there as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LEDtraveler
Business
FL
Oct 5, 2011

Good Hotel near stadium

Nice stay. Good staff and location. Hope to return soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston,MA
Jul 19, 2011

Quebec Trip

Moderate. Carpets old and bathrooms small. Good location and easy open parking. Bars/Restaurant close early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Olympic Tower

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ham Sandwich and Snack Cracker
Business
New York State
Mar 15, 2011

Good food, bad sleep

We stayed at this hotel because it was close to the Olympic Stadium where we were working that week.[...]we were able to get free parking and free wi-fi. However, the bed was absolutely uncomfortable, and we didn't find much rest in between. We asked the morning desk clerk if we could move, or get a different mattress. No other rooms were available, but she indicated she'd have something sent to our room to help cushion the bed. Nothing. The eventing clerk was surprised anything was offered, because they didn't have anything to provide for additional comfort. We don't need a lot of frills, but a comfortable bed and a nicer room for the price we paid would have been appreciated. The photos on the website[...]give the appearance of better quality rooms. And if you can't help, just say so - don't give us false hope. Restaurant food was delicious, but be prepared to pay high hotel prices!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Jan 3, 2011

good time

Our time in the hotel was good, very nice reception, good location, room was clean but carpet need more work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
burlington on
Nov 27, 2010

the good the ugly and the bad room

i didnt really like the qualite off the room , it was almost in the basement , the carpet it old and the mold smells in the room , it was one small window the room looks dark for the price i payed i wanst really happy it isnt worthed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, NY
Jul 19, 2010

Works well if you are just sleeping ther

Fire alarm went off & staff gave no help or direction, including when it was safe to go back inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search