$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

Hotel Universel Montreal

4 stars
5000 Sherbrooke East, Montreal, QC H1V1A1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
70 reviews
Family road trip

It doesn't get much better at this price point we think it was under priced room was stellar and... See full review

  • Tim Hooks
  • Aug 1, 2014
great location great experience

We stayed for 4 days and we ended up spending an extra day. Me and my wife had such a great time... See full review

  • sam5000
  • Jun 27, 2014
Convenient Montreal address with modern setting and indoor pool
Located amid the sites of Montreal, the Hotel Universel Montreal is in close proximity to destinations such as Olympic Stadium, Saputo Stadium and the Montreal Insectarium. Featuring a seasonal outdoor and indoor pool with spa tub, the Hotel Universel Montreal also has guest rooms with complimentary wireless Internet access and pillow-top mattresses, a 24-hour business center and a fitness center. Additionally, the hotel offers business and wedding services and houses a currency exchange, a massage/naturopathy clinic, a restaurant and a wood-paneled bar.
Highlights
  • Seasonal outdoor and indoor pool with spa tub
  • Centrally located address near popular sites
  • Guest rooms with complimentary wireless Internet service and pillow-top mattresses
  • A massage/naturopathy clinic with various services (fees apply)
Rooms
The 230 guest rooms at the Hotel Universel Montreal have one king or two double pillow-top beds facing the city, pool or courtyard. Highlights include 27-inch TVs with premium cable and pay movies, direct-dial telephones with voice mail, air conditioning, irons and ironing boards, mini refrigerators and coffeemakers. Bathrooms have combined showers and bathtubs with cosmetic mirrors and hair dryers. Microwaves and cots are available upon request (fees apply), and limited room service is available.
Features
Among the highlights that make the seven-story Hotel Universel Montreal an appealing option for leisure and business travel: a convenient address, indoor and outdoor pools, a jetted tub, an on-site restaurant and a 24-hour business center. A massage/naturopathy clinic offering various services (fees apply), a fitness facility and a currency exchange further the theme, as do amenities that include a restaurant serving international cuisine, a bar with a wide-screen TV, complimentary wireless Internet access and pillow-top mattresses in guest rooms.
Transportation
Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (11.3 mi/18.5 km)
Attractions
  • Montreal Insectarium (0.3 mi mi/0.5 km)
  • Chinese Garden (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Montreal Botanical Garden (0.7 mi mi/1.1 km)
Business
  • A total of 15 flexible meeting spaces for banquets and receptions that can accommodate between 10 to 500 people
  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Policies and fees
  • The indoor pool will be closed for renovations from 30 July until 20 September 2013. The heated outdoor pool will remain open until early September.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.5654 -73.5533
Area served
Montreal.
Nearby airports
P. Elliott Trudeau International Airport - 18.5 km or 12 miles.
Area description
Located next to the Olympic Park, Saputo Soccer Stadium, Montreal Biodome, The Botanical Garden and Insectarium. Viau metro stations 5 minute walk. Within minutes you are Downtown, Old Montreal, La Ronde(Six Flags Amusement Park) by vehicle or Metro.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Universel Montreal also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Universel Montreal Rooms

Standard 2 Doubles Non Smoking
All non-smoking rooms with two double beds includes individual heat and A/C, hair dryers, coffee makers, mini-refrigerators, iron and iron board, personal voice mail, free internet access, work desk, color cable TV with a variety of in-house movies and video games along with AM-FM clock radio.
SUPERIOR 1 KING Non Smoking
All non-smoking rooms with one king Beauty Rest mattress - pillow top bed, includes individual control for heat and A/C, hair dryers, coffee makers, mini-refrigerators, iron and iron board, personal voice mail, free internet access, work desk, color cable TV with a variety of in-house movies along with AM-FM clock radio. Can sleep 3 with rollaway bed.
PRESTIGE 1 KING Room
Prestige 1 king - Non-Smoking with King size pillow top Princess mattress - Sealy , color cable Flat Screen Plasma 32 inch TV and closed circuit movies, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini fridge, coffee makers and FREE wireless High Speed internet access. Sleeps 2 (sorry cots or cribs not possible in this room category)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Montreal Insectarium: 0.2 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.8 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 3.2 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 3.3 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.6 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 3.8 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 3.9 mi
  • Place des Arts: 4 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 4.2 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 0.2 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.8 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 3.2 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 3.3 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.6 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 3.8 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 3.9 mi
  • Place des Arts: 4 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 4.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 4.3 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 4.4 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 4.4 mi
  • Underground City: 4.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 4.6 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 4.7 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 4.8 mi
  • Crescent Street: 4.8 mi
  • Centre Bell: 4.8 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 4.8 mi
  • Bell Centre: 4.8 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 5.3 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 5.9 mi

Dining

Rest Bar Le Toit Rouge
Inside hotel, full service restaurant, including room service. International cuisine, Breakfast: 7 am - 11 am, Lunch: 11 am - 2:30 pm and Dinner: 5 pm - 11 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Universel Montreal

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skismom
Somewhere in the South
Jul 3, 2013

Great overnight stay

Front desk clerk was extremely helpful. Super clean room. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several family friendly restaurants within a short drive from hotel.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eraca
USA
Jan 3, 2013

it's ok

It was overall just ok. Nothing fancy and not very close to metro or sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
krayon
Northampton, MA
Jan 2, 2013

It's Fine.

If you're looking to not pay a lot for a hotel, it's fine. We went for New Years and it was too far from the metro for that weather. We spent most of our time in Mile End. Beds are hard, but the room was clean and the mini-fridge was a nice surprise. Staff was nice enough, but nothing remarkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
clamjam22
Montpelier, VT, USA
Oct 22, 2012

Free WIFI / Free Parking

Free parking is a necessity in the city. Free wireless internet is also a plus. This place leaves something to be desired. The WIFI didn't work in our room and wasn't very strong in the lobby. We switched rooms only to lose the king size bed and were still unable to access WIFI. So we switched back to the room with a king size bed and a burn mark on the floor. Free parking, yes, but WIFI didn't work. Staff was less than helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gusto68
Minnesota
Oct 22, 2012

Great Location (with a car)

Stayed here for a four-day 'long weekend' and it was ideal. Close to the Metro for jaunts to Old Montreal and such. Free parking for our rental car so we could get out and about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fred8013
Toronto,Ontario
Sep 19, 2012

Fair Price for decent hotel

Everything was fine.I liked this hotel .the rate was competitive including free internet and parking.The Only Noticeable Issue was that everything was a bit outdated but still clean and usable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daydream traveler
Pittsburgh
Sep 2, 2012

Rooms need updated

10 minute walk to the metro. On site parking. Rooms need updated. Bathrooms small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Daydream traveler
Pittsburgh
Sep 2, 2012

Rooms need updated

10minutes from metro. Rooms need updated. Air conditioner was excellant. Bathrooms small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
guvens
Istanbul, Turkey
Sep 1, 2012

In urgent need of refurbishing

Location was ok as we wanted to park our car in the hotel and use public transportation. But the room we stayed in (entrance level) was in desperate need of refurbishing (carpet too old and dirty), no towel hooks in the bathroom (so esp.with two kids a problem), room cleaning was not convincing (that the room is really cleaned up), desk lamp was broken (no check up)..Personnel was responsiv

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

A short walk (5-8 mins) to Viau Subway Station from where you can reach downtown

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cat W
Burlington, VT
Aug 27, 2012

nice refuge from travelling

Decent place to stay in a decent part of town. Was close to the stadium (I could hear people cheering even with the window shut...) and the bio-dome wasn't too far away either. With a metro stop (Viau) not an unreasonable walking distance away, it was easy to get to Place des Artes, which was the whole reason I trekked up to Montréal in the first place. the free wi-fi was a great touch, esp with my smartphone being so dumb over the border. The bathroom in the room was pretty nifty, with frosted glass sliding doors; It felt like one of the swanky places without the bankrupting price. Usually my goal in a hotel is "a place to sleep" and this fit the bill, and more. Only sad thing was the pool was closed for maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Whatever the online maps tell you, the closest metro stop to the place is Viau on the Green Line. ten-minute walk to the hotel.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cat W
Burlington, VT
Aug 27, 2012

Nice refuge from the world of travelling

Usually my goal for a hotel is "somewhere to sleep that I can afford" but l'Hotel Universel was wonderful, and someplace I wouldn't be horrified if my parents saw it. (Come on, we've ALL stayed someplace and thought, "I'm so glad Mom can't see this....") It's a nice place, right near the stadium (I could hear the crowd cheering even with the window shut). If I'd known it was *that* close, it would've been easier to navigate the metro *to* the hotel, rather than the other end of town, but live and learn... On the downside, it took me half an hour to check in because they were short-staffed, but they were really nice, and the desk clerk gave me perfect directions to the Metro stop. Once I knew where to pick up the subway, it was a snap to find the theatre and get "home" again after the show. The bathroom in my room was very nifty, and the coolest part of the place, with frosted glass sliding doors. It made it feel like one of the swanky places, without making you bankrupt. Impressive on a budget, and the free wi-fi was wonderful, given how stupid my smartphone gets in Canada. (It's a drag to not be able to update my plans or my route because I can't get online to check a museum's hours or address or anything.) Only sad thing was the indoor pool--and consequently the hot tub--was closed for maintenance. The bio dome was nearby as well, so I was able to visit that before taking the metro back to my car. All in all a pretty successful trek to the "Great White North."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Whatever the online maps might say, the closest Metro stop is Viau on the Green Line. Ten minute walk (if that) to the hotel. (Left out of the metro station, left at the first light, and the hotel is on the right at the second light.) If I'd known that when I left Longeuil, it would've saved me a lot of walking, and an eventual bus fare, to get to the place....

Back to menu Return to top

Change search