$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

Hotel Universel Montreal

4 stars
View map of 5000 Sherbrooke East, Montreal, QC H1V1A1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Universel Montreal

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gusto68
Couples
Minnesota
Oct 22, 2012

Great Location (with a car)

Stayed here for a four-day 'long weekend' and it was ideal. Close to the Metro for jaunts to Old Montreal and such. Free parking for our rental car so we could get out and about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah 576
Couples
New York
Aug 20, 2013

Great location

If you are going to the Biodome, Olympic stadium or the botanical gardens this hotel is right around the corner. Also the subway is close if you wanted to go anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trip with the fam
Family
Massachusetts
Jul 15, 2013

Helpful staff

The staff was very accommodating and did their best to make us feel satisfied with our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Many nearby grocery stores and a Walmart for necessities nearby.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skismom
Family
Somewhere in the South
Jul 3, 2013

Great overnight stay

Front desk clerk was extremely helpful. Super clean room. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several family friendly restaurants within a short drive from hotel.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MLMLML
Business
New York
Jun 21, 2013

Affordable Hotel Free Parking

I had to travel to Montreal for a quick business trip and chose this affordable hotel based on location and free parking. I just spent the night and was on my way, so I did not need anything fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Since I was from the states and not used to driving in Canada, it helped review some of the different traffic regulations before I left (i.e., no right on red and lights to the side instead of overhead)

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ochie
Family
Val-d'OR
May 20, 2013

Fantastic hotel!!!

Was just getting back from a long road trip! The check in was fast, the staff friendly. The room was amazing!! Nice view, clean and spacy room!! Enjoyed the shower!!! Everything was perfect. A very nice hotel to discover. Will be returning in july!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mohammed Alshehri
Friends
Oshawa
Jan 4, 2013

Not bad.....

This hotel is good for someone who wants to save money. Their beds are not comfortable enough, it's also small beds. The good things that they have are free Indoor parking and free internet but the first day, the internet did not working...!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eraca
Family
USA
Jan 3, 2013

it's ok

It was overall just ok. Nothing fancy and not very close to metro or sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
krayon
Friends
Northampton, MA
Jan 2, 2013

It's Fine.

If you're looking to not pay a lot for a hotel, it's fine. We went for New Years and it was too far from the metro for that weather. We spent most of our time in Mile End. Beds are hard, but the room was clean and the mini-fridge was a nice surprise. Staff was nice enough, but nothing remarkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
clamjam22
Couples
Montpelier, VT, USA
Oct 22, 2012

Free WIFI / Free Parking

Free parking is a necessity in the city. Free wireless internet is also a plus. This place leaves something to be desired. The WIFI didn't work in our room and wasn't very strong in the lobby. We switched rooms only to lose the king size bed and were still unable to access WIFI. So we switched back to the room with a king size bed and a burn mark on the floor. Free parking, yes, but WIFI didn't work. Staff was less than helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top