$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Hotel Universel Montreal

4 stars
View map of 5000 Sherbrooke East, Montreal, QC H1V1A1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Universel Montreal

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sam5000
queens, ny
Jun 27, 2014

great location great experience

We stayed for 4 days and we ended up spending an extra day. Me and my wife had such a great time everything was in walking distance from the hotel even the metro station was close. Free parking , the breakfast was not included but you have other options around the hotel for food. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Sherbrooke rue has all the shopping areas you need

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LundiH
Business
Austin, Texas
Jan 6, 2014

Good value

With 4 bus station around the corner, free parking but the nearest metro station takes 20 mins to reach :( overall it's of a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sweetness by heart
Business
ma
Jan 4, 2014

great location

Fantastic staff & great location to metro & other attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevin MCmobile
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Dec 18, 2013

This is a great central location for our work in Montreal

This is an older hotel with some very nice rooms and some that need additional attention. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Orlo
Business
New York
Nov 18, 2013

weekend getaway

Hotel is great if you plan on using your vehicle to get around. It's in walking distance of the botanical gardens. best value is during spring when there is more activity near and around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ukita
Business
Michigan
Oct 26, 2013

Great location for a Montreal visit

The staff was friendly and the room was quiet and clean. The 1st floor where we stayed needed a little bit of work but overall it was clean. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the subway and they had free parking with my stay. Definitely a good place to stay for a basic room when sightseeing in Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save money by using their free parking promotion and commute on the Montreal subway. The L'Assomption station is 10-12 minutes away from the hotel.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Max of Gatineau
Business
Gatineau
Oct 17, 2013

A good weekend getaway

This hotel is in the east end near the Botanical Gardens on Sherbrooke. So, if you are looking to stay in that area, it is a good bet. We reserved a prestige room and were quite happy with it. There is a metro station about 10 minutes away by foot. The restaurant (Toit Rouge) we found to be disorganized on Sunday when there were quite a few people. A bit pricey for the quality but probably typical for hotel restaurant prices. There is an inside, small pool and an outdoor one plus a small gym with limited functional equipment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelbud2010
Business
austin, texas
Oct 16, 2013

Clean and Tidy

We stayed here for one night and found the room and bathroom clean and tidy. We got free parking but did not get free breakfast and wifi as the staff informed us that we didn't buy the breakfast package and their wifi had not been working. Although, the restaurant in the hotel serves excellent pancakes and breakfast. The location is good but not too close to the attractions. I felt that the elevators could be situated a bit better though. Otherwise, everything else is good for a short stay unless the wifi is fixed so you can stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the pancakes at the hotel restaurant .

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heal
Business
NYC, NY
Oct 16, 2013

Great Hotel near great attractions

The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. The best part though was the walking distance to the botanical gardens as well as the biodome. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located within a mile of the biodome.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quilter2
Business
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Oct 7, 2013

Absolutely surprised!

Location, staff, room update and bed comfort topped the hotel we stayed in in Quebec City for three times the cost of the Universel. They even provided a free shuttle to various local attractions such as the Biodome and the botannical gardens--which saves $10-$12 dollars per visit for parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
singer1981
Business
Hershey, PA
Oct 7, 2013

good to stay

It was good to stay but old fashioned room But it's okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Olympic Park is near the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top