$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Hotel Universel Montreal

4 stars
View map of 5000 Sherbrooke East, Montreal, QC H1V1A1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Universel Montreal

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skismom
Family
Somewhere in the South
Jul 3, 2013

Great overnight stay

Front desk clerk was extremely helpful. Super clean room. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several family friendly restaurants within a short drive from hotel.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fish23
Family
Detroit
Jul 8, 2014

Montreal Vacation

Excellent hotel to stay, the only problem is little far from downtown Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
backtothepast
Family
NYC
Jul 7, 2014

You get what you pay for

The cleanliness was sub-par - bathroom smelled a bit like a public restroom, and the rugs felt really old under your feet. The indoor pool was over-chlorinated to the point it was partially opaque. Price was fantastic, so ultimately I won't complain. Staff were all super friendly and professional. Location is away from downtown, but a 15 minute walk to the metro station. I might come back to this hotel for a future trip, but will definitely go researching for others first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sam5000
Couples
queens, ny
Jun 27, 2014

great location great experience

We stayed for 4 days and we ended up spending an extra day. Me and my wife had such a great time everything was in walking distance from the hotel even the metro station was close. Free parking , the breakfast was not included but you have other options around the hotel for food. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Sherbrooke rue has all the shopping areas you need

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KONE18
Couples
NJ
Jun 26, 2014

Grand Prix 2014

this hotel is a good compromise if you are staying in Montreal for the Grand Prix. Very good value, although it will take you about 1/2 hr to get to the race via Metro. Hotel is extremely clean, and as some other reviewers suggested we stayed on a room on the 6th floor as they are all renovated. Will definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alexandre R.
Friends
Ithaca, New York
Jun 25, 2014

Good price, decent hotel, not so good location

It's a good hotel for the price you pay. Although the decoration is a little old fashion, the rooms are ample, clean and comfortable enough. Just don't expect anything surprising, everything is pretty standard, but in a good way. The outdoors swimming pool looks great. It also has an indoors pool and a gym but I haven't checked those during my trip. The restaurant by the lobby is decent, but if you have the time and are not too hungry just go to some better place in the city. HOWEVER, there is a big issue with the location of this hotel. O***tz is listing the hotel as located in Downtown, which is far from true. The only reason my friend and I booked this hotel was because of the good price and because it appeared as located in Downtown Montreal. Since we were in a haste, we trusted O***tz and booked the hotel without verifying this information. It turned out to be a mistake. Although the Universel is located near a very beautiful park and by the Olympic villa, it is far from Downtown and from the most vibrant areas of the city. It would take you around 40 min by metro to reach Downtown or the restaurant and bar areas on the Boul. Saint Laurent -with the additional disadvantage that the metro stops running at midnight. If you want to explore the city, enjoy different restaurants, the nightlife in Montreal, visit museums, bookstores, cafes, etc, this is not a good place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kentTraveller
Couples
Kent, OH
Jun 21, 2014

Missing reservation

I booked this hotel through Orb**z more than 20 hours before I showed up & I was told my reservation was not received from Orb**z & all rooms are full for the night. Hotel said they received 4 other reservations made on O**itz for that night but not ours & are not sure whose fault it was. "As a coutesy" they offered me to stay in Quality hotel about 3 miles away for free. As I was running out of options I agreed to that but once I drove to Quality hotel I found that only room available there was a smoking room & that they did mention that to Universel Hotel. I was never informed about the same. I was furious & went back to Universel Hotel & by then hotel manager had left for the day. About 3 hours after coming in first, I was finally assigned a room in Universel Hotel. Room looked so dingy & I bet it is only used for times when hotel is over booked. It had weird smell & walls had no wall paper. We were too tired to fight about it that night after a long drive. Next morning at time of checkout, I did ask for the same manager & he said sorry to not let me knor about the smoking room available. I demanded for a refund of last night money but he insisted Orbi** should take responsibility too. No matter whose fault it was (Orbi** or hotel) as a customer I'm the one who suffered. By the way I checked other rooms in the hotel & they looked so much nicer. Our room was straight from a motel almost in a basement while other rooms looked respectable. Won't forget bitter experience & awful room that I was assigned

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love NYC not the Yankees
Family
Boston, MA
May 27, 2014

Great features, great price

We were very pleasantly surprised by the Universel. Free parking, free internet and swimming pools are all very nice features for a reasonably priced hotel. So it might be slightly dated, the room and bathroom were clean and modern enough. If you do not need to be downtown, the location is fine -- very convenient for the Olympic Stadium and botanical garden. We would come back again for our next Montreal visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free parking, free internet, free pool -- all money savers when you stay for a couple of nights!

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Family makers
Family
Potsdam, NY
Feb 26, 2014

So so

Rooms are very small. Not very clean. Our new towels had lip stick on them. Staff was great. Location wonderful and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great things to do for younger kids near by.

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LundiH
Couples
Austin, Texas
Jan 6, 2014

Good value

With 4 bus station around the corner, free parking but the nearest metro station takes 20 mins to reach :( overall it's of a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sweetness by heart
Couples
ma
Jan 4, 2014

great location

Fantastic staff & great location to metro & other attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top