Hotel Universel Montreal

4 stars
5000 Sherbrooke East, Montreal, QC H1V1A1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
74 reviews
Awesome hotel

Bad service at the hotel bar during happy hour and there was only another couple there, but the... See full review

  • Ania K
  • Sep 11, 2014
Family road trip

It doesn't get much better at this price point we think it was under priced room was stellar and... See full review

  • Tim Hooks
  • Aug 1, 2014
Convenient Montreal address with modern setting and indoor pool
Located amid the sites of Montreal, the Hotel Universel Montreal is in close proximity to destinations such as Olympic Stadium, Saputo Stadium and the Montreal Insectarium. Featuring a seasonal outdoor and indoor pool with spa tub, the Hotel Universel Montreal also has guest rooms with complimentary wireless Internet access and pillow-top mattresses, a 24-hour business center and a fitness center. Additionally, the hotel offers business and wedding services and houses a currency exchange, a massage/naturopathy clinic, a restaurant and a wood-paneled bar.
Highlights
  • Seasonal outdoor and indoor pool with spa tub
  • Centrally located address near popular sites
  • Guest rooms with complimentary wireless Internet service and pillow-top mattresses
  • A massage/naturopathy clinic with various services (fees apply)
Rooms
The 230 guest rooms at the Hotel Universel Montreal have one king or two double pillow-top beds facing the city, pool or courtyard. Highlights include 27-inch TVs with premium cable and pay movies, direct-dial telephones with voice mail, air conditioning, irons and ironing boards, mini refrigerators and coffeemakers. Bathrooms have combined showers and bathtubs with cosmetic mirrors and hair dryers. Microwaves and cots are available upon request (fees apply), and limited room service is available.
Features
Among the highlights that make the seven-story Hotel Universel Montreal an appealing option for leisure and business travel: a convenient address, indoor and outdoor pools, a jetted tub, an on-site restaurant and a 24-hour business center. A massage/naturopathy clinic offering various services (fees apply), a fitness facility and a currency exchange further the theme, as do amenities that include a restaurant serving international cuisine, a bar with a wide-screen TV, complimentary wireless Internet access and pillow-top mattresses in guest rooms.
Transportation
Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (11.3 mi/18.5 km)
Attractions
  • Montreal Insectarium (0.3 mi mi/0.5 km)
  • Chinese Garden (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Montreal Botanical Garden (0.7 mi mi/1.1 km)
Business
  • A total of 15 flexible meeting spaces for banquets and receptions that can accommodate between 10 to 500 people
  • 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
Policies and fees
  • The indoor pool will be closed for renovations from 30 July until 20 September 2013. The heated outdoor pool will remain open until early September.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Universel Montreal Rooms

Standard 2 Doubles Non Smoking
All non-smoking rooms with two double beds includes individual heat and A/C, hair dryers, coffee makers, mini-refrigerators, iron and iron board, personal voice mail, free internet access, work desk, color cable TV with a variety of in-house movies and video games along with AM-FM clock radio.
SUPERIOR 1 KING Non Smoking
All non-smoking rooms with one king Beauty Rest mattress - pillow top bed, includes individual control for heat and A/C, hair dryers, coffee makers, mini-refrigerators, iron and iron board, personal voice mail, free internet access, work desk, color cable TV with a variety of in-house movies along with AM-FM clock radio. Can sleep 3 with rollaway bed.
PRESTIGE 1 KING Room
Prestige 1 king - Non-Smoking with King size pillow top Princess mattress - Sealy , color cable Flat Screen Plasma 32 inch TV and closed circuit movies, air conditioning, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, mini fridge, coffee makers and FREE wireless High Speed internet access. Sleeps 2 (sorry cots or cribs not possible in this room category)

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

45.5654 -73.5533
Area served
Montreal.
Nearby airports
P. Elliott Trudeau International Airport - 18.5 km or 12 miles.
Area description
Located next to the Olympic Park, Saputo Soccer Stadium, Montreal Biodome, The Botanical Garden and Insectarium. Viau metro stations 5 minute walk. Within minutes you are Downtown, Old Montreal, La Ronde(Six Flags Amusement Park) by vehicle or Metro.

Nearby points of interest

  • Montreal Insectarium: 0.2 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.8 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 3.2 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 3.3 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.6 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 3.8 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 3.9 mi
  • Place des Arts: 4 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 4.2 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 0.2 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 0.4 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 2.8 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 3.2 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 3.3 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.6 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 3.8 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 3.9 mi
  • Place des Arts: 4 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 4.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 4.2 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 4.3 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 4.3 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 4.4 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 4.4 mi
  • Underground City: 4.5 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 4.6 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 4.7 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 4.8 mi
  • Crescent Street: 4.8 mi
  • Centre Bell: 4.8 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 4.8 mi
  • Bell Centre: 4.8 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 5.3 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 5.9 mi

Dining

Rest Bar Le Toit Rouge
Inside hotel, full service restaurant, including room service. International cuisine, Breakfast: 7 am - 11 am, Lunch: 11 am - 2:30 pm and Dinner: 5 pm - 11 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Universel Montreal

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KONE18
Business
NJ
Jun 26, 2014

Grand Prix 2014

this hotel is a good compromise if you are staying in Montreal for the Grand Prix. Very good value, although it will take you about 1/2 hr to get to the race via Metro. Hotel is extremely clean, and as some other reviewers suggested we stayed on a room on the 6th floor as they are all renovated. Will definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alexandre R.
Business
Ithaca, New York
Jun 25, 2014

Good price, decent hotel, not so good location

It's a good hotel for the price you pay. Although the decoration is a little old fashion, the rooms are ample, clean and comfortable enough. Just don't expect anything surprising, everything is pretty standard, but in a good way. The outdoors swimming pool looks great. It also has an indoors pool and a gym but I haven't checked those during my trip. The restaurant by the lobby is decent, but if you have the time and are not too hungry just go to some better place in the city. HOWEVER, there is a big issue with the location of this hotel. O***tz is listing the hotel as located in Downtown, which is far from true. The only reason my friend and I booked this hotel was because of the good price and because it appeared as located in Downtown Montreal. Since we were in a haste, we trusted O***tz and booked the hotel without verifying this information. It turned out to be a mistake. Although the Universel is located near a very beautiful park and by the Olympic villa, it is far from Downtown and from the most vibrant areas of the city. It would take you around 40 min by metro to reach Downtown or the restaurant and bar areas on the Boul. Saint Laurent -with the additional disadvantage that the metro stops running at midnight. If you want to explore the city, enjoy different restaurants, the nightlife in Montreal, visit museums, bookstores, cafes, etc, this is not a good place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kentTraveller
Business
Kent, OH
Jun 21, 2014

Missing reservation

I booked this hotel through Orb**z more than 20 hours before I showed up & I was told my reservation was not received from Orb**z & all rooms are full for the night. Hotel said they received 4 other reservations made on O**itz for that night but not ours & are not sure whose fault it was. "As a coutesy" they offered me to stay in Quality hotel about 3 miles away for free. As I was running out of options I agreed to that but once I drove to Quality hotel I found that only room available there was a smoking room & that they did mention that to Universel Hotel. I was never informed about the same. I was furious & went back to Universel Hotel & by then hotel manager had left for the day. About 3 hours after coming in first, I was finally assigned a room in Universel Hotel. Room looked so dingy & I bet it is only used for times when hotel is over booked. It had weird smell & walls had no wall paper. We were too tired to fight about it that night after a long drive. Next morning at time of checkout, I did ask for the same manager & he said sorry to not let me knor about the smoking room available. I demanded for a refund of last night money but he insisted Orbi** should take responsibility too. No matter whose fault it was (Orbi** or hotel) as a customer I'm the one who suffered. By the way I checked other rooms in the hotel & they looked so much nicer. Our room was straight from a motel almost in a basement while other rooms looked respectable. Won't forget bitter experience & awful room that I was assigned

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love NYC not the Yankees
Business
Boston, MA
May 27, 2014

Great features, great price

We were very pleasantly surprised by the Universel. Free parking, free internet and swimming pools are all very nice features for a reasonably priced hotel. So it might be slightly dated, the room and bathroom were clean and modern enough. If you do not need to be downtown, the location is fine -- very convenient for the Olympic Stadium and botanical garden. We would come back again for our next Montreal visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free parking, free internet, free pool -- all money savers when you stay for a couple of nights!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Family makers
Business
Potsdam, NY
Feb 26, 2014

So so

Rooms are very small. Not very clean. Our new towels had lip stick on them. Staff was great. Location wonderful and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great things to do for younger kids near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LundiH
Business
Austin, Texas
Jan 6, 2014

Good value

With 4 bus station around the corner, free parking but the nearest metro station takes 20 mins to reach :( overall it's of a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sweetness by heart
Business
ma
Jan 4, 2014

great location

Fantastic staff & great location to metro & other attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevin MCmobile
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Dec 18, 2013

This is a great central location for our work in Montreal

This is an older hotel with some very nice rooms and some that need additional attention. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Orlo
Business
New York
Nov 18, 2013

weekend getaway

Hotel is great if you plan on using your vehicle to get around. It's in walking distance of the botanical gardens. best value is during spring when there is more activity near and around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Universel Montreal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ukita
Business
Michigan
Oct 26, 2013

Great location for a Montreal visit

The staff was friendly and the room was quiet and clean. The 1st floor where we stayed needed a little bit of work but overall it was clean. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the subway and they had free parking with my stay. Definitely a good place to stay for a basic room when sightseeing in Montreal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save money by using their free parking promotion and commute on the Montreal subway. The L'Assomption station is 10-12 minutes away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top