$229 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Hotel Nelligan

4 stars
106 St-Paul Street West, Montreal, QC H2Y 1Z3
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
29 reviews
Cozy hotel in the heart of Old Montreal

Staff was super helpful. Hotel room was clean and comfy and restaurant/bar served up great food and... See full review

  • Prices from Vermont
  • Apr 27, 2014
Hockey fans

In the heart of old Montreal. Many restaurants pubs nearby. Near the Basilica of Notre Dame and... See full review

  • We love hockey
  • Mar 3, 2014
Boutique Old Montreal hotel in 1840s building with rooftop terrace
Located in the heart of Old Montreal in a historic, 1840s-era building, the fully modernized Nelligan Hotel is located in the heart of Old Montreal in a historic, 1840s-era building. The property offers modern rooms and suites with exposed brick walls have platform beds with luxury linens, posh bathrobes and slippers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. The hip Verses Restaurant specializes in Quebecoise cuisine, while a terrace restaurant overlooks the Saint Lawrence River, an art-decked restaurant and bar hosts exhibits, and a brasserie sports a boho vibe. There is also a massage room.
Highlights
  • Modernized, luxurious Old Montreal hotel in a historic 1840s building
  • Top-tier amenities, including four wining and dining venues, and designer bathrobes and slippers in rooms
  • Massage services, fitness center and seasonal rooftop terrace
Rooms

All 105 guest rooms at the boutique Nelligan Hotel are spacious and housed in two brick and stone buildings with one king or two double pillow-top platform beds strewn with down pillows and triple sheets. Some rooms have atrium views. Adorned with dark wood furniture, rooms also have desks with ergonomic chairs, complimentary high-speed Internet access and CD players. Added allures at the Nelligan Hotel include designer bathrobes and slippers. Some guest rooms have fireplaces and double Jacuzzis, and DVD and CD players are available.

Features

Located in a historic building in Old Montreal, the Nelligan Hotel pays homage to legendary French-Canadian poet Emile Nelligan and has four venues for imbibing and dining, one with changing artwork exhibitions. A seasonal rooftop terrace, massage services and workout facilities are furthered by amenities such as guest rooms with luxury linens on pillow-top beds, complimentary high-speed Internet access and plush bathrobes and slippers. Evening turndown service upon request, and room service is available.

Transportation
  • Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (14.9 mi/24 km)
Attractions
  • Old Port of Montreal (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Palais des Congres de Montreal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Montreal Symphony Orchestra (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Latin Quarter (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Bell Centre (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • A total of four flexible conference rooms and one ballroom for up to 360 people
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet service throughout meeting areas at the Nelligan Hotel
  • Business services
  • Audiovisual equipment

Hotel Map

45.5042 -73.5546
Area served
Heart of Old Montreal.
Nearby airports
Trudeau International Airport (YUL) is 21.1 km from the hotel.
Area description
Ideally located in the heart of Old Montreal just steps away from Convention center, the Place d'Armes subway station, the famous "Notre-Dame de Basilica" church and the popular cobble streets of Old Montreal with restaurants and shops.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Nelligan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Nelligan Rooms

King Superior Room
King Superior room with one king size bed. / CD Player / High Speed Internet / Duvet Cover and Pillows / Umbrella. Non-smoking. 1 to 2 guests.
Petite Suite
Petite Suite with one king size bed, views in the most romantic setting, large bathroom with double jacuzzi or therapeutic bath, fireplace with living area, refined mini-bar, CD Player, seating area, High Speed Internet. Non-smoking. 385-460 SQ FT/ 36-43 SQM. Up to 3 guests.
Two Bedroom Suite
Two bedroom suite, each room with king size bed, beautiful view in the most romantic setting, stone and brick walls. Separate living room with seating area, fireplace. Double jacuzzi, separate glass shower. Private rooftop terrace with spectacular view. CD player / DVD player / High speed internet / Duvet cover and pillows / Umbrella. Non-smoking and Soundproof room. Up to 4 guests.
King Atrium Room
King Atrium room with one king size bed, view overlooking interior or exterior Atrium / CD Player / High Speed Internet / Duvet Cover and Pillows / Umbrella. Non-Smoking. 1 to 2 guests.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.1 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.1 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.1 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.2 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 0.3 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 0.4 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.5 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.5 mi
  • Underground City: 0.6 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.8 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.9 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.1 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.1 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.1 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.2 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 0.3 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 0.4 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.5 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 0.5 mi
  • Underground City: 0.6 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 0.8 mi
  • Centre Bell: 0.9 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 0.9 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 0.9 mi
  • Bell Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.1 mi
  • Crescent Street: 1.1 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 1.2 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 1.4 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 1.5 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.6 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 3.1 mi
  • Little Italy: 3.5 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 3.7 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 3.9 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 4.2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Nelligan offers its guests 4 inviting conference rooms and 1 ballroom accommodating up to 360 persons. Enjoy the comfort and sense of history of the stone and brick walls with the convenience of modern corporate amenities. The ballroom is next to Mechant Boeuf Bar-Brasserie, which can also be reserved for private functions.

Dining

Verses Restaurant
With a market fresh cuisine assembling the finest local products, the poetry in Verses Restaurant also translates to its warm and lively ambiance. Large windows open onto Saint-Paul Street, lighting up the dining room. The stone and brick walls are complemented by long flowing curtains, dark wood paneling, large mirrors, and an impressive glass wine cellar. Located in the heart Old Montreal in the boutique Hotel Nelligan, Verses will definitely charm you with its warm welcome and personalized service.
Mechant Boeuf Bar-Brasserie
Feel like you've seen it all and wish you could find somewhere new for great food and to meet up with friends? Here's the place: Mechant Boeuf Bar-Brasserie, a chic pub with a British flavor and French accents. Enjoy the best burger in town in an atmosphere that's the perfect blend of relaxed and trendy. Live band on Wednesdays and live DJ from Thursday to Saturday.
Terrasse Nelligan
One of Montreal's best kept secrets! With its panoramic views of the St. Lawrence River, the Old Port and Notre Dame Basilica, the patio on the roof of Hotel Nelligan, Terrasse Nelligan, is one of those places that captures your heart at first sight. Terrasse Nelligan serves fine summer cuisine, making it worth a detour for lunch, drinks with friends, or dinner. Choose a premium cut of meat or the catch of the day, and it'll be expertly prepared to order on the outdoor grill. Be part of Old Montreal's coolest happy hour crowd. Enjoy one of our smoothies with our without alcohol, or choose from our list of expertly updated classic cocktails. For a perfect summer quencher, try the white sangria, made with sparkling wine!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Nelligan

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Prices from Vermont
Burlington Vermont
Apr 27, 2014

Cozy hotel in the heart of Old Montreal

Staff was super helpful. Hotel room was clean and comfy and restaurant/bar served up great food and drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RyeMom
Rye, NY
Apr 21, 2014

Great Hotel in Old Montreal

We booked a last minute weekend at Hotel Nelligan - we needed a Hotel that could accomodate the needs of 3 generations a teenager, grandparents and parents. We were able to get a rooms for all of us. We loved the location of the hotel right in the Old City of Montreal steps away from the Port and many fun resturants. We were in Montreal to visit McGill University which wa a short car ride away. The staff at Nelligan was super helpful in setting up dinner reservations, driving instructions in Montreal and helping us reserve the best rooms. This would have been a perfect stay for us if the room price included both breakfast and parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
We love hockey
Dubuque. Iowa
Mar 3, 2014

Hockey fans

In the heart of old Montreal. Many restaurants pubs nearby. Near the Basilica of Notre Dame and very friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bremner restuarant

Review of Hotel Nelligan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BBurns
Burlington, Vermont
Feb 4, 2014

One Night Escape

The Nelligan is fabulous and well worth the rate. The only criticism I can offer is there is no coffee maker in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make time for the Scandinave Les Bains, as it's right around the corner.

Review of Hotel Nelligan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen HB
White Plains, NY
Jan 21, 2014

Great place to stay

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Nelligan! The place has charm and the staff are superb. The location is one of the best in the old town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HeavyH
San Francisco
Dec 4, 2013

Underwhelmed

After reading about this hotel I was excited to book - cobblestone street neighborhood, exposed brick walls, in the room, fireplace, etc… The room/suite was fine, it was big and clean and the king sized bed was extremely comfortable. It was on a busy touristy street with a bar across the street and plenty of street noise on any given night (we were there Thursday - Tuesday). Ultimately for our travel style, we probably would have preferred the Mile End or Plateau neighborhoods. More research next time! We have stayed in many wonderful boutique hotels/b&bs across the country and abroad, and just found the service to be inconsistent and unimpressive. Getting a larger pot of coffee in the morning should not be an issue for a hotel that hosts many business functions. Getting a newspaper on Sunday morning should not be an issue. I realize we were in Quebec - but found it impossible to believe that "the papers don't come on Sunday," which is what we were told. Housekeeping was also inconsistent - some days there was a bath mat left, some days there wasn't - same with water bottles, breakfast service cards, etc... Minor gripes, but kind of disappointing for one of the top ranked hotels on most of the travel sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel Herman restaurant in Mile End neighborhood was one of the best meals we've had in the country all year. Amazing ambiance, service, food and wine/cocktails. Would go back again and again.

Review of Hotel Nelligan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephen T.
Long Island, New York
Mar 31, 2013

Great Experience

This hotel had a great location in Old Montreal and a 5 min walk to the Notre Dame cathedral. The hotel itself was very clean, eclectic, and was full of Old Montreal charm, it also had the best staff, especially the concierge Maude who recommended the best restaurants, sightseeing, and explained the areas and which trains to use to get there. Overall this was a great experience and would recommend this hotel to anyone. For those driving parking is provided by the hotel for a daily fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dine at Ferreira Restaurant and have great Portuguese wine and terrific seafood. A restaurant not to miss.

Review of Hotel Nelligan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
catgramma
Peru, NY
Jan 28, 2013

Cozy, sophisticated and friendly

We had a one-night stay at Hotel Nelligan. The staff was so helpful. They quickly park your car in a basement off the street which was comforting. The valet staff were extra helpful in showing us how to use the subway system and we were able to leave our car all the next day while we went to a museum. The room was delightful with exposed old brick and classical music playing as we entered. There were robes and the bath was also a delight. The rooms encircle an atrium which adds light and one of the restaurants is at the bottom of the atrium near the entrance. Great value. Lovely breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suffolkivory
Suffolk, UK
Sep 16, 2012

A great week in Montreal

We spent a week at the Nelligan, enjoying upgrade to a suite at no extra cost. Great venue for the Old Port and Downtown areas, and a very attractive, comfortable hotel, which was very welcoming. I have no hesitation in recommending the Nelligan. Easy to explore the best of Montreal from this site, and the Rue St Paul is a lively hub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Nelson Hotel has a great outside dining area with good food and live music, gentle jazz.

Review of Hotel Nelligan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
evoPA
Pennsylvania
Aug 4, 2012

really enjoyed our stay

Had a great experience at the Hotel Nelligan. I went for a romantic trip with my boyfriend, and the hotel delivered. It's in a great location in Old Montreal, within walking distance of so many great things. The room itself was clean and spacious with nice high ceilings. Classical music was playing in the room when we arrived. The front desk staff was very friendly, and most times entering/exiting the hotel, someone was there to open the door for you and greet you. I also really liked the exposed brick and just the general decor. Very tasteful. The hotel is rather expensive, but that seems somewhat the norm in the Old Montreal area for comparable hotels. It all comes down to location, location, location. All in all though, I would definitely recommend the Hotel Nelligan and was happy for my stay (in fact, I now have the hotel as the wallpaper on my iPhone to remind me of my stay :) )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top