$86 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Hotel Lord Berri

3 stars
1199 Berri Street, Montreal, QC H2L 4C6
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
128 reviews
location

great hotel in downtown core with pay parking right beside it See full review

  • lengdoo
  • Nov 21, 2014
staff needs help

Most everything about the hotel was good...the staff needs help in giving better directions about... See full review

  • traveling traveler
  • Nov 17, 2014
Montreal hotel in Latin Quarter near Old Montreal and Saint-Catherine
Situated in the heart of the Latin Quarter of Montreal, the recently renovated Hotel Lord Berri is poised at the cultural crossroads of the city and bordered by Old Montreal, Saint-Catherine Street and the Village. The European-style property features a fine Italian restaurant with a full bar, 154 guest rooms and suites for business and leisure travelers, and amenities such as complimentary Internet access and a 24-hour business center.
Highlights
  • A total of 154 recently renovated rooms
  • Central Latin Quarter location at the cultural crossroads of Montreal
  • Fringed by Old Montreal, Sainte-Catherine Street and the Village
Rooms
The 154 recently renovated guest rooms at the Hotel Lord Berri feature one king, one queen, two double or two queen beds with complimentary wireless Internet access, cable TVs and desks as well as mini-refrigerators, clock radios, hair dryers, coffee makers and phones with voice mail. Executive rooms and both junior and executive suites also feature amenities such as high-definition televisions, discounted phone calls and daily newspapers (fees may apply).
Features
The recently remodeled Hotel Lord Berri is a centrally located property in the Latin Quarter, steps from Old Montreal and Saint-Catherine. Appealing to both business and vacationing travelers, it houses an on-site restaurant, 24-hour business center, meeting spaces and a full bar as well as complimentary Internet access in its 154 rooms and suites.
Transportation
  • Montreal Central Bus Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (11 mi/17 km)
Attractions
  • National Library of Quebec (Bibliotheque et Archives nationales du Quebec) (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Montreal Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Old Montreal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Place des Arts (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Business
  • A total of three meeting spaces
  • Audio-visual equipment
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lord Berri also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Lord Berri Rooms

Premier 2 doubles
This room offers 2 doubles Beds with colour TV with cable and remote control, air conditioning, clock-radio, coffee machine, hair-dryer, desk, voice mail, magnetic key cards, iron and ironing board and mini-refrigerator.
Executif King
This room offers 1 king Bed with HD TV with cable and remote control, air conditioning, clock-radio, coffee machine, hair-dryer, desk, voice mail, magnetic key cards, iron and ironing board and mini-refrigerator.
Executif 2 Queens
This room offers 2 Queen Beds with HD TV with cable and remote control, air conditioning, clock-radio, coffee machine, hair-dryer, desk, voice mail, magnetic key cards, iron and ironing board and mini-refrigerator.
Premier 1 Queen
This room offers 1 Queen Bed with colour TV with cable and remote control, air conditioning, clock-radio, coffee machine, hair-dryer, desk, voice mail, magnetic key cards, iron and ironing board and mini-refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 0.2 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 0.3 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 0.4 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.7 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.8 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 1.1 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 0.2 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 0.3 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 0.4 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.7 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.8 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 1.1 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1.2 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Bell: 1.3 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 1.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 1.4 mi
  • Crescent Street: 1.4 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.6 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.8 mi
  • Little Italy: 3 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 3 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 3.2 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 3.2 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 3.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lord Berri

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I got ripped off
Business
USA
Sep 8, 2009

The floating dump.

We arrived to find Parking was Full; likely a result of the lower price we paid with orbitz. Now I feel like we overpaid. Hotel is dumpy. Not sure how it is a four star, maybe the owner keeps rating himself. Man at desk is mean and deceptive. He told me I had to figure out my own parking then told me there is a lot next to the hotel and it costs $15 to leave the car over night plus more during the days. When i researched street parking I found it was free at night so I went back and asked the receptionist who then admitted that was the case; he could have told me that up front, instead of trying to get a cut of the profit to hustle me into paying $15. The room was extremely dumpy. The sink was nearly impossible to turn on because the knob was rusted in an off position and the pipes below had a constant leak. The floor in the bathroom was a big puddle and also covered in mildew and what looked like pee stains. That brings me to the stains all over the room, on the walls, ceiling, matresses and floors. I felt like I was sleeping on a floating dump. I asked about breakfast since there was a sign about it, but I was told I didn't get the complimentary breakfast that the other members got because I used Orbitz. There were a bunch of highschoolers down the hall throwing a party with club music all night and the door to their room open, doing shots. Only one elevator worked, the other is broken. I paid for a queen but got a double. I felt dirty staying there, everything is outdated, including the old in wall a/c unit that seemed to only have two settins: off and ice cold. All in all it was a very poor experience and I certainly would not return. Even the internet was a hastle to use. If you stay here, be prepared to drop more than $4/hr to park your car on the street for the entire duration. By the way, city view is not accurate, I was staring at a tree and thats it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get a hotel that includes parking, because this one doesn't.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
domates
Business
Fort Wayne IN
Nov 30, 2009

Think twice

I love camping, I wish I had my tent and sleeping bag with me to sleep in the middle of the street rather than sleeping in this hotel. Horrible mattresses... Very old, smell bad. My back still hurts after 2 days. The lights were not working. Right on a busy street so noisy. Paid 100$ for a night!!!! Too expensive, it only worths 30 bucks no more....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New England, USA
Aug 13, 2009

Very disappointing

The room was in a poor condition, had a strong smell, and was dirty. The bed mattresses were old and stained, and had a strong smell of cigarette smoke (although the rooms were non-smoking). The bathroom had hair on the walls, and the bathroom door was dirty. Not all the lamps in the room were functioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
Jul 6, 2009

Not so great

In a good location but parking very expensive and no sure of the safety of the cars parked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to old Montreal

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
parking nightmere
Business
Toronto
May 3, 2010

The good and Bad

I was very disappointed to find no parking available at the hotel or the lots close by. Had to drive for blocks to finally find a parking location. Then was lost and walked for 30min.s trying to find the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
StarGazing
Business
White Plains, NY
Mar 20, 2013

great location. average hotel

the hotel is located 1 block away from Berri-UQAM metro station, which is the hub of the city's subway system. the hotels are a bit old and run-down and hallways smell of cigarette but the staffs' okay and rooms are clean--bathroom seemed new. Parking is 15 canadian dollar per night at the lot next to the hotel. overall I enjoyed my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shortstuff3533
Business
Michigan
Jun 3, 2014

More like a motel

Pros: Great location. Right by the Berri-UQAM station and you can basically either walk or take the metro anywhere you need to get to. Also, free wifi in room! Cons: The hotel service was terrible. The girl who was at the desk could care less if you were checking in or had a question or what. When I asked if I could store my luggage while I wait for the check-in time, she didn't say a word, grabbed the keys, tossed it on the counter, and pointed around the corner. I thought she was very rude. The hotel lobby is clean. However, the room I was in was very Motel 6-esque. Everything about it was old and dingy... the walls, curtains, carpet, bedding, furniture, bathroom. It was bearable for one night and bc I was alone. However, it is not a place I would prefer to bring my family to. I also would not recommend the restaurant in the hotel lobby. The food was mediocre at best and I didn't even finish my meal. I would recommend Hotel Lord Berri it if you're on a budget (my room for one night on Friday was $120 USD) and if you need a great location with free wifi. If you're on a weekend getaway to relax, I would look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the STM 747 bus from the YUL airport! Get off at stop #10. It takes ~40 min.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
msp03
Business
minneapolis
Jun 16, 2010

Badly Needs Updating

We had limited choices since this was the F1 Grand Prix weekend, but $700+ for 3 nights for a standard 2 double beds room was about $400 too much. Hotel appears to have been partially updated, but not the floor we were on (3rd). There was a definite odor in the air stepping off the elevator, carpets had large stains, some towels/sheets had holes in them, room entry light and alarm clock did not work (and were not fixed even after we notified the front desk). Breakfast was not included and the attached bar/restaurant is average, at best (orange juice from re-constituted powder, for example). On the plus side, everyone was very frindly and helpful and location is terrific for Metro access (1 block away from Berri UQAM, where 3 lines interesect)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

in the Latin Quarter...a few blocks away from restaurants and nightclubs rue Denis

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 23, 2009

Great Location Poor Rooms

The location of the hotel is great. It's right next to the Latin Quarters (the happening spot in Montreal) and near the biggest Metro Station (Berri / UQAM) which allows you to get to any part of the city with ease. However the rooms themselves are a bit lacking. The air conditioning unit is probably the same one they had when they first installed air conditioning here. The bed was bouncy and the mattress seemed they were not changed in more than a few decades and sank towards the middle of the bed. My girlfriend had an allergic reaction every time we stepped into the room. They should have invested in new beds for this place instead of the new flat screen tv that was in my room. The front desk person telling me that they do not offer complimentary continental breakfast for Orbitz customers also turned us off to the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Definitely stop by Bistro Fruit Folie for breakfast. Located at 3817 Rue Saint-Denis. It's up the hill and a little bit aways from the hotel but well worth the hike. With fruit in the name you will get lots of fruit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 6, 2010

Would recommend stay somewhere else

Not a very pleasant experience. The non-smoking room I stayed at smelled like smoke. There is no way air being circulated/exchanged. Upon check-in, I heard a couple complaining about exact the same thing but the management said no way to change room due to full house. The beds are not flat. The room has little light. I am unable to relax in this environment so needed to take Ambien to sleep. Overall, I regret that I didn't spend a little more to stay in a newer hotel. Not worth the saving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top