$84 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Hotel Lord Berri

3 stars
1199 Berri Street, Montreal, QC H2L 4C6
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
125 reviews
Great location

The hotel is in a great location which leads you to many attractions in minutes walk. The village,... See full review

  • Alex Do
  • Aug 26, 2014
Montreal summer weekend

We have stayed here for the past three years. The hotel is a good value in a good location right by... See full review

  • osheaga fan
  • Aug 8, 2014
Montreal hotel in Latin Quarter near Old Montreal and Saint-Catherine
Situated in the heart of the Latin Quarter of Montreal, the recently renovated Hotel Lord Berri is poised at the cultural crossroads of the city and bordered by Old Montreal, Saint-Catherine Street and the Village. The European-style property features a fine Italian restaurant with a full bar, 154 guest rooms and suites for business and leisure travelers, and amenities such as complimentary Internet access and a 24-hour business center.
Highlights
  • A total of 154 recently renovated rooms
  • Central Latin Quarter location at the cultural crossroads of Montreal
  • Fringed by Old Montreal, Sainte-Catherine Street and the Village
Rooms
The 154 recently renovated guest rooms at the Hotel Lord Berri feature one king, one queen, two double or two queen beds with complimentary wireless Internet access, cable TVs and desks as well as mini-refrigerators, clock radios, hair dryers, coffee makers and phones with voice mail. Executive rooms and both junior and executive suites also feature amenities such as high-definition televisions, discounted phone calls and daily newspapers (fees may apply).
Features
The recently remodeled Hotel Lord Berri is a centrally located property in the Latin Quarter, steps from Old Montreal and Saint-Catherine. Appealing to both business and vacationing travelers, it houses an on-site restaurant, 24-hour business center, meeting spaces and a full bar as well as complimentary Internet access in its 154 rooms and suites.
Transportation
  • Montreal Central Bus Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (11 mi/17 km)
Attractions
  • National Library of Quebec (Bibliotheque et Archives nationales du Quebec) (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Montreal Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Old Montreal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Place des Arts (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Business
  • A total of three meeting spaces
  • Audio-visual equipment
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access

Hotel Map

45.5137 -73.5576
Area served
Montreal
Nearby airports
Montreal Dorval International Airport (YUL).
Area description
Hotel Lord Berri is located near to Downtown Montreal, Old Montreal, Quebec University in Montreal (UQAM), Olympic Park Area, Biodome, Notre-Dame Basilica, Congress Center and La Ronde Park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lord Berri also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Lord Berri Rooms

Premier 2 doubles
This room offers 2 doubles Beds with colour TV with cable and remote control, air conditioning, clock-radio, coffee machine, hair-dryer, desk, voice mail, magnetic key cards, iron and ironing board and mini-refrigerator.
Executif King
This room offers 1 king Bed with HD TV with cable and remote control, air conditioning, clock-radio, coffee machine, hair-dryer, desk, voice mail, magnetic key cards, iron and ironing board and mini-refrigerator.
Executif 2 Queens
This room offers 2 Queen Beds with HD TV with cable and remote control, air conditioning, clock-radio, coffee machine, hair-dryer, desk, voice mail, magnetic key cards, iron and ironing board and mini-refrigerator.
Premier 1 Queen
This room offers 1 Queen Bed with colour TV with cable and remote control, air conditioning, clock-radio, coffee machine, hair-dryer, desk, voice mail, magnetic key cards, iron and ironing board and mini-refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 0.2 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 0.3 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 0.4 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.7 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.8 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 1.1 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 0.2 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 0.3 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 0.4 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.7 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.8 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 1.1 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1.2 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Bell: 1.3 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 1.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 1.4 mi
  • Crescent Street: 1.4 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.6 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.8 mi
  • Little Italy: 3 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 3 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 3.2 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 3.2 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 3.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lord Berri

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New England, USA
Aug 13, 2009

Very disappointing

The room was in a poor condition, had a strong smell, and was dirty. The bed mattresses were old and stained, and had a strong smell of cigarette smoke (although the rooms were non-smoking). The bathroom had hair on the walls, and the bathroom door was dirty. Not all the lamps in the room were functioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
domates
Fort Wayne IN
Nov 30, 2009

Think twice

I love camping, I wish I had my tent and sleeping bag with me to sleep in the middle of the street rather than sleeping in this hotel. Horrible mattresses... Very old, smell bad. My back still hurts after 2 days. The lights were not working. Right on a busy street so noisy. Paid 100$ for a night!!!! Too expensive, it only worths 30 bucks no more....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I got ripped off
USA
Sep 8, 2009

The floating dump.

We arrived to find Parking was Full; likely a result of the lower price we paid with orbitz. Now I feel like we overpaid. Hotel is dumpy. Not sure how it is a four star, maybe the owner keeps rating himself. Man at desk is mean and deceptive. He told me I had to figure out my own parking then told me there is a lot next to the hotel and it costs $15 to leave the car over night plus more during the days. When i researched street parking I found it was free at night so I went back and asked the receptionist who then admitted that was the case; he could have told me that up front, instead of trying to get a cut of the profit to hustle me into paying $15. The room was extremely dumpy. The sink was nearly impossible to turn on because the knob was rusted in an off position and the pipes below had a constant leak. The floor in the bathroom was a big puddle and also covered in mildew and what looked like pee stains. That brings me to the stains all over the room, on the walls, ceiling, matresses and floors. I felt like I was sleeping on a floating dump. I asked about breakfast since there was a sign about it, but I was told I didn't get the complimentary breakfast that the other members got because I used Orbitz. There were a bunch of highschoolers down the hall throwing a party with club music all night and the door to their room open, doing shots. Only one elevator worked, the other is broken. I paid for a queen but got a double. I felt dirty staying there, everything is outdated, including the old in wall a/c unit that seemed to only have two settins: off and ice cold. All in all it was a very poor experience and I certainly would not return. Even the internet was a hastle to use. If you stay here, be prepared to drop more than $4/hr to park your car on the street for the entire duration. By the way, city view is not accurate, I was staring at a tree and thats it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get a hotel that includes parking, because this one doesn't.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rehoboy
New Jersey
Jul 27, 2010

wouldn't stay again

The hotel was in a questionable neighborhood...the room was hot, small and outdated. The worst part was the bed was so uncomfortable...I didn't even stay for the last night that I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
montreal
May 8, 2011

weekend getaway

great location next to everything,but the room was pricy for the way it was plain,not all things worked and bed was VERY hard. This hotel as well is 100% NON-smoking which doesn't help when your with your boyfriend and friends that smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

party streets Sainte-Catherine and St-Denis 5 mins away from all the fun!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Feb 20, 2008

decent

the bed were really uncomfortable.. the restaurant in the hotel was nice and the hotel is close to a subway and its close walking distance to st. denis street and old montreal which was nice...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
parking nightmere
Toronto
May 3, 2010

The good and Bad

I was very disappointed to find no parking available at the hotel or the lots close by. Had to drive for blocks to finally find a parking location. Then was lost and walked for 30min.s trying to find the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
spok
dc
Sep 9, 2014

needs improvment

Bad experience in the first night. Room with mold smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TROOHBLOOH1
Business
NEW YORK
Apr 22, 2009

LORD BERRI STAY

MY EXPERIENCE WAS NOT BAD DUE TO MY SHORT STAY. WHILE AT LORD BERRI I NEEDED TO SEE A FRIENDLY SMILE AND GREAT GREETING. THAT WOULD OF MADE THE CONSTRUCTION THAT WAS GOING ON INVISIBLE. I DIDN'T NOTICE ANY SIGNS STATING THAT THE HOTEL APOLOGIZES FOR OUR IT'S APPEARANCE WHILE MAKING LORD BERRI BETTER FOR YOU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
StarGazing
White Plains, NY
Mar 20, 2013

great location. average hotel

the hotel is located 1 block away from Berri-UQAM metro station, which is the hub of the city's subway system. the hotels are a bit old and run-down and hallways smell of cigarette but the staffs' okay and rooms are clean--bathroom seemed new. Parking is 15 canadian dollar per night at the lot next to the hotel. overall I enjoyed my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search