$107 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2015 Check-out: Jul 16, 2015

Hotel Lord Berri

3 stars
View map of 1199 Berri Street, Montreal, QC H2L 4C6

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lord Berri

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ex-pat
Business
Portland OR
Oct 27, 2009

Had everything I needed

The location was great. Easy to access by car without getting into the heart of downtown. It was within walking distance of Old Montreal, China town and really close to the Metro Station.. where you can ride quickly to other parts of the city. Though my room was next to the elevator, it was very quiet. Downside to the hotel: The rooms were a little shopworn,the luggage storage area was unsupervised (so take care), and if you arrive late you may have to park in the dark alley behind the hotel (definitely not worth the additional $17/night). However the night clerk made the effort to stand at the back door to make sure I was safe while I unloaded. For the sightsee-er, this was a great hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on using public transportation to get araound. Purchase a three day pass for the metro and bus system, for $17.00 at the nearby Berry/Uquam metro station.

Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Romantic Getaway Girl
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Oct 25, 2009

Do Not Disturb

We selected this hotel due the proximity to Old Montréal, it is walking distance. The parking was a bit odd though, we had the option of parking in a lot next door that was not affiliated with the hotel for $15/night or pay $17/night CND and park indoors. We opted to park indoors but it was a very tiny parking garage, seemed to be very safe but difficult to navigate a midsize car in. We only stayed one night before departing for our next destination, however, at 8:30AM housekeeping opened the door and saw us still in bed, she promptly apologized and left. (There was not "Do Not Disturb" sign available). Housekeeping then opened the door again about 1.5hrs later (without knocking, but there was a chain on the door) this time my husband was in the shower... about to come out and get dressed. The hotel is located directly across the street from QUAM, there was not a lot of traffic around the school, but not sure if that may change throughout the year, we visited in October (Monday). The room was not spotless, but not dirty. Could certainly use some updating, particularly in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at a café called Marche Serafim at the end of Rue St. Denis (I think). The food was excellent! Try the bison burger if you go, you will not regret it.

Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Beach
Oct 14, 2009

Great Location

Not a bad hotel, good value, clean but could use updating. Great location, would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cora for breakfast. 3 blocks away.

Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
Oct 12, 2009

Cheap rooms in a good location.

My only complaint was the construction behind the hotel that began early in the morning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 6, 2009

good choice

This an average hotel with clean rooms and professional reception. The standard room was clean with the exception of the exterior window. Finsihes are old but maintained. This is the wrong hotel if you want a hotel that is in the middle of a happening neighborhood. The location is excellent, if you don't mind walking 2-10 minutes to get to Old Montreal, St Dennis Street and downtown. It is located on a noisy 4 lane main street so you can't open the windows at night. The windows are double windows so no noise nuisance when closed. The price under $90 was excellent and I would recommend this hotel if you need a clean and safe place to stay and want to spent your time in the city rather than the hotel room. The subway, which is an excellent choice to get around [or maybe getting back after an extensive walk] is only one block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

St Dennis Street is only 2 minutes from the hotel. It is frequented by students and locals, not too expensive and it is alive at night.

Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I got ripped off
Business
USA
Sep 8, 2009

The floating dump.

We arrived to find Parking was Full; likely a result of the lower price we paid with orbitz. Now I feel like we overpaid. Hotel is dumpy. Not sure how it is a four star, maybe the owner keeps rating himself. Man at desk is mean and deceptive. He told me I had to figure out my own parking then told me there is a lot next to the hotel and it costs $15 to leave the car over night plus more during the days. When i researched street parking I found it was free at night so I went back and asked the receptionist who then admitted that was the case; he could have told me that up front, instead of trying to get a cut of the profit to hustle me into paying $15. The room was extremely dumpy. The sink was nearly impossible to turn on because the knob was rusted in an off position and the pipes below had a constant leak. The floor in the bathroom was a big puddle and also covered in mildew and what looked like pee stains. That brings me to the stains all over the room, on the walls, ceiling, matresses and floors. I felt like I was sleeping on a floating dump. I asked about breakfast since there was a sign about it, but I was told I didn't get the complimentary breakfast that the other members got because I used Orbitz. There were a bunch of highschoolers down the hall throwing a party with club music all night and the door to their room open, doing shots. Only one elevator worked, the other is broken. I paid for a queen but got a double. I felt dirty staying there, everything is outdated, including the old in wall a/c unit that seemed to only have two settins: off and ice cold. All in all it was a very poor experience and I certainly would not return. Even the internet was a hastle to use. If you stay here, be prepared to drop more than $4/hr to park your car on the street for the entire duration. By the way, city view is not accurate, I was staring at a tree and thats it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get a hotel that includes parking, because this one doesn't.

Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Damien TD
Business
New York, NY
Sep 7, 2009

Great location for nightlife and culture

My wife and I have stayed at the Hotel Lord Berri twice. This was a repeat stay. I love the location - right near the Village, Rue St-Catherine, Rue St-Denis, and metro stations. I like to be able to park my car and then either walk or use the metro to get around. The hotel front desk staff is extremely courteous. The rooms we've stayed in have been a little dark, but they have been otherwise clean and satisfactory. There are a few parking options, ech with their pros and cons. You can park in the paid lot next to the hotel, but if you take your car out before your paid time is up, you need to pay again. You also need to wait for the lot attendant before you can leave your car - he sometimes steps away for a while. There is also street parking, which is mostly metered. The meteres are not in effect 24/7, and you can learn this by reading the signs. Of all things, parking was the most "difficult," but that was a very minor difficulty. I love the location and the courtesy of the Hotel Lord Berri. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right near the Village, Rue St-Denis, Rue St-Catherine. Easy walking access to Old Montreal. Easy access to metro.

Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
s.p.
Business
San Francisco
Aug 29, 2009

hotel lord Berri

Wonderful location , close to transportation , just a few blocks from the old section of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 25, 2009

excellent location near everything

Took bus tour of city then visited the high points later; staff was helpful in helping us locate where we wanted to go next; staff helped us reserve cabs and print boarding passes. Hotel is in excellent location for walking everywhere. It is 2 blocks from metro that connects with all city stations (Berri-Uqam) and bus terminal to get to Quebec City. Excellent dining within a couple of blocks on St. Denis north or village to the east. A few blocks the other way (south) gets you to the port. We don't speak French but almost everybody was friendly and most everyone knows English too. What an absolutely magnificent city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 23, 2009

Great Location Poor Rooms

The location of the hotel is great. It's right next to the Latin Quarters (the happening spot in Montreal) and near the biggest Metro Station (Berri / UQAM) which allows you to get to any part of the city with ease. However the rooms themselves are a bit lacking. The air conditioning unit is probably the same one they had when they first installed air conditioning here. The bed was bouncy and the mattress seemed they were not changed in more than a few decades and sank towards the middle of the bed. My girlfriend had an allergic reaction every time we stepped into the room. They should have invested in new beds for this place instead of the new flat screen tv that was in my room. The front desk person telling me that they do not offer complimentary continental breakfast for Orbitz customers also turned us off to the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Definitely stop by Bistro Fruit Folie for breakfast. Located at 3817 Rue Saint-Denis. It's up the hill and a little bit aways from the hotel but well worth the hike. With fruit in the name you will get lots of fruit.

Back to menu Return to top