$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Hotel Lord Berri

3 stars
1199 Berri Street, Montreal, QC H2L 4C6
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
128 reviews
location

great hotel in downtown core with pay parking right beside it See full review

  • lengdoo
  • Nov 21, 2014
staff needs help

Most everything about the hotel was good...the staff needs help in giving better directions about... See full review

  • traveling traveler
  • Nov 17, 2014
Montreal hotel in Latin Quarter near Old Montreal and Saint-Catherine
Situated in the heart of the Latin Quarter of Montreal, the recently renovated Hotel Lord Berri is poised at the cultural crossroads of the city and bordered by Old Montreal, Saint-Catherine Street and the Village. The European-style property features a fine Italian restaurant with a full bar, 154 guest rooms and suites for business and leisure travelers, and amenities such as complimentary Internet access and a 24-hour business center.
Highlights
  • A total of 154 recently renovated rooms
  • Central Latin Quarter location at the cultural crossroads of Montreal
  • Fringed by Old Montreal, Sainte-Catherine Street and the Village
Rooms
The 154 recently renovated guest rooms at the Hotel Lord Berri feature one king, one queen, two double or two queen beds with complimentary wireless Internet access, cable TVs and desks as well as mini-refrigerators, clock radios, hair dryers, coffee makers and phones with voice mail. Executive rooms and both junior and executive suites also feature amenities such as high-definition televisions, discounted phone calls and daily newspapers (fees may apply).
Features
The recently remodeled Hotel Lord Berri is a centrally located property in the Latin Quarter, steps from Old Montreal and Saint-Catherine. Appealing to both business and vacationing travelers, it houses an on-site restaurant, 24-hour business center, meeting spaces and a full bar as well as complimentary Internet access in its 154 rooms and suites.
Transportation
  • Montreal Central Bus Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Montreal-Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (11 mi/17 km)
Attractions
  • National Library of Quebec (Bibliotheque et Archives nationales du Quebec) (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Montreal Convention Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Old Montreal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Place des Arts (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Business
  • A total of three meeting spaces
  • Audio-visual equipment
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access

Hotel Map

45.5137 -73.5576
Area served
Montreal
Nearby airports
Montreal Dorval International Airport (YUL).
Area description
Hotel Lord Berri is located near to Downtown Montreal, Old Montreal, Quebec University in Montreal (UQAM), Olympic Park Area, Biodome, Notre-Dame Basilica, Congress Center and La Ronde Park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lord Berri also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Lord Berri Rooms

Premier 2 doubles
This room offers 2 doubles Beds with colour TV with cable and remote control, air conditioning, clock-radio, coffee machine, hair-dryer, desk, voice mail, magnetic key cards, iron and ironing board and mini-refrigerator.
Executif King
This room offers 1 king Bed with HD TV with cable and remote control, air conditioning, clock-radio, coffee machine, hair-dryer, desk, voice mail, magnetic key cards, iron and ironing board and mini-refrigerator.
Executif 2 Queens
This room offers 2 Queen Beds with HD TV with cable and remote control, air conditioning, clock-radio, coffee machine, hair-dryer, desk, voice mail, magnetic key cards, iron and ironing board and mini-refrigerator.
Premier 1 Queen
This room offers 1 Queen Bed with colour TV with cable and remote control, air conditioning, clock-radio, coffee machine, hair-dryer, desk, voice mail, magnetic key cards, iron and ironing board and mini-refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 0.2 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 0.3 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 0.4 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.7 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.8 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 1.1 mi
  • Rue Ste.-Catherine: 0.2 mi
  • Chateau Ramezay Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Old Montreal (Vieux-Montreal): 0.3 mi
  • Place Jacques-Cartier: 0.4 mi
  • Place des Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rue St-Paul: 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica (Basilique Notre-Dame): 0.6 mi
  • Notre-Dame Basilica: 0.6 mi
  • Montreal Science Centre: 0.7 mi
  • St. Patrick's Basilica: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Archaeology and History (Pointe-a-Calliere Museum): 0.7 mi
  • Quays of the Old Port of Montreal (Quais du Vieux-Port de Montreal): 0.8 mi
  • Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours Chapel (Chapelle Notre-Dame-de-Bonsecours): 0.8 mi
  • Underground City: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde: 1.1 mi
  • Lachine Canal (Canal du Lachine): 1.2 mi
  • Ile Sainte-Helene: 1.2 mi
  • Centre Bell: 1.3 mi
  • Montreal Canadiens Hall of Fame: 1.3 mi
  • Bell Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts): 1.4 mi
  • Crescent Street: 1.4 mi
  • Mont (Mount) Royal: 1.6 mi
  • Port of Montreal, Iberville Cruise Terminal: 1.8 mi
  • Little Italy: 3 mi
  • Montreal Botanical Gardens (Jardin Botanique de Montreal): 3 mi
  • St. Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal: 3.2 mi
  • Biodome de Montreal: 3.2 mi
  • Montreal Insectarium: 3.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lord Berri

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 6, 2009

good choice

This an average hotel with clean rooms and professional reception. The standard room was clean with the exception of the exterior window. Finsihes are old but maintained. This is the wrong hotel if you want a hotel that is in the middle of a happening neighborhood. The location is excellent, if you don't mind walking 2-10 minutes to get to Old Montreal, St Dennis Street and downtown. It is located on a noisy 4 lane main street so you can't open the windows at night. The windows are double windows so no noise nuisance when closed. The price under $90 was excellent and I would recommend this hotel if you need a clean and safe place to stay and want to spent your time in the city rather than the hotel room. The subway, which is an excellent choice to get around [or maybe getting back after an extensive walk] is only one block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

St Dennis Street is only 2 minutes from the hotel. It is frequented by students and locals, not too expensive and it is alive at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I got ripped off
Business
USA
Sep 8, 2009

The floating dump.

We arrived to find Parking was Full; likely a result of the lower price we paid with orbitz. Now I feel like we overpaid. Hotel is dumpy. Not sure how it is a four star, maybe the owner keeps rating himself. Man at desk is mean and deceptive. He told me I had to figure out my own parking then told me there is a lot next to the hotel and it costs $15 to leave the car over night plus more during the days. When i researched street parking I found it was free at night so I went back and asked the receptionist who then admitted that was the case; he could have told me that up front, instead of trying to get a cut of the profit to hustle me into paying $15. The room was extremely dumpy. The sink was nearly impossible to turn on because the knob was rusted in an off position and the pipes below had a constant leak. The floor in the bathroom was a big puddle and also covered in mildew and what looked like pee stains. That brings me to the stains all over the room, on the walls, ceiling, matresses and floors. I felt like I was sleeping on a floating dump. I asked about breakfast since there was a sign about it, but I was told I didn't get the complimentary breakfast that the other members got because I used Orbitz. There were a bunch of highschoolers down the hall throwing a party with club music all night and the door to their room open, doing shots. Only one elevator worked, the other is broken. I paid for a queen but got a double. I felt dirty staying there, everything is outdated, including the old in wall a/c unit that seemed to only have two settins: off and ice cold. All in all it was a very poor experience and I certainly would not return. Even the internet was a hastle to use. If you stay here, be prepared to drop more than $4/hr to park your car on the street for the entire duration. By the way, city view is not accurate, I was staring at a tree and thats it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get a hotel that includes parking, because this one doesn't.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Damien TD
Business
New York, NY
Sep 7, 2009

Great location for nightlife and culture

My wife and I have stayed at the Hotel Lord Berri twice. This was a repeat stay. I love the location - right near the Village, Rue St-Catherine, Rue St-Denis, and metro stations. I like to be able to park my car and then either walk or use the metro to get around. The hotel front desk staff is extremely courteous. The rooms we've stayed in have been a little dark, but they have been otherwise clean and satisfactory. There are a few parking options, ech with their pros and cons. You can park in the paid lot next to the hotel, but if you take your car out before your paid time is up, you need to pay again. You also need to wait for the lot attendant before you can leave your car - he sometimes steps away for a while. There is also street parking, which is mostly metered. The meteres are not in effect 24/7, and you can learn this by reading the signs. Of all things, parking was the most "difficult," but that was a very minor difficulty. I love the location and the courtesy of the Hotel Lord Berri. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right near the Village, Rue St-Denis, Rue St-Catherine. Easy walking access to Old Montreal. Easy access to metro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
s.p.
Business
San Francisco
Aug 29, 2009

hotel lord Berri

Wonderful location , close to transportation , just a few blocks from the old section of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 25, 2009

excellent location near everything

Took bus tour of city then visited the high points later; staff was helpful in helping us locate where we wanted to go next; staff helped us reserve cabs and print boarding passes. Hotel is in excellent location for walking everywhere. It is 2 blocks from metro that connects with all city stations (Berri-Uqam) and bus terminal to get to Quebec City. Excellent dining within a couple of blocks on St. Denis north or village to the east. A few blocks the other way (south) gets you to the port. We don't speak French but almost everybody was friendly and most everyone knows English too. What an absolutely magnificent city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 23, 2009

Great Location Poor Rooms

The location of the hotel is great. It's right next to the Latin Quarters (the happening spot in Montreal) and near the biggest Metro Station (Berri / UQAM) which allows you to get to any part of the city with ease. However the rooms themselves are a bit lacking. The air conditioning unit is probably the same one they had when they first installed air conditioning here. The bed was bouncy and the mattress seemed they were not changed in more than a few decades and sank towards the middle of the bed. My girlfriend had an allergic reaction every time we stepped into the room. They should have invested in new beds for this place instead of the new flat screen tv that was in my room. The front desk person telling me that they do not offer complimentary continental breakfast for Orbitz customers also turned us off to the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Definitely stop by Bistro Fruit Folie for breakfast. Located at 3817 Rue Saint-Denis. It's up the hill and a little bit aways from the hotel but well worth the hike. With fruit in the name you will get lots of fruit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe&Deb
Business
Toronto
Aug 20, 2009

Great deal

The hotel was a great deal in the heart of Montreal. The rooms are clean and staff were great! We would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Aug 17, 2009

Why pay for amenities you won't use?

This is a cheap hotel located in the middle of everything. There are absolutely no frills or ambiance but it is perfectly clean. It has everything you need if you are looking to save money and don't plan on spending much time in the hotel. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mcgillicuddy
Business
Ft lee, NJ
Aug 13, 2009

it is what it is

arrived..found room with defective TV sound. Bathroom had sink faucet almost off its base. Parking was hit and miss..Sometimes it was available,,sometimes it wasnt?!..They could not guarantee me parking space..so I had to park next door in outdoor lot. Price wise however, it was most reasonable I found

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to "Old Montreal"

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Lord Berri

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New England, USA
Aug 13, 2009

Very disappointing

The room was in a poor condition, had a strong smell, and was dirty. The bed mattresses were old and stained, and had a strong smell of cigarette smoke (although the rooms were non-smoking). The bathroom had hair on the walls, and the bathroom door was dirty. Not all the lamps in the room were functioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top